Polarbear2008
Vehicle: 01 Hilux Kz-te 4x4 Raider d/c
Club VHF Licence: X49

Replacing the Speedo cable on The IFS Hilux

Post by Polarbear2008 »

Attached is a document that details how to replace the speedo cable on the IFS Hilux.
Replacing the Speedometer cable on an IFS Hilux.pdf
(166.34 KiB) Downloaded 4341 times
01 Hilux 3.0L KZ-TE 4x4 Raider d/c
GME Gx300 29meg & Vertex VX2200 VHF radio
Mikem load springs with greasable shackles and polybushes
Monroe Gas Magnum shocks
Kumho Road Venture AT - 30x9.5x15
National Luna Dual battery system
Frontrunner roofrack with s/steel table
Twin rear high lift jack points
Hilux4x4club sticker! ('nuf said!)
Echo3 4x4 offroad trailer with NL 74 Litre Fridge/Freezer
Dual loadbox slides
Wishlist:
Alu canopy
Warn Winch
Unlimited Fuel & Travel Budget!

Re: Replacing the Speedo cable on The IFS Hilux

Brilliant article, Theunis! Many thanks for your trouble. ;)

Herlu
Town: Randburg
Vehicle: Toyota Hilux DC IFS KZTE
Club VHF Licence: B43

Post by Herlu »

Ecco Eric, brilliant article Polar Bear! Thanks a million. I have not tried it, but know that you have cut my "sukkel, learn and pay the school fees" time in half!

Now the next question. I got a pirate cable from a spares shop for R50. I can see its not the same quality, as the ring that secures the cable to the gearbox is made of plastic and not metal. Am I wasting my time with this cheapie? Probably. I also hear you when you say that I might open up now, operate, close down and drive for a while just to see it snap. Then have to operate again.

Thanks again, I will let you know how the op went.
jeethen
Town: richardsbay
Vehicle: Hilux 2700i, 4x4

Post by jeethen »

just wanted to know what you guys reasons were to change out your speedo cables as mine bakkie speedo meter is jumping around all the time although it does show me the correct speed more or less, could this possibly be a speedo cable problem, because i really want the speedo to stop jumping around.

If it jumps it might be that it is starting to break. When it stops jumping and do not pick up anymore you know its gone.
1999 Hilux 2.7i 4x4 Raider DC with 3.4 Prado V6. Rear diff-lock, Bull Bar and rock sliders, 31" Cooper ST Maxx, Snorkel, Alu-Canopy, VHF Motorolla radio, West Coast Rust, Mikem Suspension, Ball Joint Spacers in front and Mikem extended shackles at the rear, 25watt LED Spots
NUGGET
Vehicle: IFS 2.7 DC 4x4

Post by NUGGET »

I LOVE THIS FOURM :clap:

I am having the same problem, disconnected the cable from the gearbox this weekend to give it a clean and a oil. Thought it might be dirt, but was not as it jumps every now and then. I then checked to see that there are no sharp bends in the cable, there are none. So I guess the cable is on its way out. Time to replace and break my wallet at toyota for a replacement part.
Does anyone know where I can get an good quality alternative? :thumbup:

Toyota wants R675 for the cable :wth:
jeethen
Town: richardsbay
Vehicle: Hilux 2700i, 4x4

Post by jeethen »

the pirate alternative ha plastic fittings on the cable casing and the original one has metal fittings, the pirate cable is around R65 and so you must know that they cut down heavily on quality to sell it at such a cheap price and there is no guarentee that it is going to last and teh task of changing it out again is not even up for discusion. so you are better of with an original toyota cable.

Andrew, go look what your spare shop's cables look like to see what the quality is. As far as I know the fitting on the speedo side is always plastic it is only the fitting on the gearbox side that is either plastic or metal.

Also find out if there is a cable shop in Cape Town, the guys who can make you a cable.
I had such a shop years ago and we made the cable the same as the sample the client brought in.
The guys who we bought fittings from were also manufacturing the "original" cables for the vehicle manufacturers. Every now and then they were upset because some vehicles manufacturers decided to rather import cables from China to use as their "original" parts instead of using SABS approved South African cables.
1999 Hilux 2.7i 4x4 Raider DC with 3.4 Prado V6. Rear diff-lock, Bull Bar and rock sliders, 31" Cooper ST Maxx, Snorkel, Alu-Canopy, VHF Motorolla radio, West Coast Rust, Mikem Suspension, Ball Joint Spacers in front and Mikem extended shackles at the rear, 25watt LED Spots

Andrew, jou toast brand aan.. Go talk to Allan.. he also has a connection to make cables. :thumbup: :thumbup:

legend35
Vehicle: Hilux 2700i
Club VHF Licence: HC262

Post by legend35 »

Thanks for the info Theunis :thumbup:
2004 Hilux 2700i 4x4 Legend 35
Cowley branch and freeflow,long range tank,dual battery system,home made front and rear bumpers.
Vehicle: 2002 3.0KZ-TE 4x4, Eazyawn RTT, Snorkel, NudgeM Bumper, 38mm Ball Joint Spacers, 35" Maxxis Bighorns, Dastek Unichip, 60 ltr Snomaster fridge/freezer, 40mm body lift, Mikem front/rear with extended shackles, Bilsteins shox rear

NUGGET wrote:I LOVE THIS FOURM :clap:

I am having the same problem, disconnected the cable from the gearbox this weekend to give it a clean and a oil. Thought it might be dirt, but was not as it jumps every now and then. I then checked to see that there are no sharp bends in the cable, there are none. So I guess the cable is on its way out. Time to replace and break my wallet at toyota for a replacement part.
Does anyone know where I can get an good quality alternative? :thumbup:

Toyota wants R675 for the cable:wth:
Gemini Parts sell it for R450 I think :thumbup:

jwalters
Town: Oranjemund
Vehicle: Hilux 4L V6 4x4 d/c Manual

Post by jwalters »

Dankie Theunis,

Jou pdf (aanwysings) het my al die nodige vertroue gegee om die job self te doen. Alles uit en in + gom wat moet set + droog word (moes dashbord fix regs agter waar hy in clip) onder 2.5 ure sonder enige probleme.

(o,ja kon ook nou my km/h + rev counter + odometer "cubicle" skoonmaak om al die irriterende stof daar te verweider.) Dit lyk nou sommer nuut.

Nou kan die speedo kabel ook maar breek ek is reg vir hom!

Dankie baie!
Johann
Polarbear2008
Vehicle: 01 Hilux Kz-te 4x4 Raider d/c
Club VHF Licence: X49

Post by Polarbear2008 »

Johann

Baie bly jy het reggekom! Ek geniet dit om goed self te takel, veral as dit doenbaar lyk! Die moeilike goed los ek maar vir die garage!
01 Hilux 3.0L KZ-TE 4x4 Raider d/c
GME Gx300 29meg & Vertex VX2200 VHF radio
Mikem load springs with greasable shackles and polybushes
Monroe Gas Magnum shocks
Kumho Road Venture AT - 30x9.5x15
National Luna Dual battery system
Frontrunner roofrack with s/steel table
Twin rear high lift jack points
Hilux4x4club sticker! ('nuf said!)
Echo3 4x4 offroad trailer with NL 74 Litre Fridge/Freezer
Dual loadbox slides
Wishlist: