andrevt
Town: sasolburg
Vehicle: raider d4d

mod to rear seat -vigo shape

Post by andrevt »

hi luxes
for your intererest :you will notice from the photies that i have sawn off about 10 mm of the catch of the rear seat wich hook into the "bracket" at the rear of the cab,by doing this your rear seat can now fold up or down ,nice space is created now for speakers or any other goodies. it is perfect for your rifle as nobody will see it and it is not in your way
IMG_0359 (Small).JPG
IMG_0361_1 (Small).JPG
IMG_0362 (Small).JPG
IMG_0362 (Small).JPG (22.23 KiB) Viewed 39516 times
ImageImageImageImageImageImage

Toyota Hilux 3.0 D4D 4x4
Vehicle: '90 SFA Hilux DC 4X4, Full OME, 110mm lift. Brospeed branch, 50mm ss freeflow exhaust. 30 x 9.5 Discoverer S/T's on Viper mags. L/R tank. (AWOL) '98 LTD 2.4 SFA, dual battery system. Dobinson suspension, LR tanks, 31" BF mud's.

Re: mod to rear seat -vigo shape

Clever! :thumbup: :D:

Royco
Vehicle: '09 D4D 3.0 Raider 4x4 D/Cab
Club VHF Licence: X88

Post by Royco »

Great idea, Andre.
I've been thinking about doing this, glad to see I'm not the only one who misses the rear seat fold DOWN!

But what keeps the seat upright now? Maybe I don't understand your mod, but in my mind, you've modified the bracket which keeps the seat in place??

Roy
Image Image Image Image
andrevt
Town: sasolburg
Vehicle: raider d4d

Post by andrevt »

roy
i have only shorten the bracket it still hold the backrest in place you only need to lift the seat slightly up and the back rest unhook
ImageImageImageImageImageImage

Toyota Hilux 3.0 D4D 4x4
Traveler
Vehicle: Pathfinder 2.5 LE AT
Club VHF Licence: X81

Post by Traveler »

Andre, I have still not done mine (really want to), have you experienced any rattles or things like that?? (unlikely that it would)

Know what you don't know.
Jaws
Town: Sharonlea
Vehicle: 2009 D4D 4x4

Post by Jaws »

My backseat had a rattle on gravel roads, but I fixed it with a piece of a pool noodle. (This is with a standard bracket)
Rieks
Town: Outjo
Vehicle: 3.0 D4D

Post by Rieks »

Very clever - boer maak 'n plan.

My back seat rattles all the time. I have two little ones that still sits in their baby stools, and with the weight on the seat, it rattles constantly - It drives me nuts!! The moment the seat carries weight, it starts to rattle, even if the baby chairs are out. Does anyone have a solution? Where did you stick that pool noodle in?
FUDGES
Vehicle: D4D 3.0l

Post by FUDGES »

Mine also rattles the whole time? Any Ideas?
Traveler

Post by Traveler »

Dankie tog, ek is dankbaar myne raas nie.

Fred79
Town: Kent UK
Vehicle: Toyota Hilux Icon 2.4

Post by Fred79 »

My agter sitplek rattles net as daar iemand op hom sit die res van die tyd is hy stil.

Dit maak my sommer die hoenders in elke keer as dit so raas.
AM Racing
Vehicle: Range Rover Classic V8

Post by AM Racing »

Take a piece of 6mm fuel hose the length of the eye. Split it down the middle and slip it over the eye. Do this both sides. It can be a bit of a b1tch to get the hooks on the seat to go over initially. You will need to moer the seat down. I did mine 50000km ago and still keeping its mouth shut
FUDGES
Vehicle: D4D 3.0l

Post by FUDGES »

Dankie vir daai tip!!
Royco

Post by Royco »

I have been thinking about turning the bracket, on the seat upright, upside down.
That way, when the lower seat part is down, the upright part is pushed UP and the seat is kept in place.
Then when the lower seat part is lifted, the upright moves DOWN and releases the seat from the bracket.

I think it's a perfect idea ... in theory! :clap:

Problem is - I can't get the bracket off the seat... what kind of "bolts" are these?
Is my only option to grind them off, and then possibly face a rattle problem?

Image Image Image Image
Traveler

Post by Traveler »

Roy, that might be a bit risky, those are real rivets. I'd keep them in place.

Other option is getting a seat from a scrapyard and testing your theory.

Royco

Post by Royco »

Thanks Heinrich.
I appreciate the wisdom!! (that's why i like this forum!)
You saved me a rattle ...

