Tell Us How You Got to Know About This Great Hilux Forum

Please select the most appropriate option

I was invited here by the "Baas"
5%
I was invited here by another member. (If you select this option, please indicate whom the referring member was)
16%
I saw a link pointing here on another forum or website (If you select this option, please post a reply telling us which forum)
12%
I found this site on a search engine (If you select this option, please post an indication of what search criteria you used when you found this site.
56%
Any other referral not mentioned above (If you select this option, please post a reply giving more details)
11%

Total votes: 147

Re: Tell Us How Did You Get to Know About This Great Hilux Forum

Hey guys how can you soil our great forum by going off topic and talking such a lot of bush? Did you realise that if you trace the meaning of the word bush it is made up out of two latin words bull-itius shyt-ius?

Back to the topic at hand - Welcome to new our international members. :wink:
Spikevz
Town: Rustenburg
Vehicle: Toyota Stout Hilux 4X4 1980, Hilux de lux 1974 rw, Corolla

Post by Spikevz »

Searched Hilux 4x4 on yahoo
Toyota Stout Hilux 4X4 Driver

Searched on google,
hooked since then, only other lekker site is overseas
ben_haynes
Town: Kettering UK
Vehicle: Range Rover 3.5 V8

Post by ben_haynes »

i voted other because i was refered here by one of your members on another forum he is a member of, the referee was Silverpigeon aka Tony on http://www.elite4x4.co.uk
Ben Haynes

1984(B) Rangie Vouge V8) (Named DENT) (Mine)
1996(P) Discovery 300TDi Auto (Mums)
1995(N) P38 Range Rover 4.0 V8) (Dads)

http://ben-haynes.webs.com
http://www.northants4x4.com
http://www.elite4x4.co.uk
Mauro
Vehicle: Hilux 4.0L V6 4x4

Post by Mauro »

A friend had a Nissan and found the Nissan thread, I thought that there MUST be a Hilux forum... :twisted: glad i found it! :thumbup: :thumbup:
2008 Hilux Raider 4.0L V6 4x4
Long Range Tank, Dual Battery System, Aluminium Canopy
Education is when you read the fine print. Experience is what you get if you don't - Peter Seeger
Liaan
Town: Lichtenburg
Vehicle: 99 2.7 DC 4x4
Club VHF Licence: AC1

Post by Liaan »

Riaan (Toyx4) het my geinvite!
Almal kry die voorreg om onnosel te wees, net jammer party maak misbruik daarvan

99 2.7 Raider 4x4 D/c
OME and some more...

Gebore in die BLOU BUL hoofstad
WayneSchalk
Vehicle: 2019 Toyota Hilux 2.8 GD-6 4X4 DC Auto
Club VHF Licence: X117

Post by WayneSchalk »

I was invited here by another member. :thumbup: Riceburner/
Erdvark
Town: Cookhouse
Vehicle: 1990 Hilux D/C 2.2 Td

Post by Erdvark »

My oorlede swaer , John Sulivan (Feb 2009) van Potch ,het my vertel van die forum.
Arno
Town: Durbanville CT
Vehicle: 1997 Hilux DC

Post by Arno »

Ek het begin Mei my Hilux DC SFA 2.8DT gekoop en wou ( wil steeds ) Alucab canopy koop toe sit ek Alucab in op Google en toe kom die site op. Ek dink dit was 'n artikel van een van die lede wat sy eie gebou het. Van toe af kyk ek heeltemal te veel hierna.
Vehicle: '90 SFA Hilux DC 4X4, Full OME, 110mm lift. Brospeed branch, 50mm ss freeflow exhaust. 30 x 9.5 Discoverer S/T's on Viper mags. L/R tank. (AWOL) '98 LTD 2.4 SFA, dual battery system. Dobinson suspension, LR tanks, 31" BF mud's.

