Road to and info on Ponta de Ouro

Need some information for an upcoming trip or have questions about a camping site, etc, ask it here.
Timone
Vehicle: Hilux DC
Club VHF Licence: S27

Road to and info on Ponta de Ouro

Post by Timone »

I am leaving for Ponta on Friday 6 Jan 2012. Can anybody supply the following info:

Which is the best road to Ponta from Pretoria? Ermelo, Pongola, Manguzi? or through Swaziland?
Is the tap water drinkable ?(I hear is is brown and one has to buy bottled water)
Is fruit, vegies, milk, etc, available in Ponta

Any additional info will be most wellcome!
oom dan
Town: st lucia
Vehicle: hilux

Re: Road to and info on Ponta de Ouro

Post by oom dan »

jaco what vehicle will you be travelling in, all the roads in sa to ponta are tar right to the kosi boarder gate, drive through the boarder control, bang!!! sand tracks cars must be left in the parking lot on the SA side, a 2x4 bakkie might make it but you will get stuck somewhere even in the middle of town, the okes churn up the roads at holiday time and ponta is jammed packed full. from pretoria best take N2(under construction with delays) via ermelo, piet retief, pongola. 40kms past pongola look for sign to jozini and mangusi on left take it go up the hill thru jozini town keep left at Y junction drive over dam wall carry on to mangusi,(you will drive past ndumu and tembe game reserves) you can buy everything in magusi, fuel, good spar bait booze even meat carry on to boarder post, normally quick once on the sand keep bearing right or east, ponta is 10 kms down the track.
NB let tyres down to 1 bar at boarder
fill up with fuel in mangusi(very expensive in moz)
drink as much laurentina and deuceM as possible
plenty bottled water in ponta don't drink local even in your whisky
Last edited by oom dan on Fri Dec 30, 2011 5:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Timone
Vehicle: Hilux DC
Club VHF Licence: S27

Post by Timone »

oom dan wrote:jaco what vehicle will you be travelling in
My trusted Hilux KZ-TE pulling a Venter Botswana Special and a Landrover Disco 3 pulling a Conquerer Conquest.
oom dan

Post by oom dan »

hilux 4x4 ? if so you will have a ball
don't forget to let the trailer's tyres down as well
dustbuster
Town: Richards Bay
Vehicle: Rebuilding 91 D/C Hilux Mboza Body, OME 4Y EFI, & 91 S/C 4Y Hilux

Post by dustbuster »

My friend at work just came back from ponta de ouro, he says things have become very expensive as they are cashing in on all the saffas going there.
Rather take all your own booze and food as a laurentina will cost R20-R25 and a R&R up to R40, the food has also gotten crazy as well. :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil:

I just got back yesterday from the elephant park the border was not that bad, just have your car papers and you must get car insurance we got ours at the Engen in Mangusi paid R150 take ice they run out this time of year there.
oom dan

Post by oom dan »

good advise from dean, carting heavy booze down from PTA is a pain, in mangusi the booze shop is hard to see looks like a garage beer is well priced anyone will give you directions (in zululand quarts rule bru) transkie dumpies
Johan Havenga
Town: Heidelberg Gauteng
Vehicle: Toyota Prado 120 V6

Post by Johan Havenga »

Ermelo, Pongola, Josini, Mangusi is the best route.

Have breakfast/lunch at the Beach Bar and supper at the Fishmonger and say hi to my friends Louis and Elaine!

If you run into any trouble, they are your best contacts in Ponta! Just use my name!
oom dan

Post by oom dan »

timone, how was your trip to ponta,would be nice to hear if the place still rocks. :eh: :D:
Ou vale1
Town: Heidelberg
Vehicle: Hilux 2.5 D4D

Post by Ou vale1 »

Johan Havenga wrote:Ermelo, Pongola, Josini, Mangusi is the best route.

Have breakfast/lunch at the Beach Bar and supper at the Fishmonger and say hi to my friends Louis and Elaine!

If you run into any trouble, they are your best contacts in Ponta! Just use my name!
Johan, praat jy van Facebook se ELAINE?

Return to “Route Planning questions/discussions”