1981 Hilux needs engine please help

Discuss modifications on your 1979 to late 1998 SFA 4x4 Hilux here.
Vrystaat
Vehicle: 89 SFA 4x4, D4D 3l DC 4x4

1981 Hilux needs engine please help

Post by Vrystaat »

Hi All,

I have a 1981 Hilux and the engine is after +- 490 000km dun and dusted (18R original)
Please advise what will be a good replacement and where to buy.

I am thinking of a 3y or 4y Toyota (original) and not the nock-off copy's thats been imported.

Please help

Re: 1981 Hilux needs engine plese help

Lexus V8! :twisted:
1988 Hilex D/C 4x4 (Import spec), Lexus V8; Marlin Crawler; Custom Suspension: front and new 4 link in the rear; Disc Brake conversion rear; 35" Cooper STT tyres; Xenon lights; Custom bullbar;Next? Aircon; new front seats, redo the whole interior in nice soft leather, Respray, Double Lockers
Vehicle: '90 SFA Hilux DC 4X4, Full OME, 110mm lift. Brospeed branch, 50mm ss freeflow exhaust. 30 x 9.5 Discoverer S/T's on Viper mags. L/R tank. (AWOL) '98 LTD 2.4 SFA, dual battery system. Dobinson suspension, LR tanks, 31" BF mud's.

Send that info to TSA ... maybe they could use it for advertising and sort something out for you in return! :D:

I somehow doubt that they would though .... too many old Luxes reach that kind of mileage. The 4Y would be a nice option if you could get one in decent nick, but even there you'd be taking a chance since you would have no previous history. With a bit of luck, someone here on the forum that's done a motor conversion purely for more power, has a decent one lying around. :think:

Sorry, I donated my 4y last year to one of Blom's charity cases... :mrgreen:
1988 Hilex D/C 4x4 (Import spec), Lexus V8; Marlin Crawler; Custom Suspension: front and new 4 link in the rear; Disc Brake conversion rear; 35" Cooper STT tyres; Xenon lights; Custom bullbar;Next? Aircon; new front seats, redo the whole interior in nice soft leather, Respray, Double Lockers

Vrystaat wrote:Hi All,

I have a 1981 Hilux and the engine is after +- 490 000km dun and dusted (18R original)

I am thinking of a 3y or 4y Toyota (original) and not the nock-off copy's thats been imported.

Please help

Welkom Mnr. Vrystaat

from just one of the many "Knock-off copy...., that's been imported" 4Y Motor owners on the Forum, nice start dude :x

Firstly, I'm not sure that the 3Y/4Y will fit your existing setup - are the bell-housings the same?

Secondly, I think your only choice would be a Chinese variant, I doubt very much you would ever find a new 4Y at Toyota any more.

Spartan
Town: Vanderbijlpark
Vehicle: 98 LTD Hilux 4x4 SFA, 2JZ GE L6 VVT-i 3.0i, Bilstein shox, OME and a Land Cruiser 79 series

Post by Spartan »

Jou naam is vrystaat en jy bly in Bull country wat is fout :twisted: :twisted: :?:
Ek mag dalk n engine binnekort beskikbaar hê wat nog baie min kilos op het en original is, ek gaan maar n lang 6 in die stallion sit aangesien Eric die bakkie gekoop het waarin ek die 6 wou insit :twisted: :twisted: :shock: jy moet die pensioners van vandag maar goed dophou :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :lol: :lol: grappie oom Eric
MOBILITATE VINCERE
Spartan
ImageImageImageImageImageImageImage
Spartan
Vehicle: 98 LTD Hilux 4x4 SFA, 2JZ GE L6 VVT-i 3.0i, Bilstein shox, OME and a Land Cruiser 79 series

Post by Spartan »

Dadz Toy BFI wrote:Welkom Mnr. Vrystaat

from just one of the many "Knock-off copy...., that's been imported" 4Y Motor owners on the Forum, nice start dude
Chill China :twisted: :lol: Gee die ou n gap hy is nuut :thumbup:
MOBILITATE VINCERE
Spartan
Vehicle: '90 SFA Hilux DC 4X4, Full OME, 110mm lift. Brospeed branch, 50mm ss freeflow exhaust. 30 x 9.5 Discoverer S/T's on Viper mags. L/R tank. (AWOL) '98 LTD 2.4 SFA, dual battery system. Dobinson suspension, LR tanks, 31" BF mud's.

Welcome Coenie! :thumbup:

You're going to battle to find a 4Y in decent nick, unless someone that's done a motor conversion purely for more power still has the old 4Y lying about. Chances are however that if you get one, you will end up doing a complete re-build anyway. That'll cost you a pretty penny (around 12k I believe) on top of the motor purchase. Then you might find that it's not just a straight bolt on conversion ... so there might be further costs like bell housing / adapter plate / engine mounts and radiator. Then it would make sense to rather spend that kind of money on a more powerful motor like the 3RZ (4cyl) .... 7MGE (straight six) ..... 1JZ / 2JZ (straight six) or Lexus V8. Either way it's not going to be cheap unless you go for the Chinese 4Y .... a number of guys have fitted them, and most are satisfied with them thusfar, but IMHO you're not going to get much more than 150k out of it, even if you look after it well. :wink:

P.S. Since this thread was merged with the other similar one, some points made here might have been made already.

There's two posts for this, I will merge them.

Spartan

Post by Spartan »

Lekker :thumbup:
MOBILITATE VINCERE
Spartan
Spartan

Re: 1981 Hilux needs engine please help

Post by Spartan »

Family_Dog wrote:are the bell-housings the same?
As ek my engine gaan smous sal ek n bellhousing ook beskikbaar hê :twisted:
MOBILITATE VINCERE
Spartan

Rather fit a 2Y... so much more power!

Mr_B wrote:Rather fit a 2Y... so much more power!
:shock: you been overindulging in the 'honey' again, Bretton?!

Yes in fact I just about ready for a second 'honey' on the rocks!

Actually this honey tastes an aweful lot like Coke Zero!

Mr_B wrote:Yes in fact I just about ready for a second 'honey' on the rocks!
Thought as much ...... the 2y is surprisingly gutsy for an 1800cc, but doesn't match the 4Y's power ... I'll assume you were being sarcky. :D:

Mud Dog wrote:
Mr_B wrote:Yes in fact I just about ready for a second 'honey' on the rocks!
Thought as much ...... the 2y is surprisingly gutsy for an 1800cc, but doesn't match the 4Y's power ... I'll assume you were being sarcky. :D:
NEVER... ME... NEVER... fit a 2Y or Lexus V8... nothing else will do!
Vrystaat

Post by Vrystaat »

Hi Guys,

Sorry about the knock-off.... It is just that it is 50/50 on the comments some are very good and others is very bad.
My "advisor" said look at a taxi they are all doing 250 000 + with those engines (local) and they abuse them so think of the milage you will get.

Ja ek is 'n gebore Vrystater van die plaas, maar ondersteun die Bulle van KLEINS My bloed is blou en engine Toyota :D

On the 4y engines it seems in Pta there could be a supplier that have as he claims it "local manufactured new engines" for R10 500 I will check this out today.

The 4Y bell housing won't fit on the 4spd box, the mounts on the chassis doesn't fit and the radiator outlets are wrong.

A 21R (2.0)or 22R (2.4)will slot straight in, even the mounts fit.

A secondhand Toyota motor is better value for money than a new Chinese / Korean motor.

You can even buy a Chinese / Korean 22R (2.4) these days ;-)

made in taione, keep in cool place

Hoppy wrote:made in taione, keep in cool place
I would tend to be in agreeance with you Allan, but one could argue that there's no cooler place than in a LUX. :D:

Very true! :thumbup:

A secondhand Toyota motor is better value for money than a new Chinese / Korean motor.

This is true, but only in Slaapstad. Now, if Hoppy decided to return back to the ou Transvaal, it would be true here too. Unfortunately, I have no faith in our local engine re-manufacturers who all seem to use cheap Chinese parts anyway. So, I would rather go with a new Ching-Chong engine from the start, at least everything it is new.

But, if Oom Hopalong ever decided to move back to up here where it's all happening, I would quickly revise my views.

Oom Hoppy, hitch your wagon and take pity on us Northerners.

But there must be someone up here who has a good experience with local engine rebuilders. Let's hear about it in the "Good Service" thread.

Family_Dog wrote:Oom Hoppy, hitch your wagon and take pity on us Northerners
Never gonna happen.. me old mate is a Capey now even if he wears a BB jersey from time to time... :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

Well, unfortunately there is nothing that will help those engines, not even when new... They were made like that... :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

Briggs and Stratton manufacture engines that has similar power output, but they use them in lawnmowers... Maybe try one of those...

:twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

DOELLOOS wrote:

Well, unfortunately there is nothing that will help those engines, not even when new... They were made like that... :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

Briggs and Stratton manufacture engines that has similar power output, but they use them in lawnmowers... Maybe try one of those...

:twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:
Briggs and Stratton have the saam mounting and bell housing incompatabilities. :twisted:
Cruza
Town: Gympie
Vehicle: 89 4Runner

Post by Cruza »

Gday,
Fully refurbished R.JPG
i have had the same issues my 89 4Runners used by date came and went. The choices here in Australia where, china import with alt and bits $1400 aud, 3.3 lt v6 holden $1800 upward or $3200 fully rebuilt 4y (mine genuine toyota)
that came with 1st oversize pistons,
shaved head and block + painted
new rods, valve springs + hyd lifters +3face valve cut
stage 2 cam, new hv oil pump
new water pump, all new timing gear
new clutch and pressure plate
my old engine puts out 200psi per pot i could not be happier. She's new and sharp and still genuine and good for another 450,000 if i look after her and no compatability issues (gearbox and or electrical) so i can go to sleep at night and my girl will get me to where ever i want to go RELIABLY,cheers. My advice do your HOME WORK and KNOW WHAT YOU WANT and STICK TO YOUR PLAN :angel:
A new engine.JPG
New 1.JPG
New.JPG
http://brianlawson59.blogspot.com.au/p/ ... rsion.html" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
Rowan
Town: Molteno
Vehicle: 1979 toyota Hilux 4x4

Post by Rowan »

Hi there guys, Im new on the forum and am in the process of doing up an old 79 hilux stout, My dad bought it new in 1979, at the time i was only three years old. We all grew up in it and the bakkie has been in the family ever since. It has been a real legend, and as far as I know was one of the original three stout 4x4's to be imported into SA. It worked hard on the family farm in the Sterkstroom district for most of its life until I removed its original 18R engine in 2004 with a wopping +/-1250 000km on the clock. Sadly I had one of our local mechanics do a very bad 3c conversion on it in 2004 which lasted about a year before the motor went. The latter mechanic has also gone and lost the original old engine.

Anyway enough woffeling on, but I am in the process of doing a full restoration and am also wondering what engine to use, either the 4y or the 22R, can anyone advise which will fit best and what bellhousings etc will fit the original 4speed box

Rowan
TOKKELOS 1
Town: krugersdorp
Vehicle: TOYOTA

Post by TOKKELOS 1 »

:tease: 4Y!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :tease:
ImageImageImageImagehoekom?WANT EK KAN!!!

B-CON 4X4 Accessories - Bumpers, snorkels, rock sliders
Tel: 0734378215 or www.bcon4x4.co.za

I'm not so sure the 4Y fits the 4-speed gearbox bell-housing, I seem to remember there is a difference. Is your Stout column shift?

4Y... simple design, very reliable and lots of parts available...
Rowan
Town: Molteno
Vehicle: 1979 toyota Hilux 4x4

Post by Rowan »

Hi there
Im also new on the forum, and also needing an engine for a 79 hilux 4x4, was also thinking of putting in a 4y motor, has anyone done this before? I still have the old 4speed box and am wondering weather there is a bellhousing I can use to match the 4y to the old box??

can anyone help??

Rowan
harerama
Town: Estcourt
Vehicle: Toyopet Stout 1900

Post by harerama »

Rowan wrote:Hi there guys, Im new on the forum and am in the process of doing up an old 79 hilux stout, My dad bought it new in 1979, at the time i was only three years old. We all grew up in it and the bakkie has been in the family ever since. It has been a real legend, and as far as I know was one of the original three stout 4x4's to be imported into SA. It worked hard on the family farm in the Sterkstroom district for most of its life until I removed its original 18R engine in 2004 with a wopping +/-1250 000km on the clock. Sadly I had one of our local mechanics do a very bad 3c conversion on it in 2004 which lasted about a year before the motor went. The latter mechanic has also gone and lost the original old engine.

Anyway enough woffeling on, but I am in the process of doing a full restoration and am also wondering what engine to use, either the 4y or the 22R, can anyone advise which will fit best and what bellhousings etc will fit the original 4speed box

Rowan
Hi Rowan!

Its wonderful to see you so passionate about your dad's old bakkie.

I am in a similar situation. I have my dad's 1964 Stout. He had it from new and I grew up in it! I wish to restore it to original condition. I had a panel beater re-spraying it in 1990 but he messed it up. Its a running vehicle but has stood for the past 8 and half years.

I also recently bought a 1974 Stout bakkie for a restoration project. Drove it down to KZN from Jhb. Unfortunately, yesterday I noticed the oil on the dip stick getting whitish. The engine is also not starting anymore.
Vrystaat

Post by Vrystaat »

Daar is n bellhousing wat net n bolt on is op die 4y en ou 4 spoed ratkas.

Ek het vir my die 4y enjin ingesit met nog die oorspronklike 4 spoed ratkas. Alles het gewerk nou begin ek ratte verloor (wil nie in ratte gaan) Ons vermoed die ou wat die ratkas gedoen het, het nie die regte bellhousing gebruik nie.

Sal Saterdag antwoorde he.....
Willied
Town: Witbank
Vehicle: '90 Hilux

Post by Willied »

Coenie, ek het onlangs 'n 1UZ laat inbou met automaties.. Het nog die 5spd met bellhousing as jy sou belangstel.
Denville myburgh
Town: Port elizabeth
Vehicle: landcruiser fj40

Post by Denville myburgh »

Hello hilux broers,ek het n 4 spoed 4x4 box met bellhousing as jy belangstel :d

Return to “1979 to early 1998 Hilux (Gen 3&4 aka SFA 4x4)”