Servicing Viscous Coupling on Radiator fan (22R)

Some useful articles on doing it yourself

Servicing Viscous Coupling on Radiator fan (22R)

I serviced the viscous coupling of my radiator fan the past weekend. It seemed that the fan did not engage when it was supposed to although I could not see any oil leaks etc. Bought the oil from Toyota (Silicone Oil - 18ml tube - part no. 08816-10001). Also get some Toyota pre-mixed coolant. I think I used about 2.5L

The procedure is as follows: (I did not need chassis stands as my bakkie is high enough to work under)
Tools needed:
  • Size 10,12 and 14 socket and or flat spanners
    big Phillips screwdriver
    flat screw driver
    long nose pliers
Working under the vehicle, remove the four (4) nuts retaining the engine stone guard. (size 12 spanner / socket)
Use the pliers and remove the spring clips retaining the lower shroud and remove the shroud from the vehicle.

(Pic of shroud with the lower shroud connected and without it connected -already removed from the vehicle)
Lower and upper shroud joined
Upper and lower shroud separated
Remove the four (4) bolts retaining the upper shroud and remove from vehicle. (size 12 spanner / socket) In order to remove, you might need to disconnect the inlet hose on the radiator (I had to).
Remove the nuts retaining the the viscous coupling to the water pump pulley. (size 10 flat spanner).
The 4 nuts is circled
If the pulley slips on the belt when you try to loosen it, you could do the following:
Use two flat spanners and loosen the bolt on the underside of the alternator (Size 14 spanner). Loosen the lock nut on the adjusting bar of the alternator (size 12 spanner / socket). Use a lever of some sort to increase the tension on the alternator drive belt and lock the alternator in place again
Alternator retaining bolt
Adjustment locking nut
Remove the viscous coupling / fan assembly from the pulley. Please note that there is no need to remove the drive belt or pulley.
Fan and viscous coupling removed
Fan assembly
Resize16.jpg
Remove the four (4) nuts joining the viscous coupling and fan together (size 10 spanner / socket)
Resize14.jpg
At this stage go to a clean work area. Use a descent size Phillips screw driver to loosen the four (4) screws joining the two halves of the coupling together. These screws are really tight so make sure you use a screw driver that fits perfectly otherwise you will strip the heads.
Resize3e.jpg
Use a thin flat screw driver or Carpet knife blade to separate the halves. Take care not to damage the seal. The oil has a very high viscosity so don't worry to much about oil spilling while opening it up.
Two halves separated
Side view
Side view
Coupling with tube of silicone oil
Cut the tip of the oil tube and squirt the oil into the cup-shaped halve of the coupling. Carefully join the two halves again making sure that the seal surface is clean an makes an air tight seal.

The fitment is the reversal of the above procedure. Take note to tighten the bolts on the fan assembly and water pump pulley progressively until all tightened. If you have difficulty tightening the nuts on the pulley, give the alternator drive belt some slack. Make sure to adjust the tension on the alternator drive belt if you loosened any of its locking nuts and make sure all nuts us tightened again. When the shroud is installed, make sure of the clearance between the shroud and the fan blades. Also remember to top up the coolant level if you disconnected the inlet pipe on the radiator.

Re: Servicing Viscous Coupling on Radiator fan (22R)

Nice Article Cass :clap: :clap:

A couple of qu's asblf:

1. How much was that Silicone Oil asblf :?:
2. Is that a centrifugal spring on the outside of the case and..
3. is it serviceable :?:

Well done mate :wink:

Dadz Toy BFI wrote:Nice Article Cass :clap: :clap:

A couple of qu's asblf:

1. How much was that Silicone Oil asblf :?:
2. Is that a centrifugal spring on the outside of the case and..
3. is it serviceable :?:

Well done mate :wink:
1. At the time of going to press ( :D: ) R 120 a 18ml tube. (waiting period up to two days. I was lucky that the Pta warehouse had some in store)
2. I believe it is.
3. I believe it to be serviceable not that I believe that you would need to. Not to sure though...

Aussie on the barby for about 10 minutes a side on open fire

Nice article
I was once told that if the viscous fan failed it will basically seize and the fan will be engaged permanently. That makes it very reliable in the bush.
But reading this I guess it is not the case

george wrote:Nice article
I was once told that if the viscous fan failed it will basically seize and the fan will be engaged permanently. That makes it very reliable in the bush.
But reading this I guess it is not the case
I think it would be easy to make it "seize" if you need to in an emergency :thumbup: without allot of effort.
dustbuster
Town: Richards Bay
Vehicle: Rebuilding 91 D/C Hilux Mboza Body, OME 4Y EFI, & 91 S/C 4Y Hilux

Post by dustbuster »

Since I bought my hilux the fan has been permanently running so don't know what the previous owner did but think I am going to try strip it this weekend and give it a service.

Thanks for the info
:cooldude: :cooldude:

Keep in mind that you can replace a viscous coupling with a permanent fan. Hoppy explained to me you can buy fans specifically designed for this.

When I serviced my coupling, I just added the silicon oil but that had the effect of making it a permanent coupling. When you turn the fan by hand (engine NOT running) it should be turning without resistance.
dustbuster

Post by dustbuster »

If the fan is running permanent wont it be using a bit more fuel and have a little loss in power, shouldn't the fan only engage when the engine is running to hot? ie when in traffic once on the open road the fan should just be spinning freely as there should be enough air going through the radiator to keep the engine cool and it just sounds noisy running the whole time

What I tried to say is that yours could have been swapped with the permanent type....
dustbuster

Post by dustbuster »

Ya will have a look at that hope it hasn't been, if it has do you think it is worth trying to put a viscous fan back on or is it easier to put an electrical fan on?

dustbuster wrote:Ya will have a look at that hope it hasn't been, if it has do you think it is worth trying to put a viscous fan back on or is it easier to put an electrical fan on?
Viscous can will always be first option. Electric and permanent fans can cause you head aces and problems should you do water crossings etc.
Polarbear2008
Vehicle: 01 Hilux Kz-te 4x4 Raider d/c
Club VHF Licence: X49

Post by Polarbear2008 »

Cassie

hier volg 'n dom vraag.

Ek neem aan dat die hoeveelheid olie (wat Toyota verskaf) die regte hoeveelheid is vir so 'n joppie? M.a.w. is een buisie genoeg?

Thanks vir 'n lekker leesbare How-to!
01 Hilux 3.0L KZ-TE 4x4 Raider d/c
GME Gx300 29meg & Vertex VX2200 VHF radio
Mikem load springs with greasable shackles and polybushes
Monroe Gas Magnum shocks
Kumho Road Venture AT - 30x9.5x15
National Luna Dual battery system
Frontrunner roofrack with s/steel table
Twin rear high lift jack points
Hilux4x4club sticker! ('nuf said!)
Echo3 4x4 offroad trailer with NL 74 Litre Fridge/Freezer
Dual loadbox slides
Wishlist:
Alu canopy
Warn Winch
Unlimited Fuel & Travel Budget!

Yebo yes... As ek nou reg onthou is dit 18ml

Return to “Useful Articles”