CLEANING ALUMINIUM

Obelix and Dogmatix
Town: ROODEPOORT
Vehicle: HILUX 4.0 V6 4x4 named Obelix, donated to some clown, HILUX 4.0 V6 4x4 named Obelix II Onca front and rear Amade extreme Suspension and under water breathing apparatus

CLEANING ALUMINIUM

Post by Obelix and Dogmatix »

Okay as some of you have most probably realised, Obelix ii is in for a heart transplant at the moment.

The problem I have is that there was a ridiculous amount of carbon and oil sludge build up in the motor. The sludge is gone but how do I get rid of the carbon build up?

Remembering that the engine is aluminium block and all. I have tried different degreasers, Aluminium mag cleaner ( the non carbon area's are now very shiny) is there a product out there made for this??

Rules are there to make you think before you break them!!!
God made man before
woman so as to give him time
to think of an answer
for her first question
COMMON SENCE IS NOT A GIFT, IT IS A PUNISHMENT!! BECAUSE YOU HAVE TO DEAL WITH EVERYONE WHO DOES NOT HAVE IT!!!
JohanW
Town: Strand
Vehicle: 2014 Land Cruiser 76 V8

Re: CLEANING ALUMINIUM

Post by JohanW »

Elbow grease :surrender: :mocking:
Obelix and Dogmatix
Vehicle: HILUX 4.0 V6 4x4 named Obelix, donated to some clown, HILUX 4.0 V6 4x4 named Obelix II Onca front and rear Amade extreme Suspension and under water breathing apparatus

JOHAN EK HET SO TWEE WEKE TREUG MY LAASTE VAN DAAI OPGEBRUIK!!! en die winkels het nie nog nie
God made man before
to think of an answer
for her first question
COMMON SENCE IS NOT A GIFT, IT IS A PUNISHMENT!! BECAUSE YOU HAVE TO DEAL WITH EVERYONE WHO DOES NOT HAVE IT!!!

Oven cleaner will remove some of it but the really stubborn bits will take some elbow grease...

Or maybe paint remover...
Obelix and Dogmatix

Oven cleaner is apparently to aggressive and will cause long term damage. was about to buy oven cleaner when i discovered that. Thanks anyway
God made man before
to think of an answer
for her first question

Gentle sand blast

Die$eL
Town: Midrand
Vehicle: 06' Hilux 3.0 D4D 4X4

Post by Die$eL »

A friend of mine had given me something a few years ago called "Spotter". I'm not sure if its commercially available. Its a clear liquid.

I tried it out this weekend on the casing of gearbox that was absolutely filthy. I only had about 200ml. Put it in a pressure spray bottle thingy and sprayed it on then left it for 5 mins and gave it a little brushing with a plastic bristled brush. The box came out like brand new. Problem is i didnt have enough to do the entire box :thumbdown:

I unfortunately dont have the guys number. Will see if i can get it from someone.
Real drivers use three pedals
Obelix and Dogmatix

that would be brilliant, and good luck in finding some more
God made man before
to think of an answer
for her first question
Obelix and Dogmatix

Thunder02 wrote:Gentle sand blast
Worried about stuffing up the gasket sealing surfaces then
God made man before
to think of an answer
for her first question
Dirka
Town: Doornpoort Pretoria
Vehicle: Hilux 4.0 V6 4X4 Auto DC

Post by Dirka »

Soda Blasting.
I got arrested for driving naked. I guess I shouldn’t have put four wheels, an engine, and a steering wheel on my bathtub.
I’m a do-it-yourself kind of lover.
” ― J. Kintz
Pietman
Vehicle: 2005 Hilux V6 4L D/C 4X4

Post by Pietman »

Aluminium Cleaner? I used it to clean my canopy when we were busy building it.
EX ALTO VINCIMUS
Obelix and Dogmatix

Thanks Guys,

does anyone have experience with working with ALUBRITE seems like it is the correct stuff use
God made man before
to think of an answer
for her first question
Scott
Vehicle: Hilux SFA

Post by Scott »

MEK the aircraft industry uses it clean ? check it out.
Scott

Post by Scott »

http://www.team.net/sol/tech/clean_al.html" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
Also known as Butanone
Scott

Post by Scott »

CAS Registry No.: 78-93-3. Other Names: MEK, 2-Butanone, Methyl acetone ... Thoroughly clean clothing, shoes and leather goods before reuse or dispose of safely. Eye Contact: ... Not corrosive to: aluminum alloys, carbon steel. Hazardous

A few years ago I was really peed off when the special alu cleaning product,I had ordered for a job,was used by my sons to clean their offroad motorcycles engines.I had a planned service and cleaning of an industrial refrigeration plant made up of a lot of alu components.The buggers had used the product which was not readily obtainable.
I took some of my wife,s " collar and cuff" equivalent product sold around my area called " vanishing liquid" and did the leaning job.It worked as good as,if not better than the specialised alu cleaning liquid.
I still use it for cleaning engines and oil etc today.I understand it has ammonia as part of its formula.

Our very own Stephan van Eeden is the owner of A-Z Chemicals in Pretoria and they supply a very lekker Alu cleaner.I use it to clean intercoolers on the inside and outside.

To be honest, all his products work very lekker!

http://www.a-zchem.co.za/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

Obelix and Dogmatix

Got some alu brite didca quick test and itcseems to work very well. Apparently this was designed to clead alu heads by soaking.

Thanks for all the replies
God made man before
to think of an answer
for her first question
Mylux
Vehicle: 4.0L V6 Vigo 4x4
Club VHF Licence: HC249

Post by Mylux »

:ttwwp:
Scooter
Vehicle: '94 Raider, '05 Vigo 4.0 v6

Post by Scooter »

Having just pulled my motor and finished stripping it to get the heads away for recon I sat thinking about the best way to go forward with cleaning.

I'm in two minds on whether or not to strip the block and give it a proper clean as there is quite a lot of sludge and carbon buildup inside.

Any suggestions besides pulling it all apart?

Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk
"I know that you believe you understand what you think I said, but I'm not sure you realise that what you heard is not what I meant."
Mylux

Post by Mylux »

Buy some beer and invite Quentin around. He seems to be doing an excellent job
Scooter

Post by Scooter »

Now that's an idea Greg.............Quentin, my block is waiting, no rush :mocking:
"I know that you believe you understand what you think I said, but I'm not sure you realise that what you heard is not what I meant."
Obelix and Dogmatix

Pull it apart you don't want anything coming loose and blocking your oil passages and then you will just have to re-do everything you just did and more.

If you ask Greg he will be able to get the right stuff to clean the sludge off :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:
God made man before
to think of an answer
for her first question
Scooter

Post by Scooter »

Seems some more stripping is in order, I have run out of space with all the parts lying around.

Reckon my wife wont mind me using the bath :naah: :naah:
Obelix and Dogmatix

Don't worry my daughters trampoline and outside patio table has been unusable for a couple of weeks. the major problem is that i have now started packing the braai closed
God made man before
to think of an answer
for her first question
Mylux

Post by Mylux »

Let me know if you need Alubrite. Apparently it works quiet well. Just a pity we do have any before and after pics ;-)
Use the dishwasher if you can't use the bath :mocking:
Obelix and Dogmatix

Will do the before and after with the oil pick up the one that was posted earlier
God made man before
to think of an answer
for her first question
Scooter

Post by Scooter »

I've actually got plenty bench space...........its just being used to store other crap and Im too lazy to move it :shh: :shh:
Lomies
Vehicle: 2013 3.0 D4D D/C 4x4 Hilux
Club VHF Licence: HC273

Post by Lomies »

Mylux wrote::ttwwp:

Here a pic of him working on the Hilux
IMG-20160906-WA0022.jpg
IMG-20160906-WA0022.jpg (26.03 KiB) Viewed 6170 times
Vehicle: '90 SFA Hilux DC 4X4, Full OME, 110mm lift. Brospeed branch, 50mm ss freeflow exhaust. 30 x 9.5 Discoverer S/T's on Viper mags. L/R tank. (AWOL) '98 LTD 2.4 SFA, dual battery system. Dobinson suspension, LR tanks, 31" BF mud's.

:laugh2: I didn't know that he's a plumber! :D:

you guys are cracking me up .....
Mars
Vehicle: Toyota Hilux Dakar 2.8 GD-6 DC 4X4

Post by Mars »

Please stop cracking jokes about plumbers!
Obelix and Dogmatix

Will all of you clowns please leave my crack alone!!!!!

Arne ek kom vir jou!!!!!!!
God made man before
to think of an answer
for her first question
Mylux

Post by Mylux »

You better watch your crack Arne.............Obelix is coming for you :o: :blushing:
Vehicle: '90 SFA Hilux DC 4X4, Full OME, 110mm lift. Brospeed branch, 50mm ss freeflow exhaust. 30 x 9.5 Discoverer S/T's on Viper mags. L/R tank. (AWOL) '98 LTD 2.4 SFA, dual battery system. Dobinson suspension, LR tanks, 31" BF mud's.

The gent's facilities are open again. :D:

Lomies

Post by Lomies »

Obelix and Dogmatix wrote:Will all of you clowns please leave my crack alone!!!!!

Arne ek kom vir jou!!!!!!!

:surrender:
Mylux

Post by Mylux »

Arne....shouldn't you be waving a pink flag? :siffler:
Obelix and Dogmatix

Mylux wrote:Arne....shouldn't you be waving a pink flag? :siffler:
:lmao: :lmao: :lmao: :lmao: :lmao: :lmao: :lmao:
God made man before
to think of an answer
for her first question
Lomies

Post by Lomies »

Mylux wrote:Arne....shouldn't you be waving a pink flag? :siffler:

:naah: :naah:

Arne, I adjusted your picture......
Hilux.jpg
Hilux.jpg (42.52 KiB) Viewed 6026 times

Mylux

Post by Mylux »

:lmao: :lmao: :lmao: :lmao:
Thank goodness we don't drive Opels :naah:
Obelix and Dogmatix

AND I CALL YOU LOT FRIENDS!!!!!!!

WOULD NOT EXPECT ANYTHING ELSE!!!!!

MAAR GAAN JULLE ALMAL NOGSTEEDS MOER
God made man before
to think of an answer
for her first question
Lomies

Post by Lomies »

Yup, looks much better now.

Hmmmm ..... :think:

Untitled belt.jpg

Mud Dog wrote:Hmmmm ..... :think:

Untitled belt.jpg
:lmao: :lmao: :lmao: :lmao: :lmao: :lmao: :lmao: :lmao: :lmao: :lmao: :lmao: :lmao: :lmao:

Scooter

Post by Scooter »

I landed up using a quick wash with petrol and then a soak in Prepsol and a power washer.
Worked like a charm.....

The key is to let it soak in the Prepsol for as long as possible.

Inside the timing chain cover...
[img]//uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/2016111 ... c84c41.jpg[/img]
RiyadhFortuner
Town: Lansdowne
Vehicle: 2015 Ford Ranger T6

Post by RiyadhFortuner »

I have used Autosol to clean stainless, I think they make an aluminium cleaner as well. I purchased it at a motorbike shop