Richtersveld - Fish River Adventure 2014

With all the public holidays conspiring and the weather being perfect for it we decided that it would be a great opportunity to take our annual break over the Easter period. Destination Richtersveld, and across the border to the Fish River Canyon in Namibia. Nothing extreme, just a lazy, do-nothing trip, with longer periods at a single campsite, and less driving from one place to the next.
Since our last trip a few things have changed in our whole camping setup, and we were eager to test those out thoroughly.

During our visit to the Richtersveld in 2011 we drove into Kokerboomkloof, and decided that we would like to spend some time there, because of the setting, and the peace and quiet. According to our research there were ablution buildings, but no running water, toilet or shower facilities. For this reason not many people stayed there as Kokerboomkloof is also about 30km away from the river.... Perfect.. :thumbup: :thumbup:

DAY 1 - 18 April 2014
The alarm clock(s) went off at 04h00 and we hit the road at 05h00 to beat the traffic and stop/go's between Citrusdal and Clanwilliam. We managed to get through that section with minimal hold-ups and very few cars on the road. At Klawer we pulled in for a Wimpy breakfast and watched about 12000 overlanders looking for parking in the parking lot. We arrived just in time to beat the rush.

The rest of the way to Springbok nothing much happened, as the N7 is still as predictable as a politicians campaign speech. In Springbok we did a fuel stop and bought some lekker doringhout for braai purposes. All the shops were closed, and the place was a virtual ghost town because it was Good Friday.

From Springbok it was a short hop to Steinkopf where we left the N7 towards Port Nolloth. After about 40km we left the tar roads behind when we turned off towards Eksteenfontein. Last time we were there I bought their entire stock of KWV 3 Year Brandy.. (1 bottle) .. We couldnt see if they have restocked because the bottle store was closed. :twisted: :twisted:

Outside Eksteenfontein we turned right towards Khubus. The road was rough and washed away in places but we managed to get through without problems. Then as we were descending into a riverbed along a fairly okay-ish dirt road we heard a grinding noise coming from the rear of the Hilux. E looked in her mirror and pronounced that we had a "papwiel"... Left rear.. Darn and blast! We were not even properly in the Richtersveld yet, and we were down to 1 spare already. :shock:

Out came the gloves, jack and wheelspanners. I didnt even bother with the snotplugs because I could see this tyre was not going to be saved. Out came the brand new Hankook Dynapro A/T that I bought as a spare. It's a long story, and there will be a thread about this too that will explain the thinking behind this decision. The sun was quite hot, but after about 35 minutes we were on our way again. Not exactly Formula 1 pit crew quick, but then again their cars dont weigh 2.5 tons.. :twisted:

We made it to Sendelingsdrif with about 45 minutes to spare before the office closes down, and spent the night in one of the "chalets" alongside the river.

TBC........................

Hangover
Town: Deneysville
Vehicle: '76 FJ45 , '13 3.0 D4D Hilux

Re: Richtersveld - Fish River Adventure 2014

Post by Hangover »

Ag tog... Dis nou net om ons jaloers en opgewonde maak dans dit weer klaar...
Hangover(A.K.A die speelding)
1976 FJ45 4x4
1UZ-FE 4.0vvti
2" OME Suspension lift
1.5" Shackle lift
35" Geo MT's
Custom Bullbar
Lockright Locked rear
York OBA
20" LED bar
Nighthawk 100W spots

Dakar
2013 3.0D-4D 4x4 Hilux Dakar

Nice Thys :thumbup:

You must have the worst luck with tyres. :thumbdown:

Now I understand your comment the other day about the tyres.
1999 Hilux 2.7i 4x4 Raider DC with 3.4 Prado V6. Rear diff-lock, Bull Bar and rock sliders, 31" Cooper ST Maxx, Snorkel, Alu-Canopy, VHF Motorolla radio, West Coast Rust, Mikem Suspension, Ball Joint Spacers in front and Mikem extended shackles at the rear, 25watt LED Spots
Vehicle: '90 SFA Hilux DC 4X4, Full OME, 110mm lift. Brospeed branch, 50mm ss freeflow exhaust. 30 x 9.5 Discoverer S/T's on Viper mags. L/R tank. (AWOL) '98 LTD 2.4 SFA, dual battery system. Dobinson suspension, LR tanks, 31" BF mud's.

