Road accident

Royco
Vehicle: '09 D4D 3.0 Raider 4x4 D/Cab
Club VHF Licence: X88

Road accident

Post by Royco »

This is very hard for me...
On our way home from a days outing today, we were involved in an accident with a motorbike.
My family is all OK. (Thank you Lord!)
There was a slight bend in the road, the oncoming bike lost control and headed straight into us.
The impact tore off the front right wheel and the bakkie spun around.
There was nothing left of the bike.
Please spare a thought for the bikers family. (They are in our prayers too.)
Image Image Image Image
Royco

Re: Road accident

Post by Royco »

1 Hour before the crash, we stopped off on the side of the road.

Very sad!

Image Image Image Image
Ou Legend
Town: Kuruman
Vehicle: 1987 Hilux SFA 4x4

Post by Ou Legend »

Dis hartseer,bly julle het niks oorgekom nie,sterkte aan julle en die biker se familie ek glo dit kani maklik wees vir beide van julle nie.
The true measure of a man is not how he behaves in moments of comfort and convenience but how he stands at times of controversy and challenges
Royco

Post by Royco »

Dankie Stefan.
Dit is moeilik.
Image Image Image Image

That's a horrible experience Roy, very glad that u and the fam are all ok... you and the bikers family are in our thoughts and prays.

Mr B
Vehicle: '90 SFA Hilux DC 4X4, Full OME, 110mm lift. Brospeed branch, 50mm ss freeflow exhaust. 30 x 9.5 Discoverer S/T's on Viper mags. L/R tank. (AWOL) '98 LTD 2.4 SFA, dual battery system. Dobinson suspension, LR tanks, 31" BF mud's.

Eish!! Words fail me .... A nasty experience from any perspective. We can only uphold you and all those affected in our prayers. :(

Speechless.....Roy, glad you and your family are OK!

Our thoughts and prayers with the bikers family.
Vehicle: 2002 3.0KZ-TE 4x4, Eazyawn RTT, Snorkel, NudgeM Bumper, 38mm Ball Joint Spacers, 35" Maxxis Bighorns, Dastek Unichip, 60 ltr Snomaster fridge/freezer, 40mm body lift, Mikem front/rear with extended shackles, Bilsteins shox rear

We are spared, saved and protected not because of our wisdom or power, but purely because of the Lord's mercy upon us. May we appreciate each second/minute/hour of our lives. God bless.

Glad to hear no one was hurt. :shock2:

frik
Vehicle: KZTE 3.0 4x4

Post by frik »

Royco wrote:This is very hard for me...
On our way home from a days outing today, we were involved in an accident with a motorbike.
My family is all OK. (Thank you Lord!)
There was a slight bend in the road, the oncoming bike lost control and headed straight into us.
The impact tore off the front right wheel and the bakkie spun around.
There was nothing left of the bike.
Please spare a thought for the bikers family. (They are in our prayers too.)
Sorry to hear glad your family is ok Royco. Just another reason why I should sell my bike.
Everything keeps going right Toyota
Royco

Post by Royco »

Thank for all the kind words and your prayers.
It's great to be a part of the forum family, to share all our experiences.
frik wrote: Just another reason why I should sell my bike.
Could not agree with you more, Frik!
Sadly the biker did not survive.
It all happened so fast.
Image Image Image Image

Very upsetting experience, Paul, and one that brings a person closer to reality very quickly. These things happen so very quickly and make us grateful for our borrowed time here on Earth. Upsetting about the Biker, but had he survived he would never have been the same person again.

Mammabeer
Town: Sasolburg
Vehicle: Suzuki SJ410 (Grietje)

Post by Mammabeer »

Glad you are ok. Will keep the biker's family in our thoughts.
kfxnando
Town: Germiston
Vehicle: Ford V6 3.4 Courrier soon to be powered by Yamaha!! Jeep GC 4.7 V8, Aygo broken traded for a Kia Picanto.2ex, 2012 Jeep GC 5.7 V8 Ovrrland

Post by kfxnando »

Family_Dog wrote:Very upsetting experience, Paul, and one that brings a person closer to reality very quickly. These things happen so very quickly and make us grateful for our borrowed time here on Earth. Upsetting about the Biker, but had he survived he would never have been the same person again.

as cold as the above might sound, that is the truth!!

our thoughts here at home goes out to every one involved!!
can imagine what his family is going through!! as a biker lost a few biker friends over the years!!

as for selling my bike, yep have self had that thought from time to time!!
however if its your time its your time weather in your sleep, in a tank, on a train, in a plain or on a bike, not much we can do!!
we are here only for a short while, regardless of religious believe, nothing we can do about that!!

one consolation, he went doing what he loved!! RIP!!
http://www.youtube.com/user/kfxnando" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
http://community.webshots.com/user/kfxnando" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
http://s538.photobucket.com/albums/ff343/kfxnando/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

Sorry to hear of your ordeal Roy. Glad you and your family is physically fine and we will be praying for your and the bikers families emotional scaring.
FUDGES
Vehicle: D4D 3.0l

Post by FUDGES »

Sterkte daar ons dink aan julle!!!
Quintin
Town: Umhlanga
Vehicle: Toyota Hilux D/C 2 x Diff lock, 33" MT Tyre, Lexus V8, Winch, Bull Bar and Tow bar.

Post by Quintin »

This is not good and does no matter how you argue around it, it stays bad, But by selling ones bike is just not going to help as the bike did not do this on its own, I own three bikes and love every moment of riding it. Drive to stay alive is the magic,
Toyota Fortuner 3.0 D 4 D 4X4 A/T (4 play). Hilux DC 4x4, Lexus 4Lt V8, Mikhem suspension met 50mm lift, 50 mm body lift, Bilstein Shocks extra length, 33" tyre, 8 J rims, 2 x Lockers, Snorkel. (Blou Job) en dan n Peugeot 107 (Quickie).
Royco

Post by Royco »

Thanks again for the support.
Quintin wrote:Drive to stay alive is the magic,
Quintin, I could not agree with you more!
Maybe just a small reminder to ALL road users, drive safely!
Image Image Image Image

Roy our thoughts with you and your family. Was your son present when this happened ? Please consider getting him some counsiling to deal with this.

As a fellow biker I DO have lots of symphathy with the bikers family as well.

As for selling the bike - 23 years back I sold my bikes and helmets when a friend passed away in an accident. Fact is that at that time I was not a responsible biker (too much testosterone and too little respect for 2 wheels). Just more than 10 years I got back onto bikes and have enjoyed every single moment of it - WITH due respect for it.
Royco

Post by Royco »

Thanks Chris.
Yes, my son (8) and daughter (6) and my wife (21) were all in the car.
We have been advised to go for counselling and are looking into it.
Image Image Image Image

Roy I know that Think Bike in Joburg has people that can provide this type of counciling. I am sure they will be able to put you in contact with the right people down here as well. a quick search on the Think Bike forum will point you in the right direction.
Wave
Town: Edenvale
Vehicle: Tuna 3.0 D4D 4x4

Post by Wave »

I think we need to get bumper stickers made:

"Think car"

I get so annoyed with how a lot of motorbike riders drive...

At least you and your family are fine. Hope your Lux will be fine after the repairs
'09 Toyota Fortuner 3.0 D4D 4x4 (M)
'14 VW Polo 1.2 TSI H/L (Swambo's)
'10 Conqueror Comfort
arnize2
Vehicle: 2008 Toyota Hilux 3.0 D4D D/C 4X4

Post by arnize2 »

Dit is nou regtig slegte nuus!! Dit moes 'n traumatiese ervaring gewees het. Sterkte vir jou en jou familie en moet nie te lank wag om hulp te soek met die verwerking nie. Het julle kontak met die motorfietsryer se familie? Julle kan mekaar dalk van hulp wees.

That is very sad, it happens so quickly.
Good luck to you guys, we are happy to see that you guys are still alive.
1999 Hilux 2.7i 4x4 Raider DC with 3.4 Prado V6. Rear diff-lock, Bull Bar and rock sliders, 31" Cooper ST Maxx, Snorkel, Alu-Canopy, VHF Motorolla radio, West Coast Rust, Mikem Suspension, Ball Joint Spacers in front and Mikem extended shackles at the rear, 25watt LED Spots
Piesang
Town: Grabouw
Vehicle: '99 Hilux SRX d/c 4x4

Post by Piesang »

Joe, Roy toe jy my Sondag vertel van die ongelik het ek nie kon dink dat 'n motorfiets 'n bakkie se wiel so kon weg vat soos ek nou op die foto sien nie.

Dankie die Vader dat jul in 'n voertuig was wat se neus hoog van die grond is anders kon dit erger gewees het.

Wat die manne sê van berading, ja trouma kan groot skade doen wat 'n mens nie nou sien nie maar later jare kan dit 'n baie groot negatiewe uitwerking hê, en ons sien dit gereeld in die bediening.

"Onderwerp julle dan aan God; weerstaan die duiwel, en hy sal van julle wegvlug." Jak 4:7
Andre du preez
Town: somerset west
Vehicle: hilux 2.2

Post by Andre du preez »

Roy ek sien nou eers wat gebeur het , sterkte . Kan niks anders se nie.!!!

Hoop dit gaan gou weer beter met julle.!!!
Hilux01
Town: Secunda
Vehicle: Toyota Hilux 3.0D4-D dc 4x4
Club VHF Licence: X85

Post by Hilux01 »

Roy,

Ons dink aan julle en die motorfiets ryer se familie in die tyd
2013 Toyota Hilux 3.0D4-D dc 4x4
Bush Lapa Miskruier 810
Gerbers Alu Canopy
ORRA Call Sign: X85
Anton Ferreira
Vehicle: Toy Hilux 30. D4D DBLC
Club VHF Licence: n/a

Post by Anton Ferreira »

Hi Roy
So sorry to hear about the accident.
All the best to you and the family.
Also best to the Biker's family.

The 4x4 Co. greetings.
AM Racing
Vehicle: Range Rover Classic V8

Post by AM Racing »

Eish Roy! I'm really glad that you and your family are ok. Condolences to the bikers family. Its never good when stuff like this happens to anybody. We were on our way back from CT at that time. And you are so cautious with your van and family. I think a plus for you was the fact you were in the Hilux. If you were in a normal passenger vehicle I think it would have been another story all together. Looking at your pics we were there on the Thursday. We still stopped and took pics in the pass (to Worschter if I'm not mistaken, coming out of Ceres). We went to check out the snow.
I pray a peace for you and your family in this difficult time.
Royco

Post by Royco »

Thanks again for all the support! :thumbup:
Just an update: The Insurance company is not going to repair the damage!
I am sooooo depressed!! :aggresive:
I will be getting the dual battery, bash plates, canopy etc off the bakkie as soon as they bring it to CT.
I'm not sure how long I have to wait for the payout. (There seems to be some legal issues :?: )
So I guess I'm on the "Wanting: Hilux bakkie" list...
Image Image Image Image

Royco wrote:Thanks again for all the support! :thumbup:
Just an update: The Insurance company is not going to repair the damage!
I am sooooo depressed!! :aggresive:
I will be getting the dual battery, bash plates, canopy etc off the bakkie as soon as they bring it to CT.
I'm not sure how long I have to wait for the payout. (There seems to be some legal issues :?: )
So I guess I'm on the "Wanting: Hilux bakkie" list...
Is it too costly to repair or are they disputing the claim?

Bad news upon bad news Roy. Sorry to hear about all your misfortune. :oops: :oops: :oops:

Vehicle: 2002 3.0KZ-TE 4x4, Eazyawn RTT, Snorkel, NudgeM Bumper, 38mm Ball Joint Spacers, 35" Maxxis Bighorns, Dastek Unichip, 60 ltr Snomaster fridge/freezer, 40mm body lift, Mikem front/rear with extended shackles, Bilsteins shox rear

That's sad, :thumbdown:
Try going the Ombudsman route - at times it helps.
Don't go down without a fight, :aggresive:

Royco

Post by Royco »

Thanks. Just for clarity - I think it's their paper work (in the legal department) that's the hold up.
Image Image Image Image
Royco

Post by Royco »

CasKru wrote:Is it too costly to repair or are they disputing the claim?
No, the claim is fine. It's too costly.
They have a limit on the $$ to fix it, and it's at their limit, which is too risky for them.
The steering needs to be fixed (replaced) and they are worried that the gearbox may have been damaged too.
Image Image Image Image
AM Racing
Vehicle: Range Rover Classic V8

Post by AM Racing »

On face value that does not look like R100k damage. They usually work on +- 70% of the vehicle price. There is also big money in "scrapped" Hilux's. Why do they think there is a problem with the gearbox? At worst the front diff may have a bit of damage and obviously the suspension and body work. Get as many guys to look at the vehicle you can for an assesment. I have repaired a mate of mines M3 for R60k where the initial quote was R150k ish... and the car is just fine. Doing a track day on Sunday. so ride them, or get them to pay you out in lieu. They do do it and then get it repaired yourself. Good luck
Royco

Post by Royco »

Dylan, it's what I thought too... just need to replace the panels.

Their estimated quote was R97k, and they are worried that there may be more damage once they send the bakkie for wheel alignment etc.
Sure, I think it can be repaired for less, as they quoted on stealer prices, but when they mentioned that there could be potential damage to the gearbox (can't answer why they thought that), I tend to agree with them.
I don't want to sit in the Nam desert with a gearbox failure... Hey, it was just the other day I learnt which way to hold a screwdriver!!
Image Image Image Image
kfxnando
Town: Germiston
Vehicle: Ford V6 3.4 Courrier soon to be powered by Yamaha!! Jeep GC 4.7 V8, Aygo broken traded for a Kia Picanto.2ex, 2012 Jeep GC 5.7 V8 Ovrrland

Post by kfxnando »

another example of insurance/quotes issue

end of 09, bent the Ford a little (hit a rock)
yes its an old Bakkie and not a very high value, however if I had gone with the one panel beater, it would of been a right off!!
all that was damaged, was bumper(and brackets), bull bar, one light, fender and a slight kink on the bonnet, and grill
spares for these bakies are dirt cheap

the one panel beater that I got a quote from was talking of repairing the chassis cross member!!

yet even with the better quote the insurance was looking at writing it off!!

quotes get to ridiculous number quiet quick!!

if it is a write off, buy the wreck back and (think its 30 or 35% of value, and it comes off the payed out amount)
and fix it your self of have someone else fix it for you!!

the other issues here is that panel beater often inflate quotes, couz ins assessors, cut the hell out of quotes, this is another reason why vehicles are often written off

good luck!!
http://www.youtube.com/user/kfxnando" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
http://community.webshots.com/user/kfxnando" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
http://s538.photobucket.com/albums/ff343/kfxnando/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

I personally would not like to receive a vehicle back where the suspension or drive-train got hurt in an accident. Sure they fix it but they just have to fix it to a certain spec of the original configuration. You are going to have hassles down the line and then it's going to be for you own pocket.

You could buy it back and make it a Toy for competing in events and such but I would not use it as a family / overlanding vehicle again.... m2cw