BashPlate

Discuss modifications on your late 1998 to 2005 IFS Hilux here.
frik
Vehicle: KZTE 3.0 4x4

BashPlate

Post by frik »

I have decided to build a Bashplate this weekend . I used 6mm steel and even if I have to say it myself it looks really good. I am looking for a place in Boksburg are that can do sandblasting an powder coating if anybody can help please.

Will post pics as soon as I have done the above
Everything keeps going right Toyota

Re: BashPlate

Is dit nie beter om hom te laat passivated nie?

CasKru wrote:Is dit nie beter om hom te laat passivated nie?
Agreed Cassie, powdercoating wont last, but on the other hand 6mm steel will take a while to rust away.. Veral in Boksburg... :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

Hey frik, once done let me know how much, Also want to one, but too expensive if you buy.
frik

Post by frik »

2.8 d/cab SFA wrote:Hey frik, once done let me know how much, Also want to one, but too expensive if you buy.
John so far it only cost me a few welding rods and cutting disks. I got this plate a long time back from a friend (It was suppose to be a plate for a chinese braai) On Saturday morning I discovered this plate 600mm x 500mm and the lights came on. Myself and my youngest son decided to give it a try.
What I did was actually very simpel I cut the plate 80% through then bend it and tag it. Then the next bend and finally I aligned the plate and drilled new holes through the bumber so basically this bash plate is mounted directly to the chassis.

Then the not so lekker job started I drilled 50mm holes and 32 mm holes and believe me doing this on a 6mm plate is not easy.

Then weld and polish and it fits perfectly and it looks really good.

I listen to what you guys are saying but I prefer black powder coating as the two main colours on the bakkie is black and white.

I found a place will take the plate in this afternoon for sandblasting and powder coating

Cool Frik, now please plak a prenkie for us guys what cant imagine what it looks like... 8 ) :lol: :lol:

2.8 d/cab SFA wrote:Hey frik, once done let me know how much, Also want to one, but too expensive if you buy.
John, on the SFA you dont really need a bashplate for the engine as it is basically protected by the axle itself underneath it. I have found that the standard plate is there more for heat dissapation and to keep the grass out the v-belts than to physically protect the engine and radiator itself as these are mounted up higher and better protected than most IFS vehicle's that need a bash plate to protect steering arms ect.

JohanM wrote:John, on the SFA you dont really need a bashplate for the engine as it is basically protected by the axle itself underneath it. I have found that the standard plate is there more for heat dissapation and to keep the grass out the v-belts than to physically protect the engine and radiator itself as these are mounted up higher and better protected than most IFS vehicle's that need a bash plate to protect steering arms ect.
Agreed Johan, and for an SFA you can make one from light weight alu-tread plate. :twisted: :twisted:

:thumbup: Thanks, makes sense, it has aplastic cover at the bottom, I will just replace with alu plate to bit more sturdy.
Thought of bash plate as Land Rover have that bar in front underneath
frik

Post by frik »

This is how I did it but the photo doesnt do justice to the job.
DSCF8163.gif
Hi-Hilux
Town: Tsumeb
Vehicle: 1991 Hilux2.2 ---1987 Hilux D/C Hella 1000, Rancho RS9000XL shocks, Good Year M/TR, Warn Winch, STK bullbar, Extended shacles, Kenwood VHF-SOLD

Post by Hi-Hilux »

Job well done :clap:
Is gebed jou spaarwiel of jou stuurwiel?
'Life is a coin. You can spend it anyway you wish, but you can only spend it ONCE'

Very neat!!! Well done on that sturdy bash plate!!! :clap:
jontheron
Town: jhb
Vehicle: 95 hilux

Post by jontheron »

now you wont have to worry about breaking your diff when driving over taxi's :twisted: :lol: :twisted:
frik

Post by frik »

jontheron wrote:now you wont have to worry about breaking your diff when driving over taxi's :twisted: :lol: :twisted:
John believe that would give me the pleasure of my life to do that once :D

Thanks for the compliments it surely is stirdy

Frik, was there any scientific thought process in the placement of the holes and number of them as it could possibly prevent airflow and therefore create more heat?

Nice plate. Can you also take a pic sfrom the side so we can see the shape a bit better (if you don't mind) :?:
Piesang
Town: Grabouw
Vehicle: '99 Hilux SRX d/c 4x4

Post by Piesang »

Dit lyk baie goed. :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:
Nice plate. Can you also take a pic sfrom the side so we can see the shape a bit better (if you don't mind)
Jy het nie ook 'n foto van die bumper nie :?:

"Onderwerp julle dan aan God; weerstaan die duiwel, en hy sal van julle wegvlug." Jak 4:7
frik

Post by frik »

Niel wrote:Frik, was there any scientific thought process in the placement of the holes and number of them as it could possibly prevent airflow and therefore create more heat?

Nice plate. Can you also take a pic sfrom the side so we can see the shape a bit better (if you don't mind) :?:
Neil with all this rain its dark when I get home in the afternoons but will take more detailed photos this weekend. No I drilled as many holes 50mm and 32mm as I could fit in without weakning the plate . The reason why I drilled them was to get rid of extra weight and the for airflow spesifically where the radiator sits. I honestly dont think I will have a overheating problem as the airflow is more than sufficient and also with the scoop on the bonnet I believe the required airflow takes place.

It was a very sinmple way to build this its just the weight of the plate that is not easy to handle but the further you go the more steel you cut off and the easier it becomes to work with it.

Anybody needs help ask and I will try my best
Bushwacker
Town: Vryheid Natal
Vehicle: 2003 HILEX, 35" maxxis. 2009 Prado 120 VX

Post by Bushwacker »

Good job Frik, I saw that when I moved my intercooler & made a new bashplate, there is a lot of wasted space above it. Looks like a cool place to mount a airtank...
frik

Post by frik »

Bushwacker wrote:Good job Frik, I saw that when I moved my intercooler & made a new bashplate, there is a lot of wasted space above it. Looks like a cool place to mount a airtank...
Thanks Bushwacker dont give me ideas :D airtank for what use :eh: for a locker or to inflate tyres
Bushwacker
Town: Vryheid Natal
Vehicle: 2003 HILEX, 35" maxxis. 2009 Prado 120 VX

Post by Bushwacker »

U gotit :thumbup:

Return to “Late 1998 to 2005 (Gen 5 aka IFS Hilux)”