Tell Us How You Got to Know About This Great Hilux Forum

Please select the most appropriate option

I was invited here by the "Baas"
5%
I was invited here by another member. (If you select this option, please indicate whom the referring member was)
16%
I saw a link pointing here on another forum or website (If you select this option, please post a reply telling us which forum)
12%
I found this site on a search engine (If you select this option, please post an indication of what search criteria you used when you found this site.
56%
Any other referral not mentioned above (If you select this option, please post a reply giving more details)
11%

Total votes: 147

Tell Us How You Got to Know About This Great Hilux Forum

Guys

I am so sorry but I tried to move some posts her to a new topic but (per ongeluk) moved all posts over and in doing so lost all the existing voting info. So can you please redo your vote and to keep this thread clean keep posts relevant to your choice only. Here goes the old stuff again
benhur wrote:I have been wondering about this for a while already and I am sure the Baas would also like to know so here goes a new poll. :wink:

Re: Tell Us How Did You Get to Know About This Great Hilux Forum

P.S. O ja I was invited by the "Baas"

P.P.S. Pieter jy mag nie vote nie hoor!! :wink:

I had already read about Piet's Nissan adventures on his site, before the days when he "saw the light" :mrgreen:

Shortly after, Simon PM'ed me telling me to come look at this site, and I joined. Made sense, a dedicated Hilux site, and amazing that there wasn't one before.

Hilux2.7i
Town: Desparch Eastern Cape
Vehicle: '01 Toyota Hilux Raider 2.7i DC 4x4

Post by Hilux2.7i »

Also invited by the "Baas"
Frans Swart
Despatch
Eastern Cape

2001 Hilux 2.7 Raider D/C 4x4

So who is the anonymous voter who selected the 3rd option, Come on don't be ashamed. :wink: :wink: On which forum did you learn about this site?

LOL

It was me :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
A link from 4x4 Community Now its my fav web page :!: :!: :!:
2006 Hilux DC 4x4 4.0 V6 Old Man Emu suspension, Long Range Fuel Tank and a LA Sport Sump Guard, Natko railings with spade and high lift brackets, LA Sport high lift jack mounts, Powder coated Hilux Nudge Bar, Hella LED light bar, LED Work Light

I was invited by Simon.Great site.Bad for productivity :wink:

Mmm still an anonymous search engine referred voter out there :wink: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Moenie skaam wees nie ons sal nie vir jou lag nie :twisted: :twisted:

Baas Pieter het vir my ge-contact en het vir my gese' dat hy begin met hierdie nuwe website and hier is ek, saam met my Hilux's en ander dinge.

Hou julle vir my Afrikaanse :lol:

Scotty
Vehicle: An SFA is in my future

Post by Scotty »

Family Daaaaawg found me trawling through 4xForum........and showed me the light!
2009 X-Trail (great car, but not an SFA)
1997 Defender 90 2.8i (great vehicle, but not an SFA)
Andries
Town: Dordrecht
Vehicle: '94 2.2 4Y Hilux S/C, '87 2.2 4Y Hilux D/C

Post by Andries »

Hi Bennie!

Die "soutie" het ons van die webwerf vertel.

Wees maar geduldig met die nasie ook maar met hulle gesukkel in die oorlog. :oops: :oops: :oops: :oops:

Simon not to bad, my wife says she will give you some spelling lessons if you are interested! :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :shock: :shock:

Van jou boerevriend
Andries :lol: :lol:
KODA

Post by KODA »

saw a post on the 4x4 community forum
2004 Toyota Hilux 2.7i Double Cab Raider 4x4
Fielies
Town: Alldays Limpopo
Vehicle: 1987 Hilux 4x4

Post by Fielies »

Ek het per abuis op die site afgekom, en nou is ek sommer 'n member :P
Fielies

Fielies wrote:Ek het per abuis op die site afgekom, en nou is ek sommer 'n member :P
Vertel ons hoe werk per abuis :lol: :lol: Wat het jy gestem?

Welkom :wink:

benhur what is this word abuis mean :wink:

glevey

Post by glevey »

Saw link on the 4x4forum.

Question for the "Baas". Do U mind if I ask Hennie (Overland.co.za) to put a link on the overland website.

