Location of 12v Outlets in Canopy

Discuss modifications on your new shape Hilux here. 2005 till current. Also called the Vigo in other countries.
paulkedz

Location of 12v Outlets in Canopy

Post by paulkedz »

Hi all,

Sure this has been done to death before but struggling to find info / installations

Considering dual battery installation for my V6 -

The idea is to run power to the canopy (one each side) butI want to minimise drilling to the bodywork. Is there a way to do this ?

I'd appreciate any pictures of installations done - I'm thinking to install a cigarette lighter type socket and a Brad Harris outlet

Paul

Re: Location of 12v Outlets in Canopy

Hi Paul, welcome to the forum :thumbup:

Maybe a bit more information .....

Are you installing a second battery ?
Where will this be ? A second battery in the bak has many advantages, but it also means another hole to get the cables in to charge this battery ....

Will you be using a dc-dc charge system ? This will allow you to use thinner wires, ie smaller hole.

will you be using solar charging ?

and then to finally get to your question - you could use 2,5 or 4mm2 wire for most applications. For the compressor I would not go smaller than 4mm2.

something else to consider - the back of your power point .... often these result in exposed 12V points :blushing:
paulkedz

Post by paulkedz »

Hi Chris

I'm looking at the Frontrunner dual battery system. They recommend to install the second battery in the engine bay (behind the headlight) and the battery management system there too.

They us a dc-dc charger the display for which will be in the glovebox.

As part of the install they will run power to two sockets - I'm thinking one of each but not sure where to position to minimise drilling etc

Cigarette type socket is not a good contact & can rattle loose very easily, a Brad Harris outlet is much better contact; then I use another type for my electrical points, but the name has slipped my mind (HELP)...

Haboob wrote:Cigarette type socket is not a good contact & can rattle loose very easily, a Brad Harris outlet is much better contact; then I use another type for my electrical points, but the name has slipped my mind (HELP)...
Hella (?)

Hella (?)

Excellent Chris, THANX
paulkedz

Post by paulkedz »

Hi all,

Thanks for the advice - any pointers on the best location for the outlets - I'm keen to avoid too much drilling / exposure to the outside elements

This is what we did with the last project -
DSCN1781.JPG

Put the socket in a small box and just velcro the box where you want it, or a pop rivet ...
paulkedz

Post by paulkedz »

Thanks Chris - Good to see what others have done before cutting and drilling :)

Paul, make sure the outlets are where they are easily accessible from outside.
You must also know what you are going to use them for and where these things will be storedin the canopy.
Make sure that the things that do not like being bounced around are behind the cab and the rest you can put where-ever there is space for them...
Just do your planning right.
paulkedz

Post by paulkedz »

Indeed - Power is for fridge ( when in transit ) and to power 12v Lighting when Camping.

Therefore either corner by the tailgate makes sense as the Lighting cable can be passed out through the tail gate.

I had considered outlets on the underside of the vehicle, but I think these are too exposed to wet and dirt

The Hella plugs have covers. I have one behind the cab/front of canopy & one atthe back of the canopy on the outside for extension cable to the braai fire...

Paul have you read the thread "Project Ranger" ?

may give you some food for thought :)
paulkedz

Post by paulkedz »

That's a whole new level ..................

paulkedz wrote:That's a whole new level ..................

hehehehe ....

now read the thread on "electrickery" ... :lmao: :laugh2:

viewtopic.php?f=14&t=35752&p=427071&hil ... ry#p427071

fact is - this IS a journey !! and we have this habit of continually expanding our systems ...... knowing more of the options DO help us to save money in the long run. :thumbup:

Howzit Paul,just to add to Haboobs advice.Rather spend a little more for a better outlet and have install an extra outlet or two to make allowance for the the ease of having the extra facility .
paulkedz

Post by paulkedz »

I was thinking the same - I doubt I will ever regret having more options than fewer.

I will ask them to install 2 BH Outside ( One towards the front of the load bin, and one towards the rear) in addition to a hella point and a BH point under the canopy
xychix
Town: AMSTERDAM
Vehicle: Hilux KUN25

Post by xychix »

I'll run only 1 battery as I'm not camping in the car itself. On the road I do wan't a fridge in the back

it will be a electrolux GAS/220/12V fridge that will be on gas when we stay longer time. While moving it needs 12V I'm going to run a thick wire from main battery (fused 60A @ engine bay) to the canopy. There I'll try to find (or run a new) wire that is 12v+ on ignition, I'll use that to drive a 40A relay that can power the fridge. Stopping and removing the key wil stop the cooling. During a 1 hour park that won't be a problem, for long stops (overnight) I'll turn on the gas fridge (or run a 220V into the tub)

ChrisF wrote:Paul have you read the thread "Project Ranger" ?

may give you some food for thought :)
Chris help.Ek kry nie daardie link van "Project Ranger" nie.

viewtopic.php?f=41&t=37810&p=450346&hil ... er#p450346" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

lekker lees :)

Thanx Chris

Return to “Late 2005 - 2016 Hilux (Gen 6 aka Vigo-shape)”