WATERSTOF CONVERSION

Here we discuss various alternative energy solutions. From converting your car to electricity to converting your home to be off the grid.
sakbal
Town: mosselbay
Vehicle: 1994 hilux 4x4 dc

WATERSTOF CONVERSION

Post by sakbal »

WIE VAN JULLE HET AL GEHOOR VAN DIE CONVERSION. DIE MANNE PRAAT OOK VAN GROOT BESPAARINGS. GLO TOT 40%. DIT KAN MOOI WERK OP N 4Y. DIT KOS GLO OOK NIE TE VEEL OM DIT TE DOEN NIE.

Re: WATERSTOF CONVERSION

Translasie in Engels asabl anyone??? :)

Sorry, I’m mono-lingual :oops: :oops: :oops: :oops:

Cheers :wink:

Rich
sakbal
Town: mosselbay
Vehicle: 1994 hilux 4x4 dc

Post by sakbal »

slaan ek my naam nou met n plank. daar is n web site op die form wat alles vir jou wys om trent die waterstof storie. daar gelaat. het iemand dit al probeer? laat weet asb. ek is te bang om weer iets met my trokkie te try. my golf carb storie was n ........( maw. nie gewerk nie). ek is terug op my ou carb. die mac wat dit vir my gedoen het aan gejaag. sal dit weer probeer op sit as ek tyd het. en dan sal ek dit reg doen.

Richard,

Sakkie is asking if there is any members that has heard about the new Hydrogen conversion on vehicles, with up to 40% savings. Apparently it works very well on a 4Y.

:lol: :lol:
Irishman
Town: Saldanha
Vehicle: 1991 Hilux Double Cab

Post by Irishman »

Yes I am busy with the conversion, as soon as I get my Nikkei carb reinstalled it will fit it. I am busy collecting the bits and pieces. The Hilux is ideal for the conversion, with lots of space under the bonnet. Pre computer engines are best.
Ron.
Coopraider
Town: Muizenberg
Vehicle: 97 2.8 D

Post by Coopraider »

Buddy of mine is busy with a conversion on a VW Jumbo Golf 1600.

I am watching with great interest.
lindsay
Town: port elizabeth
Vehicle: 94 hilux d/c

Post by lindsay »

there is a guy in PE that evidently does the whole conversion for R750. they did a Hyundai Getz and got 80 km/l on the way to Cape Town. I am trying to find the guy and will most deffinitly do the conversion if they can guarentee that i wont blow myself up :lol:

lindsay wrote:there is a guy in PE that evidently does the whole conversion for R750. they did a Hyundai Getz and got 80 km/l on the way to Cape Town. I am trying to find the guy and will most definitively do the conversion if they can guarantee that i wont blow myself up :lol:
I know my neighbour and some friends were playing around with water injection (not HHO but normal water in minute quantities) to boost the octane level of fuel, and they got great performance figures out of it but they were not looking at it from a fuel efficiency perspective but rather high performance for racing purposes. I must remember to ask him why they stopped.

It will be great to know about people that actually got this working.
I have 2 pdf's that explain the process.
RUN_YOUR_CAR_ON_TAP_WATER.pdf
(320.08 KiB) Downloaded 251 times
Run your car on tap water.pdf
(353.59 KiB) Downloaded 211 times

I am also experimenting with it. My one concern is the effect of more water vapor in your engine. Also see http://www.waterfuel.co.za/
1999 Hilux 2.7i 4x4 Raider DC with 3.4 Prado V6. Rear diff-lock, Bull Bar and rock sliders, 31" Cooper ST Maxx, Snorkel, Alu-Canopy, VHF Motorolla radio, West Coast Rust, Mikem Suspension, Ball Joint Spacers in front and Mikem extended shackles at the rear, 25watt LED Spots
spearo
Town: Struisbaai
Vehicle: 2.2 Hilux SFA 4x4
Club VHF Licence: spearo

Post by spearo »

Kan iemand die man in PE se besonderhede gee? Daar is heelwat op die net ivm. waterstof, lyk my die Amerikaners is al lankal daarmee besig. Kyk by : http://www.RunYourCarOnWater.com , daar is 'n bietjie info.

Die ding is sommer nonsens!!

