4y or Ford 3.0l v6

Discuss modifications on your 1979 to late 1998 SFA 4x4 Hilux here.
Rider
Town: Richards Bay
Vehicle: 1987 Toyota Hilux 4x4 d/c 40mm body lift, KZ-TE Diff with Diff lock, Snorkel, 31" AT tyres , Powered by FORD 3.0 V6 uprated.

4y or Ford 3.0l v6

Post by Rider »

Hi guys
My 4y is doing under 20 000km after a complete overhaul :thumbup: .
I cannot afford the petrol consumption :thumbdown: , what makes it worse its damn underpowered for road and daily driving :thumbdown: :thumbdown:
I want to put a Ford 3.0l v6 and get rid of the 4y. What can I sell my 4y for or is it possible to swop it for a 3.0l v6 :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :think: :blushing: thankz
PROUD OWNER OF A TOYOTA HILUX AKA AMA-HIPZ

Re: 4y or Ford 3.0l v6

Luke, you've been talking to your mate Frank too much! ;)

Rather leave the 4Y and start collecting bits & pieces for an EFI conversion!!

519franco
Town: Richards bay
Vehicle: 87 Hilux 3L v6 Ford

Post by 519franco »

realy luke
THIS

OFFER
THIS

And the amount of money for a efi and computer you could get a 3l v6 Plus more. remeber the tune you want.....
all i goto say
HAPPILY BUILD 3L V6 1987 TOYOTA HILUX
viewtopic.php?f=136&t=18393" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
FORD> Full Off Road Damnation
FORD> Its not oil leaks,, its swearing power
Sponser: MY DAD
Builder: ME: FRANCO DU PLESSIS
KZNSFA4Y
Town: Hilton
Vehicle: 92 Hilux D/C 2.2 4x4

Post by KZNSFA4Y »

You guys make me laugh.
Jaco Versfeld
Town: Western Cape
Vehicle: Moms Taxi, 2001 Prado (The Barbie Cruiser)) Sold - Mufasa: '86 Hilux DC 4Y EFI
Club VHF Licence: X69

Post by Jaco Versfeld »

What fuel consumption can one expect with the Ford engine?

Luke, what is your consumption on the 4y?
519franco wrote:realy luke
THIS

OFFER
THIS

And the amount of money for a efi and computer you could get a 3l v6 Plus more. remeber the tune you want.....
all i goto say
519franco

Post by 519franco »

KZNSFA4Y wrote:You guys make me laugh.
WHY :aggresive: lol
519franco

Post by 519franco »

What fuel consumption can one expect with the Ford engine?

Luke, what is your consumption on the 4y?
havent check realy but i expect between 7 to 9 km to L that what i calculate more or less and my father had this conversion before and he had 8/9km/L.
i cnt afford to fill my tank and my fuel gauge is after market so if you breake it it moves towords fill and if you pull away it goes emty
Last edited by 519franco on Sat Nov 19, 2011 12:19 am, edited 1 time in total.
519franco

Post by 519franco »

Family_Dog wrote:Luke, you've been talking to your mate Frank too much! ;)

Rather leave the 4Y and start collecting bits & pieces for an EFI conversion!!

HAHA OOM Eric yea theese or lukes options but he wont go EFI until we got to see one and feel how it drives so if anyone in Richards bay got one let luke take a spin so he know how it prefomes and then he can choose a gift from above or a 4y EFI..

but yea how much can he get for his 4y
Rider
Vehicle: 1987 Toyota Hilux 4x4 d/c 40mm body lift, KZ-TE Diff with Diff lock, Snorkel, 31" AT tyres , Powered by FORD 3.0 V6 uprated.

Post by Rider »

in town driving like a gentlemen i get 4.5km-5km and long distance about 7.2km

Efi yesterday long road 9.3km/lt driving average speed 110km/h distance 579km on 62lt. And Eric that was to almost near you, sorry was too late so say Hello. And please note, 110km/h is average, and in 5th gear.

But remember, the engine choice is yours, it is what you want to do with it.
Rider

Post by Rider »

4x4megaworldpta wrote:Efi yesterday long road 9.3km/lt driving average speed 110km/h distance 579km on 62lt. And Eric that was to almost near you, sorry was too late so say Hello. And please note, 110km/h is average, and in 5th gear.

But remember, the engine choice is yours, it is what you want to do with it.
out of a 4y? :wth: :silent: Yoh! :o:

Yip, 84hp on the rear wheels(31) and 151N.m. Not bad for a 4Y Efi.

Ja and I know Franco will say his is 3 times as much :shh: ....
Rebel 4x4
Vehicle: 2020 Toyota Fortuner GD-6 4x4 Auto

Post by Rebel 4x4 »

Hope you not gonna pay for that Ford engine!
Sent from my iPhone
519franco

Post by 519franco »

Ja and I know Franco will say his is 3 times as much ....
yip but like you sed its his choice if he wants to brag you cnt do it with a 4y

but ya that is good what size tyres you have

Both Coenie King Rat and myself ran Ford 3.0 V6's in our hiluxes, and we both got good fuel consumption. I got 9km/l on the open road at 110 on 33" tyres easy. Coenie used to get 10km/l.

Do yourself a favour.. balance that V6, it makes a HUGE difference. The motor runs smoother, and it can take more revs. :thumbup: :thumbup:

The V6 give heaps of low down torque, and in an SFA Hilux it is a lot of fun. :clap:

519franco

Post by 519franco »

ThysdJ wrote:Both Coenie King Rat and myself ran Ford 3.0 V6's in our hiluxes, and we both got good fuel consumption. I got 9km/l on the open road at 110 on 33" tyres easy. Coenie used to get 10km/l.

Do yourself a favour.. balance that V6, it makes a HUGE difference. The motor runs smoother, and it can take more revs. :thumbup: :thumbup:

The V6 give heaps of low down torque, and in an SFA Hilux it is a lot of fun. :clap:
how much more or less is it to balance the motor
Rider

Post by Rider »

ThysdJ wrote:Both Coenie King Rat and myself ran Ford 3.0 V6's in our hiluxes, and we both got good fuel consumption. I got 9km/l on the open road at 110 on 33" tyres easy. Coenie used to get 10km/l.

now this is what i want !!a sweet tone with some power at that fuel consumption. :beg: :beg:
Rider

Post by Rider »

I've contacted Japan auto yesterday and he said to me that they don't sell the Ford 3.0l v6 uprated anymore. Its hard to get it. Makes you think, putting something in your vehicle and if it so happens break, parts gonna be scarce.... :thumbdown: :thumbdown: :thumbdown: I'll love to have that engine :evil: :evil: but 4Y :arrow: parts are easy to get. :thumbup: So I rather listen to Oom Eric and collect bits and pieces for the EFi conversion. :beach: :blushing:
Rebel 4x4
Vehicle: 2020 Toyota Fortuner GD-6 4x4 Auto

Post by Rebel 4x4 »

And if you fit that Ford, the resale value on your hilux halves...
Sent from my iPhone
519franco

Post by 519franco »

Rider wrote:I've contacted Japan auto yesterday and he said to me that they don't sell the Ford 3.0l v6 uprated anymore. Its hard to get it. Makes you think, putting something in your vehicle and if it so happens break, parts gonna be scarce.... :thumbdown: :thumbdown: :thumbdown: I'll love to have that engine :evil: :evil: but 4Y :arrow: parts are easy to get. :thumbup: So I rather listen to Oom Eric and collect bits and pieces for the EFi conversion. :beach: :blushing:
parts ant hard to get just the block
Vehicle: '90 SFA Hilux DC 4X4, Full OME, 110mm lift. Brospeed branch, 50mm ss freeflow exhaust. 30 x 9.5 Discoverer S/T's on Viper mags. L/R tank. (AWOL) '98 LTD 2.4 SFA, dual battery system. Dobinson suspension, LR tanks, 31" BF mud's.

Rider wrote:I've contacted Japan auto yesterday and he said to me that they don't sell the Ford 3.0l v6 uprated anymore. Its hard to get it. Makes you think, putting something in your vehicle and if it so happens break, parts gonna be scarce.... :thumbdown: :thumbdown: :thumbdown: I'll love to have that engine :evil: :evil: but 4Y :arrow: parts are easy to get. :thumbup: So I rather listen to Oom Eric and collect bits and pieces for the EFi conversion. :beach: :blushing:
Agreed! ;-)

Rebel 4x4 wrote:And if you fit that Ford, the resale value on your hilux halves...
That it does. Keep it original, the 4Y EFI will give you plenty of grunt down at the coast.

