Newbie interested in Fortuner

You can ask your Fortuner related questions here. Also feel free to show us the modifications you did on your vehicle.
dave1000
Town: Joburg
Vehicle: Toyota

Post by dave1000 »

Hi guys

I have been reading this forum for a while now - what a great source of information!

I'm new to the 4x4 scene and currently looking for a 2nd hand Fortuner to buy. I have narrowed my search down to a 2007/2008/2009 4.0 4x4 auto. Please can you guys assist with some queries regarding this vehicle?

* I'm not particularly fussy regarding the facelift edition's steering wheel controls or other interior features; however am I correct that only the facelift model has 8 airbags (vs 2)? I am quite safety conscious so surely that is quite important to take into consideration? I have 3 small kids and will be using the vehicle as a family car but also for day to day commute.

* Does this vehicle also need to to be serviced every 10k km like the diesels or every 15k? How expensive are the services and what is an important/expensive issue to look out for on the petrol vehicle (like injectors on the diesel)?

* What would you recommend as the maximum mileage for a 2007/2008/2009 vehicle? How much of an issue is high mileage as I plan to drive the car for at least 5 years.

* If I don't buy from a Toyota stealer who else can check the whole vehicle for issues and faults before buying?

* Is it worthwile to extend the warranty and/or service plan? Or other warranties - Motorite I think?

* What should I be looking for when checking the tyres of a 2nd hand FT?

Thanks in advance!
CasKru
Town: Benoni
Vehicle: '94 Hilux Raider 2.4i (22RE) DC 4x4
Club VHF Licence: B15

Re: Newbie interested in Fortuner

Post by CasKru »

Welcome Dawid.