Cheers

Geoff
Geoff Levey
PC Panic cc
ZS6GRL (WAZS)
Vice Chairman - West Rand Amateur Radio Club (ZS6WR)
GP 0717 - Professional 4X4 Overland & Tourist Guide
Honorary Officer North West Parks & Tourism Board
xuliH

Post by xuliH »

Simon referred me to the site.

btw - "per abuis" sort of means "by fluke"
Scooter
Vehicle: '94 Raider, '05 Vigo 4.0 v6

Post by Scooter »

I was invited here by the 'BAAS'
"I know that you believe you understand what you think I said, but I'm not sure you realise that what you heard is not what I meant."

Come on Guys we need some more votes here!!!
ratel's raider
Vehicle: 1995 Toyota hilux SFA, 2007 2x4 hilux 3l d4d

Post by ratel's raider »

Simon Pm'ed me on another 4x4 forum telling me about this forum for hilux fanatics... yes please :mrgreen:
Natural stupidity beats artificial intelligence every time
Pixel
Vehicle: Toyota.... ahem... Prado

Post by Pixel »

:D I was referred to this great forum by Scotty, even though I don’t own one I still enjoy reading about Lux's and what guys are doing with and to them.
astam
Vehicle: '95 2.4l P D/C Raider

Post by astam »

a link from wikipedia. but i have learnt more from this site!! thank you/dankie.
Maverick
Town: Riala
Vehicle: porsche 944

Post by Maverick »

Searchengine, google, searched for hilux + forum.

Google. kani onthou wat was my search criteria nie

DANKIE TOG :!: :!:

Cool. It is great to see we are getting returns from Google searches.

Saw PietPetoors signature on a post he did on the 4X4 Community site and followed that.
Sifu-Lux
Town: Mount Vernon Illinois
Vehicle: GMC Sierra SLT Z71 (Used to drive a '91 SFA Hilux YN67R 4x4 ,Full OME, ARB lockers front and rear, Ford 3L V6, 35mm axle move, 33" General Grabber X3's and dual transfer cases....... Keep her safe Mud Dog!

Post by Sifu-Lux »

Told about it by Cookie Monster :!: :D
Sifu-Lux....I will miss you
ARMAND
Town: GAUTENG
Vehicle: HILUX 4L

Post by ARMAND »

I was looking for a rear wheel carrier to fit on my tow bar but I think that I must make one or buy a replacement bumper
Papa Joe
Town: CT - North of the Boerewors curtain
Vehicle: LEGEND 35 - 2004 2.7 D/C Hilux 4x4

Post by Papa Joe »

Old thread, but useful info for Piet & the boys.

HOW: Via Google
WHEN: ± 1 hour after I found the site ... Tue Nov 13, 2007 11:23 pm

LEKKER by die see !!!!!!!!!
44444-WP
Papa Joe
windy67
Town: Pietermaritzburg
Vehicle: 2003 Hilux 2.7i 4X4 D/C

Post by windy67 »

Got invited by Benhur who found me wandering around on the 4X4 Comunity Forum Site.

Poor guy then had to hear my history via PM's. But he has a good ear.

Thanks Benhur. I really enjoy this site.

Trevor

windy67 wrote:Got invited by Benhur who found me wandering around on the 4X4 Comunity Forum Site.

Poor guy then had to hear my history via PM's. But he has a good ear.

Thanks Benhur. I really enjoy this site.

Trevor
Cool 8) :wink:
Sakkie
Town: Bloemfontein
Vehicle: Hilux 2.7 DC 4x2

Post by Sakkie »

Google search engine, was busy searching for Hilux conversion info.

Luckily I found the site, just love it.

Sakkie

I definitely got here by means of Google.. Dont ask me how, I am for ever Googling Hilux, 4x4, articulation and all sorts of other interesting funky bakkie stuffs. I am not sorry I ended up here, I am having waaayyyy too much fun... :D :D :D :D

Google. HEt gesoek vir speelgoed vir my speelding. :) :)
Knersus
Town: Kathu
Vehicle: 2.4 Hi Lux 4x4 DC 95'
Club VHF Licence: ZS3EP

Post by Knersus »

Mooi man Cassie

Moet erken jou bakkie lyk baie na aan myne :shock:
Eben Pienaar
2.4 Hi Lux 22R 95'
Codan HF radio; Kenwood VHF Hi band; Tait VHF midband; Snorkel; OME suspension; Diff lock on next shortlist. Dis lekker om 'n mens te wees....Jy moet net 'n lekker mens wees

Is myne. Belowe :)

Myne is mooier as joune :D
Knersus
Town: Kathu
Vehicle: 2.4 Hi Lux 4x4 DC 95'
Club VHF Licence: ZS3EP

Post by Knersus »

Myne is mooier as joune .........Nee wat nou sal ek maar moet die foto's opsit om myself te bewys. Kyk my bakkie dra hom net dood aan die antenna's maar verder staan hy terug vir niks nie.
Eben Pienaar
2.4 Hi Lux 22R 95'
Codan HF radio; Kenwood VHF Hi band; Tait VHF midband; Snorkel; OME suspension; Diff lock on next shortlist. Dis lekker om 'n mens te wees....Jy moet net 'n lekker mens wees
Martin K
Vehicle: Hilux 2.7i SC

Post by Martin K »

Searched on google. Hilux 4X4 and limited search to pages in South Africa.
A story with a happy ending is a story that hasn't ended yet

Myne is mooier as joune .........Nee wat nou sal ek maar moet die foto's opsit om myself te bewys. Kyk my bakkie dra hom net dood aan die antenna's maar verder staan hy terug vir niks nie.
Joke sommer net.... Alle Hiluxes is vir my mooi. Party is net mooier as ander :twisted:
4x4 Hilux
Vehicle: '89 Hilux d/c 4x4

Post by 4x4 Hilux »

Ek het 4x4 sites gegoogle en die een gevind.
Christian Kuun
Vehicle: 2008 Tuna V6 4x4 Manual

Post by Christian Kuun »

Google it was
Wynkop Kuun

O82 6l5 8lO5
Bushwacker
Town: Vryheid Natal
Vehicle: 2003 HILEX, 35" maxxis. 2009 Prado 120 VX

Post by Bushwacker »

Ek het gehoor daar's 'n free Chuck Norris fliek op dié forum.
legend35
Vehicle: Hilux 2700i
Club VHF Licence: HC262

Post by legend35 »

Ek het die forum op google gekry ,dink dit was met hilux 4x4,kan nie meer onthou nie :oops:
2004 Hilux 2700i 4x4 Legend 35
Cowley branch and freeflow,long range tank,dual battery system,home made front and rear bumpers.
Alibaba
Town: Bellville
Vehicle: 1992 2.2 petrol Hilux DC. Stock-standard bakkie, hanggat, OME leaf springs, Gabriel Safari shocks, BF Goodrich KM2.

Post by Alibaba »

I was looking around for a good Hilux to buy so I stumbled across this site.

And, whooohoooooo! I bought a damn nice and clean red 1992, 2.2p with 150 000 on the clock this afternoon from the original owner - and old toppie, nogal a retired bank manager - who looked after it very nicely thank you very much!

I'll post picture as soon as I get a chance to take them.
Alibaba

"In a city you don't live. You just show off." Herman Charles Bosman

OK, since this story is about how I found the Hilux 4x4 website, I will tell it to you like it really and truly happened. I have to warn you, that this story is very, very sad and so, if you're the kind of person who cries a lot, well, this is not the story for you.

It all started last year, when my wife came home from a girls trip down in Sodwana, with a big surprise for me. It was a turtle! You can imagine that I was pretty darn excited, considering that I am the biggest fan of turtles there is. But, I did feel sort of funny about this gift; the turtle was a wild turtle, from the Ocean, and we didn't even really know what to feed him. But, I put all of that out of my head, I was glad that my wife had thought of me, and that was what really mattered. Besides, I had my own turtle!

For the first few weeks, well months, actually, the turtle hardly ever moved from his position his house, which was just a Rubbermaid tub. My wife said that he was just a stupid lump, the way he never moved, so I decided to call him "Lump". Also, because "Lump" is a song by my favorite band.

Lump's lack of movement was not very good. We kept thinking that he was DEAD! But soon he would move a bit, and we would know he was just sleeping. This went on for a while. "How long could a turtle hybernate for?" We all asked, but never got an answer to; until FINALLY he moved. By then, it was already nearing summer.

Well, as spring started to come around, my wife thought that it would be a good idea to put Lump outside in his own pond. I liked this idea very much because I wanted Lump to be happy, and I was sure that a pond would make his extactic! So, my wife went to Builders Warehouse and bought a nice pond. We set him out there, but he just stayed in the mud. This made me very upset, but I was sure he was happy.

