93'-94'hilux D/C 4x4

Tell us a bit more about your Hilux (or other 4x4) and show off with some pictures.
Ricus
Town: witbank
Vehicle: 3.0 Hilus S/C 4x2,

93'-94'hilux D/C 4x4

Post by Ricus »

howzit guys

I'm new to the forum and would like some advice or comments from you.

I bought (by accident) a 2.2/2.4 D/C Hilux 93'.
This is what happened,I went to a auction at Jetpark,wanting to by some TLB's and Skidsteerloaders.I ended up buying this D/C.
The mistake I made was that I haven't had a look at the bakkie before I bought it.
I just send it in to repair the rear diff,it had slight noice in the diff and its at the propshaft place just to check and may put in some new universals.
It looks(after close inspection) that it had a respray.and then it has some few minor problems like a broken indicator and some stuff inside to fix like window winder tuff like that.

I paid around R45 000 for it.

So now im sitting with this problem.

Do I ;

Try to sell it for R50 000,
Or fix it up and spend some money on it and keep her for myself,keeping in mind i dont want to spend it too much
Scooter
Vehicle: '94 Raider, '05 Vigo 4.0 v6

Re: 93'-94'hilux D/C 4x4

Post by Scooter »

Welcome Ricus

It was by no accident that you bought this vehicle, it was fate. :mrgreen:

As a Hilux forum we will all say that you have made one of the best if not the best purchase you will ever make in your lifetime.
The SFA is the greatest and with a little work will serve you well for many years to come.
My advice is that if it only needs minor repairs then keep it and if it needs major repairs then keep it. :lol:
If indeed you find yourself in a situation that you do not need or want the vehicle then selling her to someone on this forum would be a good idea.

I assume the diff was the most pressing matter and as you have already undertaken to fixing it, it hardly seems worth going through the hassle of selling her again without at least giving her a run and finding out what she can do and of course finding out how much you will miss her if you do decide to sell.

Hope this helps :D

Scooter
"I know that you believe you understand what you think I said, but I'm not sure you realise that what you heard is not what I meant."

Scooter wrote:As a Hilux forum we will all say that you have made one of the best if not the best purchase you will ever make in your lifetime.
Ditto
Scooter wrote:My advice is that if it only needs minor repairs then keep it and if it needs major repairs then keep it.
If not then let me know.

And once again welcome and post some pics
Ricus

Post by Ricus »

here is a photo(the pic is too big)
will take some better pic's later
ther is some play on the propshaft and i am getting it fixed.

As i know nothing of this bakkie i would really love some help as to what to do first?

the next thing I will do is to give it a major service.
and sort out all the electrics ,stuff like the cad light and other little things.

-things to do
I need a tow bar-where can a get a good one at a good price?

Last edited by Niel on Tue Dec 04, 2007 11:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.

AKKIE ?? :?: :twisted:

Ricus

Post by Ricus »

jip

Dont sell :!: :!: :!: :!: :!: Fix it :!: :!: :!: :!: :!: FD will agree with me when I say a Hilux is like a pet dog the one you bought was looking for a good home :roll: I hope she has found one. Check on the forum for the guys who are closest to you and then ask them for there help I am sure they will be happy to help you :mrgreen:

I also bought one that needed and still needs alot of work even more then yours and she is really starting to shine and show her best side now I will never sell her :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
2006 Hilux DC 4x4 4.0 V6 Old Man Emu suspension, Long Range Fuel Tank and a LA Sport Sump Guard, Natko railings with spade and high lift brackets, LA Sport high lift jack mounts, Powder coated Hilux Nudge Bar, Hella LED light bar, LED Work Light

heh... you couldn't have uttered truer words, Justin!

I went to visit my SFA today, and they were busy with the final prep before spraying her. She still looks a mess with all her insides and underwear gutted, but one has a great feeling of pride in anticipating what she is going to look like when they are finished. Shouldn't be too much longer.

Kaspaas wrote:AKKIE ??
Did edit the original post. The b key on my noteook does not always reflect after pressing it :evil: I could also say I type that fast that it does not register :lol: :lol:

Niel wrote:
Kaspaas wrote:AKKIE ??
I could also say I type that fast that it does not register :lol: :lol:
Are you talking akkies now or what? :wink:

Ricus that is a nice akkie.. Keep it, spend a few bob on it, and she will serve you well.

Niel wrote:The b key on my noteook does not always reflect after pressing it :evil:

I dont know if I should believe you Niel.. Tik gou lou ulle 10 keer vinnig!! :twisted: :twisted:

Neil is mos juis 'n undercover ou ul supporter, hy wil dit net nie hard sê nie hy is ang die kapies liksem hom as hy sy regte kleure na vore ring.

Toemaar Neil jou geheim is in veilige ewaring y my :twisted: :twisted:

:wink: :wink:

Kaspaas wrote:I dont know if I should believe you Niel.. Tik gou lou ulle 10 keer vinnig!!

:shock: :lol: :lol: :lol:
Ek is n man van my woord. :)

benhur wrote:Neil is mos juis 'n undercover ou ul supporter, hy wil dit net nie hard sê nie hy is ang die kapies liksem hom as hy sy regte kleure na vore ring.

Toemaar Neil jou geheim is in veilige ewaring y my

:lol: :lol: :lol: my kleure is stormers Blou en WP wit en blou (getreep) en sal altyd wees :lol: :lol:

Toemaar Niel almal hier glo jou - regtig, niemand dink jy is 'n undercover bulls supporter nie :wink: :wink:
Ricus

Post by Ricus »

hi guys
i need to sell this hilux as soon as posible.
reason for selling this is that i have started a plant hire company in the beginning of this
year.I am tendering on a contract and need some more machines and need the cash for a deposit

will let it go for R55 000-00.onco
Papa Joe
Town: CT - North of the Boerewors curtain
Vehicle: LEGEND 35 - 2004 2.7 D/C Hilux 4x4

Post by Papa Joe »

Ricus, I was going to say that it was the best mistake you ever made ... by buying her !!!

Now wanting to sell? (For above mentioned reasons) OK, I'll accept that, however, ...

You are about to sell the best vehicle in your "plant hire fleet".
Why not keep her & hire it out as "a foreman's" vehicle. (As & when needed)

Come on man, ... find a way to "put her in your fleet".
44444-WP
Papa Joe

Return to “Members' Vehicles”