It are a hoax!!

Ek het my hele tenk vol water gaan maak, en nou staan die kar net en roes...

I have my whole tank full water go make, and now stand the car just and rust...

:shock:
Tristan
Town: Kidds Beach
Vehicle: 97 Hilux D/C 2.4l 4x4

Post by Tristan »

It will be great if something like this actually works, I will definitely do it.
I am however at this stage still skeptical it seems to good to be true.
I dont know much about engines or exactly how this process works but isn't there a risk of internal rust if water is been used :?:
Lindsay please let me know if you ever find that guy in PE doing the conversion :wink:

spearo wrote:Kan iemand die man in PE se besonderhede gee? Daar is heelwat op die net ivm. waterstof, lyk my die Amerikaners is al lankal daarmee besig. Kyk by : http://www.RunYourCarOnWater.com , daar is 'n bietjie info.

Ek het ook die een gesien. Ek het al daaraan gedink om soos 'n baie cheap en useless 2de handse woertuig te koop (Nissan / Datsun) vir baie goedkoop maar wat wel nog loop en dan die ding van die website af te bestel en te kyk. Dit is nou wel 'n paar rand wat mens in die water kan / gaan gooi maar miskien kan dit ook soveek in besparing beteken. Dink net... 'n SFA wat so 12 km/l kry :shock: :shock: :shock: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Ja Cassie, dit is hoekom ek hom eers op die Tazz sal toets en nie dadelik op die Hilux nie. 'n Ingevoerde Tazz engine is baie goedkoper as my bakkie s'n.
1999 Hilux 2.7i 4x4 Raider DC with 3.4 Prado V6. Rear diff-lock, Bull Bar and rock sliders, 31" Cooper ST Maxx, Snorkel, Alu-Canopy, VHF Motorolla radio, West Coast Rust, Mikem Suspension, Ball Joint Spacers in front and Mikem extended shackles at the rear, 25watt LED Spots

pietpetoors wrote:Ja Cassie, dit is hoekom ek hom eers op die Tazz sal toets en nie dadelik op die Hilux nie. 'n Ingevoerde Tazz engine is baie goedkoper as my bakkie s'n.
Feite daai... Ek het ook meer in die lyn van 'n ou beetle gedink :twisted: :twisted:

Cassie... Datsun 1400 bakkie... maklik om aan te werk, baie plek onder die bonnet, hulle is so volop die parte is amper verniet, en jy kan hom altyd gebruik om tuinvullis weg te ry... :twisted: :twisted:

Stem saam met Niel, of 1400 bakkie of 'n ou Golf. As die Beetle nie wil start nie gaan jy nie weet of dit die waterstof is en of dit natuurlik is nie

pietpetoors wrote:Stem saam met Niel, of 1400 bakkie of 'n ou Golf. As die Beetle nie wil start nie gaan jy nie weet of dit die waterstof is en of dit natuurlik is nie
Ook weer waar... of ek nou die nissan sleep en of ek 'n venter sleep... wat's the diffs :)
Umvubu
Town: Lydenburg
Vehicle: Hilux D/C 4Y & Hilux S/C 2.4D & Musso 602EL

Post by Umvubu »

Ek wil eers sien wat die lang termyn uitwerking op die enjin is. As dit 100% werk is ek in. :D
1993 Hilux 2.4D S/C - 31" Khumo Muds , Lockers F/R , OME Suspension , Snorkel , Extended Shackles etc
1996 Ssanyong Musso 602EL - OME Suspension

My comments concerning this subject are;

1. If this system was so good, why has it not been used already because it has been a known fact for many years already about mixing water with fuel to make a gas?

2. If it was so good, why does it not come out with the new vehicle's?

3. A person has to broaden their thoughts, knowledge to think that a small bottle of water will decrease their fuel consumption and how long do you think this bottle of water will last?

4. The only people who are getting anything from this conversion are the people who are fitting these so called units, not Joe Soap.

5. It is a complete waste of money, the thought that water can save you fuel is absurb.

6. But maybe it is also just a thing like " sitting around a group of guys or your friends, having a braai, hey Peter I have fitted this water system to my van, it is now running on water as well, lekker hey, come and have a look" I am saving stacks of fuel and money, you should fit one as well. BINGO :lol:

SYRON CONVERSIONS wrote:My comments concerning this subject are;

1. If this system was so good, why has it not been used already because it has been a known fact for many years already about mixing water with fuel to make a gas?

