Lap Nissen Surgery - Hiatus Hernia Procedure?

Medical forum

Lap Nissen Surgery - Hiatus Hernia Procedure?

Has anybody here had this?

Was it successful or not? The Surgeon says about 90% success rate. A mate of mine here had it done about 10 years ago and he lost a lot of weight just after, but he is fine now and he is happy with the results. My problem is reflux and constant heartburn, particularly at night after a meal, I do not eat rich or overly spiced foods before retiring. Apparently I have a massive Hiatus Hernia and the Doc feels it should preferably be remedied, although the choice whether to do so or not lies with me.

I have to think hard & quick - D-Date is this Wednesday unless I change my mind. Would just like to hear some valid opinions on it. I am not looking forward to the unspeakable diet I have to follow for some six weeks, can't eat or drink anything that I like during that time.

Re: Lap Nissen Surgery - Hiatus Hernia Procedure?

Yes Eric, I had my op about 22 years ago.( When a person was still cut from your rib cage to your belly button.) Just before I had mine done my foreman had his done and did not listen to his Dr about taking it easy. Within 8 months he was suffering again. I was worried about the op not being as successful but had to have it done as my tear was 13 cm long. I had it done and my foreman made me take it easy, giving all the light work to me for 6 months. I sometimes still get a little reflux after eating certain foods (curry, cucumber) but have never been sorry for having the op done. There was also a second procedure that was done where they burnt some of the acid pores in the stomach closed, I think, cant remember the name of this procedure.
Just follow the Dr orders and you will be good.
Vehicle: '90 SFA Hilux DC 4X4, Full OME, 110mm lift. Brospeed branch, 50mm ss freeflow exhaust. 30 x 9.5 Discoverer S/T's on Viper mags. L/R tank. (AWOL) '98 LTD 2.4 SFA, dual battery system. Dobinson suspension, LR tanks, 31" BF mud's.

Eish old man! :eh: Another anaesthetic so soon after the eye ops! :crazy: Mind you, anaesthesia has come a far way in the last couple if decades .... they can wake you and put you back under like turning a tap on and off, but it's the lingering residual in one's tissues that I worry about.

If you feel up to it, then I say go for it, it can only improve the quality of life after the recovery period. Good luck! ;-)

Vehicle: '90 SFA Hilux DC 4X4, Full OME, 110mm lift. Brospeed branch, 50mm ss freeflow exhaust. 30 x 9.5 Discoverer S/T's on Viper mags. L/R tank. (AWOL) '98 LTD 2.4 SFA, dual battery system. Dobinson suspension, LR tanks, 31" BF mud's.

Have you read this?

Thanks Roger, I am in need of encouraging advice ;)

Andy, the eye Surgeon suggested I go see a Specialist because both times when under general Anesthetic during the eye op, I brought up in Theatre. I never even knew I had a problem like this and in fact, have not suffered the reflux problem for well over a year. But the Specialist says these things don't fix themselves, however much I might hope so. I tried watching the video in that link you supplied but truth to be told, I am in no mood for horror movies right now.

The miserable diet is attached in the PDF form.

I just hope I have made the correct decision.

That diet is not so bad, just dont start eating solid food too quick. I tried scrambled eggs after a week and a half because I was so hungry and nearly choked, it would not go down or come up, very sore and worrying. All the best in your decision and recovery. :thumbup:

Family_Dog wrote:Thanks Roger, I am in need of encouraging advice ;)

Andy, the eye Surgeon suggested I go see a Specialist because both times when under general Anesthetic during the eye op, I brought up in Theatre. I never even knew I had a problem like this and in fact, have not suffered the reflux problem for well over a year. But the Specialist says these things don't fix themselves, however much I might hope so. I tried watching the video in that link you supplied but truth to be told, I am in no mood for horror movies right now.

The miserable diet is attached in the PDF form.

I just hope I have made the correct decision.
__www.upmc.com_patients-visitors_education_nutrition_pages_diet-after-nissen-fundoplication-surgery.aspx&_ga=1.249685125.2089326092.1396619246.pdf

Video? I don't get a video, I get an informative write-up. :wth: Thought I may have posted the wrong link, but went back and checked it, still get the write-up (there may be a clip attached, but I didn't see it - the last ting I would want to send you at this point is graphic material). My apologies.