I used to be a member of a Hilux forum some years ago that was linked to a 4x4 site, I think it was http://www.4xforum.com/ but not sure. Pieter was involved there IIRC and then something changed and we all had to re-register because of lost data ... my memory is a bit vague on the issue. I was'nt too enthusistic at that time and left it for a long time before actually doing "the dirty" just over a year ago and starting as a 'newbie' again. :D:

Andy, the lack of nicotine seems to be getting to you... :D:

The original http://www.4xforum.co.za was administered by Andrew St. Pieere White, as a means of introducing his Info-Maps, Books & DVDs to us as members. Initially, the forum was a huge success and ran for a few years but then fell to pieces as its membership expanded due to lack of moderation and some extremely bad mud-slinging took place. Numerous attempts to get the Administrator to intervene and restore sanity were fruitless and the forum began to die. The database became corrupted before finally drifting off into cyberspace, never to be seen again.

At about this time, Dirk Erasmus decided to start a fresh 4x4 forum and apply the lessons learnt from the mistakes made in the past as guidelines to the new forum, and so the Community Forum was born. At the time, Pieter was under some negative influence and drove a П!$$@П before he finally saw the light of day and sold the П!$$@П in favour of a real 4x4 :twisted: .

In a desire to learn more about this magnificent newly acquired vehicle, Pieter turned to the Internet and was horrified :o: to find Hilux sites & forums all over the world...... except in the Republic of South Africa. Realising that this was a fatal flaw in the History of Mankind, Pieter, with great foresight and wisdom, established this forum.

The rest is History...

Oh, the original 4xforum is no more, after some characters of a very dubious & devious nature took over, advertising their wares, all of which were totally unacceptable to decent members of the human race.

Capiche?

One minute I was on Google looking for a good absorbent facial tissue, the next......... :confused:

R :wink:
Vehicle: '90 SFA Hilux DC 4X4, Full OME, 110mm lift. Brospeed branch, 50mm ss freeflow exhaust. 30 x 9.5 Discoverer S/T's on Viper mags. L/R tank. (AWOL) '98 LTD 2.4 SFA, dual battery system. Dobinson suspension, LR tanks, 31" BF mud's.

Thanks for clearing it up Eric ... as I said I was'nt too enthralled by the site, and that whole saga is more than a litlle fuzzy in my memory. :D:

I've got this neighbour with a hilux......

Hoppy wrote:I've got this neighbour with a hilux......
And you realised you were not making a living out of repairing his Hilux because it never, ever, broke down! :twisted: So you no doubt joined to probe the secrets of the "Great Hilux Brotherhood"... :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Went camping at Madikwe 2007 and met my neighbour who drove a single cab 2,8 Hilux. We got chatting as he had a neatly modified canopy. Not sure what his name is however, something he had on the back of his vehicle canopy was a map of southern africa. He had drawn all his route's travelled on it and was a great point of discussion.

He told me about the Hilux4x4 Forum. Not sure if anyone know's him and his wife?

Family_Dog wrote:
And you realised you were not making a living out of repairing his Hilux because it never, ever, broke down!...
Now we know you not talking about neighbour Thys's KasPaas... :twisted:

I think I know your neighbour cause I also know a guy with a hilux that is a neighbour to a guy working his hilux

Ja nee, but does he have a map on the back of his van?
jsrossouw
Vehicle: 2.7i Hilux

Post by jsrossouw »

Ek het "Hilux Forum" gegoogle.
Pumba
Vehicle: Toyota Hilux 3.0 D4D 4x4
Club VHF Licence: HC112

Post by Pumba »

Ons was op 'n 4x4 dag in Atlantis en daar het ek die web adres op iemand anders se Lux se bonnet gesien en toe die week daarna dit gaan opkyk.

Wat kan ek se, hooked... :D:
Jesus was blunt: "No chance at all if you think you can pull it off by yourself. Every chance in the world if you let God do it." Mark 10:27(Message)

cmcg
Town: Maidstone
Vehicle: Astra

Post by cmcg »

Found it on the Land Cruiser Forum i belong too :thumbup:
warthog
Town: Barberton
Vehicle: Fortuner 4.0 V6 Auto, LRFT, Dual Batt, OME's, BFG AT's, ARM comp, 800w inv, Roofrack

Post by warthog »

Ek't by 'n bil gehoor van die Cruiser forum, en toe gaan google ek Fortuner forum, en siedaar!!
Baie, baie sleg vir produktiwiteit
Hennie