george wrote:Nice Thys :thumbup:

You must have the worst luck with tyres. :thumbdown:
Was about to say the same thing! :D:

Huismoeles
Town: Bellville
Vehicle: V8 Disco 1

Post by Huismoeles »

TBC. ......... :subscribed: :siffler:
ROOFER
Town: grassy park cape town
Vehicle: 99 s/c hilux 4x4 2.7i long range tank & dual battery; 2003 nissan x-TRAIL (4X4)

Post by ROOFER »

No man Thysd 2:58 on a thursday afternoon you dont start something like this & leave it, no man and then its a public
holiday on top of it.

Where's the commitment to getting the story out so that we can :drool: :drool: all over the key board .

Ok we'll be patient cause we know it's gonna be good :!: :siffler: :siffler:

I know, I know... it's like having to wait a whole day for the next episode of Days of our Lives... :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

But wait.. there's a lot more on tyres coming up.... :blackeye: :blackeye:

Ten minste was dit baie mooi waar jy die papwiel gekry het.
Sien uit na die volgende episode :thumbup: :thumbup:
Vehicle: '90 SFA Hilux DC 4X4, Full OME, 110mm lift. Brospeed branch, 50mm ss freeflow exhaust. 30 x 9.5 Discoverer S/T's on Viper mags. L/R tank. (AWOL) '98 LTD 2.4 SFA, dual battery system. Dobinson suspension, LR tanks, 31" BF mud's.

Thys is pulling a "Schubert move" on us! :lol:

DAY 2 - 19 April 2014

We woke bright and early and got ready for the trip out to Kokerboomkloof. We needed to be self sufficient for at least 3 days. We had at least 50 liters of drinkable water on board, but we needed some wash water. In addition to that, I got hold of a whole lot of 20 liter "papsakke". They are used in the wine industry and are pretty strong. So we filled 3 of them and stashed them in the back of the Hilux so that we could use them for showers and washing dishes.

We hit the trail and stopped at the Hand of God. Just a pity a lot of people decided that the back of the rock is the perfect place to use as a toilet. The flies and smell was quite unbearable..

Halfmens in the Richtersveld. Very few of them around nowadays.

Then it was Akkedis Pass. It is tight with the big Hilux, but we got through without too much damage. At this stage I am very nervous about tyres, and over compensated a little, neglecting the right hand side of the vehicle somewhat. Around a tight bend the right hand side Excalibur got a bit of a knock that will remind us of crossing the pass. Gysie will have to make some sturdy rock sliders me thinks..

We pulled in at De Hoop, which was pretty much deserted. We spent a night here on a previous occasion and it was pretty full then. The river is also much lower than we expected.

Then we had an encounter with a crazy engelsman in a Fortuner who was buzzing around us like a fly. Turning around and driving all over the place. We took a short cut to get away from his dust, but somehow he ended up in front of us again about 6 km further. Luckily he took the turn off to Richtersberg and disappeared over a hill in a cloud of dust.

Once we arrived at Kokerboomkloof it was about 14h00, it was hot and stuffy and the camp site was empty. We were going to be alone in this little corner of the "wilderness"!! The silence was deafening. The weather also showed signs of possible thunder and rain activity and the humidity was quite high.

As we scouted for a proper place to pitch our camp, we realised we were not alone. There were about 100000000000 muggies (gnats, midges) which wanted to get into every nook and cranny of your body and suck your blood!! But, we had a plan B....

The rock formations in the Kloof is something else! As you look around you see all sorts of shapes and symbolism in the rocks. We were fascinated..

We pitched camp in the shade of a large granite boulder which would provide shade for the tent and protection from any NW winds that might come up.

And then we hit the jackpot...... Sometime between 2011 and now, SANParks thought it apporpriate to get a permanent water supply to Kokerboomkloof. We had running water, and flush toilets. Sort of a let down, but also a huge bonus.