3. A person has to broaden their thoughts, knowledge to think that a small bottle of water will decrease their fuel consumption and how long do you think this bottle of water will last?

4. The only people who are getting anything from this conversion are the people who are fitting these so called units, not Joe Soap.

5. It is a complete waste of money, the thought that water can save you fuel is absurb.

6. But maybe it is also just a thing like " sitting around a group of guys or your friends, having a braai, hey Peter I have fitted this water system to my van, it is now running on water as well, lekker hey, come and have a look" I am saving stacks of fuel and money, you should fit one as well. BINGO :lol:

Simon... you're probably right. the gas conversion is not the only reason why I'm interested. I want to build my own DYI cutting tourch etc. HAve you seen the properties of the Browns gas? It burns at a temperature of about 230 degrees. When that flame touches another object it rapidly increases in temperature. You are even able to melt tungstan at about 10000 degrees. I want to experiement with that side of the gas as well. So what if it doesn't safe you any fuel... at least I've got a nifty tool to cut through steel etc in no time... and that for a few bucks.... :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

We normally just use the Plazma Cutter, if we want to cut metal that is thicker than 3mm, we use the porta pack for that application.
But lucky for me, I do not have to pay for any of these tools..........I can use what I need when I need to use them.

SYRON CONVERSIONS wrote:We normally just use the Plazma Cutter, if we want to cut metal that is thicker than 3mm, we use the porta pack for that application.
But lucky for me, I do not have to pay for any of these tools..........I can use what I need when I need to use them.
Now see... this is where it gets tricky for me... the closest I've got to a plasma cutter is the Ryobi angle grinder.... :shock: So you see why I want to experiment :) :mrgreen:

Just be very careful, a mate of mine made his own furnace to melt metal in, he used LP gas as a fuel, air flow pumped in as well and safety, it works very well.

Bedtime now

cheers

SYRON CONVERSIONS wrote:My comments concerning this subject are;

Simon, BMW in Germany are running a few 7-Series Hydrogen powered cars, rather succesfully.
There are still a few issues though. I read this a while back, but I think safe storage of gases is one of the big issues. Money another.

I suppose there are also the odd conspiracy theory as to why regular crude oil petroleums is the only way, and Hydrogen and whatever else is not possible or feasible.

http://www.motoring.co.za/index.php?fArticleId=3532240

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hydrogen_7
The BMW Hydrogen 7.
The world’s first hydrogen-powered, emission-free, luxury car.

BMW has started production of the new BMW Hydrogen 7, the world’s first hydrogen-powered luxury sedan. The BMW Hydrogen 7 made its first public appearance at the 100th Los Angeles Auto Show early December 2006. It will be produced in limited numbers and offered to selected users in 2007.

The BMW Hydrogen 7 is based on the existing 7 Series and comes equipped with an internal combustion engine capable of running on liquid hydrogen or petrol. In hydrogen mode the car emits nothing more than water vapour. Powered by a 191 kW 12-cylinder engine, the Hydrogen 7 accelerates from zero to 100 km/h in 9.5 seconds before reaching an electronically limited 230 km/h top speed.

With its unique dual power engine, the driver of a Hydrogen 7 can switch quickly and conveniently from hydrogen to conventional petrol power at the push of a steering wheel-mounted button. Such flexibility means the driver of a BMW Hydrogen 7 is able to use the vehicle at all times, even when the nearest hydrogen filling station is out of range. For undiluted driver enjoyment, engine power and torque in the Hydrogen 7 remain exactly the same regardless of which fuel is in current use.

Unlike many previous hydrogen concept cars showcased by rival manufacturers, the BMW Hydrogen 7 heralds a milestone in the history of the car. It is a full production ready vehicle, which has met all the stringent processes and final sign-off criteria that every current BMW model undergoes. A total of 100 BMW Hydrogen 7s will be produced in 2007.

