Is it sill worth trying to enhance the petrol engine??

Here we discuss various alternative energy solutions. From converting your car to electricity to converting your home to be off the grid.

Is it sill worth trying to enhance the petrol engine??

I read an article that Japanese auto makers are hard at work to try and get the gasoline engine more effective. Their aim is a 40km/l petrol engine.

Is it still worth the effort?
In my opinion electric cars are the future, the near future, is it really worth wasting your effort on trying to get the petrol engine better?

I think the oil companies are all rather stupid to keep the oil prices that high because they (and high oil prices) are the biggest catalyst for electric car development. Maybe the high prices we pay for fuel now is a good investment to make to our future, because if the fuel prices were still R4.00 per litre I guess just about nobody will put in effort to develop electric cars.
1999 Hilux 2.7i 4x4 Raider DC with 3.4 Prado V6. Rear diff-lock, Bull Bar and rock sliders, 31" Cooper ST Maxx, Snorkel, Alu-Canopy, VHF Motorolla radio, West Coast Rust, Mikem Suspension, Ball Joint Spacers in front and Mikem extended shackles at the rear, 25watt LED Spots

Re: Is it sill worth trying to enhance the petrol engine??

A while back I read a article where they suggested we have a over supply of oil.The new technology of drilling for oil has increased so much that they can now drill deeper and at places they could not drill before.So in theory the price of oil should come down,but the greediness of Opec is keeping the price up. Like you said maybe not a bad thing.
Just imagine how close you can get to the wild life without disturbing them with a electric 4x4.
ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ

The new technology of drilling for oil has increased so much that they can now drill deeper and at places they could not drill before
So why the frack to they want to come and frack up our Karoo then? How much do they want.

Regarding the ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ, I agree 100%, no noise, no fumes, no heat.
1999 Hilux 2.7i 4x4 Raider DC with 3.4 Prado V6. Rear diff-lock, Bull Bar and rock sliders, 31" Cooper ST Maxx, Snorkel, Alu-Canopy, VHF Motorolla radio, West Coast Rust, Mikem Suspension, Ball Joint Spacers in front and Mikem extended shackles at the rear, 25watt LED Spots

The V8 lovers will never buy electric! ;)

Heard a V8 Cruiser on the 4x4 Show, and who can blame them?

Pieter lets talk round figures ....

On average a petrol engine is hardly 30% efficient !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Some of the energy is lost in the drive train etc, but the BULK of the losses are due to "heat losses" - via the radiator and the exhaust pipe.

the next big improvement in effeciency will be when they find a way to PRACTICALLY harvest the heat energy - some reverse petier plate .... we now have the technology to use this harvested electrical energy to suppliment the power to the wheels ....

there are MASSIVE improvements that can be made .... but there are those that would have you believe the oil producers and car producers are in cahoots .... well maybe at some point in time they may have to make these improvements available to avert the introduction of the electric car.

it is going to take ONE country to turn its back on the "policies" of the classic oil producing countries - then flood the market with affordable electric cars ....
Vehicle: '90 SFA Hilux DC 4X4, Full OME, 110mm lift. Brospeed branch, 50mm ss freeflow exhaust. 30 x 9.5 Discoverer S/T's on Viper mags. L/R tank. (AWOL) '98 LTD 2.4 SFA, dual battery system. Dobinson suspension, LR tanks, 31" BF mud's.

Family_Dog wrote:The V8 lovers will never buy electric! ;)

They could always fit a sound synthesizer with powerful enough speakers, hooked up to throttle position and torque delivery that replicates the sound! :D: :D:

Mud Dog wrote:
Family_Dog wrote:The V8 lovers will never buy electric! ;)

They could always fit a sound synthesizer with powerful enough speakers, hooked up to throttle position and torque delivery that replicates the sound! :D: :D:
Yeah right, that's like saying a blow-up doll whispering sweet nothings in your ear in a synthesized recorded voice is as sexy as a real woman?? :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

Vehicle: '90 SFA Hilux DC 4X4, Full OME, 110mm lift. Brospeed branch, 50mm ss freeflow exhaust. 30 x 9.5 Discoverer S/T's on Viper mags. L/R tank. (AWOL) '98 LTD 2.4 SFA, dual battery system. Dobinson suspension, LR tanks, 31" BF mud's.

Hehe! I was joking Thys :lol: , but now that you mention it, what if it were a real woman (let's assume that she's unfortunately mute) and the synthesised voice sounded real? That would alter the playing field, no? :twisted:

Mud Dog wrote:Hehe! I was joking Thys :lol: , but now that you mention it, what if it were a real woman (let's assume that she's unfortunately mute) and the synthesised voice sounded real? That would alter the playing field, no? :twisted:
A mute woman is a bonus... :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: But you are getting into semantics now... :twisted: :twisted:

Andy, those speakers would be stolen for "Woofers" on day 1... ;)

