Very wet 3 Provinces Adventure Trail

Tell us about your favorite 4x4 trail. Tell us how easy or difficult it was, is there escape routes for the faint hearted? Please add some photographs if you can.
Hilux01
Town: Secunda
Vehicle: Toyota Hilux 3.0D4-D dc 4x4
Club VHF Licence: X85

Very wet 3 Provinces Adventure Trail

Post by Hilux01 »

Will post soon struggeling with posting pics
Last edited by Hilux01 on Fri Mar 06, 2009 3:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.
2013 Toyota Hilux 3.0D4-D dc 4x4
Bush Lapa Miskruier 810
Gerbers Alu Canopy
ORRA Call Sign: X85
Hilux01

Re: Very wet 3 Provinces Adventure Trail

Post by Hilux01 »

Struggeling with the pics will let you know when it is done.
Bush Lapa Miskruier 810
Gerbers Alu Canopy
bosjakkals
Town: Harrismith
Vehicle: 97 Hilux SFA ,31 BF's, Bullbar,Warn winch, Hunting frame, 2 spare wheels, Long range tank, High lift jack, Gearmax rear locker diff, Suspension unknown but very soft)

Post by bosjakkals »

And we are waiting :eh:

CJ
03 - Cruiser 105 GX
97 - Hilux 2.4 D/C -
05 - Pajero 3.2 DID SWB ( Ma se kar)
01-Prado 3.0 d (Gesien -Geniet - GEROL))
Bfreesani
Vehicle: Nissan Sani 2.7TD

Post by Bfreesani »

And waiting :twisted:
Later....
David
Hillbilly

.............................and waiting :roll: :twisted:

You can read all about it here, with plenty of pics!

http://www.landcruiserclub.co.za/cms/in ... ic&t=23252

Eric jy weet hulle soek my nie daar nie :shock: :shock:

I was going to "copy & paste", the story is very interesting, But you also do need the pictures as well, and there are lots of them, wi;; take a while.

Will do so if Henk gives the go-ahead.

Hilux01

Post by Hilux01 »

ERIC

Your assitance would be appreciated!
Bush Lapa Miskruier 810
Gerbers Alu Canopy
Bushwacker
Town: Vryheid Natal
Vehicle: 2003 HILEX, 35" maxxis. 2009 Prado 120 VX

Post by Bushwacker »

.....and waiting :problem:
wim
Town: Vryheid
Vehicle: 95 hilux d/c Hilex

Post by wim »

Bushwacker wrote:.....and waiting :problem:
Piet maar jy is ongeduldig.

Dadz Toy BFI wrote:.............................and waiting :roll: :twisted:
Still waiting :roll:

Here is Hilux01's report...

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

The forecast were wet and cold, but that did not dampen the spirit of the 8 eight of travelling south towards Volksrus. We were heading for 3 Provinces Adventure Trail.
img_3730.jpg
Company:
BosMerc - Henk & Bianca vd Walt, Frans & Riani v Aardt
Landy - Neil & Maritza Meyer
Skuzuz - Cobus and (soon to be) Christine van As

As we went through Amersfoort the drizzel started (we would leter find out that it wouldend stop all weekend).

Arriving at 19h50 at the farmhouse of Herman & Ronel via a very slippery 2 spoor track we were instructed to head up the hill (to the Mountain cabins) asap since the track will get worse by the minute. (but dont worry Ronel said, 2 hrs of sun tomorrow morning will dry out the trail sufficient for you to tackle it full on). "Slippery slippery mud mud...that would be our way forward for the next 2 days. With the BosMerc standing still in 2nd low and spinning up a slope, the skuzuz and Cobus managing to get stuck and Neil gooi-ing (translation: throughing) mielies all the way we arrived safely at the cabins.

It rained just about the whole evening on Friday and Saturday morning did not look any better.
img_3656.jpg
img_3658.jpg
img_3659.jpg

We headed down the hill to check out the scenery and the trail before deciding to give it a go.
img_3664.jpg
img_3666.jpg
img_3687.jpg
Quick stop at the farmhouse for some firewood and then we headed for the camping site (situated halfway up the mountain). Here we decided to settle for some Brunch. (good idea)
point_c_completion_041.jpg
point_c_completion_053.jpg
point_c_completion_057.jpg
After Brunch we headed for the mountains. Since the weather lifted slightly we decided to take the chance.
point_c_completion_064.jpg
We were joined by Steward with his Triton just as we exited the campsite. He informed us that the map was Greek to him and that he wanted to join some friends at the picnic spot. (a bit late in the day for that I thought but hey the more the merrier). We headed up the mountain and the track remained quite ok.
point_c_completion_093.jpg
point_c_completion_096.jpg
point_c_completion_096.jpg (21.31 KiB) Viewed 2254 times
point_c_completion_103.jpg
point_c_completion_103.jpg (17.85 KiB) Viewed 2252 times

Searching for the best line
point_c_completion_088.jpg
On top of the world!
point_c_completion_103.jpg
point_c_completion_103.jpg (17.85 KiB) Viewed 2250 times
View of the cabins form "the other side"
point_c_completion_096.jpg
point_c_completion_096.jpg (21.31 KiB) Viewed 2248 times
We like it nice and wet!
point_c_completion_105.jpg
At 3h00 we arived at this majestic uphill.
img_3706.jpg
img_3710.jpg
With a struggling Triton at most 2 hrs sunshine and some bad weather heading our way we decided to quit to fight another day.
point_c_completion_140.jpg
point_c_completion_140.jpg (17.56 KiB) Viewed 2251 times
It was getting very close very quickly.
point_c_completion_143.jpg
point_c_completion_143.jpg (14.15 KiB) Viewed 2251 times

On our way down we arrived at a washed out section of erosion that left all of us with a big wow! We decided that with the rain the slippery conditions etc what we should rather go back the way we came. We turned and heaed straight home. Of course not before recovering the LR with the Isuzu and the Isuzu with the LR. (wonder why none of them wanted the BosMerc to help with the recovery? Rolling Eyes )

On our way down (NOTICE: the guys coming down the hill right at the back like ants before a rainstorm)
img_3717.jpg
img_3717.jpg (18.01 KiB) Viewed 2248 times
Saturday evening just as we finished with the braai and some krummel pap all hell broke loose. The wind was doing 100 miles and hour and we had about 70mm of rain over night. We spend the night in the RTT wondering when the wind will rip us to pieces. Luckily we survived and the Sunday morning I told Bianca if I had any doubts about the Featherlite RTT they were no more. We stayed dry and warm all evening and I must say that all the rest were impressed.

Just another one cause I am such a proud owner!
img_3658.jpg
LESSONS LEARNED
You dont need 10 inches of mud to get stuck. At this trail only 2cm is plenty to get jiggy with.
Always listen to local knowledge (we did and we stayed on our wheels)
Bad weather = danger and rather turn sooner than later (We turned around just in time - 30 min later would have left us stranded in the dark)

White Sox?
point_c_completion_151.jpg
The slippery uphill to the cabins.
point_c_completion_160.jpg

BAD PART!
We ran into some guys on the trail Saturday evening that left me speechless. They were made up by some Hiluxes, a 76 sw and a 80 LC, also a Colt Clubcab. These guys were irresponsible and a bad advertisement to the 4x4 community. Not staying on the trail, racing down slippery slopes, reversing into bushes to try and gain traction and in the process damaging some trees and plants. To state the obvious the Colt slipped on a slope and basically flattened all panels on the left side of the vehicle. My guess is a couple of $$$$ down the toilet. These guys I am told also recover a poor soul with his Tucson (part of another group) and in the process the Tucson ended up with a badly damaged bonnet, bumper, nudge bar and a hole in the sump. (guessing R30k damages)

PLEASE GUYS REMEMBER Dop & 4x4 Do not go together, and when visiting a 4x4 trail you are quest on someone else's farm, so behave in a manner that you would like him to behave when he comes to your home.

BUT ALL IN ALL A GREAT TRIP! We never reached the beacon and or the other half of the trail or even the trail on the game farm Milton mentioned but at least we all enjoyed every moment of it and we will go back when it is a bit drier to complete the trail and earned our bumper sticker!
img_3729.jpg

VIDEO CLIPS
1. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qVZywUuQcCM
2. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9qX6wjv0Ewg
3. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2FwJPPoFjzA
4. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h8ve3KfKMdM
5. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oYnymzng2gM
6. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J4jA697YWH8

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Posted on behalf of Henk by an exhausted F_D!!

Vehicle: '90 SFA Hilux DC 4X4, Full OME, 110mm lift. Brospeed branch, 50mm ss freeflow exhaust. 30 x 9.5 Discoverer S/T's on Viper mags. L/R tank. (AWOL) '98 LTD 2.4 SFA, dual battery system. Dobinson suspension, LR tanks, 31" BF mud's.

Shame Eric, you've been heavily tasked today, but I'm sure the rest of the members appreciated it. (I just went and joined the cruiser forum and saw it all there). Thanks anyway on behalf of the rest of the guys. :thumbup:

Hilux01

Post by Hilux01 »

Thanks Eric (as superman dood gaan is jy my hero) :clap: :thumbup:

For the rest of you hope it was worth the wait? :think:
Bush Lapa Miskruier 810
Gerbers Alu Canopy

Henk, a very informative read on the trail itself!!! it looks like a premier destination for a breakaway and some lekker 4x4ing.... :thumbup: :thumbup:

Eric, thank you very much for all the work to post it here for the other members to read it........... :clap: :clap: :thumbup: :thumbup:

I am considering a weekend to volksrust soon................ :shh:
Hilux01

Post by Hilux01 »

Johan

Definately worth it!

We will go back once the drier seasons approach

Cheers
Bush Lapa Miskruier 810
Gerbers Alu Canopy

Hilux01 wrote: For the rest of you hope it was worth the wait? :think:
Yes it was worth the wait Henk :thumbup:

Excellent Trail Report and well done for taking smart decisions, shame others don't do the same :wink:

Mud Dog wrote:
Shame Eric, you've been heavily tasked today, but I'm sure the rest of the members appreciated it. (I just went and joined the cruiser forum and saw it all there). Thanks anyway on behalf of the rest of the guys. :thumbup:

Mud Dog,

You can't say this NOW, AFTER I spent 35 minutes copying and pasting!!!!!!

Mad Dog!

Just kidding, but thank you for owning up. The next time it will be your turn to copy & paste an equally tasking (but worthy...) Trip Report! :twisted:

Vehicle: '90 SFA Hilux DC 4X4, Full OME, 110mm lift. Brospeed branch, 50mm ss freeflow exhaust. 30 x 9.5 Discoverer S/T's on Viper mags. L/R tank. (AWOL) '98 LTD 2.4 SFA, dual battery system. Dobinson suspension, LR tanks, 31" BF mud's.

Mud Dog,

You can't say this NOW, AFTER I spent 35 minutes copying and pasting!!!!!!

Mad Dog!

Just kidding, but thank you for owning up. The next time it will be your turn to copy & paste an equally tasking (but worthy...) Trip Report!
Eric, Seeing how much time it took you, :mrgreen: I realized that you were up to your eye-balls :crazy: and that it was a real effort. I also noticed that there were no comments or thanks, so I took it upon myself to thank you on behalf of the guys. :angel:

........ and now I've been chastised ....
sad dog.jpg
sad dog.jpg (27.75 KiB) Viewed 2192 times
:D: :D: :D:

Awwwww.... OK! Who can resist those puppy-dog eyes. Good doggie, have a bikkie! :)

Basic-Biscuits-04.jpg
Basic-Biscuits-04.jpg (17.9 KiB) Viewed 2103 times

:D: :D:

Geez Eric, you must have a shite house full of clip-art on your drive! I mean, you really did'nt scan that now, did you? :twisted:

Return to “Trail Reports”