Leon se Hilux

Tell us a bit more about your Hilux (or other 4x4) and show off with some pictures.
leonbrink
Town: Pretoria East

Leon se Hilux

Post by leonbrink »

Wat 'n nice forum!

Ek's Leon, ek ry 'n 1985 SFA Hilux wat ek oorgedoen het van hoek tot kant. Het 'n 5L diesel enjin ingesit nadat die 2L sowat 600,000 probleemvrye kilometers afgelê het!
Ekstras sover sluit in vol OME, IPF's en ARB. Sterk oppad (sodra my skip gekom het) is ARB lockers voor en agter asook 'n wenas. My vrou hou daarvan om na my Hilux te verwys as my eerste liefde :wink:

So een of twee fototjies van my Hilux in sy natuurlikke habitat...

En dit is hoe hy gelyk het voor ek hom oorgedoen het:

Groete!
Groete

Leon
Hilux 4.0 V6 4x4

Re: Leon se Hilux

Hi Leon,

Your van is "sommer lekker!"

Welcome to the forum and may you have many more trouble-free miles with that first-love of yours... :D

I also like the colour, but then I am biased :mrgreen:

Welkom Leon

Ja ek moet se ek het al die eer gehad om in Leon se Lux te ry en hy is werklik 'n beaut. 8) 8)

Welkom Leon

Ek verstaan waarom jou vrou se dis jou eerste liefde :!:

Sy is wragtig pragtig :!:

Ek stem saam met F_D oor die kleur. Baie mooi.

Hoop jou skip kom gou in, en hoop myne kom saam joune in!
Ek soek ook n SFA dubbelkajuit :(

Hi Leon

Baie Welkom by die forum :mrgreen:

The Van looks great looks like you have spent a fortune :mrgreen: :mrgreen: I am hopping mine will look as good when everything is done
2006 Hilux DC 4x4 4.0 V6 Old Man Emu suspension, Long Range Fuel Tank and a LA Sport Sump Guard, Natko railings with spade and high lift brackets, LA Sport high lift jack mounts, Powder coated Hilux Nudge Bar, Hella LED light bar, LED Work Light
Maverick
Town: Riala
Vehicle: porsche 944

Post by Maverick »

Possible to get a picture from the back of the car (the grey-brown one).
Need to see how the rollbar looks and where they are welded/bolted.

Welkom Leon, ek weet jy sal dit hier geniet. Jou bakkie lyk puik.
Bosvark
Vehicle: Hilux 2200 D/C AUS specs

Post by Bosvark »

Yis Leon ,ek like jou bakkie,geniet die site
n vark bly maar n vark
glevey

Post by glevey »

Hi Leon

Welkom hier. Jou Hilux lyk baie netjies

Groete

Geoff
Geoff Levey
PC Panic cc
ZS6GRL (WAZS)
Vice Chairman - West Rand Amateur Radio Club (ZS6WR)
GP 0717 - Professional 4X4 Overland & Tourist Guide
Honorary Officer North West Parks & Tourism Board
Scotty
Vehicle: An SFA is in my future

Post by Scotty »

Hi Leon! Welcome to the site.

Now that is a super-duper Hilux!

Where did you get the plastic covers for the inside of your wheel arches? I can't track any down in Cape Town.

Cheers
Scott
2009 X-Trail (great car, but not an SFA)
1997 Defender 90 2.8i (great vehicle, but not an SFA)

Scotty wrote:Hi Leon! Welcome to the site.

Now that is a super-duper Hilux!

Where did you get the plastic covers for the inside of your wheel arches? I can't track any down in Cape Town.

Cheers
Scott
Was wondering the same thing - they really finish off the Hilux's looks very nicely!

leonbrink

Post by leonbrink »

Maverick wrote:Possible to get a picture from the back of the car (the grey-brown one).
Need to see how the rollbar looks and where they are welded/bolted.
I will take a photo or two and post it here...
Groete

Leon
Hilux 4.0 V6 4x4
leonbrink

Post by leonbrink »

Scotty wrote:Hi Leon! Welcome to the site.
I got them from Toyota directly. They were about R500 for the lot. Not to bad I think.
Groete

Leon
Hilux 4.0 V6 4x4

Where did you get the plastic covers for the inside of your wheel arches?
Ek will ook graag weet waar kry mens dit!