KZNSFA4Y
Town: Hilton
Vehicle: 92 Hilux D/C 2.2 4x4

Post by KZNSFA4Y »

519franco wrote:
KZNSFA4Y wrote:You guys make me laugh.
WHY :aggresive: lol
Rider wrote:Hi guys
My 4y is doing under 20 000km after a complete overhaul :thumbup: .
I cannot afford the petrol consumption :thumbdown: , what makes it worse its damn underpowered for road and daily driving :thumbdown: :thumbdown:
I want to put a Ford 3.0l v6 and get rid of the 4y. What can I sell my 4y for or is it possible to swop it for a 3.0l v6 :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :think: :blushing: thankz
I thought that the 3.0V6 would use a lot more fuel than the V6 but it would seem it doesn't. :blackeye:

I think when my 4y gives up the ghost I will fit a Mazda/Ford 2.5TD.
Rider

Post by Rider »

Franco or this!! :cool: :thumbup: :beach: :boss: :cooldude: :lmao: :taunt: :dance1:
4yfi (600 x 450).jpg
Scott
Vehicle: Hilux SFA

Re: 4y or Ford 3.0l v6without a air flow

Post by Scott »

One of my mates is a partner at D1 imports and he is importing Lexus V8 motors complete with harness and computor box,one was for my hilux but I never got round to it and he sold it to a Hilux owner in Cape Town and he is getting 9 to a litter without a air flow meter.I will ask Dawie for the guys details maybee he can post something.
519franco

Post by 519franco »

Rider wrote:Franco or this!! :cool: :thumbup: :beach: :boss: :cooldude: :lmao: :taunt: :dance1:
haha still mine that just looks like my starter but not as strong

Hi Thys.What is the complete cost more or less to do a proper conversion.You always say it is whatever someone quote you +50% or something.
coz it can
Town: Durban
Vehicle: Hilux 2200

Post by coz it can »

Lue your consumption is bad dude,I am now getting 7.5km to the L in town and 9.5 km to the L :beach: on the open road doing 110-120km,and she is standard,y not go 7mge,keep the toyota hearts in the toyota bodie.
Remember a baboons heart works in a human body :shock: ,but it aint the same as a human heart :D: :lmao: ...lol
Rider

Post by Rider »

coz it can wrote:Lue your consumption is bad dude,I am now getting 7.5km to the L in town and 9.5 km to the L :beach: on the open road doing 110-120km,and she is standard,y not go 7mge,keep the toyota hearts in the toyota bodie.
Remember a baboons heart works in a human body :shock: ,but it aint the same as a human heart :D: :lmao: ...lol
Yeah Its terrible bru. :thumbdown: How the hell you getting that consumption :wth: Nah gonna keep the poor old 4Y and EFi it in time! :thumbup:
Andre du preez
Town: somerset west
Vehicle: hilux 2.2

Post by Andre du preez »

4y.......... :thumbup:
Rider

Re: 4y or Ford 3.0l v6without a air flow

Post by Rider »

Scott wrote:One of my mates is a partner at D1 imports and he is importing Lexus V8 motors complete with harness and computor box,one was for my hilux but I never got round to it and he sold it to a Hilux owner in Cape Town and he is getting 9 to a litter without a air flow meter.I will ask Dawie for the guys details maybee he can post something.
Can he get efi parts?
Schalk396
Town: Paarl
Vehicle: 2000 Toyota Hilux 2.7 4x4
Club VHF Licence: scalla

Post by Schalk396 »

I've got a 3.4l Ford V6 in my Lux. Lots of power - 99.6KW at 4500 with 260nm torque. :clap:

The fuel consumption is around 7km/l. :cool: But if you want the power, you got it right there! :thumbup:
Be all you can be!

The problem with the Ford V6 is not fuel comsumption or power, but rather the erratic delivery of said power! Many many many Toyota/Ford V6 owner's have experienced broken drive-train components(gearboxes, diffs, driveshafts etc.), not because it's too powerful, but rather of the abrupt power delivery... of course no present Ford V6 owner will ever admit to this, yes I hear the Ford okes getting annoyed already!

In terms of power, the V6 is not that fantastic, I got 93KW(200nm) out of my 4Y, without doing totally ridiculous reliability killing mods! I'll post the dyno chart if you like! The power curve is silky smooth, throttle is very responsive and light! Even with 33" tyres and a high body line, Bolt managed at best 8km/l loaded! No more stalling on steep inclines and declines! And it's all Toyota(+ a little local Dicktator)! And don't forget the EFi management systems are easily tuneable, allowing you to tweak things to your driving style!

So really it's obviously, a mini cost vs. benefits will show the 4Y 2.2 EFi a much better option!
Rider

Post by Rider »

Mr_B wrote:The problem with the Ford V6 is not fuel comsumption or power, but rather the erratic delivery of said power! Many many many Toyota/Ford V6 owner's have experienced broken drive-train components(gearboxes, diffs, driveshafts etc.), not because it's too powerful, but rather of the abrupt power delivery... of course no present Ford V6 owner will ever admit to this, yes I hear the Ford okes getting annoyed already!

