Page 1 of 1

4x4 Direct Surf Project

Posted: Tue Sep 29, 2015 4:45 pm
by pietpetoors
We bought a Surf for promotional purposes.

It is a 1994 Toyota Surf with Lexus 1 UZ V8 and Lexus box.

We need some minor spares to let it look nice again.

Does anybody know of one at a scrapyard?

I need the following for now:
1x Windscreen
1x Windscreen trim, complete set - According to Toyota it is 4 rubbers and 4 corners. The KZ shape Hilux has one solid rubber, and the model Surf after this one is also one solid rubber.
1x Right rear door window trim - The left side vertical rubber - see pic below
1x Right front corner lamp - if we can get new ones I will replace both
1x Steering Column covers

Also , nice to have will be a new Grill.
Toyota Surf
Toyota Surf
Toyota Surf
Toyota Surf
Door rubber
Door rubber
Corner lamp
Corner lamp
Grill
Grill
Right corner lamp

Re: 4x4 Direct Surf Project - Your help needed

Posted: Tue Sep 29, 2015 4:50 pm
by pietpetoors
This is what the windscreen rubbers should look like, this is the one I am looking for.
Our surf
Our surf
old-surf.jpg (36.73 KiB) Viewed 11906 times
The model after ours, the rubber looks more like the IFS Hilux
New surf
New surf

Posted: Tue Sep 29, 2015 11:21 pm
by Mylux
Mmmmmm.......I hope Ali3n has'nt gone and bought a Landy :shock2: :shock2: :shock2: :shock2:

Posted: Wed Sep 30, 2015 6:30 am
by CasKru
Pieter, praat met Ronald Hairbottle.. hy ken daai waens baie goed.

Posted: Wed Sep 30, 2015 6:44 am
by pietpetoors
Dankie Cassie, he vergeet syne was dieselfde model, dalk het hy nog venster rubbers.

Posted: Sun Oct 04, 2015 8:08 pm
by pietpetoors
This weekend we took the Surf's interior apart in order to clean in properly. Also sorted out some wiring, etc.
Binne
Binne
Sitplekke
Sitplekke
Also took the windscreen out since it was cracked. I cleaned it and is busy painting the area where the windscreen fits in order to prevent future rust. There were small areas of rust, it is very little if one consider the age of the vehicle.
Ruit
Ruit
Also sorted some wiring issues on the engine and replaced the covers.
Enjin
Enjin

Posted: Sun Oct 04, 2015 8:48 pm
by Froll
Looking good, waiting to see the finished product. :thumbup: :thumbup:

Posted: Sun Oct 04, 2015 9:55 pm
by Thabogrobler
Praat met onse eie glasman, Thinus. Hy moet mos antwoorde op sulke moeilike vrae he!

Posted: Mon Oct 05, 2015 1:10 pm
by Haboob
Looks very nice Pieter...

Posted: Mon Oct 05, 2015 7:26 pm
by Baasvark
Pieter I'm more than willing to drive it around for you once it's done!

Just deliver it with a sizeable petrol card pls!
:) :) :)

Posted: Thu Oct 08, 2015 11:33 pm
by Hilux 1
Baasvark wrote:Pieter I'm more than willing to drive it around for you once it's done!

Just deliver it with a sizeable petrol card pls!
:) :) :)
Me tooooooo

Posted: Fri Oct 09, 2015 6:48 am
by MOFASA
Mylux wrote:Mmmmmm.......I hope Ali3n has'nt gone and bought a Landy :shock2: :shock2: :shock2: :shock2:
Is that Ali3n's old surf :?: :?:
It looks familiar :shh:

Posted: Fri Oct 09, 2015 7:17 am
by george
Indeed it is. :thumbup:

Posted: Fri Oct 09, 2015 8:18 am
by MOFASA
george wrote:
Indeed it is. :thumbup:
Whats he driving now... only his wifes jeep :?:

Posted: Fri Oct 16, 2015 2:42 pm
by pietpetoors
This thing is addictive :shock2:

Could not drive it for a week because I was promised the windscreen a week ago, so I took the old windscreen out and fixed and painted the window frame. The the windscreen arrived a week late.

BUT, the new windscreen is in, police clearance has been done, micro dots added.

Now I am waiting for my corner lamps to arrive.

In the mean time I will be sorting out the handbrake and then it is ready to go for roadworthy.

Posted: Fri Oct 16, 2015 2:54 pm
by george
Time that I come back.Next week I will cure you of your addictiveness...

Rather go and gooi some fish bait on the braai

Posted: Fri Oct 16, 2015 2:56 pm
by Thunder02
george wrote:Time that I come back.Next week I will cure you of your addictiveness...

Rather go and gooi some fish bait on the braai
:laugh2: :laugh2: :laugh2:

Posted: Fri Oct 16, 2015 2:58 pm
by CasKru
Pics or it did not happen

:ttwwp:

Posted: Fri Oct 16, 2015 3:07 pm
by pietpetoors
Windscreen been put in.
Surf ruit insit
In another post I mentioned that I decided to use the snorkel to force cool air into the engine compartment.
I also took the rubber which is between the firewall and bonnet, just below the wipers, I took that out so air can escape at the top of the bonnet.

This works like a charm. Just came back from Vredenburg and after I stopped I immediately opened the bonnet, it was cool inside. Could feel it is much cooler on the snorkel side, but the driver side of the engine was not nearly as hot as it normally is.

I think I must get myself a multi meter that can measure temperature, would be interesting to see.
Snorkel gebruik as vent

Posted: Tue Oct 20, 2015 3:45 pm
by pietpetoors
Where is the cold start sensor of the 1UZ?