My wife thought otherwise. And when mosquito larvea started growing in the pond, my wife said that the turtle would have to go. I was devistated. I loved that turtle! Even though he never really played with me or moved much, I still loved him. I thought that he was the most interesting turtle in the world. But, it was dangerous to have mosquitos growing in our front yard, so my wife dug up the pond, and took the turtle to an animal shelter. She said that it was the right thing to do, but it was still sad to have to lose my first and only turtle. I hope he is OK. I'll never see him again, so I can only imagine where he is or what he is doing. But, I'll always remember you Lump! I loved you!

And then one day I searched for Hiluxes on google and clicked on this website link.
legend35
Vehicle: Hilux 2700i
Club VHF Licence: HC262

Post by legend35 »

Ewald,you got me there for a while :lol: :lol:
2004 Hilux 2700i 4x4 Legend 35
Cowley branch and freeflow,long range tank,dual battery system,home made front and rear bumpers.

Heh... yes, you should write a book :)

richard
Vehicle: 2000 Prado 3.4 V6 VX

Post by richard »

Both my directors are avid Toyota fans but have moved from the Hilux to Landcruisers. They both directed me to your site when i started asking questions when i bought my Hilux. i do look at other forums but this one kicks @ss!

EWALD PATROLLIE wrote:But, I'll always remember you Lump! I loved you!
Ewald that story left me with a lump in my throat.... :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

Outlaw
Town: Piet Retief
Vehicle: Hilux V8 Lexus 1995

Post by Outlaw »

I saw the link on a picture of a Hilux on the Land Cruiser website.
troos
Vehicle: Isuzu KB350 D/C 4x2

Post by troos »

ek het van die forum tesiene gekry op die 4x4community forum. daar was 'n link in iemand se post......
========================================================================
silverpigeon
Town: Oldham
Vehicle: Mk4 single cab hilux pickup

Post by silverpigeon »

I found it by complete chance, a link on another site (I forget which)

At first I thought it was an Oz site .....

......until I saw all the non-English postings, and the English posts with big words :lol: :lol:
masterd6ib6
Town: Bucharest
Vehicle: Hilux 3.0 l D-4D 4x4 double

Post by masterd6ib6 »

I was googleying for Hilux information and found you guys.

Google rules !
To be happy, a man must have a wife.
If it is lucky, he found a understanding and lovely women to share his dreams, and that make a man happy.
If not, he found a virago, naggy women and that torn a man in to a philosopher.
A philosopher is a happy free man.

......until I saw all the non-English postings, and the English posts with big words :lol: :lol:

S'Right! Australians do not understand big English words. That's why they were sent there in the first place!

Family_BullDog wrote:S'Right! Australians do not understand big English words. That's why they were sent there in the first place!
And I thought the were sent there coz they didn't know the meaning of the word "NO"... :D: :D: :shock:

That's right! That is a big word for them! :twisted: :twisted:

(Apologies to any Australian friends that I might still have...)

Ek het info gesoek oor Hilux 4x4's en toe op die site afgekom...... :twisted: Nou kuier ek lekker saam met almal hierso!!! :wink:

I was looking to cause some trouble and googled "the most gullible people on earth".

Google then sent me to the Nissan site, but even I felt too sorry for these poor buggers to ruin their lives any more than they have done allready. I then decided to rather stay out of trouble and look for info on my Hilux... :twisted:
1988 Hilex D/C 4x4 (Import spec), Lexus V8; Marlin Crawler; Custom Suspension: front and new 4 link in the rear; Disc Brake conversion rear; 35" Cooper STT tyres; Xenon lights; Custom bullbar;Next? Aircon; new front seats, redo the whole interior in nice soft leather, Respray, Double Lockers

Scorpion wrote:I was looking to cause some trouble and googled "the most gullible people on earth".

:twisted:
I googled it as well, and came up with this:
Sometimes I think American voters are the most gullible people on earth. What else would explain the fact that, by current polls, at least half the United States citizenry would reelect Bush? Despite the lies, the tawdry past, the mess in Iraq, the shady corporate and Saudi connections, the profligate economic and tax policies, etc.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2004/oc ... s2004.usa7

I tend to agree with Patsy Kintz...

Proof that brain washing has been perfected! :shock: Or that most Americans are completely brainless... :twisted: :twisted:
1988 Hilex D/C 4x4 (Import spec), Lexus V8; Marlin Crawler; Custom Suspension: front and new 4 link in the rear; Disc Brake conversion rear; 35" Cooper STT tyres; Xenon lights; Custom bullbar;Next? Aircon; new front seats, redo the whole interior in nice soft leather, Respray, Double Lockers