In terms of power, the V6 is not that fantastic, I got 93KW(200nm) out of my 4Y, without doing totally ridiculous reliability killing mods! I'll post the dyno chart if you like! The power curve is silky smooth, throttle is very responsive and light! Even with 33" tyres and a high body line, Bolt managed at best 8km/l loaded! No more stalling on steep inclines and declines! And it's all Toyota(+ a little local Dicktator)! And don't forget the EFi management systems are easily tuneable, allowing you to tweak things to your driving style!

So really it's obviously, a mini cost vs. benefits will show the 4Y 2.2 EFi a much better option!
yoh! :silent: thats a lot of power from a donkey :mrgreen: yes plz!!! :clap: i want to see the dyno chart thanks :beg:

Here you go...
DynoTech2.pdf
(149.91 KiB) Downloaded 202 times
kfxnando
Town: Germiston
Vehicle: Ford V6 3.4 Courrier soon to be powered by Yamaha!! Jeep GC 4.7 V8, Aygo broken traded for a Kia Picanto.2ex, 2012 Jeep GC 5.7 V8 Ovrrland

Post by kfxnando »

on the fuel consumption issue

and self have V6 and V8

from what I read on here often, my V6 is lighter on fuel the the 4cyl (and its lighter then my fathers similar vehicle with a 4cylinder), might not be by much, however if I am going to pay the fuel bill, then might as well have and enjoy the power

2nd, and this came as a huge shock to me
Jeep 4.7 V8

when we bought it, mainly for the towing, thought we are going to *@* with the full bill when we go away
shocker
it was lighter on fuel then the V6

however here is the catch
under normal driving conditions, towing, around 100km/h
the bigger motor is less stressed and as a driver am not always driving WOT to keep speed, and not having to pick up speed to make it up the next uphill, including the danger of towing heavy and the excessive speed to get up the next hill. hence why the improved fuel consumption
when not towing and having fun, the jeep is no shy on the fuel bill

bonus
when towing back from the coast, on the biggest ugliest uphills that I have ever towed, saw the over head display read many times over 50l/100km, it peaked at 99l/100km yep 1km/l :laugh2:
however on average it was lighter then the V6 on fuel

on my Jeep have seen 8.7l/100km light footed on the highway around here

in this case would easily say
Bigger is better

:beach:
http://www.youtube.com/user/kfxnando" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
http://community.webshots.com/user/kfxnando" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
http://s538.photobucket.com/albums/ff343/kfxnando/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
Pung
Vehicle: SFA Hillux

Post by Pung »

Hi guys sorry to interrupt. My 4y also needs to be replaced or overaulled. But i have an old 2.4 diesel engine resting for many years laying in the garage. it must still be assembled. will it be advisable to fit it in place of my 4y. Is there lots of spares available. And how popular is it in all coutries to trip around in africa.
Rider

Post by Rider »

Hey Guys

I just wanna say I've bought a tin of carb cleaner and Fuel Comsuption Improved :-| it actually works.... :-) From 5km/l I'm getting atleast 6-7km/l in town driving!!!!!!!
Rider

Post by Rider »

when I'm reversing or take off, I hear an irritating sqeaky noise...this just started few days ago...I've just topped up my engine oil, both diffs oil and etc what could be the problem...???
Johno
Vehicle: 1992 sfa d/cab

Post by Johno »

Hey Luke
Not sure about the squeeks, :problem: but have you decided about 4y or v6?
I'm keen to go the efi route. Can you fundi's out there advise me on
spares for the job and where I can locate them. :beg:
Thanks for an informative thread :clap:
Regards
Mkhombe
Mkhombe1.jpg
Mkhombe1.jpg (69.88 KiB) Viewed 10585 times
Willied
Town: Witbank
Vehicle: '90 Hilux

Post by Willied »

Johno,

it is actually very easy to get your hands on the required spares to EFI your 4Y.. I did mine on my own and it only took 2 weeks of graft and I am not very mechanically inclined.

MYM Spares: 012 327 2480

EFI Manifold, Throttle body, Fuel rail, injectors.
Ask for the 3YE or 4YE manifold, same parts.

Louis Zanoli - memberlist.php?mode=viewprofile&u=564

EFI manifold components, all the knowledge in the world, fixed distributor and if you feel like it drop your vehicle off and he will do the conversion for you.

Spitronics - http://www.spitronics.co.za/cms/

All your electronic needs.. Sensors, EMU, high pressure pump, fuel pressure regulators, etc.. They also give brilliant support even if you phone and say "It won't start, what did I do wrong."

Then you can go to your local spares shops for rib trunking additional wiring, you will need red, blue, green, yellow, black, brown and I even added some grey.. It is easier to trace any problems later if your wiring matches the EMU manual..

Return to “1979 to early 1998 Hilux (Gen 3&4 aka SFA 4x4)”