Babilons Toren - Jan 2009 - Feedback

Tell us about your favorite 4x4 trail. Tell us how easy or difficult it was, is there escape routes for the faint hearted? Please add some photographs if you can.

Babilons Toren - Jan 2009 - Feedback

What a stunning day! It started off with Mossie calling me at 06:45 asking me why we are late, as they were already waiting for us at the meeting point. Once we arrived at the meeting point, a long line of Hiluxes were waiting eagerly chomping at the bit to get going.

We did a quick roll call and everybody except LouisK was there. The following guys net us at the meeting point.
1.) Peter Coop - Coopraider
2.) Jacques - Triton
3.) Coenie - King Rat
4.) Thys - Kaspaas
5.) Carlo - Voetsek
6.) Mossie - Mossie
7.) JB - JBurger
8.) Altie - Wicked Willy
9.) Nigel and Family - Special Guests
10.) Glen and Family - Special Guests

At the agreed cut-off of 7:30 we were on our way, hitting a bit of dirt road before we got to the R45. When we got to the trail we were met by one of the owners, and Cobus (Bastiaan) and Werner (Skalla) were also there al die pad van Tulbagh af. A quick meet and greet and how much do we owe you and we were on our way to the Chalets where Hentey was waiting for us with toilets (for the ladies) and coffee for the manne.

11.) Werner - Skalla
12.) Hentey Pople - Hentey
13.) Cobus - Bastiaan
Met us at the trail.

After a quick coffee we determined the "pecking order" and the convoy took off. Once again the lack of radios made it difficult on the route as visibility was restricted and the up- and downhills were severe. Kaspaas too the front, Carlo the middle and Altie at the rear, so the 3 radios in the group were spread out. Immediately it became clear that this route was going to be rough, tough, challenging but not at all impossible.

First stop was at the teeter-totter. Nobody wanted to have the first go on it until Mossie showed us all how, and then you couldn't keep the guys away from it with a stick. Everybody played nicely, some of us tried to balance the thing but it wouldnt work so lekker. The camera makes it look easy though.

From there we went down a klofie on a very nice steep downhill section at the bottom of which the track turned left into a nasty climb. It was one of those where once you got the momentum going you had to keep it going all the way to the top. At the top we were greeted by a welcoming party of several zebras and some small elandses. They were quite tame and allowed some pictures to be taken of them. At this hilltop clearing there were some nice axle twisters and a steep climb obstacle. Once again everybody had a nice play and lots of articulation pictures were taken. From there we went up the nice steep downhil, which now became a nice steep uphill.. and on the "the rocks". Here we had a lekker play, traversing huge rockfaces with serious cross-axles and cambers.

Then we got to the climax, the steep rockface downhill. We were looking this thing up and down and from every side, so we decided to sacrifice the Triton, and send that down first. If the Triton could make it anything can. No worries, it went down. Next was Hentey, and once the manne saw it was not all that daunting, they lined up in their droves. After we all got down there, we went back to the chalet, for a little bit of a chit chat, a cold one and a footlong hotdog with no roll...

To every single attendee, I want to say thanks! You made it an unforgettable day. The spirit in the group was exceptional and everybody got involved waving arms, spotting and encouraging the drivers. Great stuff. All in all, this was one of the nicest trails I have done in a very long time, and one of my most enjoyable outings. :thumbup:

My Rating:
10 out of 10... :clap: :thumbup: :thumbup: :thumbup: :thumbup:

JB, the Prado has now officially earned it's place on you signature strip. Not too bad for a "softroader".. :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

PS I will post pics, they are in my photobucket album at this location:
http://s235.photobucket.com/albums/ee26 ... BT_01_2009

Re: Babilons Toren - Jan 2009 - Feedback

Awesome Trail Report Thys and Great Pics, looks like you guys had a blast - wish I could have been there, William would have loved the Zebras :wink:

I hope the good impression will lead to guys be willing to re-visit this Trail again in 09 :P

Wickedwilley
Vehicle: 2000 SC Hilux 2.7

Post by Wickedwilley »

Thanks Thys for organising the trip. I agree with you - a great day and thanks to all the attendees. En Hentey, ook vir die lekker hotdogs!

Altie & Susan
JBurger
Town: ......
Vehicle: .....

Post by JBurger »

Image ImageImage
JBurger

Post by JBurger »

Image ImageImage
JBurger

Post by JBurger »

Image ImageImage
JBurger

Post by JBurger »

Did some twice to ake up for lack of comments! :D :D

Thanks Thys and everybody else, it was a great day! Thys for president of the 'fees kommitee' :D :D :D
Image ImageImage

Man that looks like fun, brings back memories, I should be ready for the next event, I finished rebuilding my lux's engine this afternoon, all went well... I took her for a break-in run from Brackenfell to Paarl and back, accelerate/decelarate, bed the rings in... got another 950km's to go...

:thumbup: nice report tx
hentey
Town: worcester
Vehicle: 2700i 4x4

Post by hentey »

What a nice expierience!!!!!Thanks to the organisers(Thys & co)Will post my comments later. :thumbup: :thumbup: :thumbup:

Nice guys. Looks lekker. Ok so for the okes that did not make it this time we must have a go at this one :thumbup:

Niel wrote:Nice guys. Looks lekker. Ok so for the okes that did not make it this time we must have a go at this one :thumbup:

Deffo :!: :!: :!:

I've had to solomly swear to Wills that we WILL go to see the "Baby Lions Snoring" and to see the Zebras very very soon :roll: :wink:
Last edited by Dadz Toy BFI on Sun Mar 15, 2009 1:00 pm, edited 2 times in total.
King Rat

Post by King Rat »

Thanx Thys from my side as well, I really enjoyed it! (And thanks to Elismarie for the delicious sarmies)I can say that now I'm not a complete newbie anymore but still not n troepie yet. :lol: The new 2.4 Diesel radiator was installed late Friday afternoon by Allan and worked like a dream.
Datsun GX Coupe 1200
99 Subaru Legacy GT
07 Alfa Romeo GT 3.2 V6

Lampropeltis getula californiae, Orthriophis taeniura friesi, Morelia spilota, Python brongersmai, Epicrates chenchria maurus, Python regius

It's great to hear all the positive feedback... :thumbup: :thumbup: I am glad you guys enjoyed it. Who's going to organise the next one?? :shock: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

hentey

Post by hentey »

Niel.......Eenparig.....!
Coopraider
Town: Muizenberg
Vehicle: 97 2.8 D

Post by Coopraider »

Thanks guys, awesome day - thanks Thys for organising, great to have met some more of the manne and hope to see the "first timers" back again.

Cheers,

Peter

hentey wrote:Niel.......Eenparig.....!
Langharig?? :shock:

Mossie
Vehicle: 1996 Hilux 2.4 D/C

Post by Mossie »

Soos al die ander se: Dit was uitstekend - ek het my gate uit geniet!!!
Weereens dankie thys vir die reelings, en dankie aan almal wat daar was, dit was nog n onvergeetlikke 'trip'.
schalk
Town: Paarl
Vehicle: Colt 97 3l V6

Post by schalk »

Hallo manne,

Ek en Schalk se baie dankie vir 'n lekker ervaring! Almal was baie vriendelik en mens kon sien die manne geniet hulle voertuie - dis mos waaroor dit gaan :clap:

Moet se vir ons manne wat so bietjie laat in die bed gekom het, die son het ons nie oorgesien nie :think: maar wat 'n uitstekende dag!!!

Maak weer so! Dankie aan Jacques met sy Triton wat my darem nie so alleen laat voel het tussen al die Hiluxse nie...

w
waar die pad eindig, daar begin die avontuur...

I had some enquiries for the contact details for BT.
Here they are.

Babylonstoren
Malmesbury
Hugo Basson, Cell 083 284 8645
Thys Basson, Cell 083 289 8384
Tobie Basson, Cell 083 357 4496
Difficulty of trail: 4

According to Hentey the cost of the chalets were R200 per night and each one sleeps 6 people (there are 2). They look pretty neat and tidy, with hot and cold water etc etc.. but Hentey will be able to tell us more about the accommodation. :thumbup: :thumbup:

hentey

Post by hentey »

Accomodation was fine,no tv but no problem.the furniture is good for the Simpson family,heavy wood benches and also very hard to sit on.Comford level I,d say 5/10.Must say i missed my bed,but no guest house has ever satisfied my need for a good nights sleep.Price depends on certain aspects,how many people,linen etc.My personal opinion ............Good value for your money.It is not 5 star but so is the price........Just one thing. Go organised.The cafe arround the corner is 30 km,s away.And the whole of Paarl hasn,t got hot dog buns after 17h00. :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil:

Eish.Dit lyk darm goed om so baie Lux'e te sien.Kry sommer hoender vleis. :thumbup: :thumbup: :thumbup: :thumbup:

Return to “Trail Reports”