Weekend day trips Gauteng

Planning a trip or you need information about trails in your area.
Stuart Baak
Town: Douglasdale
Vehicle: Hilux Legend 40 RB DC auto
Club VHF Licence: H61

Weekend day trips Gauteng

Post by Stuart Baak »

Was thinking of starting the Fred, and now I have.

My intention is to gather information on those quaint, awesome gems one finds on the weekend. Spots to see, places to eat that are not of the likes of McDonald's etc...

Myself and the Missus like to explore on weekends. I personally cannot sit inside all weekend. I'll go nuts!

So I thought I'd share some of the spots I have experienced and I ideally would like this to be an info sharing Fred.

So, first place that pops to mind, is the Black Horse Microbrewery in Magaliesburg. Awesome food, exceptional location, great service. Just a wow place to go for a Lekker Sunday drive.

Second would be the Maropeng heritage site. Also not far out of Joburg, very interesting and also you can get a joint ticket for the sterkfontein caves. (go to Maropeng before the caves IMHO), remember the comfy shoes.

In Fourways itself is Picolinos fourways. Awesome "out of joburg" feel, and the pizza is awesome!! (design yourself for a set price). Brilliant outing for the family with small kids (big play area)

Another gem is the Fairway Hotel & Golf resort - the Balata Restaurant. Phenomenal food and value for money! Spectacular view of the golf course. This is in a suburban area of Randburg of all places

For the flyfishing enthusiast, Kloofzicht lodge is a must! Great stocked dams, and a quaint little pub for a Lekker cold one after a morning of fishing. Also out Magalies way - just please don't be a *** and not pay the fee.

Out the vaal side, I have only really found 1 gem and it is well known, stonehaven on vaal. Very very well priced menu, their hake and calamari combo is the best I have ever had. Can get busy with functions sometimes. But Lekker play area for the kids and of course, Heineken on tap.

I want to try Gilroys sometime this weekend if I get a chance. Any comments?

And any other spots that you guys have found in your travels around Gauteng and surrounds. Please share. :D ;)
Scott
Vehicle: Hilux SFA

Re: Weekend day trips Gauteng

Post by Scott »

It is always good to see where people can go for a short drive and have a day out.I will look out for places as well.
Stuart Baak

Post by Stuart Baak »

+1 Scott
grobbepj
Town: Alberton
Vehicle: Hilux legend 35 4x4 3.0kzte D/C

Post by grobbepj »

Subscribed!!

What we should do is a brekki run somewhere on a Sunday morning, maybe like to Cullinan.

Stuart Baak

Post by Stuart Baak »

Not a bad idea. To the mine there? I hear it's quite good.

Stuart Baak wrote:Not a bad idea. To the mine there? I hear it's quite good.
Plenty different brekki places to choose from.

Stuart Baak

Post by Stuart Baak »

Thunder02 wrote:
Stuart Baak wrote:Not a bad idea. To the mine there? I hear it's quite good.
Plenty different brekki places to choose from.
Ah Lekker! Must check it out!
Stuart Baak

Post by Stuart Baak »

So from this weekend which was not too eventful due to pre-arrangements, however we did try a new place for Sunday afternoon early dinner/late lunch.

The place is in Fourways, in the shopping centre across from Montecasino on Witkoppen. It's called Rockomamas and it is a burger place, but not your typical burger nd chips. One of the best burgers I have had in a long time!

I had the bacon & guacamole burger with the toppings of feta, jalapenos and special hot sauce.

The menu is designed to be a basic burger, but add toppings of your choice. Craft beer on tap and decent service, they will see me again!
Stuart Baak

Post by Stuart Baak »

Okay I am playing delivery man on Sat and heading out Pta way. Are there any out of the way gems to see and possibly go for lunch and an ice cold one with swambo? Nature/view/authentic type places to experience?

Would really appreciate it! I don't just want to go to the botanical gardens...
Obelix and Dogmatix
Town: ROODEPOORT
Vehicle: HILUX 4.0 V6 4x4 named Obelix, donated to some clown, HILUX 4.0 V6 4x4 named Obelix II Onca front and rear Amade extreme Suspension and under water breathing apparatus

Post by Obelix and Dogmatix »

THE ALE HOUSE BROEDERSTROOM

It is an extremely rustic micro brewery pub which does a small menu of pizza's which are simply brilliant (who would have said that figs can be put on a pizza?) and the beer that Dirk brews is awesome.

Directions - Go past the Lanseria Airport towards broederstroom. At the t-junction go left past the Sasol garage on the left and small shopping center on the right. You will see signage for the broederstroom vet and Ale house (yes Dirk has finally gotten his national road sign up) follow dirt over intersection and you will see it on the right hand side.

Well worth it!!
Rules are there to make you think before you break them!!!
God made man before
woman so as to give him time
to think of an answer
for her first question
COMMON SENCE IS NOT A GIFT, IT IS A PUNISHMENT!! BECAUSE YOU HAVE TO DEAL WITH EVERYONE WHO DOES NOT HAVE IT!!!
Stuart Baak

Post by Stuart Baak »

Awesome!!! Love the way it sounds! Gonna definitely give that a shot!

Obelix and Dogmatix wrote:THE ALE HOUSE BROEDERSTROOM

It is an extremely rustic micro brewery pub which does a small menu of pizza's which are simply brilliant (who would have said that figs can be put on a pizza?) and the beer that Dirk brews is awesome.

Directions - Go past the Lanseria Airport towards broederstroom. At the t-junction go left past the Sasol garage on the left and small shopping center on the right. You will see signage for the broederstroom vet and Ale house (yes Dirk has finally gotten his national road sign up) follow dirt over intersection and you will see it on the right hand side.

Well worth it!!
And I can second you, beers are fantastic :thumbup: :thumbup: :thumbup:

Stuart Baak

Post by Stuart Baak »

Lekker Thanks gents. :D now ideas on what to do on Sunday... Swambo wants to wash her car so that's all that's on the agenda so far....
Stuart Baak

Post by Stuart Baak »

Guess where we are now!
Oupa Stig
Town: Johannesbug
Vehicle: Hilux KZTE 4X2 "Stagger Lee", Hilux IFS 2.7 4x4 "Loretta"

Post by Oupa Stig »

If it is the Ale house...

*jealous*
I feel a lot less wise at 45 than I did at 15.
Stuart Baak

Post by Stuart Baak »

Yebo yes, great beer (except the cinnamon stuff) and awesome pizzas! Smelly Italian is a winner! Stunning weather and my beautiful wyfie. What more could a guy ask for!
Stuart Baak

Post by Stuart Baak »

Some pics
DSC_0438.jpg
DSC_0440.jpg

Stuart, which one is you? ^^^

Stuart Baak

Post by Stuart Baak »

Here I am... :D
Me.JPG
Me.JPG (54.1 KiB) Viewed 10052 times
Obelix and Dogmatix
Vehicle: HILUX 4.0 V6 4x4 named Obelix, donated to some clown, HILUX 4.0 V6 4x4 named Obelix II Onca front and rear Amade extreme Suspension and under water breathing apparatus

LOVE THE MATCHING OUTFITS!! :lol: :lol: :lol: :evil: :evil: :evil:

I am thinking that the Ale house will be seeing me on Saturday after the marshalling :crazy2: :drinks:
God made man before
to think of an answer
for her first question
COMMON SENCE IS NOT A GIFT, IT IS A PUNISHMENT!! BECAUSE YOU HAVE TO DEAL WITH EVERYONE WHO DOES NOT HAVE IT!!!
Stuart Baak

Post by Stuart Baak »

It was awesome there! Thanks for the suggestion!

P. S I am colourblind so got no clue what you're talking about... Hehe
Stuart Baak

Post by Stuart Baak »

Also if you like this, you gotta make your way to the dark horse brewery Magalies way...
Obelix and Dogmatix

There is a brewery tour that starts with Dark horse close to Magalies Skool then off to forget the name, then is was Chameleon Brewery (the name I should have forgotten) then the Ale house and finished off with Gilroys. and I am sure we missed a good couple of others.

And don't forget about Brau House on Dam just before Rustenberg I believe that they also do a good brew,
God made man before
to think of an answer
for her first question
Obelix and Dogmatix

And for your trip down to the Cape in December.

Go past Neeu Betesda (owl house country) Sneeu=Berg Brewery

And in whale country go to the Birkenhead Brewery just outside Hermanus.
God made man before
to think of an answer
for her first question
Stuart Baak

Post by Stuart Baak »

Haven't been to Cpt but I am sure those by the see will love it (I must actually plan a trip down there with the wyfie sometime.
Stuart Baak

Post by Stuart Baak »

Okay so this weekend involved a bit more new adventures. :lol:

Seems I love burning diesel! Friday night went to Pappachinos in lonehill fourways. What awesome food! Excellent place if you have kids! If you don't (like me) then It can get a bit noisy. Chicken salad one of the best I have ever had!

Sunday was a spontaneous day trip to Cullinan inspired by the Stunning weather we had! Had to go the very long way round on the N14 (and got myself a fine in the process!) due to the cycle race.

The first place we tried was terrible... Really expensive and cr@p food! Will name and shame when I remember what it's called. The mine tour is very nice! Super interesting and the missus won a 30% discount voucher at the one diamond shop... :roll:

The microbrewery (the c0ckpit) is awesome! Great vibe with live music and excellent beer! Service was slow but the rest was brilliant! A must try!

Never been to Cullinan before but will definitely go again!!
mcw
Town: krugersdorp
Vehicle: Prado 90 V6 3.4 Auto
Club VHF Licence: X100

Post by mcw »

Hi Stuart

There is a brewery and restaurant at the Olifantsnek dam in Rustenburg on the Magaliesburg road that is worth while visit,i think there is a Hekpoort/Nooitgedag road through Magliesburg mountains

Martin
Stuart Baak

Post by Stuart Baak »

mcw wrote:Hi Stuart

There is a brewery and restaurant at the Olifantsnek dam in Rustenburg on the Magaliesburg road that is worth while visit,i think there is a Hekpoort/Nooitgedag road through Magliesburg mountains

Martin
Hi Martin!

Is that not the Black Horse microbrewery? Or is it a different one?

Cheers,

SB
grobbepj
Town: Alberton
Vehicle: Hilux legend 35 4x4 3.0kzte D/C

Post by grobbepj »

Brauhaus am damm..??
Always stop there for a beer on the way to my folks in rustenburg. Well worth a visit.
Stuart Baak

Post by Stuart Baak »

grobbepj wrote:Brauhaus am damm..??
Always stop there for a beer on the way to my folks in rustenburg. Well worth a visit.
Have heard of it! Must make a plan to go there!
mcw
Vehicle: Prado 90 V6 3.4 Auto
Club VHF Licence: X100

Post by mcw »

Yip Brauhaus my son got married there great beer
want to visit there early next year ,this year is already full

Martin
Johan Havenga
Town: Heidelberg Gauteng
Vehicle: Toyota Prado 120 V6

Post by Johan Havenga »

My personal favorite!

http://www.valhotel.co.za/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
Stuart Baak

Post by Stuart Baak »

So went to Gilroys yesterday for some lunch and just an outing to test run the new shoes on the bakkie. Must say, it was pumping! Busy as anything, service was not good, not sure about you guys but I didn't enjoy the beer, I had the serious - too sweet, the traditional - flat as a pancake, and the favorite was not too bad but not wow. Didn't try the Lager but will try next time. The food was very good, I had the burger, and the wyfie had the beef and onion pie.

Very nice pub, awesome layout. Just a pity about the service.
Obelix and Dogmatix

Stuart Baak wrote:So went to Gilroys yesterday for some lunch and just an outing to test run the new shoes on the bakkie. Must say, it was pumping! Busy as anything,service was not good, not sure about you guys but I didn't enjoy the beer, I had the serious - too sweet, the traditional - flat as a pancake, and the favorite was not too bad but not wow. Didn't try the Lager but will try next time. The food was very good, I had the burger, and the wyfie had the beef and onion pie.

Howzit

with regards to Gilroys Service, you have nothing to complain about as it is normally *a*, but must say with regards to the beer being flat, that is the way Steve makes his beer. from the west rand I would rather travel to Broederstroom 60k's away to have a beer at the Ale house than to go to Gilroys which is only about 10k's from me.

m2c
God made man before
to think of an answer
for her first question
Stuart Baak

Post by Stuart Baak »

Obelix and Dogmatix wrote:
Stuart Baak wrote:So went to Gilroys yesterday for some lunch and just an outing to test run the new shoes on the bakkie. Must say, it was pumping! Busy as anything,service was not good, not sure about you guys but I didn't enjoy the beer, I had the serious - too sweet, the traditional - flat as a pancake, and the favorite was not too bad but not wow. Didn't try the Lager but will try next time. The food was very good, I had the burger, and the wyfie had the beef and onion pie.

Howzit

with regards to Gilroys Service, you have nothing to complain about as it is normally *a*, but must say with regards to the beer being flat, that is the way Steve makes his beer. from the west rand I would rather travel to Broederstroom 60k's away to have a beer at the Ale house than to go to Gilroys which is only about 10k's from me.

m2c
Agreed. Not my taste in beer if that's how it normally is... The ale Haus rocks!
mushroom
Vehicle: '16 Legend 45 DC 4x4M

Post by mushroom »

Gilroys is well worth it - good beers, and his snack baskets are very lekka - you can choose what you want in the basket :thumbup: :thumbup:
Q20 if its stuck, duct tape if it moves :shock2: :shock2: :shock2:

Return to “Places to go”