The BMW Group has been committed to hydrogen technology as a means of reducing car emissions, in particular CO2 emissions, for over 20 years. The BMW Hydrogen 7 is an essential part of the BMW EfficientDynamics strategy and a further step towards BMW’s declared vision of ensuring long-term dynamic mobility through environmentally friendly hydrogen power (“BMW CleanEnergy”).
Google BMW 7 Series Hydrogen, and read more

Lexus has also been at it for years. They produce the LS and RX 4x4 models with a hydrogen engine - it's designated by HE at the end. Apparently it is being consideed for release in SA as well.
1988 Hilex D/C 4x4 (Import spec), Lexus V8; Marlin Crawler; Custom Suspension: front and new 4 link in the rear; Disc Brake conversion rear; 35" Cooper STT tyres; Xenon lights; Custom bullbar;Next? Aircon; new front seats, redo the whole interior in nice soft leather, Respray, Double Lockers

At a price of course, what is the price for an entry level for these two vehicle's you talk about, will read articles tomorrow, got to sleep now worn out as well.

Scorpion wrote:Lexus has also been at it for years. They produce the LS and RX 4x4 models with a hydrogen engine - it's designated by HE at the end. Apparently it is being consideed for release in SA as well.
Yip, forgot about the Lexus.

SYRON CONVERSIONS wrote:At a price of course, what is the price for an entry level for these two vehicle's you talk about, will read articles tomorrow, got to sleep now worn out as well.
Yes, they'll be pricey, I think mostly because it is "new" technology. But like most things new, it will become more affordable I suppose. I think this is one of the drawbacks according to BMW.
Tristan

Post by Tristan »

It seems clear to me that the technology is there for alternative fuel :|
My guess is that there is some sort of agreement between the fuel company's and the vehicle manufacturers :x
I suppose it is also a case of fuel availability petrol/diesel is already available everywhere, now imagine trying to setup "alternative" fuel filling stations world wide :shock: That is a massive undertaking and Im sure without major profit margins there isn't anybody willing to do it :idea:

You guys are missing the point here, The Hydrogen cars you are talking about runs on Liquid Hydrogen which is bought as Liquid Hydrogen. You can not fill up the BMW with your hosepipe.

The controversial water for fuel conversions is supposed to use water (maybe distilled but still water) as a fuel source combined with regular gasoline in stead of Liquid Hydrogen as a primary fuel source.

I for one would not like to drive in a car with Liquid Hydrogen in the tank, can you guys remember what happened to the Challenger (and cant remember the other ones name now) space shuttles. They worked like a bomb. :twisted:

Making small quantities of Browns gas (if the concept can to work effectively) does seem a lot less risky that driving with Hiroshima in your tank

BTW do you really think they would ever sell Liquid Hydrogen for cheaper as petrol or diesel? Guess again

Also the liquid hydrogen cars work with fuel cells and electric motors, not internal combustion motors.. :shock: :roll: :!:

Hi Tristan, I believe things are going to change in the near future. The Arabs are shooting themselves in the foot with these high oil prices. When the fuel was cheap not many bothered to seek a solution. Now that the fuel price is ultra high thousands of people across the globe are looking for a solution.

With the help of the Internet and especially discussion forums like these, I believe that in the end it might be the small guys who will come up with the solution and not necessarily the big manufacturers. Many big inventions in history came from somebody's garage

And to answer on Bennie's post, yes, some people are confusing it. What we are trying here is what they call "Hydrogen on demand" and not hydrogen stored in a tank (bomb). If I am not mistaken what I can remember from school is that your normal car battery is also producing small amounts of hydrogen while working and we used that in our cars for ages without being concerned about it.

I know many people are skeptical about this brown's gas conversion, but what are your options; sit back, pay the price and complain or get up and try and do something about it.
Knersus
Town: Kathu
Vehicle: 2.4 Hi Lux 4x4 DC 95'
Club VHF Licence: ZS3EP

Post by Knersus »

Pieter you are correct when saying that the world did not look at alternative's as the oil was cheap. I think the technology existed for a long time already but the oil company's bought out the idea to stop any alternative on the market. So I feel a damm for the arabs and their oil as well as the yanks who thinks they are ruling everything... :twisted: and I hope the solution to the alternative fuels is comming soon. 8)