ThysdJ wrote:
Mud Dog wrote:Hehe! I was joking Thys :lol: , but now that you mention it, what if it were a real woman (let's assume that she's unfortunately mute) and the synthesised voice sounded real? That would alter the playing field, no? :twisted:
A mute woman is a bonus... :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: But you are getting into semantics now... :twisted: :twisted:
kyk julle twee dans nou lekker op AFBOB se stoep ....
Obelix and Dogmatix
Town: ROODEPOORT
Vehicle: HILUX 4.0 V6 4x4 named Obelix, donated to some clown, HILUX 4.0 V6 4x4 named Obelix II Onca front and rear Amade extreme Suspension and under water breathing apparatus

Post by Obelix and Dogmatix »

Thys, with you re the real V8's and mute woman!!
Rules are there to make you think before you break them!!!
God made man before
woman so as to give him time
to think of an answer
for her first question
COMMON SENCE IS NOT A GIFT, IT IS A PUNISHMENT!! BECAUSE YOU HAVE TO DEAL WITH EVERYONE WHO DOES NOT HAVE IT!!!
Borntofish
Vehicle: Hilux 86

Post by Borntofish »

This was published in Popular mechanics a while ago.

Jay Leno's take on hybrid and electric cars...

http://www.popularmechanics.com/cars/ja ... ge/4215940" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
Oupa Stig
Town: Johannesbug
Vehicle: Hilux KZTE 4X2 "Stagger Lee", Hilux IFS 2.7 4x4 "Loretta"

Post by Oupa Stig »

Thys, you Jeep okes may know things about blow up dolls and fake whispers...
Keep it to yourself. Us Hilux guys like REAL women.

*stir*
I feel a lot less wise at 45 than I did at 15.

Oupa Stig wrote:Thys, you Jeep okes may know things about blow up dolls and fake whispers...
Keep it to yourself. Us Hilux guys like REAL women.

*stir*
It's a Jeep thing, you will never understand... Dont even try.. :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

Die ding van brandstof enjins is die range wat hulle vir jou gee vs die elektriese voertuie. So ek dink nie dit gaan ooit heeltemal wegval nie.

Net vir jou Thys
phpBB [video]

View Original

All an electrical car does is move the point of energy production further down stream... to our already overburdened power stations. Eskom already can't cope... imagine how much load shedding would be on the go if there were 100 000 electric cars on the road! SA has a long way to go before an electric car will be viable here!
Rebel 4x4
Vehicle: 2020 Toyota Fortuner GD-6 4x4 Auto

Post by Rebel 4x4 »

Mr_B wrote:All an electrical car does is move the point of energy production further down stream... to our already overburdened power stations. Eskom already can't cope... imagine how much load shedding would be on the go if there were 100 000 electric cars on the road! SA has a long way to go before an electric car will be viable here!
Solar kos Eskom niks, Dedicated Solar panel at home for your car that won't be on the grid. So the above won't be an issue, if people can afford an electric car, they surely can afford a solar panel.
Sent from my iPhone

+1 what B says. Current applications for EV's is basically for inner city commuting and driving. That's purely because of limited range.

Some manufacturers build vehicles with a petrol/diesel engine to generate power for the batteries that drives the vehicle, and these will be able to do longer runs. Now if the guys with the white coats and thick glasses can make the internal combustion engine more efficient, these vehicles will have the capacity to generate more electricity with less fuel, and with less emissions.... Then yes it makes sense to enhance petrol engines...

We are still a verry verry long way off from getting rid of our internal combustion engines as there are no real electrical alternatives available yet...

Rebel 4x4 wrote:
Mr_B wrote:All an electrical car does is move the point of energy production further down stream... to our already overburdened power stations. Eskom already can't cope... imagine how much load shedding would be on the go if there were 100 000 electric cars on the road! SA has a long way to go before an electric car will be viable here!
Solar kos Eskom niks, Dedicated Solar panel at home for your car that won't be on the grid. So the above won't be an issue, if people can afford an electric car, they surely can afford a solar panel.
Thomas if only it was THAT easy ....

Like so many other people I am NOT at home when the sun shines ... So if I ever go for an electric car it would have to charge from our friends charge more when they insist on supplying less ...

and range .... today I did 8km - to work and back. Tomorrow will be about 80km, and Wednesday I am looking at nearly 300km for the day .....

Unless Richard adds an electric charging socket next to the draught machine I am stuffed .....
MCHILUX
Town: Centurion Gauteng
Vehicle: Mazda Rustler 16v

Post by MCHILUX »

Elektriese motors hoort in tuimeldroeers en wasmasjiene . Niks kan n ou so laat sukkel as n Pruis wat n probleem ontwikkel het nie half kar half wasmasjien . Al die tegnologie wat in die voertuie ingebou word teen koste van betroubaarheid

half kar half wasmasjien
Dalk is dit die probleem, as dit 100% wasmasjien was, was hy dalk meer betroubaar.

Sien Tesla gee nou 8 jaar onbeperkte kilos op hulle model S.
Hulle het baie vertroue in hulle wasmasjiene.
MCHILUX
Town: Centurion Gauteng
Vehicle: Mazda Rustler 16v

Post by MCHILUX »

Toyota gee ook 8jaar en 190000km op die battery van die Pruis maar ons het nog net twee vervang altyd iets anders wat die stelsel heeltemal lamle

Return to “Alternative Energy”