I see there is a clip at the end of the third page, but didn't read that far myself. Most of the stuff that can be understood by a lay person is on the first page, so never went past the second. My apologies again. ;-)

No problem Andy, the video was quite intense but more for skilled people. As I have no inclination to do the op as a DIY project, I just fast-forwarded through most of it ;)

But it is no wonder when I mentioned to the doc that I would be back at work in a day or two he informed me otherwise. I never realised it was such an intense "procedure", as they like to call it.

Roger, your input on not picking up heavy objects is well-noted, I will not try anything like that because I have no intention of returning to the doc for self-inflicted damage. I just wish the docs would provide more info regarding these matters, they tend to be very vague and I have learnt more here than I was told before. The diet sheet I found myself because the diet sheet they gave me was ridiculous: It just said eat this but avoid that, no detail as provided in the one I looked up myself.

a friend had a hernia opp last year - very happy with the results

at least you can now SEE the food you will have to eat ....
Dingo
Vehicle: 95 4x4 DC Hilux, 7MG engine, EFS suspension, Home made custom off-road canopy.

Post by Dingo »

Eric, which surgeon is doing the procedure??

Had mine done 18 months ago and haven't looked back. suffered terribly from heartburn and use to go thru nexium and gavascon like crazy. Since then never had any heartburn at all.

All the advice given is extremely important with regards to the recovery - take it REAL easy and do not over do things, when sitting up etc don't use you stomach muscles at all. Don't push trying to eat solids to soon, you will suffer and it's really sore when it gets stuck.

The only repercussions that I now have - If I don't chew properly or eat too quick food gets stuck and it's uncomfortable. Also potato chips, bread, most doughy type food always gets stuck.

I lost 14kgs in 12 days after the op and have since gained about 6kgs and seem to be stabilizing there.

Good luck, you wont regret the decision.

Thanks Scott, Posts like yours are very welcome! I have heard of a couple of horror stories but mostly good ones and I can now understand why one needs to take it easy afterwards and not rush things. I have not had any indigestion problems for the past couple of years but the doc (Dr. Johan Fourie, Klerksdorp) said I have a "massive Hiatus Hernia" and showed me the G-scope pics. Not that it made much sense to me, what I thought was the 'exhaust' pipe was actually the osophoegus (spelling????) and the valve was wide open.

Went grocery shopping on Saturday for all the stuff I am likely to try eat for the next 6 weeks, went for a haircut this morning, trying to get my house in order so I don't have to stress too much when I get back. To top it all off, Rusty (my JR cross) had to have an op to his gums/jawbone last week and also had three large cysts removed, his stitches will need to come out next Tuesday. When I said to the Vet come hell or high water, I ill get Rusty to him, he suggested that he do my op as well... ;)

Well, if I recover as quickly as Rusty did , might not be such a bad choice either!

Jislaaik, gelukkig het ek nie sulke spares gehad toe ek laas gekyk het nie.

Dis nou 'n ding... Oom Hoppy, jy is mos ge-experienced wif valve overhauling??

Ek probeer nog uitmaak wat doen die goed wat julle wil overhaul, is dit coustom parte of is julle daarmee ge-issue?

Ek was ge-issue met een, maar die TWB* het nou probleme met valve seat sluitasie gemaak.

* Teveel Wit Brood

Ek sit met dieselfde probleem, die dr se ek moet alles los wat wit is, witbrood, suiker, aartappels, suiwel ens. Ek wag net dat hy se ek moet n bruin vrou ook kry. Dan moet ek alles met alkohol en gas in ook los en sommer vleis met vet aan ook.....
Ek is nou bekommerd, as ek so gesond eet, waarvan gaan ek eendag dood gaan? Dan staan daar op my dood-sertifikaat ek is dood van niks...