As soon as the sun started setting, the muggies bit the living crap out of us, and not even Peaceful Sleep, Tabard, Bushman's or Khakibos helped to keep them at bay. It was still hot and stuffy, but shortly after sunset they disappeared and we could have a braai in peace. It was amazing having the whole place to ourselves with lightning flashes dancing on the horizon.

That night at about midnight there was a lightning flash followed by an almighty thunderclap and the heavens opened. For about 45 minutes it rained heavily and everything cooled down.... Our new tent and extension is water proof, test 1 done and dusted..

LIKE!!

TBC.......................

Thys kon jy bespreek vir Kokerboom of bespreek jy vir De Hoop en gaan slaap dan by Kokerboom?

Jy bespreek by Kokerboomkloof... :thumbup: :thumbup: En sanparks se website het nog gese daar is nie geriewe nie... :shock:

Great pics, Thys. The Richtersveld is simply fascinating, an artist or photographer's heaven. :thumbup: :thumbup:

Baie mooi Thys

swartvark
Vehicle: SFA HiLEX V8; Suzuki GSF1200s Bandit

Post by swartvark »

Ek was die tyd 2010 daar...........sal laaik om weer te gaan..... :thumbup:
MUD........GLORIOUS MUD!!!!!

Your friendly VW salesperson......(with a passion for SFA Hiluxes)

NEED A CAR?
talk2tiaan@gmail.com

DAY 3 - 20 April 2014

A lazy day spent in the campsite mostly. We climbed a few of the rocks and took some pictures but we didnt drive anywhere. The solar panels took care of the fridge and the aux battery.

The Bulldog

Whenever the muggies got too much we ducked into the tent, switchd on the ceiling fan and read books and magazines. We absorbed all the silence and recharged our own batteries as well.

Muggie-proof...

By late afternoon a breeze picked up and the muggies disappeared. A welcome relief. Some more campers arrived in the 'Kloof and pitched camp. Luckily the campsites are spaced far apart and they were not a bother to us. I dont know about us bothering them though...

With the Kariba hot water geiser on the stoep we had a shower after dark, and retired to bed.

Ossum! Geology has always interested me and the rock formations in that area are really fascinating.! :thumbup:

Hou van die " bulldog" :thumbup:
Het jy die blond ingetrade :twisted:

Mud Dog wrote:Ossum! Geology has always interested me and the rock formations in that area are really fascinating.! :thumbup:
Thats the thing about the Richtersveld.. it is all about geology and rock formations.. there are no wild life, except for some of the tourists who behave like baboons... :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

Great pics Thysie! Makes us home-lubbers really feel like selling up everything and spending a life time touring this beautiful continent of ours.

Those rock formations are simply amazing!

Thys ek het ook so n 3x3 m bow-tent met extention.Ek gebruik my extention net wanneer ek lank op een plek kamp.Is die op en afslaan van die kompleet tent nie vir jou n beslommernis as gereeld van een plek na n ander ry nie.?

Die kompleet tent is ook nie lig nie en vat ook maar sy spasie.Hoor graag jou opinie.

Very nice pics Thys, I live so close and have as yet not been there :oops: but I am planning on going there soon, I hope. :thumbup:
Gideonvanzyl
Vehicle: Hilux 2.7 D/C 4x4

Post by Gideonvanzyl »

baie nice Thys, ek sal ook nog eendag daar n draai gaan maak. Mooi foto's
Toyota Hilux 2.7 Legend 35 (Bullnose) 2003 d/cab 4x4 with Cooper Discoverer AT 3's on with unichip and Powerflow exhaust. Name: Blouwillebees

Lollie wrote:Thys ek het ook so n 3x3 m bow-tent met extention.Ek gebruik my extention net wanneer ek lank op een plek kamp.Is die op en afslaan van die kompleet tent nie vir jou n beslommernis as gereeld van een plek na n ander ry nie.?

Die kompleet tent is ook nie lig nie en vat ook maar sy spasie.Hoor graag jou opinie.
Ons slaan die extension ook net op as ons langer as 2 dae op een plek staan. Anders slaan ons net die dome met sy eie fly-sheet op. Die op en afslaan gaan nogals gou, maar ons twee werk goed saam as 'n span, elkeen ken al sy vat en sy los.. :twisted: :twisted:

DAY 4 - 21 April 2014
Today we decided to get our lazy asses out of the campsite. So after a quick breakfast we drove down the 'Kloof to the end of the track. The sides of the kloof closes in on you and you get to a point where the trak just ends. Cannot drive any further down because of huge boulders blocking the way. We stopped and took some pics.