Ek het gedink om dit by Toyota self te kry, maar eks seker dit gaan duur wees. ( Dit is nou die nuwe shape s'n wat op die Raider is)

dankie Leon

ek bietjie stadig, nie 3G nie.
Scooter
Vehicle: '94 Raider, '05 Vigo 4.0 v6

Post by Scooter »

Welcome, may you and your great looking Lux enjoy your stay. :D
"I know that you believe you understand what you think I said, but I'm not sure you realise that what you heard is not what I meant."
xuliH

Post by xuliH »

Leon,

Do you still have the writeup and photos of the conversion.
I remember that you posted it on another site but it would be great to have it in this site's archives.

(It is one of the niceste looking SFAs I have ever seen)
:mrgreen:
leonbrink

Post by leonbrink »

Gosh! Thanks :)

I will try to find it and maybe post here.
Groete

Leon
Hilux 4.0 V6 4x4
Scotty

Tracking down wheel arch covers

Post by Scotty »

Scotty wrote:
Hi Leon! Welcome to the site.

I got them from Toyota directly. They were about R500 for the lot. Not to bad I think.
FYI - FD, ToyX4 and others...

Leon kindly PM'd me the part code for his Toyota wheel arch protectors. I really wanted the code as two Toyota guys in CT had already told me you no longer get these protectors anymore.

Well, armed with the code the Toyota parts database found the parts in no time. Add one part embarrassed Toyota spares man :oops: , one card swipe of R494 ex VAT and I walked away with the protectors. 8)

For reference:

Leon's part code was: 7587105735 (1985 SFA Hilux)

EDITED by F_D: (Part No.# corrected)
(From Leon):
It is actually a typo on my side... oops. It is a 5 at the end.

My part code was: 7587105735 (1987 SFA Hilux)

Just placed them on the arches and they look a dead fit. This weekend will make some 8mm holes using the template (ouch!) and fit them.

It is a relief having them - stones are making short work of my wheel arches.

Thanks Leon!!!! :D

Scotty

I phoned Toyota today.
The wheelarches that are standard fitment to the Raider(new shape) will cost me R2414 for all 4.
That is alot of money which I can spend much more wisely.

But I don't think I will find similar arches for my D4D.
Will phone Toyota again, but don't think I will be so lucky.
If someone knows of something let me know pls.

Leon
Ek kan nogsteeds nie oor jou bakkie kom nie. Sy gee my slapelose nagte :lol:

PM Syroin Conversions. On the other site he spoke about generic strips or something the bought for their vehicles some time ago. Dunno bit it might be cheaper. Otherwise if you get to a place like Autozone or Midas, you may just be lucky to find generic stuff that might work, who knows :| :|

Dankie, Bennie

Gaan more Klerksdorp toe en daar kyk.
Anders sal ek Syron PM

MMM me thinks I need those too :mrgreen:
2006 Hilux DC 4x4 4.0 V6 Old Man Emu suspension, Long Range Fuel Tank and a LA Sport Sump Guard, Natko railings with spade and high lift brackets, LA Sport high lift jack mounts, Powder coated Hilux Nudge Bar, Hella LED light bar, LED Work Light
Maverick
Town: Riala
Vehicle: porsche 944

Post by Maverick »

For me who don't understand that language, on which vehicle is he using 31x10.5?

Scotty,

Thanks for the info! Why would the 1987 vehicle be different to the 1985 one? Mine is also 1987, the imported model.

Our phones are down after all the rain we had yesterday, so I will go to Toyota and take the part numbers with me.

leonbrink

Post by leonbrink »

It is actually a typo on my side... oops. It is a 5 at the end.

The part number should be the same for all models. The part was originally from the later model Raiders.
Groete

Leon
Hilux 4.0 V6 4x4

Hi Leon,

Aah, that explains it. I thought there was just a slight difference in size or something. That part number is then for all four linings?