Hoppy wrote:Ek sit met dieselfde probleem, die dr se ek moet alles los wat wit is, witbrood, suiker, aartappels, suiwel ens. Ek wag net dat hy se ek moet n bruin vrou ook kry. Dan moet ek alles met alkohol en gas in ook los en sommer vleis met vet aan ook.....
Ek is nou bekommerd, as ek so gesond eet, waarvan gaan ek eendag dood gaan? Dan staan daar op my dood-sertifikaat ek is dood van niks...
nee wat oom Hoppy is niks om oor te worry nie .... volg nou daai kwak se raad so stap vir stap .... en die auntie gaan daai nuwe "kar" SO parkeer dat daar wel n oorsaak vir n VROEE dood gaan wees ... :slap: :siffler:

Guys, reality has set in and I have cancelled the Op. Attached below is some solid advice from Stan Weakley, a retired Surgeon who is a member of the Community forum and it makes excellent sense.
This thread is located at:
http://www.4x4community.co.za/forum/sho ... to=newpost" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

Here is the message that has just been posted:
Family dog, the laparoscopic Nissen Fundoplication operation was an operation I performed regularly until I retired a few months ago. The first thing to remember is that no operation is a picnic and the possible complications of surgery must be respected. Surgery must never be regarded as a quick-fix solution for heartburn.

This antireflux procedure is an operation of patient self-choice and I would always explain the operation, its shortcomings and possible complications in detail to the patient. I would make sure that he had tried all the non-operative treatments first. These include avoiding all aggravating foods where possible, losing weight if required, eating your evening meal at least 4 hours before retiring to bed, avoiding too much liquid intake at night and raising the head of your bed etc.

The proton pump inhibiting treatment tablets are very effective in most patients and I think taking one of these tablets daily is far preferable to surgery in most people. These tablets usually improve the heartburn tremendously but the patients that require surgery in my practice were usually the ones with severe regurgitation when lying flat. These poor people would often wake at night with severe choking and a feeling of drowning from stomach fluids flowing back into their mouths and airways. The tablets do not help to alleviate this very distressing symptom.

>From what you relate I doubt if you would be a candidate for an operation, but obviously cannot be sure just on the type of information posted here. If you are considering the operation because of the perceived risk of cancer from reflux, this is not a valid indication for surgery. The risk of cancer of the oesophagous (swallowing tube) is too low to warrant surgery and in any case there are many studies now that show that surgery does not decrease the chances of developing this form of cancer. Although the cancer is related to reflux, neither the tablets nor the operation make any difference to your risk of cancer. Basically the damage has already been done.
So, as I am not suffering any further symptoms I see no need to proceed with the operation at all. I will sleep much better tonight! :)

I tend to agree with Stan Weakly, and am openly relieved that you have not gone through with it. It still remains an option at some later stage IF it's truly warranted. :thumbup:

Stan's from your part of the world, Andy, drives a Cruiser. have you met him?

Yep, knew the name straight off ... what's more he did an inguinal hernia repair to me 22 yrs ago. :D:

Andy, if you ever bump into him again, please convey my thanks & appreciation to him - he saved me a lot of unnecessary discomfort!

I swallow "Lanzor" capsules for heartburn, never without them, one a day is enough. I get the same "choking" at night, i found that sleeping on my left side solves this. Like you mentioned, no eating/drinking late nights, this is the key.

LOTS of respect for Stan. He has previously assisted me with some sound medical advise !!
Last edited by ChrisF on Wed Apr 16, 2014 8:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Family_Dog wrote:Andy, if you ever bump into him again, please convey my thanks & appreciation to him - he saved me a lot of unnecessary discomfort!

Don't see him about that often, but if I do I'll convey your message. ;-)

Sitting at home now and contemplating about what I would be doing right now in Hospital if I had gone through with this...

I would have had severe neck & shoulder pain, according to a mate of mine who did have the op. I would, if I had recovered from the GA, be sipping tasteless liquified strained & filtered Royco Cup O' Soup (half a cup - maybe!) and I would have been very, very weewee'd off had I had the op before reading Stan's comments above. No doubt I would be rather sore all over and extremely uncomfortable, unable to sleep properly and in a Hospital Ward feeling very miserable.

Instead, I had a nice meal here at home, lean beef mince (I had already stocked up on this!!), mashed potatoes, fresh baby peas, pumpkin, followed by Koo Guava slices (just love these!), custard & cream, all washed down with a cuppa Jacobs! Stuff that I would only have been dreaming about for the next few weeks had I gone ahead with the op.

Life is GOOD! :yahoo:

:D: ;-)

Return to “Medical forum”