The job for this afternoon ... replace rear seat, and forget about the space behind.
Sorry Andre, I'm scared of your solution too.
Image Image Image Image
Lane
Town: Port Shepstone - KZN
Vehicle: 97 Hilux 2.4 D/C Raider

Post by Lane »

Father in law drives a 2006 d/c and his back seat used to do the same, when it went to toyota for a service he complained and they said they had a new part to repair the noise. im unsure of costs as they did it for free! :shifty: (seems it may be a factory fault or rather a very common problem). i never really checked what they did as its not my van.
Mikie
Town: Kyalami
Vehicle: Hilux 2006 3.0D4D 2x4 DC

Post by Mikie »

Andre are you still happy with this mod?
Anyone else try this?

I am keen to do it but nervous about messing it up

Did mine is Dec....literally 15 mins.

Did another one a month ago, easy as pie! just need a 14 spanner and an angle grinder :thumbup:
Mikie

Post by Mikie »

OOOOMS wrote:Did mine is Dec....literally 15 mins.

Did another one a month ago, easy as pie! just need a 14 spanner and an angle grinder :thumbup:
How much do you cut off? My angle grinder is itching to go this afternoon

Mikie wrote:

You will have to measure it.

Loosen the bolt on each side (one)
Unclip the seat so that it can move forward (as if mod has been done)
Tape up the hook with insulation tape or use a bit of paint.
Push the seat up into the original position
You should have a 'mark' where it should be cut off now
.....Cut
Mikie

Post by Mikie »

OOOOMS wrote:
Mikie wrote:

You will have to measure it.

Loosen the bolt on each side (one)
Unclip the seat so that it can move forward (as if mod has been done)
Tape up the hook with insulation tape or use a bit of paint.
Push the seat up into the original position
You should have a 'mark' where it should be cut off now
.....Cut
Excellent thanks.

I had some pics but can't seem to find 'em now.... :thumbdown:
stephanvaneeden
Vehicle: 2012 Hilux 3.0 D4D D/C 4X4

Post by stephanvaneeden »

Hak die seat nie uit as jy met 'n helse gejuig tot stilstand kom nie.

stephanvaneeden wrote:Hak die seat nie uit as jy met 'n helse gejuig tot stilstand kom nie.
:lol: :lol: :lol:

Ja.....as jy hom te kort afsny..... :mocking: :mocking: :mocking:
Cleaner
Vehicle: Toyota Hilux 4l V6 4x4 Auto
Club VHF Licence: X31

Post by Cleaner »

Dis die eerste ding wat ek op my trok gedoen het. Het dit op my pa sin ook gedoen. Vat letterlik 10 min, met 'n ystersaag, om te doen. Met 'n grinder gaan dit jou 3 min vat. Soos gesê, lig die onderste sitplek en voel hoeveel die boonste sitplek nodig het om uit te haak. Ek het seker so 10mm moes afsny en dit werk sonder enige ander modifikasie.

Op my pa se trok het ons die bracket wat agter teen die bak vas is een tik met 'n hammer gegee toe pas syne ook perfek.

So, either or, sny 'n stuk af en buig die bracket wat teen die bak sit tot dit reg pas. Deur die bracket te buig kan jy ook 'n beter fit kry sodat daar minder rattles is.

Die agtersitplek het ook nog nooit vanself oopgeval, maak nie saak hoe hard ek briek of hoe skuins die walle is waarteen ek afry nie.
"Every loaf of bread is tragic story of grains that could've become beer, but didn't. - Walter Thornburgh"
"The best cure for Sea Sickness, is to sit under a tree. - Spike Milligan"
Mikie

Post by Mikie »

Thanks guys.

This is the best no cost mod on the Vigo in My opinion, very easy to do and voila, "secure" space added for storage
The hardest part was unscrewing the seat, unclipping it, and rebolting it back, but even that my 7 year old son could do.

Mikie wrote:Thanks guys.

This is the best no cost mod on the Vigo in My opinion, very easy to do and voila, "secure" space added for storage
The hardest part was unscrewing the seat, unclipping it, and rebolting it back, but even that my 7 year old son could do.
Great :thumbup:
BenRich
Vehicle: Hilux 4.0 V6 4x4 BF Goodrich KM2 MT Old Man Emu Suspension, ONCA Rocksliders, Safari Snorkel, Stofpad Bashplate's National Luna Duel Battery System, Engel Fridge

Post by BenRich »

Gentlemen,

That rattle in the back was driving me nuts...never could figure it out. Anyway a bit of fuel pipe and presto.
That's what I love about the forum

Thank you :thumbup:

BenRich wrote:Gentlemen,

That rattle in the back was driving me nuts...never could figure it out. Anyway a bit of fuel pipe and presto.
That's what I love about the forum

Thank you :thumbup:
Great stuff! Glad it's sorted :thumbup:
ROOFER
Town: grassy park cape town
Vehicle: 99 s/c hilux 4x4 2.7i long range tank & dual battery; 2003 nissan x-TRAIL (4X4)

Post by ROOFER »

Ok ! great idea but I dont have a back seat :tease: :tease:

Will have to get a Vigo to test the theory :lmao: :lmao: soon!!!