After the drive down the kloof we decided to drive out to Springbokvlakte and see where the road takes us.

There's your answer.. What a shame.. This track leads straight down to the river, but we couldnt go there. At least here we could get cellphone reception from the MTC tower at Aussenkehr, and E caught up on news from home. Oh the marvels of modern technology!!

The Toe

Springbokvlakte

We drove to a lookout point between two hills and this is what we saw..

And then we drove to another lookout point and looked out over Springbokvlakte..

That evening we opened a bottle of special wine..

And just before sunset we drove out to take some pictures of the Toe and some other rocks in the last light of the day.

We also got a picture of Uranus... :twisted: :twisted:

Another exciting day in the Richtersveld came to an end. This place is truely amazing.

TBC.................

nice.I remember that look out point. It looks like a big river used to flow down there.

ThysdJ wrote:
Lollie wrote:Thys ek het ook so n 3x3 m bow-tent met extention.Ek gebruik my extention net wanneer ek lank op een plek kamp.Is die op en afslaan van die kompleet tent nie vir jou n beslommernis as gereeld van een plek na n ander ry nie.?

Ons slaan die extension ook net op as ons langer as 2 dae op een plek staan. Anders slaan ons net die dome met sy eie fly-sheet op. Die op en afslaan gaan nogals gou, maar ons twee werk goed saam as 'n span, elkeen ken al sy vat en sy los.. :twisted: :twisted:

It's really amazing how many of these "bottles of special wine" manage to turn up everywhere... seems like the Wine Fairy is anticipating your every move....

ROOFER
Town: grassy park cape town
Vehicle: 99 s/c hilux 4x4 2.7i long range tank & dual battery; 2003 nissan x-TRAIL (4X4)

Post by ROOFER »

Thanx for sharing ThysdJ :thumbup: :thumbup:

DAY 5 - 22 April 2014

Today we pack up at Kokerboomkloof. Our stay here was fantastic. Not as rough as we expected due to the availability of running water but nevertheless very enjoyable. We emptied out the "papsakke" as the water they contained was not going to be needed any longer.

There was a stiff breeze so muggies and other flying goggas were limited. The wind was welcome although it made packing up the tent and extention a bit of a challenge. But nothing we couldnt manage. Before long the Hilux was packed and we were ready to move on.

Packing up..

Real running water...

Not for everybody...

Our destination was Gannakouriep. This is what SANParks classify as a "wilderness" camp. Why on earth I would not know because it is pure luxury. We always reward ourselves with a couple of nights of nice digs after we spent some time doing it rough, and this was it.

The people/organisations we support...

It looks like these rocks were dumped there...

As we hit the road near the turn-off to Richtersberg we encountered 2 vehicles in convoy. A Disco 3 and a Terios with (what looked like) an oversized rooftop tent on it. We took it easy taking in the scenery as we drove along dry riverbeds along bumpy tracks.

When we arrived at Gannakouriep we were welcomed by the camp-supervisor and showed to our cabin. The wind was quite strong, and there were signs of some weather creeping in from the West.

We baked some bread, and had a braai later that evening before turning in.. No muggies around here while the wind blows.

TBC............

DAY 6 - 23 April 2014

Not much happens on this day. After a hearty breakfast we hit the trail and explore the area. We drove out to Hakkiesdoring, which is a hikers overnight spot. The facilities are basic, you get a room with 2 single beds. Nothing else. There are bathrooms, and a communal kitchen. Also a huge bouma for a lekker Richtersveld braai and a lookout tower.

Hakkiesdoring is basically a "base camp" for hikers doing the hiking trail that starts about 3km from there and takes you into the mouintain ranges to the west of the park. 40km of hiking in 4 days. We met a couple there who spent the night there and were on their way to do the hike. We wished them good luck.

The scenery is still amazing...

Back at Gannakouriep we spent the last hours of sunlight reading and trying to catch some sunshine as it was getting very cold.