I have heard about a guy that invented a system on airoplane's that started to roll the wheels of the plane before it is landing to prevent that sudden impact of the wheels when it is touching the landing strip. Apparently this system would expand the tires life with 50% and as soon as he wanted to develop the system a big tire company came and bought out his idea for a few millions. The outcome was that the idea was never implemented and the tire company's could still sell their tires at the same rate. So I believe the current oil prices is the same sinario. The yanks wants us to believe that there are no other alternative's for oil so that they can have the monopoly at the end of the day.. Well ok it is my opinion and I might be wrong :!:
Eben Pienaar
2.4 Hi Lux 22R 95'
Codan HF radio; Kenwood VHF Hi band; Tait VHF midband; Snorkel; OME suspension; Diff lock on next shortlist. Dis lekker om 'n mens te wees....Jy moet net 'n lekker mens wees

I think we also got to remember that this is only a modification to save fuel. I think the idea to run an internal combustible engine completely of water is still far away. But not impossible. For big companies it is not viable to do such a modification. It is going to cost them a lot and they are not reaping the benefits. I think that is why it is up to individuals to take this further. I think the same principal apply to why we modify our already capable Hilux’s. We want to get better performance but the average guy is happy with what he gets.
Tristan

Post by Tristan »

Bottom line is something will have to happen eventually!!! if fuel just keeps increasing at this rate it is going to kill every market out there including itself. Personally I would love to see alternative fuel become a reality rather than a drop in fuel price (lets be honest even if it drops it will never be cheap again)
I agree that allot of the initial attempts for alternative fuel is not going to work but it is a step in the right direction. Guys like Pieter and Ron are what will make it happen, taking the time and chance to seek a solution. Even failed attempts can bring us closer to the solution :wink:

Knersus, when I was in St8 (1987), the one teacher told us about a guy in Bloemfontein who invented an engine that can run on water but then one of the big fuel companies bought his patent for millions. If that is true the technology has been existing for many many years but the big guys stop it. I mean this was LONG before fuel prices became an issue.

I think the government will also try to stop it since they get a HUGE income from fuel. None of them really cares about the environment or the people, it is all about the money.
Tristan

Post by Tristan »

Pieter I agree with you 100% its all about the money!!! Yet if the government is getting loads out of the deal were is it going from there :?: I sure dont see rising fuel prices helping any of the less fortunate it only makes things worse as everything goes up with it :x
Sorry I know Im drifting of topic :oops: Now Bennie is going to come rename the thread :twisted: :twisted:
What you gona call it this time Bennie :?: :mrgreen:
Knersus
Town: Kathu
Vehicle: 2.4 Hi Lux 4x4 DC 95'
Club VHF Licence: ZS3EP

Post by Knersus »

Well Pieter I will believe it and lets be honest if some company offers you millions for your invention you will sell it. The problem with fuel is the money market around it. The government is making millions a day out of fuel and the world market is controlled by oil who makes millions as well. You will see as soon as this water system comes to a point whereby it is working the government will put a spanner in the works and will charge some green tax on water or something just to stop us using it.

Take the bio diesel plant that the farmers in Bothaville wanted to put up and use mielies for the main production to make ethanol. It would have save the farmer a lot of money but the government stopped it. Why ...They do not make the money.

Well I hope there is a fuel replacement soon just to bring down the oil price.
Eben Pienaar
2.4 Hi Lux 22R 95'
Codan HF radio; Kenwood VHF Hi band; Tait VHF midband; Snorkel; OME suspension; Diff lock on next shortlist. Dis lekker om 'n mens te wees....Jy moet net 'n lekker mens wees

pietpetoors wrote:Hi Tristan, I believe things are going to change in the near future. The Arabs are shooting themselves in the foot with these high oil prices. When the fuel was cheap not many bothered to seek a solution. Now that the fuel price is ultra high thousands of people across the globe are looking for a solution.

With the help of the Internet and especially discussion forums like these, I believe that in the end it might be the small guys who will come up with the solution and not necessarily the big manufacturers. Many big inventions in history came from somebody's garage

And to answer on Bennie's post, yes, some people are confusing it. What we are trying here is what they call "Hydrogen on demand" and not hydrogen stored in a tank (bomb). If I am not mistaken what I can remember from school is that your normal car battery is also producing small amounts of hydrogen while working and we used that in our cars for ages without being concerned about it.

I know many people are skeptical about this brown's gas conversion, but what are your options; sit back, pay the price and complain or get up and try and do something about it.
What I meant was that seems potentially much less dangerous then carry liquid hydrogen with you in a storage tank. If you guys can overcome the First law of thermodynamics issue it would be great as I would also like to get more kilometres out of my liters. :wink:

Pieter

You are right about the Arabs causing advances in technology. My brother who is a chemical engineer specialising in environmental engineering stumbled across this technology that some Yankee industries is now using where they take the carbon monoxide that is released from burning coal in their ovens to firstly run internal combustion engines that drive generators to produce electricity for the rest of the plant, and the gasses that is then captured from these engines is then pumped into water and with some process of photosynthesise or something is used to grow a special form of algae which can be harvested to produce an oil that is again used to create bio-diesel with.

This technology was already developed in the 80s with US government funding but when the oil prices lowered at that stage the plans were shelved until a year or 2,3 back.

My brother is in negotiations with some of these companies to buy the technologies and start a plant at the mine group he works for very soon. His estimate is that at the rate that Eskom power goes up it would be feasible for his group to self provide all their own electricity in about 3 years time and the bio-diesel will be used for all the trucks carrying their product (chrome ore). He says that if they do not refine the oil into proper grade diesel that can be used in any diesel engine but rather spend about R100K per truck to make it capable to run on the unrefined oil, they will see a return on investment within 6 months. He says that some of the oil companies is also looking very closely at this technology as a possible source to reduce our dependency on importing oil.

At this stage wherever you see a plant with a big blue flame on the roof burning "afgas" which is carbon monoxide (toxic) being changed into carbon dioxide which is non toxic, you see a possible site to implement one of these algae plants.
Andy
Town: Richards Bay
Vehicle: 1991 Hilux 2.2 D/C 4x4

Post by Andy »

Hi everyone.
Been following all your coments on the " WATERSTOF CONVERSION "
I read a article in BIKE SA last week where a guy , His name Bazz. Has been playing around with what he calles a ( WATER SPLITTER ) I gave Bazz a call last night a asked him abiut his Water Splitter. He explained to me that it is a unit that they have developed over time that splits the water into Hydrogen and Oxygen. This which is in a gas form ,then with a controlled flow gets injected into the air intake manifold. It is not there to replace the fuel but to enhance the burn.
He claims that on a tazz it improves the fuel consumption to between 3-4 km/l. Has just finished a Hilux but does not have any results as yet. He has installed this on a number of vehicles and claims they all have improved results.
I am also in the prosess of looking into trying it on my 4Y. Hold thumbs.
If anyone whants his contact number let me know. :?: :roll:
Tristan

Post by Tristan »

Hi Andy
Ron (Irishman) here on the forum has done this already and even has the pdf available for download :wink:
Results have been good so far go have a look at this link :arrow:
viewtopic.php?f=43&t=403

I changed my design so that it is the same as Ron's. I installed it in the Tazz. I guess I must give the Tazz a good service before I test it again. On the tank before the unit was installed I go 11.8km/l and after I installed the unit got 12.9km/l. This is such a small difference. I think even speed or wind can cause the variation. I will service little Tazz this evening and we are going to Cape Town on Friday. So then I can do a test again. I think what I will do is to fill it up, drive to CPT and fill up there again. Then disconnect the Hydrogen thingy, drive back to Langebaan and fill up again, then compare the two.

I can feel a increase in performance, the engine runs smoother and starts easier. So I can feel the improvement, I just expected more of a fuel consumption improvement.
Rian namibia
Town: Farm Goedemoed
Vehicle: Isuzu

Post by Rian namibia »

Hallo ouens.

Jong die tippe ding is al lank op die mark.

Ek het n soortgelyke ding op my isuzu bakkie gehad 2.5 diesel.

Wat ek wel kan se is dat hy werk. My bakkie was 2km/l ligter.

Die probleem is dat hy maak jou engine TE!!!! skoon en dit veroorsaak roes!!

Wat ek dan gedoen het is om bietjie parafien deur te sit vir smeering vir om trent 3 km, en dan lek rookie by exhaust.

Het ook gewrk op n morris tot 5 km/l ligter, maar selle probleem... roes, asgevolg van te skoon...... Was als van inlaat tot by uitlaat valves skoon!!!!!
toyota
Vehicle: Toyota Hilux

Post by toyota »

:? Hi Guys
I have tried the HHo system, I can tell you one thing the unit generates gas like it is going out of fashion. I connected it to my 97 Hilux and it did nothing to my performance and it did nothing for my fuel consumption and I had it in my vehicle for at least 6 months and the only thing that seemed different was that the vehicle seemed to run smoother. I even used it on trips from EL to PE. A friend send me a DVD on the coast of England and on one of the islands in the north of England they had a small car that ran on Hydrogen only but unfortunatly they did not give any details.
During and after the second world war they also use to run motor cars on Hydrogen so when someone gets it all together it could be worthwhile only hope the bi fuel companies don`t hijack the idea as soon as someone has got it right
toyota
Vehicle: Toyota Hilux

Post by toyota »

Hi Guys I have been looking for answers and after many hours of browsing i think the answer is to be found at the popular mechanics website. The website to go to is http://www.popularmechanics.com/cars/al ... ge/4310717" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;. After that form your own opinion i think what is written by this guy makes sense. :tease: :bye:
Bosfebok
Town: Roodekrans
Vehicle: 1995 Hilux Raider 2.2
Club VHF Licence: X248

Post by Bosfebok »

I installed two HHO cells last year in my bakkie, runnig in parallell at around 25A in total.

Worked liked a bomb. More power and I scored about 1.8km/l on the 4Y after I retarded the timing by approx 4 degrees.

Then the cells started foaming and I only used distilled water and KOH as electrolite. Major problem, I could not get rid of the foaming, and the foam goes directly into your intake..bad. KOH eats metal you won't believe, so I shut the thing down.

If you can run 2, 9 plate cells, without running into foaming problems, producing minimum of 2 l/m of HHO, retard your timing slightly, then you will gain in power and petrol consumption.

HHO works, don't care what the sceptics say! Wait till you see first hand how the HHO explodes.. and no, the HHO generator does not produce steam if running cool... it produces proper Brown's gas...potent stuff.
Otto X248
1995 Hilux Raider 2.2 EFI Turbo DC
Alucab Canopy with Kitchen and Recovery sections
National Luna Split Charge system and Dual Battery
80W solar panel and MPPT controller
20.5" LED BAR
5ton tow bar with recovery points
Nudge-M front bumper
80l Long Range Fuel Tank
90l Water Tank
Slide Drawer System
Safari Snorkel
Double Lockers - Toyota Electric selectable
Diff breathers
The worst anti hi-jack alarm system ever, SANJI!!

A bad day out is still better than a good day in!!

I'm currently trying out a different system (not HHO though) and it seems to be working well. Don't have exact figures as yet but seems to have improved fuel consumption by about 2km/l

http://reactorpics.webs.com/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
Bosfebok

Post by Bosfebok »

I also used another MicroReactor from Manny, that sucks methanol fumes through water into the intake. Together with HHO, this produced a good amount of extra power.

I am currently doing a EFI and T3T4 turbo conversion on my bakkie, and will definitely add the Micro_Reactor in the mix again...
Otto X248
20.5" LED BAR
Nudge-M front bumper
80l Long Range Fuel Tank
90l Water Tank
Slide Drawer System
Safari Snorkel
Diff breathers

Bosfebok wrote:I also used another MicroReactor from Manny, that sucks methanol fumes through water into the intake. Together with HHO, this produced a good amount of extra power.

I am currently doing a EFI and T3T4 turbo conversion on my bakkie, and will definitely add the Micro_Reactor in the mix again...
He now has new version... Quatro Reactor. Looks to be performing better than the original versions.
Bosfebok

Post by Bosfebok »

:thumbup: :thumbup:
Otto X248
20.5" LED BAR
Nudge-M front bumper
80l Long Range Fuel Tank
90l Water Tank
Slide Drawer System
Safari Snorkel
Diff breathers

Return to “Alternative Energy”