ROOFER wrote:Ok ! great idea but I dont have a back seat :tease: :tease:

Will have to get a Vigo to test the theory :lmao: :lmao: soon!!!
You won't be sorry..... :lol:

Just make sure it's a D/C :mocking: :mocking: :mocking:
stephanvaneeden
Vehicle: 2012 Hilux 3.0 D4D D/C 4X4

Post by stephanvaneeden »

Myne is gesny ! Werk lekker vir die gewere.
ianfraser
Vehicle: 3.0 D4D DC, BMW 320i

Post by ianfraser »

I used instructions from the Aussie forum http://www.newhilux.net" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false; to do my mod so here are some pics;

Remove the back seat,
IMG_2950.JPG
I used masking tape to mark the cutting lines to leave 43mm after the cut;
IMG_2952.JPG
Ready to cut;
IMG_2953.JPG
After the cut showing exposed metal;
IMG_2956.JPG
Apply a bit of duco and rest proofing;
IMG_2958.JPG
The left over bits measured 24mm;
IMG_2959.JPG
It works like a dream. One has to lift the seat to 45 degrees to disengage the back. When the back is engaged it is vas and won't come down even with a high pull force. I have had no rattles at all. I have mounted my DC to DC charger behind the seat and can keep bits and pieces as well including my 2 burner gas stove.

Hope this helps - Ian
Cleaner
Vehicle: Toyota Hilux 4l V6 4x4 Auto
Club VHF Licence: X31

Post by Cleaner »

Very nice post with pictures and all!

I did not even remove the seats when I did mine. all and all a 10 - 15 min job.
"Every loaf of bread is tragic story of grains that could've become beer, but didn't. - Walter Thornburgh"
"The best cure for Sea Sickness, is to sit under a tree. - Spike Milligan"
doggone
Vehicle: Hilux 4X4 3.0 D4D

Post by doggone »

Simplest mod ever. I have also been looking for the source of the rear seat rattle for a long time. Just killed 2 birds with one mod and it only took 15 minutes.
AM Racing

Post by AM Racing »

Did you know: By drilling out the rivets holding the hooks, inserting a 20mm spacer and then bolting them up with 8mm bolts you will have enough space for a tapered 100lt water tank. I will be getting one in next week for this mod so will take some pics and post 'em
TOYODA
Vehicle: '89 YN67R with Ford V6 3.0

Post by TOYODA »

AM Racing wrote:Did you know: By drilling out the rivets holding the hooks, inserting a 20mm spacer and then bolting them up with 8mm bolts you will have enough space for a tapered 100lt water tank. I will be getting one in next week for this mod so will take some pics and post 'em
Now that is a great idea. :thumbup:
I'll be keeping an eye open for this one.
Andre de Kock
Town: Alldays
Vehicle: Toyota Hilux D4D double cab 2.5 srx 4x4

Post by Andre de Kock »

Just cut my back seat hooks shorter. Works like a charm!!! Cant believe they are not actually designed like this!
hendrik.earle
Town: Potchefstroom
Vehicle: Toyota Hilux 4.0 V6 d/c a/t, 60mm lift, steeltop canopy, Custom Bullbar, Custom roofrack, WHEELS:vacancy open for 35x12.5r15

Post by hendrik.earle »

Did mine without cutting anything. Just bend the bracket on the cab downwards. Best part is you can 'fine tune' the bending until it is exactly right. no cutting and 100% reversible if you don't like it. :dance1:
We never really grow up, we only learn how to act in public.
AM Racing

Post by AM Racing »

As requested; the water tank behind the seat
East London-20130624-00228 (640x480).jpg
East London-20130624-00228 (640x480).jpg (185.52 KiB) Viewed 31155 times
East London-20130624-00229 (640x480).jpg
East London-20130624-00229 (640x480).jpg (195.68 KiB) Viewed 31155 times
Correction to my previous post, this is a 40lt tank. You need to drill out the rivets on the hooks and insert 20mm spacers to move the backrest forward. You could go bigger but you will need to space the seat further forward on the lower bracket.
Kaaskrul
Vehicle: 2018 Hilux X-Cab 4x4 Dakar

Post by Kaaskrul »

How do I unhook seat?

Force it upwards or how??
AM Racing

Post by AM Racing »

You unclip the lower catch, lift the base so the backrest lifts as well and then tilt it forward.
Kaaskrul

Post by Kaaskrul »

AM Racing wrote:You unclip the lower catch, lift the base so the backrest lifts as well and then tilt it forward.
Cool!

Think I only lifted the bottom part up once since I had the Hilux :oops:
Mikie

Post by Mikie »

hendrik.earle wrote:Did mine without cutting anything. Just bend the bracket on the cab downwards. Best part is you can 'fine tune' the bending until it is exactly right. no cutting and 100% reversible if you don't like it. :dance1:
Surely thats going to push the back rest more upright, and anyone sitting there ends up sitting in a very upright uncomfortable position?
hendrik.earle
Vehicle: Toyota Hilux 4.0 V6 d/c a/t, 60mm lift, steeltop canopy, Custom Bullbar, Custom roofrack, WHEELS:vacancy open for 35x12.5r15

Post by hendrik.earle »

Mikie wrote:
hendrik.earle wrote:Did mine without cutting anything. Just bend the bracket on the cab downwards. Best part is you can 'fine tune' the bending until it is exactly right. no cutting and 100% reversible if you don't like it. :dance1:
Surely thats going to push the back rest more upright, and anyone sitting there ends up sitting in a very upright uncomfortable position?
Not al all, the bracket moves down, not forward
photo.JPG
photo.JPG (50.94 KiB) Viewed 31149 times
Mikie

Post by Mikie »

And you have no rattles?
hendrik.earle

Post by hendrik.earle »

Not at the moment, if I get rattles I can just bend it back up a bit.
Mikie

Post by Mikie »

hendrik.earle wrote:Not at the moment, if I get rattles I can just bend it back up a bit.
mooi :thumbup:
AM Racing

Post by AM Racing »

Uncomfortable?! My seat works just fine :twisted:
Kaaskrul

Post by Kaaskrul »

AM Racing wrote:You unclip the lower catch, lift the base so the backrest lifts as well and then tilt it forward.
Tried this. No go.

Cant get the back to unhook.

Even put my finger behind the seat and can feel it lift up from the hook, but before you get to the point for it to unhook, it starts going down again the more you lift the bench seat(I know this is normal).
At at 45 degree angle, it still needs to lift another 10mm, but it doesnt, it goes down again. So, no unhook :twisted:

Can I be this dof or not??
Kaaskrul

Post by Kaaskrul »

What I also want to know, if it is this easy as lifting seat up and unhook, why do the mod in the first place? What is to gain then?

I think I'm missing something important here about this mod, or I'm the Ice Cream kind of the week :lmao:
hendrik.earle

Post by hendrik.earle »

The seat does not unhook if standard. So there is wasted space behind the seat.

Thats why we do the mod to get the seat to unhook and fold down.
AM Racing

Post by AM Racing »

The base needs to be unbolted then you cut the hooks shorter, or as mentioned bend the eyes down. Hence the need for the mod
Kaaskrul

Post by Kaaskrul »

AM Racing wrote:The base needs to be unbolted then you cut the hooks shorter, or as mentioned bend the eyes down. Hence the need for the mod

Why did you not say so when I asked in the first place :surrender:

Or did you think my bakkie came out the factory with the mod done already :lmao: :lmao:

:mrgreen:

No probs hehehehee, will unbolt it the weekend :thumbup:
AM Racing

Post by AM Racing »

:slap: Thought you read the post from the top :siffler: :tease: But wait thats not all,

If you pump the spare wheel to 6 bar your headlight fluid will fill up on its own! Hey?! (and who said there was a bunch of useless information on the forum :blackeye: )
Royco

Post by Royco »

Don't like an angle grinder near my bakkie - or seats!! :silent:
This is fantastic advice!! Works like a charm!! :thumbup: :thumbup:
Thanks Hendrik! :clap: :clap:
Image Image Image Image
Aquanaut
Town: Durban
Vehicle: Hilux 3.0D4D

Post by Aquanaut »

where can I get a tapered water tank for behind the backseat?
ZS1RA
Vehicle: Fortuner

Post by ZS1RA »

AM Racing wrote:As requested; the water tank behind the seat
East London-20130624-00228 (640x480).jpg
East London-20130624-00229 (640x480).jpg
Correction to my previous post, this is a 40lt tank. You need to drill out the rivets on the hooks and insert 20mm spacers to move the backrest forward. You could go bigger but you will need to space the seat further forward on the lower bracket.
Reviving an old post here. With the water tank installed is the backrest not to far forward for comfort?

I suppose I should rather be asking your passengers :laugh2:

Thanks ZS1RA
AM Racing

Post by AM Racing »

No.it was no more uncomfortable than normal....
Acsom

Post by Acsom »

Ek sê baie dankie vir die persoon wat hierdie mod uitgedink het. Werk baie lekker vir die gewere...

Return to “Useful Articles”