TBC ....................

Very nice trip report Thys. Looks like you had an amazing time. :thumbup: :thumbup:

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Thys

As ek so kyk na jou met die baadtjie aan dan wil dit vir my al voorkom asof dit koelerig was sodra die son begin sak het.

Jou fotos is baie mooi :thumbup:

Thys, who is the elderly gentleman lighting the fire? is he a local resident? :think: :roll:

Ek was al 2 keer in die richtersveld en weet nie van Gannakouriep.Sal beslis volgende keer draai loop maak :thumbup:

Family_Dog wrote:Thys, who is the elderly gentleman lighting the fire? is he a local resident? :think: :roll:

It's my son... :twisted: :twisted:

withilux
Vehicle: Hilux D4D 4x4

Post by withilux »

Gamkap gery - geen Thysdj
Canyon gery - geen Thysdj
Roadhouse gekamp - geen Thysdj
Terug Gamkap gery - geen Thysdj

Lyk my daai Hilux kani so ver ry nie :-)
Willem01
Vehicle: het nie 1 nie

Post by Willem01 »

Nice..dis tog n plek om eendag te besoek...dankie vir die mooi pic's
Tenk
Town: Hilux Country
Vehicle: 07 hilux dc 4L v6 manuel, alu canopy, rock/s, full ome sport, Hoppy s/s custom exhaust, 33 grabber muds, compressor, exstra 80L f/t, dual battery,body lift,redpepper bumper,custom sound with sub,afternarket touchscreen entertain unit, dynoteck chip 188kw

Post by Tenk »

Lekker trip Thys, jy lyk sommer tys daar. :taunt:

DAY 7 - 24 April 2014

We pack up at Gannakouriep to drive to Sendelingsdrif via the Helskloof pass. We will be spending the night at Sendelingsdrif in a "chalet" before crossing the river into Namibia the next day.

The road is the normal Richtersveld 2-spoor and we take it easy because we have a lot of time on our hands to enjoy the scenery.

We see this beautiful kokerboom on a hill.

And more vegetation that is more prevalent on the western side of the park.

We miss the Avenant graves completely. Maybe the sigh was blown away by the strong wind blowing from the north-west.

Before we know it we are on the "main road" back towards Sendelingsdrif. For the rest of the day we potter around our "chalet"

We enjoy this tour with short hops and lots of time to just relax and do nothing..

TBC ........................

DAY 8 - 25 April 2014

Early morning pack-up and go time. The border crossing is quick and painless on the South African side. From the Immigration office we drive down to the pontoon, and the friendly staff make sure we are safe and sound before they transport us across the river. This includes getting tangled up in a life vest. I have video of this and will post it on Youtube.

Once we arrive in Namibia, we do the immigration stuff and then we hit Rosh Pinah. Here we do some grocery shopping, and we meet family for a breakfast at the Wimpy. We also fill up with 50ppm diesel and pay in cash. Even the petrol attendants are not too happy with the whole cash thing, but thats what they have to deal with. It is about 13h00 by the time we leave Rosh Pinah.
The road alongside the Orange River is in good condition and we make good time. At the crossing of the Fish River we notice that the Fish River is flowing strong, and that there is a new bridge. The old one got washed away too many times.

We turn left into the Gamkap river bed and drive all along it towards Ai-Ais. This is a beatiful drive with high cliffs on the sides.

We arrive at the Canon Roadhouse during the late afternoon. We wanted to camp here, but didnt book before hand. They could help us out with 1 nights camping but we had to move on the nest day. No problem, we'll take it and hunt for alternative digs the next day. After consulting T4A I got hold of the telephone number for Hobas, and phoned. They were more than willing to help us out with a campsite for 2 nights. We were sorted.

Go have a look-see what is inside Pandora's Box when you get there... you wont be disappointed...

You can even phone home!!

