Howzit enol..

Introduce yourself and Meet the rest of the crowd
RaiderGP
Town: Midrand
Vehicle: 2006 Toyota Hilux D-4D Raider D/C 4x4

Howzit enol..

Post by RaiderGP »

Howdy guys and gals..

..been browsing this forum for a while now.. and finally decided to join..

I'm from Midrand, JHB, and drive a 2006 Hilux 3.0D-4D Double Cab 4x4 (purchased the 4x4 in Dec 2007). I am new to the 4x4 scene and have completed two training courses and one outing by my own.

Hoping to learn more about my vehicle, 4x4'ing, enjoying the outdoors and making new buddies..

later then..

~ PV
2006 Toyota Hilux 3.0 D-4D Raider 4x4 D/C
Dastek Power Plugged
Future mods: Rock Sliders, EGT Guage, Suspension (when the lotto Gods shower me with their blessings...)

2001 Golf 4 GTI
Chipped, Decatted and Free flowed

...for the love of BOOST !

Re: Howzit enol..

Welcome to the forum Pravesh. Hope you enjoy it.

Post some pics of your ride please :roll: :roll:

Hi Pravesh.

Welcome here. Enjoy it.
Doctor V
Vehicle: Land Cruiser FJ62 3F

Post by Doctor V »

Jippeeeeeeeeee - Another Believer :lol:
'07 D4D Fortuner 4X4, OME with BF AT's

Welcome here

Welcome, Pravesh!

Enjoy! Here are the order of things to be done to be accepte on the forum:

1. Post pics of your ride.
2. Confirm accessories, mods, etc.
3. Confirm that you are absolutely, positively NOT Blue Bull suppoter :twisted:

You have made the first step o eternal happiness by purchasinyour Lux, but u need to do the above to b accepted by your peers :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
1988 Hilex D/C 4x4 (Import spec), Lexus V8; Marlin Crawler; Custom Suspension: front and new 4 link in the rear; Disc Brake conversion rear; 35" Cooper STT tyres; Xenon lights; Custom bullbar;Next? Aircon; new front seats, redo the whole interior in nice soft leather, Respray, Double Lockers

Hiya PV. Welcome to the forum, and we hope you will enjoy it here...

Hi Pravesh,

Welcome here - I was wondering when you were going to join the forum :)

eh right...

hello enoll enoll!!!

You are most welcome here my friend from the land of curry enoll. We are indeed glad to see that you are driving one ruff and tuff toyota cabby complete with Hilux badging enoll. Your cabby would make for one serious off road racing machine, eh right, and can double as one smart larney executive 4x4 cabby enoll.

:mrgreen:

And now that the ceremonies are out of the way, may I be so bold as to enquire why you chose a Toyota over one right larney TATA enoll?

:wink:
RaiderGP

Post by RaiderGP »

Eish.. Tata? well.. I prefer driving a proper bakkie :wink:
...and about them Bulle... now ways china! (and no.. I aint a sharks supporter either!) ..I'd rather be out in the bush offroading or fishing than in front of the tube watching a bunch of okes chasing after an odd shaped ball.. :mrgreen: Ok..Ok.. I DO watch and support the game..but only when SA are playing.. :twisted:

here's some pics of my ride...

later...

~ PV
Dastek Power Plugged
Future mods: Rock Sliders, EGT Guage, Suspension (when the lotto Gods shower me with their blessings...)

2001 Golf 4 GTI

Hi PV

Where was these pic's taken?

What mileage did your 3.0 have on when you bought it? Have you driven a 4.0 V6 before/after purchasing the 3.0?

What consumption do you get before and after the chip?

Pravesh, some nice photo's you've got there. I would also like to know where they were taken? One of them looks like it could be the Henops 4x4 Trail?

That looks like Hennops.

Don't you remember where I took bulldog for its swim :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

BenHurBul wrote:That looks like Hennops.

Don't you remember where I took bulldog for its swim :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:
Ek was nie saam met jou by Hennops nie :(

BenHurBul wrote:That looks like Hennops.

I have just read Simon's warning about wading in the water :cry: :cry:

Oops... If I don't stop bawlin', I'll drown the pics in my signature :oops: :oops:

Family_BullDog wrote:Oops... If I don't stop bawlin', I'll drown the pics in my signature :oops: :oops:

And you might need a snorkel to post here :)

Hi PV

Welcome to the forum the van looks really good :mrgreen: 8)
2006 Hilux DC 4x4 4.0 V6 Old Man Emu suspension, Long Range Fuel Tank and a LA Sport Sump Guard, Natko railings with spade and high lift brackets, LA Sport high lift jack mounts, Powder coated Hilux Nudge Bar, Hella LED light bar, LED Work Light
RaiderGP

Post by RaiderGP »

Howdy..

yup.. that was hennops.. my first 4x4 adventure with Tom (Eagle 4x4 Training).

ToyX4, nope.. I've not driven a 4.0 ..wasnt interested in the petrol version as its too heavy for my pocket! I had a KZ-TE previously..with the full SAC Conversion..was an excellent vehicle.. excellent performance and fuel consumption after the conversion.. I upgraded to the newer model only cos the KZ was a 4x2...

The Dastek chip gives me 122kw/400Nm at the wheels :shock:

Fuel consumption? well.. I've not done any proper tests but I'd say the chip improves the fuel consumption. The reason for my saying this that now that I have the extra vooma, I drive the vehicle a little harder then when it was in std form (..just enjoying the power..excellent for overtaking and up hills..) ..and with all of this, the fuel consumption seems the same as it was with easy driving in std form (about 10L/100km) ..so, if you drive the vehicle with a light foot..you should see much better returns in terms of fuel savings!

I bought the vehicle end November 2007 with 86 000km on the clock (a bit high for a 2006 model..but it was in excellent condition and I paid a good price too :wink: ).. I've done 10 000km since with absolutely no regrests! the vehicle is awesome!!!

I'm a member of the McCarthy 4x4 Club and have attended their training session as well as a club day.. the club day was hectic.. some really tough obstacles.. I thoroughly enjoyed it and learned a lot..

looking fwd to meeting up in the dirt with you guys.. :lol:

~ PV
Dastek Power Plugged

2001 Golf 4 GTI

Great. Thanks PV.

Want to buy a DC soon, but don't want to buy new 'cos I can't afford it. And second hand the 3.0's are expensive.
Can get the 4.0 V6 with around 80k km on the clock for around R190 000.

Pravesh. Just a quick note. I hav heard of Diesels overheating with that bonnet protector you have fitted. It interupts the airflow to the vent on top of the bonnet for the intercoller I think. m2cw
RaiderGP

Post by RaiderGP »

CasKru wrote:Pravesh. Just a quick note. I hav heard of Diesels overheating with that bonnet protector you have fitted. It interupts the airflow to the vent on top of the bonnet for the intercoller I think. m2cw
..I've investigated this a bit.. I dont think the motor will over heat as such as the radiator takes care of that (you'll probably have heating problems if you block the grill with big fog lights.. :P ). That said, yes.. there is a possibility of airflow being restricted to the intercooler.. this would affect the performanceof the vehicle.. However, when fitting the chip, the vehicle was put on a dyna machine and SAC ran some tests.. performance was not compormised! ..and on the open road..there's plenty air going into the cooler so I'm not too concerned.. :wink:

(I do notice that the Toyota make of deflector sits slightly lower..almost touching the bonnert...)

~ PV
Dastek Power Plugged

2001 Golf 4 GTI

Return to “Meet the People”