Low fuel light not working

Having problems with your vehicle? Or need advice on repairing or servicing your Hilux? This is the place to ask for help
Hughmac
Town: Inverness
Vehicle: Toyota hilux 2013 d4d 3.0l

Low fuel light not working

Post by Hughmac »

Hi , I'm new to this forum and wondering if anyone has experienced a similar fault as myself in my hilux 3.0 l d4d 2013
In Dec 2017 I nearly ran out of fuel as I didn't know at the time but my low fuel light was not working had a couple of fill since but tue just passed I did run out of fuel and this was where I found out my low fuel light was defiantly not working any more ( was working prior to Dec 2017) I then stripped out my dash cluster as I thought bulb was blown but found an led so no luck there going to check all fuses and relays if I can this weekend and won't let fuel run as low from now on , I'm no mechanic but a keen to work to try and find a solution wondering if something gone in fuel sender area in tank maybe my next step of investigation
Any feedback would be of great help
Thanks hughie
Mars
LR4WD, Lockers, Crawler Gears
LR4WD, Lockers, Crawler Gears
Town: Pretoria
Vehicle: Toyota Hilux Dakar 2.8 GD-6 DC 4X4

Re: Low fuel light not working

Post by Mars »

Hi Hugh

I take it that the fuel gauge is not working? I am not really aware that this is a common issue. I have also not experienced this myself.
My experience with electrical faults is that it is quite often a "mechanical" issue such as a weak contact on a plug or a broken wire.
I am also not sure if the low fuel light is a separate circuit with it's own switch or if it is a function of the instrument cluster. I suspect the former.

Assuming that it has a separate circuit and considering that the float mechanism and the switch which would be activated when the diesel level is low enough is mechanical I would be inclined to think that it is the switch.