Live simply, Love generously, Care deeply, Speak kindly. Leave the rest to God.
Jos 24:15: "As for me and my house, we will serve the Lord"
Spartan
Town: Vanderbijlpark
Vehicle: 98 LTD Hilux 4x4 SFA, 2JZ GE L6 VVT-i 3.0i, Bilstein shox, OME and a Land Cruiser 79 series

Post by Spartan »

Ek het weer soos normaal gekrap rondom Hilux en alu canopies toe ek op Piet se DIY afkom en daar val ek ook toe van die bus af :twisted: :lol:
MOBILITATE VINCERE
Spartan
ImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

I searched for a Hilux forum and could not find one, so I started one.
1999 Hilux 2.7i 4x4 Raider DC with 3.4 Prado V6. Rear diff-lock, Bull Bar and rock sliders, 31" Cooper ST Maxx, Snorkel, Alu-Canopy, VHF Motorolla radio, West Coast Rust, Mikem Suspension, Ball Joint Spacers in front and Mikem extended shackles at the rear, 25watt LED Spots
Scooter
Vehicle: '94 Raider, '05 Vigo 4.0 v6

Post by Scooter »

SWAMBO just called and said I have to pay her royalties, due to the fact that so many guys in their Hiluxs' ride up her butt so they can take down the address of the forum from the small sticker I put on the back of her Getz.

I wonder how many have actually joined from seeing the stickers on other luxs?
"I know that you believe you understand what you think I said, but I'm not sure you realise that what you heard is not what I meant."

Scooter wrote:SWAMBO just called and said I have to pay her royalties, due to the fact that so many guys in their Hiluxs' ride up her butt so they can take down the address of the forum from the small sticker I put on the back of her Getz.

I have a total of 6 stickers with the forum address on my bakkie :D:

CasKru wrote:
Scooter wrote:SWAMBO just called and said I have to pay her royalties, due to the fact that so many guys in their Hiluxs' ride up her butt so they can take down the address of the forum from the small sticker I put on the back of her Getz.

I have a total of 6 stickers with the forum address on my bakkie :D:

Plus one advertising for a Panel Beater... :twisted: :twisted:

000MSS
Town: Western Cape
Vehicle: Anything i want :)

Post by 000MSS »

OOOOMS refered me... A.K.A My dad... 4x4 Fanatic!!! :thumbup: :thumbup: :thumbup:
ONE LIFE! DRIVE A TOYOTA!

DUST IS A DIFFERENT KIND OF STATUS SYMBOL!!!
andrevt
Town: sasolburg
Vehicle: raider d4d

Post by andrevt »

shucks die site kan maak dat jy minder bier drink
ImageImageImageImageImageImage

Toyota Hilux 3.0 D4D 4x4
cockroach9999
Town: False Bay Cape Town
Vehicle: 91 Hilux 2.2 EFI D/C 4x4 - Rustbucket

Post by cockroach9999 »

Google

Can't remember the terms I used, but found the article on the Hilux history, and from there found the forum.

Was one of those Guests, A.K.A. lurkers, for a while, until my decision to purchase.

Jason
Asterix
Vehicle: 1990 SFA Hilux

Post by Asterix »

Ek het bietjie op Google gesoek vir info oor Hilux 4x4's en hier is alles en nog meer!
Dankie vir 'n great forum :thumbup:
kfxnando
Town: Germiston
Vehicle: Ford V6 3.4 Courrier soon to be powered by Yamaha!! Jeep GC 4.7 V8, Aygo broken traded for a Kia Picanto.2ex, 2012 Jeep GC 5.7 V8 Ovrrland

Post by kfxnando »

months and months ago, when I started with the Lexus V8 storry a ''friend'' who is dead set against the idea of this conversion, found this site and said go have a look, most those guys who do the conversions end up selling the vehicle couz they are not happy, and these conversions dont work out and cost 65k!!

looked and read and eventually joined!!!
good atmosphere here
great people willing to help here!! thanx to all those that have given me info so far!!

might as well add this
when we were looking for a 4x4, was actually looking for a Hilux with a Ford V6, at the time found none
so we settled for the Courier, and have no regrets, just need a little more woma!!
and hence the Lexus V8 idea

have looked at the Ford and Chevy V8s, been a long story of doing homework on plenty options, still have many questions on the lexus V8s, however looks like this is the way to go for my towing needs!!

:twisted: :twisted:
http://www.youtube.com/user/kfxnando" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
http://community.webshots.com/user/kfxnando" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
http://s538.photobucket.com/albums/ff343/kfxnando/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
Vla-Wa
Town: Tzaneen
Vehicle: Hilux 4x4 1990

Post by Vla-Wa »

:thumbup: Ek het ook net Hilux info en fotos op die web gesoek en siedaar, ek moes net join om al die waardevolle inligting oor Hiluxes te bekom.
Traveler
Vehicle: Pathfinder 2.5 LE AT
Club VHF Licence: X81

Re: Tell Us How Did You Get to Know About This Great Hilux F

Post by Traveler »

Ek het gelees van die Community Forum vs. Hilux Forum event en hier is ek nou.

Know what you don't know.
yotaman
Town: Hartenbos Western Cape
Vehicle: '99 2.7i Hilux 4x4 S/C

Post by yotaman »

I followed a link from some other Micky Mouse forum and landed up here. This in my view is the best on line forum @ present. But then again, it's for the fans & owners of the best 4x4 ever build. Well done Pietpetoors!
Imagination is more important than knowledge. Knowledge is limited, imagination encircles the world.

Albert Einstein

Toe ek my Hilux aangeskaf het, het Family Dog my uitgenooi na die forum.
Numbnut
Town: Vredenburg
Vehicle: '03 Colt 2.8TDI DC 4x4; Wilderness Offroad Camping Trailer

Post by Numbnut »

Het een aand laat by die werk bietjie op die internet rondgespeel, het toe op een van Pieter se sites afgekom nl. http://www.pietpetoors.com nadat
ek "Laatson" geGOOGLE het. Het gehoor by n vriend van die plek en sy watervalle, nadat ek Pieter se Trip Report gelees het, het ons besluit om
te gaan kamp daar vir n naweek.

Het toe vanaf daardie site die Hilux Forum ontdek, and the rest is history as they say!!!
Everything Works Better When It Is Properly Lubricated...!!!
ragges
Town: hekpoort
Vehicle: hilux 4x4

Post by ragges »

C.R.A.F.T (cant remember a friggin thing) disease - but i think I searched hi-lux forum on google and waded thru some sites till i found this one - great forum...
Bijl
Town: Bloemfontein
Vehicle: `87 dc 4x4 Hilux (import)

Post by Bijl »

I was looking for info on my Lux and found the forum. Very glad I did!
Die$eL
Town: Midrand
Vehicle: 06' Hilux 3.0 D4D 4X4

Post by Die$eL »

Think i found it on Google
Real drivers use three pedals

Chuck Norris told me about it... :mrgreen:

Doom
Town: Windhoek
Vehicle: '92 Hilux 2.2 DC 4x4 - "Boetman"; '96 Toyota Hilux 4x4 - Lexus, 98 Toyota Hilux 2.4 4x4

Post by Doom »

Het op die Net gesoek na info oor "Hilux 4x4" en whalla!
ImageImageImageImageImage
LOS MAAR DIE KAAS, GENIET DIT NET !!
krazy_kameleon
Town: Fourways
Vehicle: 1993 Hilux D/C 4X4 2.4 22R (fuel injection in the pipeline)

Post by krazy_kameleon »

Google - typed 'Hilux 4X4' and selected 'pages from South Africa'
cheetah
Vehicle: 1994 Hilux d/c 2.2

Post by cheetah »

Google it, search sfa hilux and was linked to this hilux forum.
luckyhit
Vehicle: '04 Hilux 2.7i 4x4 d/c

Post by luckyhit »

Google, hilux srvice manual ingetik
One Life! Live it!

DustyDre
Town: Mossel Bay
Vehicle: NONE (CRASHED)

Post by DustyDre »

Invited by another member :thumbup: , whom isn't a member anymore seemingly , sad loss for him anyway :thumbdown:

In 2009 I "recovered" a Land Rover with my Suzuki Jimny.