When I start the engine when cold it smokes black smoke and you smell petrol.

Fuel consumption at the moment is 5 km/l , it is the same whether we drove it with passion or like old toppies (2 separate tanks)

Posted: Tue Oct 20, 2015 4:50 pm
by Thunder02
pietpetoors wrote:Where is the cold start sensor of the 1UZ?

When I start the engine when cold it smokes black smoke and you smell petrol.

Fuel consumption at the moment is 5 km/l , it is the same whether we drove it with passion or like old toppies (2 separate tanks)
Pieter, you may not complain, Laangebaan is small :laugh2:

Posted: Tue Oct 20, 2015 5:55 pm
by pietpetoors
And Cape Town is far :D:

Posted: Tue Oct 20, 2015 9:19 pm
by Thunder02
pietpetoors wrote:
Well it makes the 2.7's fuel consumption look great.

Posted: Thu Dec 31, 2015 6:18 pm
by pietpetoors
We managed to get the Surf to pass roadworthy and it is now registered.

The rear disc break conversion we bought it with was a nightmare. Handbrake just do not work.

This week we installed a new aluminium aluminium KZTE radiator and also an external oil cooler for the gearbox.
I could not test it yet as the thermostat housing is cracked and I am trying to find a new one.

Removing the old one
Surf Radiator
Fitting the new one
Toyota Surf Radiator
KZ Radiator just a little bit wider than the Surf's.
Here you can see where the original radiator holes sit compared to the Surf's. I used the existing holes in the Surf and drilled new holes in the radiator housing.
Toyota Surf Radiator
Fitting the oil cooler, which I later moved down.
Toyota Surf Radiator
Final Product
Toyota Surf Radiator

Posted: Thu Dec 31, 2015 6:29 pm
by The Legend
Looks very good Pieter.Job well done

Posted: Thu Jan 07, 2016 12:16 pm
by Thunder02
She is looking great Pieter :thumbup:

4x4 Direct Surf Project

Posted: Thu Jan 07, 2016 8:28 pm
by larry007
pietpetoors wrote:
Don't fret, I get 5-5,5 in town as well, whilst on the open road 8,6 unladen, and 6,6 fully laden with off-road trailer in tow, both @ 100-105.

What ECU do you run?

Also, for better cooling, consider 20mm spacers on the bonnet hinges, it sommer also add some attitude...

Re: 4x4 Direct Surf Project

Posted: Fri Jan 08, 2016 12:05 pm
by pietpetoors
We run a original Lexus system.

Been to the spray painter now............ he have not even started yet :frustrated:

Posted: Sat Jan 09, 2016 9:37 am
by Mud Dog
I've always liked the look of the Surf. Lekker project, looking forward to seeing the finished job. :thumbup:

Posted: Sat Apr 15, 2017 11:32 pm
by Firstoneman
pietpetoors wrote: Fri Jan 08, 2016 12:05 pm We run a original Lexus system.

Been to the spray painter now............ he have not even started yet :frustrated:
Wonder if you would post some pics now that's it's one year on? Would much like to see how the Surf looks with everything done.
Thanks in advance.

Posted: Sun Apr 16, 2017 8:52 am
by george
Firstoneman wrote: Sat Apr 15, 2017 11:32 pm
pietpetoors wrote: Fri Jan 08, 2016 12:05 pm We run a original Lexus system.

Wonder if you would post some pics now that's it's one year on? Would much like to see how the Surf looks with everything done.
Thanks in advance.
Hi Dave.
Unfortunatly it was sold.

Posted: Sun Apr 16, 2017 5:21 pm
by pietpetoors
This is what she looked like when we sold her:

Posted: Mon Apr 17, 2017 12:10 am
by Firstoneman
pietpetoors wrote: Sun Apr 16, 2017 5:21 pm This is what she looked like when we sold her:
Thank you for taking the time to answer even though gone from your stable.
One thing I noticed, the snorkel was on the passenger side, in the engine pic the breather was on the driver side. Was the snorkel leftover from before the Lexus engine upgrade? Just a curiosity.
Thanks much again for posting.

Cheers!

Posted: Mon Apr 17, 2017 7:08 am
by Mud Dog
One thing I noticed, the snorkel was on the passenger side, in the engine pic the breather was on the driver side. Was the snorkel leftover from before the Lexus engine upgrade? Just a curiosity.
This may well have been the case (George or Pieter can elaborate), however, with the 1UZ it's easy to swing the top cover around trough 180° and switch the intake to the passenger side (LHS). :winkx:

Posted: Mon Apr 17, 2017 7:45 am
by pietpetoors
It was a leftover from before the lexus was fitted. But because we read so many stories of very high underhood temperatures when fitting a lexus we fitted a pipe to the snorkel so that it can blow cool air into the compartment when driving. Although it was not fitted to the air intake, it did serve a purpose

Posted: Mon Apr 17, 2017 8:21 pm
by Donkey
Mud Dog wrote: Sat Jan 09, 2016 9:37 am I've always liked the look of the Surf. Lekker project, looking forward to seeing the finished job. :thumbup:
Boys need toys to play, I like!

Posted: Tue Apr 18, 2017 2:27 am
by Firstoneman
pietpetoors wrote: Mon Apr 17, 2017 7:45 am It was a leftover from before the lexus was fitted. But because we read so many stories of very high underhood temperatures when fitting a lexus we fitted a pipe to the snorkel so that it can blow cool air into the compartment when driving. Although it was not fitted to the air intake, it did serve a purpose
Sorta like a RAM air fitment. Extra fresh air in the engine compartment is always good!!

Thank you.