Page 1 of 1

Farmjack vs Hi-Lift operation

Posted: Thu Feb 11, 2010 6:55 pm
by HiluxJunkie
Ok, so either my HL jack is stuffed or it is supposed to work like this.

My previous farm jack bought from Auto Spares, had a ratchet action to climb up and down the rail. The HL only has a ratchet action to climb up the rail when lifting. When I lower, there is no ratchet action. As soon as I start to ratchet it down, it free falls right down.

Is it stuffed or suppose to work like this?

PS.

The HL is second hand and I got it with the bakkie when I bought it 6 mths ago, but only used it for the 1st time over the weekend.

Re: Farmjack vs Hi-Lift operation

Posted: Thu Feb 11, 2010 7:00 pm
by Dadz Toy BFI
Simon, you must move the catch into the down position to lower, then store it with the catch in the upper position, otherwise it will slide free style ;-)

Posted: Thu Feb 11, 2010 7:40 pm
by HiluxJunkie
Dadz Toy BFI wrote:Simon, you must move the catch into the down position to lower, then store it with the catch in the upper position, otherwise it will slide free style ;-)

Mmmmm... will go and play with it again to check. Tx

Posted: Thu Feb 11, 2010 7:44 pm
by Coopraider
Are you lowering with a load on it.? Normally they free fall without a load but when loaded they ratchet down.

Ciao,
Peter

Posted: Thu Feb 11, 2010 9:56 pm
by OOOOMS
I think the "pins" have wear on them? Have you replaced em yet?

Posted: Thu Feb 11, 2010 10:15 pm
by CasKru
Post a pick of the model HL you have. Mine is one Noah himself used on the ark and it operates different to the newer ones

Posted: Fri Feb 12, 2010 5:58 am
by hentey
Hehehehe......nou voel ek nie meer alleen so onnosel nie.Ek stel voor jy kyk eers die video (google hom)My pel,daai ding werk maar so.....as hy nie load op het nie dan val hy maar so af.

Posted: Fri Feb 12, 2010 7:36 am
by HiluxJunkie
I had load on it.

I am almost sure on my previous one, the catch determined the direction of movement when the big lever was operated. It would then climb the rail either up or down with load , depending on the position of the catch.

Posted: Fri Feb 12, 2010 8:09 am
by hentey
In that case rather have it checked cause that can become a very dangerous piece of equipment. Also make sure it is nicely lubricated.The catches and movement goodies tend to get quite sticky.Anyway check the vids and see all the negative reports on high lift jacks.It opened my eyes. :thumbup:

Posted: Fri Feb 12, 2010 9:11 am
by HiluxJunkie
CasKru wrote:Post a pick of the model HL you have. Mine is one Noah himself used on the ark and it operates different to the newer ones
Cassie;

How do you mean different ?

Posted: Fri Feb 12, 2010 9:15 am
by CasKru
HiluxJunkie wrote:
CasKru wrote:Post a pick of the model HL you have. Mine is one Noah himself used on the ark and it operates different to the newer ones
Cassie;

Mine don't have a latch or anything to change the direction. For me to raise the jack I only have to move the lever about 3/4 up and just over half way down. To lower the jack, I have to raise the lever all the way up and all the way down as this engages lowering action.

Posted: Fri Feb 12, 2010 9:23 am
by Dadz Toy BFI
CasKru wrote:
HiluxJunkie wrote:
Cassie;

Mine don't have a latch or anything to change the direction. For me to raise the jack I only have to move the lever about 3/4 up and just over half way down. To lower the jack, I have to raise the lever all the way up and all the way down as this engages lowering action.
:problem:

:think:

Time for the Universal Language................ :arrow: :!:

Peekchaz brothers, peekchaz asblf ;-)

Posted: Fri Feb 12, 2010 9:37 am
by CasKru
The best picture I can give you now is this screen capture from one of Bennie's videos: (you can see the jack in action in the video clip)
http://www.youtube.com/v/FYK-swCiLP4
Highlift.JPG

Posted: Sun Feb 14, 2010 11:31 am
by BenHur
Eish hoe lekker jet ek nou weer gelag vir daai episode ;)