We pitched camp with the sun setting and we had a lekker braai. The campsite was quite full and noisy with people coming back from the restaurant at all hours giggling and talking in loud voices. Jagermeister was mentioned quite a few times... :twisted: :twisted:

But that aside, our stay here was very enjoyable and we will be back... :thumbup: :thumbup:

Manne maar iemand hier agter my keyboard is darem maar vir jou jaloers op die trippie
Hilux01
Town: Secunda
Vehicle: Toyota Hilux 3.0D4-D dc 4x4
Club VHF Licence: X85

Post by Hilux01 »

Thuys dit lyk sommer baie bakgat
Ek was nog nooit in die Richtersveldt nie en hierdie verslaggie maak dat ek sommer begin kyk na die kalender en beplan
2013 Toyota Hilux 3.0D4-D dc 4x4
Bush Lapa Miskruier 810
Gerbers Alu Canopy
ORRA Call Sign: X85

withilux wrote:Gamkap gery - geen Thysdj
Canyon gery - geen Thysdj
Roadhouse gekamp - geen Thysdj
Terug Gamkap gery - geen Thysdj

Lyk my daai Hilux kani so ver ry nie :-)
Ai Dawid, smaak my ons het mekaar aanmekaar gemis... :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: Ons moet maar een of ander tyd hier rond 'n bietjie geniet.. :twisted: :twisted:

:clap: :clap: :clap:
Thanks for the great read and stunning pics :thumbup:

Thunder02 wrote::clap: :clap: :clap:
Thanks for the great read and stunning pics :thumbup:
+1

:thumbup: :thumbup:

Nice report, hoe verlang ek nou na daai deel van die wereld, miskien volgende jaar weer.
rechardt

Post by rechardt »

Thys..I just have 1 very big beswaar against you. ...thank u for the invite to join...

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk
Using Tapatalk

Nice report Tyhs, dankie. Dis tyd dat ek weer daar uitslaan was so 5 jaar gelede daar.

DAY 9 - 26 April 2014

We pack up camp and depart to Hobas around 10h00. Only about 14km down the road. We didnt pithc the entire tent with the extension, only the dome with its own flysheet, so packing up was over in a jiffy.

Once we got to Hobas we booked in, and seeing as we were the only people in the camp site we explored a lot and found the best spot. We were going to sleep 2 nights so we wanted something a little "special". There is electricity and running water, so I put the fridge on mains and the aux battery on the Benton. I noticed during the last few days that the aux battery does not "hold its charge" and runs down very quickly.

During late afternoon we light a fire. We enjoy relaxing under the trees with a nice breeze keeping the worst of the heat at bay. Once again we decided not to pitch the extention for the tent, as the camsite was nice and shady and our kitchen setup works nicely from the back of the Hilux.

The rest of the day we are bumming around just being lazy in general. That evening we have a hot shower and turn in early...

TBC..............

Thys ou swaer ... I don't think I like that "TBC" footnote .... I'm seriously thinking about addressing the issue with the 'Word Censor'! :D:

DAY 10 - 27 April 2014

While the Republic is celebrating Freedom Day we are blissfully unaware of any politickery here at Hobas. We start out just after first light to go visit the Fish River Canyon, to take some nice photographs. The canyon is amazing!! We spend hours at the lookout points and on the tracks around the rim of the canyon.

Later that afternoon we decide to go for a drive towards Ai-Ais. On our way up we gave it a miss, as we spend too much time in Rosh Pinah and didnt want to pitch camp after dark. Approx 20km from Ai-Ais I feel the back end of the vehicle getting "loose" around a bend, and when E looks in her mirror she announces another flat rear tyre. We stop.... Brand new Hankook Dynapro AT/M with less than 1000km on it, deflating fast.

Luckily the puncture is on the tread. I suspect that it picked up a stone that was kicked up by the front wheel. Out comes the snot-plugs. It takes a double. We inflate the tyre, and see that it is still leaking. In desperation I rummage around in the toolbox and find a long forgotten can of TyreWeld. With the TyreWeld in the tyre we inflated it to 2.3 bar and drove slowly for about 10km before we stop again to check the tyre. It's not leaking any more. The TyreWeld worked!!

It is our last night at Hobas before we take the road back home, and with our latest tyre-episode we decide on a plan of action, as we need to get to a place where we can have the tyre fixed by a professional. We have 1 more spare, but it is a General Grabber AW with limited tread, and I dont feel comfortable using that on any kind of rough dirt road.

