Western Kgalagadi Conservation Corridor Craft Project

Here you can post information of charities and charities in need or any good ideas you have on helping charities.
felixh
High Range 2WD
High Range 2WD
Town: Cape Town
Vehicle: Hilux 4x4 LN106

Western Kgalagadi Conservation Corridor Craft Project

Post by felixh »

Hi all, I am new to the forum and to 4x4 in general, but I think the bug bit me!
I drive an old Hilux LN106 [import?] with a KZTE 3l TD conversion, so its a bit of a Frankenstein.

I work part time as a Project manager for an NGO that does development work all over SA and some of the neighbouring countries. We work in the hand craft sector, teaching crafters better skills, developing better products, and most importantly teaching them basic business and life skills, so they can run their small enterprises more efficiently, and provide better for themselves and their families. A bit of a “teach them to fish” thing.

Here is the gist of my post:

We are in the process of receiving a grant from Conservation International, who is working in this part of Botswana on tourism and craft projects. (we are operating from Cape Town)

My brief requires me to work with about 30-40 crafters in +/- 12 villages from Ghanzi in the north Ukwi in the West and Kang in the east.
We are planning 4-5 two week trips to the area, where we divided the villages into 4 clusters. (We need to make several trips to do work there and then also back in SA to link them to markets etc.)

Now the problem: The funding doesn't cover everything (only the training and some equipment, fuel etc) for a start.
We need some sponsorship or if any of you have advice/opinions/input all is welcome. As I said I am a greenhorn :D so the more the better so we can pull it off.

The Trapsuutjies needs attention, and gear to make the trip (she’s pretty much a D-cab with a canopy).
I have the basic camping gear but we are short a few things.