Terms of Service | members' articles | shop | join the club | translate | main site | workshop manuals

register | login | retrieve password | search | view active topics | view unread posts | view new posts

Fortuner in limp mode

Here we discuss Hiluxes in general. Your view of the Hilux. For other general discussions please see "open Discussions" under the "Around the Campfire" heading.
Stannie
Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2013 5:05 pm
Town: Boksburg
Vehicle: Fortuner D4D 3.0
Real Name: Stan

Fortuner in limp mode

Postby Stannie » Sun Feb 10, 2013 7:27 pm

Hi guys
Driving a long distance for instance on the highway and the first stop I make lets say at the toll gate my Fortuner goes into limp mode. I switch off restart then it goes well again until the next high speed(120)trip, same story, otherwise no problems. Any ideas, the reason.
Thanks
Stan
User avatar
TOYODA
LR 4WD Full Lockers
LR 4WD Full Lockers
Posts: 676
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2012 5:26 am
Town: Pretoria
Vehicle: '07 Hilux V6 A/T 4x4 & '89 YN67R with Ford V6 3.0
Real Name: Tiaan
ORRA Call Sign: X139

Re: Fortuner in limp mode

Postby TOYODA » Sun Feb 10, 2013 7:56 pm

Before the realy clever people starts to comment....

Just a question:
Any mods done to the FT? Chip, LR tank or anything else?

It might help them to figure out the problem.
User avatar
jacques kotze
Monster Truck
Monster Truck
Posts: 3552
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2009 8:51 am
Town: Nelspruit.
Vehicle: Prado 4,0 V6, dual battery & 3.0 D4d S/C 4x4,front replacement,12000lbs winch.
Real Name: Jacques
Contact:

Re: Fortuner in limp mode

Postby jacques kotze » Sun Feb 10, 2013 8:06 pm

I would say 90% of limp mode cases is chip related. But could be a Injector/s.
ImageImageImageImage
Stannie
Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2013 5:05 pm
Town: Boksburg
Vehicle: Fortuner D4D 3.0
Real Name: Stan

Re: Fortuner in limp mode

Postby Stannie » Sun Feb 10, 2013 8:09 pm

JSB
Yes a chip, been in for 4years only now the problem
Stannie
Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2013 5:05 pm
Town: Boksburg
Vehicle: Fortuner D4D 3.0
Real Name: Stan

Re: Fortuner in limp mode

Postby Stannie » Sun Feb 10, 2013 8:10 pm

JSB
only 58000 on the clock
User avatar
4x4Maniac
LR4WD, Lockers, Crawler Gears
LR4WD, Lockers, Crawler Gears
Posts: 1616
Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2010 9:33 am
Town: Centurion
Vehicle: 2011 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon Unlimited (JKU) 3.8 Auto
Real Name: Werner
ORRA Call Sign: X120
Location: Centurion
Contact:

Re: Fortuner in limp mode

Postby 4x4Maniac » Sun Feb 10, 2013 8:17 pm

Welcome, the the forum... Most likely a faulty chip or loose connection somewhere, is it more prone in humid/wet conditions?
ORRA CALLSIGN X120
AKA Epsilon on 4x4Community
(2011 JKUR)
Jeep Wrangler Rubicon 3.8 Auto Unlimited

Rugged Ridge Front & Rear Bumpers
Rugged Ridge Light Guards
KC Spotlights
Previous:
2003 Toyota Hilux DC KZTE 3.0 4x4
2001 Toyota Hilux DC 2700i 4x4
User avatar
ChrisF
Monster Truck
Monster Truck
Posts: 6338
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2009 2:56 pm
Town: Bellville
Vehicle: Elders (2,5 D4D)
Real Name: Chris

Re: Fortuner in limp mode

Postby ChrisF » Sun Feb 10, 2013 8:30 pm

99% chance it is a chip, or as in my case, an aftermarket cruise control .... the dealers asked me about 10 times if I had fitted a chip ....
Stannie
Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2013 5:05 pm
Town: Boksburg
Vehicle: Fortuner D4D 3.0
Real Name: Stan

Re: Fortuner in limp mode

Postby Stannie » Sun Feb 10, 2013 8:40 pm

Chris yes I have a aftermarket cruise control for at least 3 years now. What did you do at the end, remove it?
User avatar
ChrisF
Monster Truck
Monster Truck
Posts: 6338
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2009 2:56 pm
Town: Bellville
Vehicle: Elders (2,5 D4D)
Real Name: Chris

Re: Fortuner in limp mode

Postby ChrisF » Sun Feb 10, 2013 8:45 pm

unplug it, drive around the block, plug it back in.


