Hilux2.4LTD(22Rto22RE)Dyna/Dyno-Before(Carb)&After(EFI)

Discuss modifications on your 1979 to late 1998 SFA 4x4 Hilux here.
theo.greyling
High Range 2WD
High Range 2WD
Town: Boksburg
Vehicle: '98 Hilux LTD

Hilux2.4LTD(22Rto22RE)Dyna/Dyno-Before(Carb)&After(EFI)

Post by theo.greyling »

Hi Guys,

I'm not new to the forum as a member, but new in adding a topic, so please bear with me. :angel:

This is our conversion story (22R to 22RE), with carb (before) Dyna/dyno results and EFI (after), and many more after (extra Dyna) results from different Dyna-tuners.
Our 1998 2.4l LTD Hilux
Our 1998 2.4l LTD Hilux
Hilux2.4LTD_2004.jpg (79.72 KiB) Viewed 9539 times
In 2008 I started research on how to improve fuel efficiency on our 1998 2.4 Hilux LTD (22R). Since I'm no mechanic, and know very little of vehicles, it took me close to 3 years of research before we decided to go with the 22RE (Dicktator) conversion. The main parts (manifold, fuel rail, injectors, air inlet housing with filter etc.) got ordered from USA late 2010, and arrived early 2011. It was extremely expensive to say the least, plus the SA buggers charged us customs and import taxes when the parts arrived on our shores. Anyways, had to bite the bullet and pay the people (can't have them ship the stuff back after I paid US dollars, and waited almost 4 weeks for the parts to arrive). :wth:
Other than getting the main parts, there were so many other little parts (Dictator [ECU], surge tank, fuel pumps and filters, regulator, fittings, sundries etc.) still to source, that we only managed to get going with the actual conversion in Nov 2011. (Got a few parts every month or so.)
The conversion alone took us almost 12 weeks (including December break) before we could get going to the first Dyna/dyno. You can imagine the EXCITEMENT at the time. :razz: :dance1:
So, in 2008 we had our Hilux (22R) Dyna-Tuned for better fuel consumption, and boy, what a difference; 66 to 76 Hp. (I'll add the scans later on...) :clap: