Two Oceans 4x4 - Somerset West Cape Town

Tell us about your favorite 4x4 trail. Tell us how easy or difficult it was, is there escape routes for the faint hearted? Please add some photographs if you can.

Two Oceans 4x4 - Somerset West Cape Town

Hey guys,
Some pics of Saturday's(6 Sept 2008) family outing at Helderberg Farms' Two Ocean's trail. After many days of rather miserable weather in Cape Town, some of the forum members, 6 Hilux's, enjoyed a perfect day on the trail with Bennie and family. Of course Bennie emphasised that this was a rather basic 4x4 trail, but still all had fun. They sure don't have the views we have in Cape Town...

The main reason for doing the trail was for the Slaap Stad members to meet Bennie and to test the EFi conversions on Richard's and my bakkie. Of course my lux performed really well, none of the obsticles were really a problem... Even Richard's 75% running 4Y EFi did really well!

Only 5 of the hilux's feature in these pics, please guys post some of my lux! To prove the performance of the Bennie Hurter EFI conversion, Bennie reversed my lux up the one steep obsticle! Thys(Kaspaas) has the video evidence!

Bretton

Re: Two Oceans 4x4 - Somerset West Cape Town

I would like to thank Rich for organizing this outing and thanx for those who shared the day with us. It was nice to meet more of our members. It is a pity that everybody who said they will come did not pitch. The route is not that difficult but the view from the mountain is awesome. If you stay in the area this is definitely a must for a Sunday afternoon outing.

A young proud Hilux supporter (Rich's son)
1999 Hilux 2.7i 4x4 Raider DC with 3.4 Prado V6. Rear diff-lock, Bull Bar and rock sliders, 31" Cooper ST Maxx, Snorkel, Alu-Canopy, VHF Motorolla radio, West Coast Rust, Mikem Suspension, Ball Joint Spacers in front and Mikem extended shackles at the rear, 25watt LED Spots

Nice, gents. You had the perfect weather for an outing and it look like a lot of fun......

It was a great day, despite the fact that half the people who said they would join us decided not to. The 6 of us who did had a great time. The kids also had a ball.. :shock: :twisted:

First of all, I dont know whose fault it was, Richard's or Bennie's, (the 2 seem to blame each other) but guys, if you say lets meet at 8:30, then that means 9:00, NOT 10:00... Unless you set your watches to West Haiiti's daylight savings time or something... Even by Cape Town standards you were m**rtoe late... :shock: :shock: Do I have to teach you everything?? :shock: :twisted: :twisted:

The trail was certainly very scenic. With beautiful scenes of False Bay, Table Mountain, Gordon's Bay and Hangklip.. And with the weather being so nice, it was just great. The difficulty rating of the trail is just above that of the parking lot of the Tyger Valley shopping centre, but nevertheless worth the drive and the experience. I can imagine that it could be a pretty tricky trail to do in the wet as the tracks will be very slippery..

I am sure Doctor V picked up some valuable experience on the trail as he made his Hilux bounce around a few times, but got thru it all in the end. We must do this sort of thing more often, and we must also attempt to increase the number of participants.

Unfortunately I havent resized my photographs yet, but as soon as I have done that i will post some here. I also got lots of video footage, (George you must see how we abused your Sheila).. Bretton, I have "some" of the footage you mentioned, but not all. :roll: :twisted:

Thanks again Richard for organising, now please tell us, when is the next one? :?: :?: :?:

PS Richie? I thought you said you were quitting? :roll: :roll: :shock:
Rich_Smokes.jpg

George you must see how we abused your Sheila
Please show.Luckily she is use to it and can take it.

Hey Goerge,

That Mikem suspension is pretty good, the axle articulation was great and it seemed pretty supple/flexible. Bennie was impressed with the ride quality on road as well... you are aware you may never get your lux back?? It may be moving to Pretoria I hear... just a deposit of cash in your bank account to soften the blow... :lol:

George i will resize and load the videos tonight. You will be amazed. Here are some pics I took... :shock: :shock: :twisted:
Give the little guy a break...
DSC02953.JPG
Waiting in the sun..
DSC02955.JPG
Women and children first... :shock: :shock: :twisted:
DSC02957.JPG
Why are we waiting??
IMG_0191.jpg
Pieter in the water... :roll: :twisted:
IMG_0195.jpg
George se Sheila in the water.. getting down and dirty... :roll: :roll: :twisted:
IMG_0199.jpg
False bay...
IMG_0205.jpg
Lined up...
IMG_0212.jpg

Some more...
IMG_0216.jpg
img_0223.jpg

Doctor V
Vehicle: Land Cruiser FJ62 3F

Post by Doctor V »

What a great day to be outside on Saturday :lol: Apparently Bretton said he organised it specifically for Bennie. Yes Yes :P

Well, the Doctor's vehicle eventually made it through the obstacles. Although it sometimes felt as if I had a trick car with all the bouncing around :o: At least now I know everything that is\was loose should be lying on the trail somewhere :lol:

Thanks to the teachers on the day - especially Kaspaas :lol: I learnt some valuable Lessons about my vehicle and what I can and cannot do. There is a HUGE difference in driving my old 3.9 V8i Discovery with centre diff and drive my 2.2 SFA with lockable hubs :o:

Some valuable items learned:
1) Clutch is not your friend doing obstacles. Let your vehicle make funny noises going backwards in 1st gear
2) Tyre pressure - know what your tyre is capable of. I thought 1.0 Bar was sufficient, but 0.8 worked better.
3) Correct gear. 4L 1st seem to wok the best although I wished I had a 1.5. Spun a lot in 1st and 2nd didn't have enough grunt
4) Choosing the correct line. Try and stay clear of those axle twisters (except the last obstacle - the devil :twisted: made me do it!)
5) Control the throttle. Maybe I should try and idle over the obstacles - these are not timed rally stages!
6) Never ever drive alone. If you had a problem somewhere on the route you would have to walk all the way - bit difficult if you are injured and there is nobody to help :ugeek:

Lastly I will post some pics as soon as I have re-sized them. Bretton, I have Bennie's reverse stunt on video. The commentary is crap but what do you expect? :twisted:
'07 D4D Fortuner 4X4, OME with BF AT's

Smaak vir my julle het great fun gehad! :D:

That Mikem suspension is pretty good
We are slowly raking in the non believers.How does the dagger in the back feel Thys :twisted: :twisted:

george wrote:We are slowly raking in the non believers.How does the dagger in the back feel Thys :twisted: :twisted:
Sticks and stones Georgie... sticks and stones... We missed you there though, but I believe because of your absence our oceans are a safer place... :shock: :shock: :twisted:

Doctor V
Vehicle: Land Cruiser FJ62 3F

Post by Doctor V »

Here are a few pics
Lunch - eventually!
Da View
Da View
Dad's Toyz 4Y - 1
Sheila with Bennie
Darren's EFI
Bennie and Doctor V
Kaspaas waiting to pounce
Bennie shows how the EFI should work on a 3 cylinder
'07 D4D Fortuner 4X4, OME with BF AT's

Thanks Guys for a Lekker Dag :!: :P

The weather seriously came to the party and that was the clearest view I've had of The Cape Town Peninsula in all its awesome splendour and Glory :P :P

Sorry to keep you guys waiting on the day; :oops:

My version: Bennie locked himself in the Bathroom and refused to come out until I apologised for drinking outa "his" coffee mug :roll: :roll:

His version will sommer no doubt follow nê :roll: :roll: :roll:

Despite the wait; and what a great place to be left waiting (fresh coffee and Plaas Kos) :P

Here are some photos from the day, as I grabbed young Bennie's SLR (niiiiice camera bru!) and snapped as many Vakansie Photos for the Tourists as possible :P

Photo Diary Part 1

Rich
Only with MIKEM Boys!!
MIKEM Leads the Way!!
BenHur Displays George's MIKEM is OME Beating!!!
The Verkansie Photographer Holds Up the Pack
The Lux's Line-Up in front of a Breath Taking Back Drop
Thys giving The Trail the "Royal Blessing"
Co-Pilot Corne re-assures Par Bennie
Co-Pilot Joel re-assures his Dad Bretton
Last edited by Dadz Toy BFI on Wed Sep 10, 2008 2:13 am, edited 1 time in total.

Photo Diary Part 2

Did I mention how impressed Bennie was with George's Surf - He Wants One!!!!! :roll:

Did I mention how impressed everyone was with MIKEM Suspension - I want Them!! :roll:

Here's more pics:
Ooom ERIC, MIKEM IN DIE KAAP NET!!!
nie, nie, nie..... Stormers my bru....<br /><br />nie, nie, nie... Blou Bully nê
nie, nie, nie..... Stormers my bru....

nie, nie, nie... Blou Bully nê
Pieter Petoors waits for Directions from &quot;Bretton the Dog&quot;
Pieter Petoors waits for Directions from "Bretton the Dog"
Snipes and Dadz Toy Co-Pilots Give their Verdict so far......
Wills (Rich's Son) Does his best to &quot;blend in&quot; with the Camo Available
Wills (Rich's Son) Does his best to "blend in" with the Camo Available
Thysy Doing the infamous &quot;Kaspaas Krawl&quot;
Thysy Doing the infamous "Kaspaas Krawl"
Van Zyl (Doctor V) Does it IN STYLE!
Kom Mense!!!!
Last edited by Dadz Toy BFI on Tue Sep 09, 2008 11:54 am, edited 2 times in total.

Did I mention how impressed Bennie was with George's Surf
Sheila is a Thoroughbred Hilux . :mrgreen:

Photo Diary Part 3

Jou Sheila is LEKKER George, Bennie is in LURV :!: :!:

Here's more photos:
Bennie don't know whether to follow the Blues....
Bennie soaks up the Kaaps beauty
Mikem can't help bollie tyres Georgey!
The Huurter Boyz give Dad the thumbs up for the water obstacle
33 khumo and Efi, a winner!
es the BHi Dizzy Waterproof nê
Eish..... Trailing is die Bester!

Photo Diary Part 4

Getting bored yet.... :?: :?:

Getting bored yet....
Nope.Keep them coming. I am getting in Lurv all over again.

Georgey

Your Sheila has "been wrapped up in cotton wool" in my garage for the last two nights.........

I swear that Bennie has sang her a lulla-bye and big kiss night-night :roll: :roll: :roll:

He's out showing Sheila the Peninsula today :roll: :roll:

Have got lots, lots more pics of Sheila and Bennie doing the wild thang - might have to invoke the Censorship Rule :shock:

Rich

Dadz Toy wrote:Have got lots, lots more pics of Sheila and Bennie doing the wild thang
Why are we waiting?? :shock: :shock:

You Capies must let Mr Bennie loose now. He must come home. He has work to do up here - and must fix his own Hilux :D: :mrgreen: :D:

ToyX4 wrote:You Capies must let Mr Bennie loose now. He must come home. He has work to do up here - and must fix his own Hilux :D: :mrgreen: :D:
shhhhhtt Riaan gaan doen eerder jou Superbru.. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Dadz Toy wrote:
Have got lots, lots more pics of Sheila and Bennie doing the wild thang
Why are we waiting??
DITTO.and for you Thysie.Where is da video :?:

george wrote:DITTO.and for you Thysie.Where is da video :?:
as I explained in a rather lengthy and involved PM to you George, it will be posted in good time... :shock: :shock: :twisted:

Kaspaas wrote:
Dadz Toy wrote:Have got lots, lots more pics of Sheila and Bennie doing the wild thang
Why are we waiting?? :shock: :shock:

Keep your Hair on Mate :!:

I've just come back from collecting my Korean Beauty :D: :D: :D: :D:

Georgey, Sheila's out in the cold 2nite bru :wink:

Rich
My Korean Beauty; waits patiently for the Transplant!
Last edited by Dadz Toy BFI on Tue Sep 09, 2008 6:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Photo Diary Part 4