By the next day some photo's were on this forum about this ..... JIP, Landy and Suzuki makes it on the Hilux forum in record time. :)

I just HAD TO log on to see what all the fuss was about.

A few months later I got my Hilux and Family-Dog "ensured" that I log on here again. :)

Thanks FD
Blaps
Vehicle: Hilux 4x4 Ford V6

Post by Blaps »

:lol: Die internet..... dis maklik :lol:
Go, just go.... Somewhere.... Out There...
Blaps
Vehicle: Hilux 4x4 Ford V6

Post by Blaps »

:thumbup: Ok, Ok SA4x4 het ek iets gelees van die forum en toe sommer gejoin :thumbup:
Go, just go.... Somewhere.... Out There...
mikama
Town: randfontein
Vehicle: quashqai

Post by mikama »

Goole na hilux 4x4,da rond gekyk toe gaan ek na Toyota Hilux and Fortuner 4x4 vehicle information
Dankie daarvoor
Dan the Man
Vehicle: 3.0D-4D Prado
Club VHF Licence: B205

Post by Dan the Man »

Hilux01 het my hierna verwys! Thx
Witblits
Town: Koringberg
Vehicle: Hilux D4-D S/Cab
Club VHF Licence: X50

Post by Witblits »

An Isuzu friend promised me a Namibia safari if I acquire a 4x4 vehicle. Searched the Internet. Browsed many forums. This forum's amazing members had me persuaded to buy a Hilux. Then joined the forum and have only being richer for the experience.
mleroux
Vehicle: Chevrolet

Post by mleroux »

Ôk maar Google...
519franco
Town: Richards bay
Vehicle: 87 Hilux 3L v6 Ford

Post by 519franco »

Heres my story
When i got my exuasts done i was riding with my fezz and saw a lux with it bonnet open so i stoped
and see if i could help so he followed me home and i help to replace his master cylinder for his clutch,
while doing this he told me that he had bumbed another car becase of his clutch,,,
he told me about this forum.

here the wierd part afta he left i went to my Girlfriends house and the person that guy bumbed was my Girlfriends Father
HAPPILY BUILD 3L V6 1987 TOYOTA HILUX
viewtopic.php?f=136&t=18393" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
FORD> Full Off Road Damnation
FORD> Its not oil leaks,, its swearing power
Sponser: MY DAD
Builder: ME: FRANCO DU PLESSIS
TheoF
Town: Mosselbaai
Vehicle: Hilux 3.0 D-4D SC 4x4

Post by TheoF »

I heard it through the grapevine :lol:
MOFASA
Vehicle: 1998 JEEP XJ 4.0............ 4 inch lift.... more mods to follow............ Old vehicle was MOFASA
Club VHF Licence: X119

Post by MOFASA »

Google

Was looking for a workshop manual on my Lux and it threw up a post with the manual.... :thumbup: :thumbup: :thumbup:

So glad i found this forum............ :yahoo: :yahoo: :yahoo:
Live Life in the FAST lane....
Forget the past, Embrace the FUTURE!!!!
To 4x4 or not to 4x4 thats the question....
IT'S A JEEP :yahoo: ..... You wouldn't understand....
ImageImageImage[rimg=206x128]
Wegbreek
Vehicle: 2001 Hilux KZTE

Post by Wegbreek »

From the Overland forum. Someone was looking for advise on his Hilux and the return answer was "check out http://www.hilux4x4.co.za" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;". So naturally I did. Glad I did though as I found my new vehicle on the site and of course have loads of fun checking the site daily.
Blackadder
Vehicle: Toyota Fortuner 3.0 D4D, Ironman Bumper, OME, Dual Battery, BFG'S, TJM Snorkel, Navstar 220 29mhz radio, LAS Pro Rear Bumper, Frontrunner Roofrack
Club VHF Licence: X82

Re: Tell Us How You Got to Know About This Great Hilux Forum

Post by Blackadder »

I was looking for some info on my Fortuner. Google pointed me to a post on this Forum. :thumbup: :thumbup: :thumbup: