Saturday drive.

Tell us about your interesting nature stories, animal sightings, questions and pictures on nature and your experiences.

Saturday drive.

Went for a drive today to look for a spot to go and camp for a weekend and to do a bit of fishing. Took a few pics but there was not many flowers yet as it is still a bit dry in the area where I went. Some pics of the river and some rock formations.
1.jpg
1.jpg (80.73 KiB) Viewed 6804 times
2.jpg
2.jpg (90.21 KiB) Viewed 6804 times
3.jpg
3.jpg (93.27 KiB) Viewed 6804 times
4.jpg
4.jpg (132.94 KiB) Viewed 6804 times
5.jpg
5.jpg (138.4 KiB) Viewed 6804 times
6.jpg
6.jpg (126.03 KiB) Viewed 6804 times

Re: Saturday drive.

Some more pics.
7.jpg
7.jpg (111.19 KiB) Viewed 6803 times
8.jpg
8.jpg (120.84 KiB) Viewed 6803 times
9.jpg
9.jpg (107.1 KiB) Viewed 6803 times
10.jpg
10.jpg (89.7 KiB) Viewed 6803 times
11.jpg
11.jpg (89.77 KiB) Viewed 6803 times
gavin
Town: vredenburg western cape
Vehicle: 2.7 Hilux

Post by gavin »

Maar die plek lyk mooi en eensaam waar is dit..En moet n ou 4x4 om daar uit te kom

Yes Gavin, it is a very isolated place in the Richtersveld, the road there is not too bad. Some places the sand is a bit thick but a 4x2 bakkie will drive it. Today I saw a sight that I will never forget. A young man with a lot of klipdrift in him took part in a fishing competition and drove a few month old Nissan Juke down that road, I could not believe my eyes when I saw the car there. Spoke to the chap and he said he was also supprised to get there. took his number plate no to make sure that I never buy that car second hand. :lol: The spot is about 35 km from the main tar road at the border post, about 40 km from my house. :taunt: :thumbup:
Oupa Stig
Town: Johannesbug
Vehicle: Hilux KZTE 4X2 "Stagger Lee", Hilux IFS 2.7 4x4 "Loretta"

Post by Oupa Stig »

Magnificent scenery, wild Collies and all.
You are fortunate in so many ways.
Enjoy it!
I feel a lot less wise at 45 than I did at 15.
gavin
Town: vredenburg western cape
Vehicle: 2.7 Hilux

Post by gavin »

Dankie ja die vrou soek ook een van daai nissan jukes maar ja .Hoe lank se ry is dit dan van die kaap af die plek lyk sommer baie lekker dis die soort plek wat n ou kan lekker omtspan

Nice Roger...up here I have to pay to go fishing anywhere...

What species are you targeting? I presume there to be Carp & Barbel...what about yellow fish and the rest?

Ok Roger,you have to stop with these fantastic photos :sick:

You are killing me,tar and plastic bags are the order of the day here :laugh2:

Looks great :thumbup:
Post the pics of your camp and the beauties you catch :thumbup: :thumbup: :thumbup: :thumbup:

yotaman
Town: Hartenbos Western Cape
Vehicle: '99 2.7i Hilux 4x4 S/C

Post by yotaman »

You are truly blessed Roger to have this part of the world so close to you. I envy you
Imagination is more important than knowledge. Knowledge is limited, imagination encircles the world.

Albert Einstein

Blikskottel ek sal darem self daar wou uitslaan - jaloers is ek nou

Hi Roger, The pictures of Haboob are taken near those kranses(Rock formations) in your photo's, but on the main gravel road during August, 2011.

Stef wrote:Nice Roger...up here I have to pay to go fishing anywhere...

What species are you targeting? I presume there to be Carp & Barbel...what about yellow fish and the rest?
Hi Stef, there are mainly yellow fish and barbel in the river here. I am not a great fisherman, I just catch what bites. For me it is more about getting out into nature and enjoying the peace and quiet, not that I dont have peace and quiet at home as well. Its just more relaxing next to the river with good company and a few captains. I will post some pics of the camp and fish if I catch some. :thumbup:
Vehicle: '90 SFA Hilux DC 4X4, Full OME, 110mm lift. Brospeed branch, 50mm ss freeflow exhaust. 30 x 9.5 Discoverer S/T's on Viper mags. L/R tank. (AWOL) '98 LTD 2.4 SFA, dual battery system. Dobinson suspension, LR tanks, 31" BF mud's.

Beautiful, and those rock layers are fascinating! :thumbup: ;-)

Thanks for sharing Roger. As Andy also said, those rock layers are really fascinating

Beautiful, is my favorite part of the country.
1999 Hilux 2.7i 4x4 Raider DC with 3.4 Prado V6. Rear diff-lock, Bull Bar and rock sliders, 31" Cooper ST Maxx, Snorkel, Alu-Canopy, VHF Motorolla radio, West Coast Rust, Mikem Suspension, Ball Joint Spacers in front and Mikem extended shackles at the rear, 25watt LED Spots
Danman
Vehicle: 2009 Fortuner 4.0 V6 aka "BosBuffel"

Post by Danman »

Froll wrote:
Stef wrote:Nice Roger...up here I have to pay to go fishing anywhere...

Hi Stef, there are mainly yellow fish and barbel in the river here. I am not a great fisherman, I just catch what bites. For me it is more about getting out into nature and enjoying the peace and quiet, not that I dont have peace and quiet at home as well. Its just more relaxing next to the river with good company and a few captains. I will post some pics of the camp and fish if I catch some. :thumbup:
Sjoe! Roger.

I went up Dec last year, wanted to give you a call to meet up somewhere but never got to it.
This seems the perfect place to get some rest, have a yellow tug on the line, sink a captain whilst listening to the black and white on the radio.

Might just have to cancel a few trips to go back your way.
Vehicle: 2002 3.0KZ-TE 4x4, Eazyawn RTT, Snorkel, NudgeM Bumper, 38mm Ball Joint Spacers, 35" Maxxis Bighorns, Dastek Unichip, 60 ltr Snomaster fridge/freezer, 40mm body lift, Mikem front/rear with extended shackles, Bilsteins shox rear

:drool:

Return to “Out in Nature”