Just before we retire for the night I check the Hankook again and the pressure is still 100%. Thanks TyreWeld!!.

TBC...........

Eish! You'll soon become a tyre pro at this rate! :crazy:

The canyon is spectacular! When one looks at how it's been cut, one realizes that at some point in it's early history there was a seriously major watercourse running through there. Stunning work of nature! :thumbup: :thumbup:

DAY 11 - 28 April 2014

We wake up at 06h00. But in Namibia it is only 05h00!! As the sun comes up we start packing up our camp to take the long road home. It goes quickly and before we knew it we are ready to go. We have another quick cup of coffee, check the Hankook, wash hands at the bathrooms and then we hit the road..

Our first destination is Grunau, to see if they can help us out with the Hankook. If there is nobody there who can help it is 50km tar road to Karasburg, where we knew we would find help.

On the road to Grunau the scenery is really really nice.

No luck in Grunau. You can get a garage pie and heartburn there but that's about it... We proceed to Karasburg where we pull in at Carleys Motors. A couple of young fellas work on the stricken tyre and before long the wheel is plugged with a proper mushroom plug. It was a lot of fun "working" woth these guys on the tyre. R45 later we hit the road again confident that the Hankook will make it to Cape Town.

We find this beautiful Hilux at Carleys Motors...

From now on he is known as "Tripod"...

Outside Karasburg we take the road to Warmbad, because we can. Our destination for the day was either Pofadder, of if we had enough daylight left, Loeriesfontein. But we are in no hurry so we enjoy the drive.. Just outside Warmbad we stop for a bite to eat. E cooked us the nicest blue eggs!!

Closer to Velloorsdrif.

Crossing the border at Velloorsdrif/Onseepkans was painless and we hit the road towards Pofadder. In Pofadder we decide that we were not going to make Loeriesfontein before dark (approx 3 hours drive) and book in at Kleinplasie. It's quite hot so we get some ice and braai wood and enjoy our last lazy afternoon on the stoep of our little room at Kleinplasie with something cold to drink in our hands.

We hit the sack early because tomorrow we want to get up at 05h00 Republic time to take the long road to Cape Town.

TBC..............

DAY 12 - 29 April 2014

It is very early when we take to the road. First we fill up with diesel and then we negotiate our way through Pofadder's early morning traffic to get to the Bitterfontein road. No seriously, minibus taxis all over the place!! There is a huge solar energy project under way outside Pofadder and the minibuses are used to transport workers to the site. Pofadder now has peak hour traffic jams at 06h00 on weekdays. It is cool and there is not a breeze in sight... We manage to get out of Pofadder at 06h10.

We stop at this salt pan for a bite to eat. Eggs dont taste good without salt...

We make good time and before long we hit the tar just outside Loeriesfontein. We turn off towards Nieuwoudville, drive thru the town and head off towards Papkuilsfontein. Nice road, but the cattle grids are extremely narrow, and plentiful.

We get to this sign around about lunch time...

Not much to report on the rest of the road, but we hit tar again at Traveler's Rest, where we duck in to get a cup of coffee and a sandwich. We were both tired and hungry.

Our dirt road adventures also come to an end here, as we will be driving on tar from here all the way home. We progress over Pakhuis Pass, through Clanwilliam and past all the Stop/Go's of the roadworks. As we crest the Piekenierskloof Pass we hit a typical Western Cape cold front. We stop at Piketberg for a leg-stretch and an energy drink. From there on we are in heavy traffic, wind and rain all the way to Durbanville.

In durbanville we stop to pick up the Woof at Ouma, and also get dinner and a lekker long chat. Warm coffee is also welcome. After all that we arrive at home at about 21h00, tired but grateful to be home in one piece.

We got back...

Thank you for the excellent trip report, Thys. As usual, they do not disappoint. Great report, great photos.

Family_Dog wrote:Thank you for the excellent trip report, Thys. As usual, they do not disappoint. Great report, great photos.

+1 :thumbup:

Mud Dog wrote:
Family_Dog wrote:Thank you for the excellent trip report, Thys. As usual, they do not disappoint. Great report, great photos.

+1 :thumbup:
+1 :mrgreen: :mrgreen: