Skeiding Guest Farm - Heidelberg WC

Hi guys,

This weekend past was my folks 40th anniversary! To celebrate they booked the family(mine and my brothers) in at Skeiding Guest Farm, just outside Heidelberg(WC Gardenroute)...

What a beautiful place! And what great people the farmer, Neels, and his wife, Anné-Lize are! There hospitality was exceptional and the food prepared by Anné-Lize was superb (she can certainly cook)... I've never had ostrich fillet like I had on Saturday night before... of course the kids had a blast... playing on the jungle gym, fishing, pellet gun shooting, playing golf and travelling with Neels to see all the farm animals and activities!

Of course words cannot describe nearing as well as pictures:

The view from the house we stayed in:
P1010242.JPG
The kids playing on the jungle gym on the lawn in front of our house:
P1010243.JPG
The self catering houses we stayed in:
P1010246.JPG

Re: Skeiding Guest Farm - Heidelberg WC

More pics:

The luxury units my folks stayed in:
P1010244.JPG
Another view from the porch:
P1010253.JPG
Scenic shot:
P1010264.JPG
Although a 4x4 is not a must, bolt certainly came in handy... cruising around the farm.. getting to the dam...
P1010265.JPG

Some more:

Neels can transform this chap into an excellent fillet steak!
P1010268.JPG
What's a farm without cows:
P1010270.JPG
Blue cranes in the pastures... these birds are in abundance on the farm, I counted 30 plus on one field!
P1010274.JPG
View towards Groot Vaders Bos natural reserve:
P1010282.JPG

and more...

View from the road close to the old skuur...
P1010285.JPG
Thought you guys may enjoy this... the load bin from Neels' previous bakkie... he now drives a Toy 3.0 D4D... and it certainly looks like a farm bakkie on the inside... rof!
P1010299.JPG
P1010300.JPG
Kids on farm tour with Neels:
P1010305.JPG
Last edited by Mr_B on Mon Nov 02, 2009 2:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.

a few more:

Early Sunday morning 5.30am... misty... ... just about to leave on our fishing trip:
P1010307.JPG
At the dam, the previous day the local fish eagle was flying overhead...
P1010309.JPG
P1010309.JPG (19.01 KiB) Viewed 602 times
We caught 3 black bass... and yes the big one got away... my boet got a little too excited when he realised he'd hooked a large sucker!
P1010381.JPG
Me gutting and de-scaling the fish... Anné-Lize prepared the fish expertly as part of Sunday morning breakfast... an experience the boys won't forget... catching and eating your own fish...
P1010384.JPG
Again thanks to Neels and Anné-Lize for there hospitality, we'll be back soon... there's so much more to do and see, but so little time!

For more info: http://www.skeiding.co.za

mr b :thumbup:

Nice one Mr. B., seems you guys had a lot of fun! :thumbup:

looks lekker. Glad you caught something