Upcoming trip - Port St Johns

Die$eL
Town: Midrand
Vehicle: 06' Hilux 3.0 D4D 4X4

Upcoming trip - Port St Johns

Post by Die$eL »

hi

We have booked to go to Port St Johns during easter.

Unfortunately we will also have some cars with us along with my bakkie and a Rav4 so have to keep to the tried and tested roads.

Any suggestions on a route from Durban?
Anything specific we should take with?
Suggestions of places to visit?

We want to do lots of fishing, but will have the families with, so we hoping to get to do some fishing... Suggestions on spots/bait etc?

How is it safety wise that side now? Last i was there around 8 years ago.
Real drivers use three pedals

Re: Upcoming trip - Port St Johns

Before we give you any further info.....lets get your trip report on this:

http://hilux4x4.co.za/views/viewtopic.php?t=14429" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
Maddoglips
Town: P.E.
Vehicle: Raider 2.2 4x4; Mikem 50mm raised suspension, long range tank, Monroe gasses all round.

Post by Maddoglips »

Diesel

There's plenty a beautifull spots out there, Coffee Bay - Hole in the Wall :thumbup: not the pink Floyd 1, brilliant fishing and cheap crayfish and oysters if you willing to bargain.

Only thing I can say is, make sure you are aware of the areas you are driving in as alot of the grounds require permits which are obtained in Umtata. If caught with out, and there's NO signage, it's hefty fines, I believe in the region of R2,500 per vehicle.

Also, on the smaller roads leading down to the coast, try and drive these in the day as they are awefull, even with a 4x4 and the taxi's ect.. running around don't give a hoot for lanes and stop goes.

Otherwise, beautifull place :thumbup:

Enjoy
It's better to Burn Out then Fade Away.
Die$eL

Post by Die$eL »

thanks Zane.

@ OOms... sorry man. i was waiting for the pics before i post the report. will get the pics and post them along with the report soon

Die$eL wrote:thanks Zane.

@ OOms... sorry man. i was waiting for the pics before i post the report. will get the pics and post them along with the report soon
Great....can't wait :bye:
Die$eL

Post by Die$eL »

Full report added
:D:
viewtopic.php?f=75&t=14429

Die$eL wrote:Full report added
:D:
viewtopic.php?f=75&t=14429
Now see, that only took a few mins, look forward to the rest of the pics :thumbup:

By the way, very nice :wink2:
Die$eL

Post by Die$eL »

so we got there and back

trip was good. weather didnt always play the game but was ok.
fishing was bad. just a few undersize kob

will upload the pics soon as i can.

left jhb on the thursday at 4pm and reached durbs 6 hours later. (roads were busy).
woke at 4:30am on the saturday and were on the road just after 8am.
roads were not tooo busy.
saw 17 dead dogs and 2 dead cats on the way

after lunch we drove to poenskop and caught those small fish
saturday we visited "the gap". yoh that place is hectic! but beautiful!
sunday took a looong walk on the beach and were attacked by some dogs. managed to get rid of them by rushing them with the umbrella.

after we went to poenskop again and fished a bit before returning to the lodge for a lekker crayfish braai.

monday was packing and travelling back. only 14 or so dead dogs this time...

all in all a good trip. next time we go to a place like that, we need to go with just the guys though. wives dont seem to appreciate the bush much...
Vehicle: '90 SFA Hilux DC 4X4, Full OME, 110mm lift. Brospeed branch, 50mm ss freeflow exhaust. 30 x 9.5 Discoverer S/T's on Viper mags. L/R tank. (AWOL) '98 LTD 2.4 SFA, dual battery system. Dobinson suspension, LR tanks, 31" BF mud's.

Glad that you enjoyed it .... pity about thy fish. ;-) Where did you stay ... campsite?

Die$eL

Post by Die$eL »

stayed at a place called Kingfisher lodge and the rest of us were next door at Gecko's place
accommodation was good other than the gas geyser super heating the water so u get boiled for a bit then it switches off so u freeze a bit. it keeps alternating...