Had my Hilux for almost 2 years before the cruise control acted up .... had Toyota Upington busy for a while (we were on holiday and enroute to Kgalagadi). Young mechanic that figured it out.

Drove more about 11 months before it acted up again - unplug, drive around the block, plug in, and 3 months later it is still going fine .... go figure ....

unplug the "top" plug set, unplug the plug from the pedal mount. the "very top" plug now goes straight onto the pedal mount. (hope this makes sense .... )
Attachments
IMG_0200 (Small).jpg
IMG_0200 (Small).jpg (57.04 KiB) Viewed 542 times
Stannie
Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2013 5:05 pm
Town: Boksburg
Vehicle: Fortuner D4D 3.0
Real Name: Stan

Re: Fortuner in limp mode

Postby Stannie » Sun Feb 10, 2013 8:57 pm

Chris
So you unplug the one and then plug the other in that ones place?
User avatar
ChrisF
Monster Truck
Monster Truck
Posts: 6338
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2009 2:56 pm
Town: Bellville
Vehicle: Elders (2,5 D4D)
Real Name: Chris

Re: Fortuner in limp mode

Postby ChrisF » Sun Feb 10, 2013 9:03 pm

jip.

Lets say I number them 1,2,3 from the bottom up.

Then 1 and 2 are the plugs for the cruise control unit.

3 was originally plugged onto the throttle mechanism.

the installers just unplug "3" and insert 1 and 2.


these are classical "male / female" plugs, so you cant get it wrong. :)


PS - like so many of these plugs it has a "clip" that must be pressed down before you can unplug it. You will have sit on your knees outside the vehicle, then lean in with your head near the pedals to see the plugs. A torch or head lamp works WELL :)
Stannie
Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2013 5:05 pm
Town: Boksburg
Vehicle: Fortuner D4D 3.0
Real Name: Stan

Re: Fortuner in limp mode

Postby Stannie » Sun Feb 10, 2013 9:21 pm

I checked it out now will do it before my next trip. Thanks
User avatar
Stephan_V
High Range 4WD
High Range 4WD
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 10:12 pm
Town: Johannesburg
Vehicle: 07 Hilux D4D
Real Name: Stephan

Re: Fortuner in limp mode

Postby Stephan_V » Wed Feb 13, 2013 5:14 pm

Same thing with me. When I had it at Toyota they said the error code related to the throttle. They disconnected it and I have had it disconnected now for 4 months and have not had any issues.

Chris thanks for the info :thumbup: I will have a look and hook it up again.
User avatar
jacques kotze
Monster Truck
Monster Truck
Posts: 3552
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2009 8:51 am
Town: Nelspruit.
Vehicle: Prado 4,0 V6, dual battery & 3.0 D4d S/C 4x4,front replacement,12000lbs winch.
Real Name: Jacques
Contact:

Re: Fortuner in limp mode

Postby jacques kotze » Wed Feb 13, 2013 7:52 pm

The chip need to be re-mapped every 40 000 km or so. Mine was in my Hilux for 5 years when it started to go into limp mode.
ImageImageImageImage
User avatar
ChrisF
Monster Truck
Monster Truck
Posts: 6338
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2009 2:56 pm
Town: Bellville
Vehicle: Elders (2,5 D4D)
Real Name: Chris

Re: Fortuner in limp mode

Postby ChrisF » Wed Feb 13, 2013 10:05 pm

Stephan_V wrote:Same thing with me. When I had it at Toyota they said the error code related to the throttle. They disconnected it and I have had it disconnected now for 4 months and have not had any issues.

Chris thanks for the info :thumbup: I will have a look and hook it up again.


Stephan when the mechanic SHOWED me what they unplugged I asked about the option of plugging it back in .....


He shrugged his shoulders .... and could not give me a clear answer.


So I decided to take a chance - plugged it back in and USED it all the way from Upington to Kgalagadi. NO ISSUES.



Actually had no issues for the next 10 or 11 months. On the second day of the issues being back I stopped next to road, unplugged, drove a 100m, stopped, plugged it back in and fine since then.


Seems to be a classic software glitch that needs occational re-booting ...



I use my cruise control way too often !! :) :) has saved me so often from the camera men with badges .... :)

Return to “General Hilux Discussions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: 91hilux3l