Namibia June / July 2011 - KPC

KPC
Vehicle: 3.0 d4d d/c

Namibia June / July 2011 - KPC

Post by KPC »

Trip report to Namibia 25 June- 9 July 2011

Firstly I would like to thank Mark OOOOMS for all his advice and willingness to give help.
The trip took a couple of months to plan and all said and done, it was decided that we would stay were we find a place to stay. No booking was done.
We were four vehicles travelling in the group. 2009 Hilux with a conqueror trailer, 2005 Hilux with an Echo trailer, 2010 Prado with a conqueror trailer and a Nissan Navara with an Echo trailer. We needed the Navara to at least have some fun.

We left Krugersdorp on Saturday the 25th of June at 04h00 and had to meet the people driving the Navara in Mafekeng. After meeting them we then headed off to the Botswana border post at Ramatlabama. Hassle free through the border crossing we preceded to the B202 to Kang where we planned to overnight. We reached Kang close to 13h00 and the overnight place was closed, we then decided to proceed to Buitepos where we would overnight.
All going well, everybody still fresh and happy to travel, we then hit the long road to Buitepos. About 250km from Buitepos we came to a grinding halt. My lux was leaking water from the radiator. A stone from a previous truck that we passed through up stones and yip my luck. Thank goodness for new technology the vehicle went into safe mode. Stranded next the road and who would think that something like that would happen we had to make a plan. We tried to close the hole and nothing was working. The only alternative was to take out the radiator and try and fix it. So that’s what we did.
R0012344 (Small).JPG
R0012351 (Small).JPG

We cut the fin that had the hole in it and turned it a few times and pinched it closed. Boiled water and put the radiator back and off we went to Buitepos.
After crossing the border post at Buitepos we then headed for Zelda’s Camp and B&B. We stayed in a family room that can sleep four people and that included breakfast the next morning. Zelda’s is very clean and neat. We reached Zelda’s at about 21h30. Everybody hungry and tired and quickly put steak on the gas braai and had steak rolls for dinner.
R0012352 (Small).JPG
R0012353 (Small).JPG
R0012355 (Small).JPG

Breakfast was served at 07h30 the next morning and straight after breakfast we headed for Windhoek. We decided to overnight in Windhoek before heading for Swakopmund. We camped at Arebbusch Lodge and campsite in Windhoek. Very nice place and friendly staff. We dined at Joe’s Beerhaus and what a place. Early Monday morning I went to try and see if someone would sort out the radiator and get antifreeze. At Toyota they advised that it should be fine as there was no water leaking. Went to LA Sport for a protector plate and was advice to go to and engineering place close by. Protector plate made and installed and off to Swakopmund.

We stayed for three days at Mile 4 in Swakopmund and did all we could there.
Mile 4 has 100 campsites and 16 private campsites with its own ablutions.
R0012414 (Small).JPG
R0012416 (Small).JPG
R0012418 (Small).JPG
R0012421 (Small).JPG

We did all we could there from Sand boarding down the dunes, Crystal gallery Moon scapes etc.
R0012399 (Small).JPG
R0012401 (Small).JPG
R0012363 (Small).JPG
R0012412 (Small).JPG

After our short stay at Swakopmund we headed for Sossusvlei. We stayed at a place called Bestesda.
Just a few pic’s of the road before we reached our destination.
R0012447 (Small).JPG

Refuel at the well known place I don’t think I should mention.
R0012451 (Small).JPG
We reached our campsite just after 17h00 and stayed for two days.
R0012458 (Small).JPG

We then headed to the well known Sossusvlei and what a magical place.
Before entering Sossusvlei we made breakfast and took in the view as you can see. What a place.
R0012469 (Small).JPG
R0012470 (Small).JPG
R0012470 (Small).JPG (19.69 KiB) Viewed 2122 times
R0012473 (Small).JPG
R0012480 (Small).JPG
Namibia 2011 324 (Small).jpg

After spending some time at the dunes we headed for Sesriem Canyon.
R0012505 (Small).JPG
R0012512 (Small).JPG
R0012508 (Small).JPG
R0012520 (Small).JPG
R0012526 (Small).JPG

Short stay at Bestesda we were on the move again to Luderitz. We stayed to watch the rugby at Aus and yes sorry no pictures of Aus, could not find the camera.
We stayed at Shark Island in Luderitz and the wind blew us away.
R0012543 (Small).JPG

Did all we could in Luderitz, Kolmanskop and the rest.
R0012552 (Small).JPG
R0012548 (Small).JPG
R0012573 (Small).JPG
R0012586 (Small).JPG
R0012579 (Small).JPG

The wind was so bad that we decided to head for Ai Ais Hot Springs. What a beautiful road next the Orange River all the way down to Ai-Ais.
R0012591 (Small).JPG
R0012595 (Small).JPG
R0012593 (Small).JPG
R0012604 (Small).JPG
R0012606 (Small).JPG
R0012611 (Small).JPG

After the breathtaking views we reached Ai Ais Hot Springs where we would stay for the last couple of days before heading off back to SA.
R0012616 (Small).JPG
R0012621 (Small).JPG
R0012630 (Small).JPG

We also did the Fish River Canyon.
R0012636 (Small).JPG
R0012654 (Small).JPG

Well all must come to an end. After a few days of rest and relaxing we were on our way back home but first we had to stop at Augrabies.
R0012658 (Small).JPG
R0012678 (Small).JPG

All ended well and my lux is getting its new radiator this week.
We did 5150 km at an average of 9.1l/km and without booking managed to find place to stay.
Once again to Mark for all your assistance and kind words before we left a great thank you.
R0012683 (Small).JPG

Cheers
Johannes van die See

Re: Namibia June / July 2011 - KPC

Post by Johannes van die See »

Hi Clint

What a trip! I can't wait to do my first one together with Mark (000MS) this coming December.
Thanks for the nice trip report and photo's

Johannes
http://www.goblacksam.com
Langebaan Lagoon & Deep Sea Fishing Charters
0000DS
Town: Roodekrans
Vehicle: Tuna, 4X4, Longrange Fuel tank, BF's AT, Intergrated bumber, Roofrack, Awning, Air suspension,winch

Post by 0000DS »

NIce trip ..... How do you not find your camera :silent:
THat is your most important equipment in your vehicle .... :lol: :laugh2: :lol: :laugh2: :mrgreen:
Vehicle: '90 SFA Hilux DC 4X4, Full OME, 110mm lift. Brospeed branch, 50mm ss freeflow exhaust. 30 x 9.5 Discoverer S/T's on Viper mags. L/R tank. (AWOL) '98 LTD 2.4 SFA, dual battery system. Dobinson suspension, LR tanks, 31" BF mud's.

Lovely trip, Clint. Thanks for the report and pics! :thumbup: :thumbup:

I've heard of the radiator being repaired that way before, but with a copper core. Not sure if it will be successful with aluminium ... was yours copper or alu?

Nice report tx Clint :thumbup:

Watse advies kan jy vir ons manne gee wat jy tuis gelos het?

Excellent report, Clint!

TheoF
Town: Mosselbaai
Vehicle: Hilux 3.0 D-4D SC 4x4

Post by TheoF »

baie mooi baie dankie
Modder
Town: West Rand
Vehicle: 2009 Hilux 3.0 D4D D/C 4x4

Post by Modder »

Baie nice report.

Ons gaan min of meer dieselfde roete ry januarie, net andersom.

Sal verseker met jou kontak maak...
''Life is an adventure! Cheers!'' - Kingsley Holgate
Born to hunt, forced to work!
My hart is die bosveld, maar my gat is in die stad!!!
KPC

Post by KPC »

Mud Dog wrote:Lovely trip, Clint. Thanks for the report and pics! :thumbup: :thumbup:

I've heard of the radiator being repaired that way before, but with a copper core. Not sure if it will be successful with aluminium ... was yours copper or alu?

Andy the radiator was alu and we managed to seal it properly did not leak at all
KPC

Post by KPC »

0000DS wrote:NIce trip ..... How do you not find your camera :silent:
THat is your most important equipment in your vehicle .... :lol: :laugh2: :lol: :laugh2: :mrgreen:

OOOODS
I have got two boys and they had the camera. Only later did they say oops sorry here it is. :clap: :o
KPC

Post by KPC »

Thanks for the feedback.

Mark OOOOMS thank you for posting the report on my behalf.
Daydreams
Vehicle: Fortuner 3D4D 4x4

Post by Daydreams »

Howzit Clint, read your post. Sounds like a awesome trip. Just wanted to thank you again for the use of your Tabasco Sauce at Ai-Ais, our being lost in the bush forever after the accident. Thanks.

Daydreams wrote:Howzit Clint, read your post. Sounds like a awesome trip. Just wanted to thank you again for the use of your Tabasco Sauce at Ai-Ais, our being lost in the bush forever after the accident. Thanks.
Clint.......jy my nie vertel van die Tabasco Source nie..... :lol: :lol: :lol:

@Daydreams, what accident, what happened ?
Daydreams
Vehicle: Fortuner 3D4D 4x4

Post by Daydreams »

Firstly the Tabasco is for my Bloody Marys, really a top camping drink for those out there that enjoy it.

The accident happend between Sesriem and Betta, on our way back from Swakop, my mate was driving a D-tec Suzi and just caught a corner wrong. The trailer started snaking and they lost controll. Trailer ended in the bush and the Suzi a wright off. All 5 of them in the bakkie were unharmed. The 9 of us, 4 adults and 5 kids continued ou trip in my DC Hilux, towing my echo trailer loaded with all there gear.

He has now been converted and drives a new Fortuna 4x4 :yahoo:

Daydreams wrote:Firstly the Tabasco is for my Bloody Marys, really a top camping drink for those out there that enjoy it.

The accident happend between Sesriem and Betta, on our way back from Swakop, my mate was driving a D-tec Suzi and just caught a corner wrong. The trailer started snaking and they lost controll. Trailer ended in the bush and the Suzi a wright off. All 5 of them in the bakkie were unharmed. The 9 of us, 4 adults and 5 kids continued ou trip in my DC Hilux, towing my echo trailer loaded with all there gear.

He has now been converted and drives a new Fortuna 4x4 :yahoo:
Tx Stanley, glad to hear there were no casualties :thumbup: And good for you for converting your mate :wink2:

Now you just need to get him to join here on the Club :thumbup:
KPC

Post by KPC »

Hi Stanley.

Glad to hear you guys made it back safely to Gordons Bay. It was only my pleasure to give some tabasco. I think you guys needed that.
At least one thing came out positive in your whole trip, a new member to the Toyota family.
andrevt
Town: sasolburg
Vehicle: raider d4d

Post by andrevt »

briljant dankbaar almal is veilig
ImageImageImageImageImageImage

Toyota Hilux 3.0 D4D 4x4