HiluxJunkie
Town: Middelburg MP
Vehicle: 2001 Hilux DC 4x4 2.7i Raider
Club VHF Licence: N15

Farmjack vs Hi-Lift operation

Post by HiluxJunkie »

Ok, so either my HL jack is stuffed or it is supposed to work like this.

My previous farm jack bought from Auto Spares, had a ratchet action to climb up and down the rail. The HL only has a ratchet action to climb up the rail when lifting. When I lower, there is no ratchet action. As soon as I start to ratchet it down, it free falls right down.

Is it stuffed or suppose to work like this?

PS.

The HL is second hand and I got it with the bakkie when I bought it 6 mths ago, but only used it for the 1st time over the weekend.
2001 2.7i DC 4x4 Raider. REAL MEN FOLLOW JESUS AND STILL HAVE FUN!
ImageImageImageImageImage

Re: Farmjack vs Hi-Lift operation

Simon, you must move the catch into the down position to lower, then store it with the catch in the upper position, otherwise it will slide free style ;-)
HiluxJunkie

Post by HiluxJunkie »

Dadz Toy BFI wrote:Simon, you must move the catch into the down position to lower, then store it with the catch in the upper position, otherwise it will slide free style ;-)

Mmmmm... will go and play with it again to check. Tx
Coopraider
Town: Muizenberg
Vehicle: 97 2.8 D

Post by Coopraider »

Are you lowering with a load on it.? Normally they free fall without a load but when loaded they ratchet down.

Ciao,
Peter

I think the "pins" have wear on them? Have you replaced em yet?

Post a pick of the model HL you have. Mine is one Noah himself used on the ark and it operates different to the newer ones
hentey
Town: worcester
Vehicle: 2700i 4x4

Post by hentey »

Hehehehe......nou voel ek nie meer alleen so onnosel nie.Ek stel voor jy kyk eers die video (google hom)My pel,daai ding werk maar so.....as hy nie load op het nie dan val hy maar so af.
HiluxJunkie

Post by HiluxJunkie »

I had load on it.

I am almost sure on my previous one, the catch determined the direction of movement when the big lever was operated. It would then climb the rail either up or down with load , depending on the position of the catch.
hentey
Town: worcester
Vehicle: 2700i 4x4

Post by hentey »

In that case rather have it checked cause that can become a very dangerous piece of equipment. Also make sure it is nicely lubricated.The catches and movement goodies tend to get quite sticky.Anyway check the vids and see all the negative reports on high lift jacks.It opened my eyes. :thumbup:
HiluxJunkie

Post by HiluxJunkie »

CasKru wrote:Post a pick of the model HL you have. Mine is one Noah himself used on the ark and it operates different to the newer ones
Cassie;

How do you mean different ?

HiluxJunkie wrote:
CasKru wrote:Post a pick of the model HL you have. Mine is one Noah himself used on the ark and it operates different to the newer ones
Cassie;

Mine don't have a latch or anything to change the direction. For me to raise the jack I only have to move the lever about 3/4 up and just over half way down. To lower the jack, I have to raise the lever all the way up and all the way down as this engages lowering action.

CasKru wrote:
HiluxJunkie wrote:
Cassie;

Mine don't have a latch or anything to change the direction. For me to raise the jack I only have to move the lever about 3/4 up and just over half way down. To lower the jack, I have to raise the lever all the way up and all the way down as this engages lowering action.
:problem:

:think:

Time for the Universal Language................ :arrow: :!:

Peekchaz brothers, peekchaz asblf ;-)

The best picture I can give you now is this screen capture from one of Bennie's videos: (you can see the jack in action in the video clip)
http://www.youtube.com/v/FYK-swCiLP4
Highlift.JPG

Eish hoe lekker jet ek nou weer gelag vir daai episode ;)

Return to “Recovery Equipment”