With Sheila stealing the limelight BIG Time, I've been searching for photos of "the other Lux's" :roll: :roll:

Here's Part 4 then: :roll: :roll:

Can I take a break now please :?: :?:

Rich
Waiting for the Leadsman (Again..)
Portrait of Bennie's New Lady<br />AKA George's ol gal - Sheila
Portrait of Bennie's New Lady
AKA George's ol gal - Sheila
Piet Petoors activates Launch Control
Follow the Rooi Route Bennie, NOT THE BLOU!!!
Van Zyl and Vrou; you should smile mate!
Depth Check Daddy
Corne soaks up the atmosphere (and muddy water)
That's the Peninsula and Cape Point in the Back Drop (about 85 kms away)

So Eric

Insanely Jealous Yet :?: :?: :?:

I'm not gonna tell you again Oom :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll:

Ons Granny Huis es waiting vir Jou Visit :!: :!: :wink: :wink:

Rich

Dadz Toy wrote:So Eric

Long ago!!!

You just might never know... :D:

Rich

Family_BullDog wrote:
Dadz Toy wrote:So Eric

Long ago!!!

You just might never know... :D:

Rich

Why don't we start an Exchange Programme between Provinces :idea: :idea:

Might be very useful for sharing info and trail experiences :idea:

I'll Nominate Oom Eric as the next Exchange Student - give us a date Bru :!:

Rich

Thysy

vars die video pics my bru :?: :?: :P

Rich
ps.... no cigs = no patience :evil: :twisted:

Suffer baby suffer... Will put them up tonite... Can't upload video from work, must do it at home... Resized all the videos on Monday night, worked late last nite, tonite's the nite... :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

BUT!! I didnt take any vids of your Dadz Toy.... The noise and misfiring was just unbearable... :shock: :shock: :twisted:

Okay, I am in the process of loading the videos. If you go to

http://s235.photobucket.com/albums/ee26 ... %20Oceans/

you will find them there. Feel free to watch. :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

PS I lied Richard, your mis-firing was not all THAT unbearable, I did take some vids of your Dadz Toy as well.... :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

Bosvark
Vehicle: Hilux 2200 D/C AUS specs

Post by Bosvark »

Hoe kan julle dan sulke sussie roetes ry
n vark bly maar n vark

bosV8rk wrote:Hoe kan julle dan sulke sussie roetes ry
As jy daar was kon jy kommentaar gelewer het Bosnimfie... Jy was een van die wat aangedui het hulle kom saam en toe nie opgedaag het nie. so as ek jy is sal ek my kop in skaamte laat sak en nederig wegseil na die naaste hoekie toe... :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll:

dalkill
Town: Cape TOwn
Vehicle: 2.4 GD6 SR D/C 4x4

Post by dalkill »

I soma get a lump in my throat when I see a row of luxes lined up
A thing of beauty. In the words of Jeremy Clarkson, I'm nursing a semi :mrgreen:
2016 2.4GD6 SR D/C 4x4 (Oct 2022 - current) (Buraaq VI)
2007 d4d 3.0 D/C 4x4 (Mar 2016 - July 2022) (Buraaq V)
2003 Isuzu KB300 D/C 4x4 (May 2015 - Feb 2016) aka Buraaq IV
2000 hilux DC 2.7 4x4 (Jul 2011 - Sep 2012) aka Buraaq III
1999 RXI 20v (Nov 2009 - Jul 2011) aka Quicksilver
1990 hilux DC 2.2 4x4 (Jun 2008 - Jul 2011) aka Buraaq II
1997 corolla 160i GLE (Feb 2007 - Sep 2009) aka Green Goblin
1990 GLI twincam (still my fav rolla) (Oct 2005 - Mar 2007) aka Wit Blitz
Golf GTI 2.0 (temp insanity for 2months) (Jun 2005 - Aug 2005) aka A mistake
1993 hilux SC 2.2 4x4 (April 2003 - Sept 2005) aka Buraaq

TOYOTA IS MY LEWE