Scotty

Post by Scotty »

Aah, that explains it. I thought there was just a slight difference in size or something. That part number is then for all four linings?
I also wondered about the difference,which is why I raced off to see if they fitted - and they did!

That part code was used to find the two longer linings for the front, shorter linings at the back all in a cardboard box with the templates for hole-drilling, nuts for fitting etc.

Scotty

Thanks to Leon & Scotty - I went & picked mine up this morning, together with drilling templates, all neatly packed in a box! R494 less 10% + VAT.

Scotty

Post by Scotty »

Family Dog wrote:
Thanks to Leon & Scotty - I went & picked mine up this morning, together with drilling templates, all neatly packed in a box!
Nice one FD! Pixel and I are doing the Takbok trail tomorrow - so we may fit the covers on Sunday. Please let me know if you think the templates are accurate and pass on any tips if you get to the job before I do.
FD wrote: R494 less 10% + VAT
Less 10% :!: It's true what they say....nice guys always have the advantage :wink:

Scotty

My SFA is the same colour (or so it appears to be) as Leon's one, but the paint is starting to wear thin from the previous owners (including the previously disadvantaged owners) polishing the bodywork so illustriously. I was wondering whether it was worth sending it in for a respray, but now having seen Leon's baby, I am going for it :) So I will not be fitting the liners just yet, will wait until it goes in for the new clothes.
Less 10% :!: It's true what they say....nice guys always have the advantage :wink:
Who could resist a Puppy-Dog look?

Scotty

Post by Scotty »

So I will not be fitting the liners just yet, will wait until it goes in for the new clothes.
Good idea. New paint on a well looked after 87 Hilux should take off about..........20 years :wink:

Leon...vertel ons asb. a bietjie meer van die werk op jou Hilux. Enige wenke sal waardeur word.

Het die ou enjin rerig geen probleme opgele? Ek glo die 2.2 enjin is taai (en dors!) maar taai genoeg vir 600 000 kilos! - Dis goeie nuus! :D

Scott
leonbrink

Post by leonbrink »

Hi Guys,

It actually did 600K on a 2.4 diesel! Unbelievable but true. :D The bakkie used to belong to my grandfather who had it from new. It came with a 3Y engine which he immediately exchanged for the 2L. Owning that Hilux was a dream of mine ever since I was little. I learned to drive in it, went on our annually hunting trips in it, through basically the whole of Southern Africa in it. More or less grew up in the bakkie. :D Now wonder it’s got such sentiment value to me.

I am in the lucky position that my uncle owns a Toyota approved Panel Beater shop as well as an outdoor business. They supply OME, ARB etc. This made it easy (and off course cheaper) to start my project. The colour I chose was the Land Cruiser Beige (4E9). Originally this was frowned upon. I must say I think it came out great!! I had a bit of rust that had to be sorted out so a complete colour change was not so bad idea.

A quick cost breakdown of the project:

Price of the vehicle including new motor and power steering: R 50,000
ARB, Complete OME (incl. greasable shackles) and Snorkel: R 15,000
BFG 31x10.5R15 MT: R 4,100
Alloy Mags: R 2,600
Gutter mouldings (black strip on the gutters): R 450
Blackouts (black stickers on the panels surrounding the windows): R850
IPF Spots: R 3,000
Mud flaps: R490
Respray (includes various bits and pieces like new grill etc.) R 10,000

Total: R86,490

I think in total I am up for 90K which is not bad if I take the vehicle is basically as good as new. Total time spent on the project if memory serves my right was about 3 months, long nights and lots of patients! A thing that got to me at a stage was as you strip stuff away you find underlying things that needs to be replaced. Klein jakkalsies…

Will I do it again? Already have :D

Me and my father in law is busy rebuilding his single cab SFA Hilux. I got hold of a double cab and load bin, fixed it up and sprayed it the same colour as mine. We stripped the single cab and are busy rebuilding it from ground up. Definitely worth it! These bakkies are as good as gold!

Included a few photos of my bakkie project.
Image Image
Image Image
Image Image
Groete

Leon
Hilux 4.0 V6 4x4

Return to “Members' Vehicles”