Lexus 4.3 VVTI

kaspaas wrote:
RustyRod wrote:Hi guys,

In terms of forum etiquette... it is considered bad form to go off on a tangent on someone elses thread, so if we were to be strict them Damon is right, Rian you should start a seperate thread to discussed your conversions, and leave this one for discussion on Pers Kers' Lexus conversion... we all do it, even I do sometimes...

Dankie... thank you...

mr b
Bretton you made a spelling error. You spelt "especially" like this "even"...
:lol: :lol: :lol: So true... I just can't help myself... I've just hi-jacked Rian's conversion thread before he even got started... :twisted:

mr b
Rian
Vehicle: Ford Courier - Vw Caddy - Isuzu kb250 - Mazda 250td/i - Mercedes Benz C230 Compressor sport

Re: Lexus 4.3 VVTI

Post by Rian »

Hey boet if you read all my replies you wil see that I only answered what was asked of me, so if I steped on sombodys toes sorry somtimes that happens in life.

Why did you guys suddely change the lexus 4.0 vvti to 4.3 after I mentioned it? If you can see way back when I regestered on the Forum I said that my interests are Lexus V8 conversions the vvti is just something different to every one.

I love all the discusions and do not feel offende in any way if being proofed wrong, it only counts as experience.

"Ons almal leer elke dag"

So I am very sorry if I over stepped any boundries. 8 ) :clap:

Moenie stress Rian, the heading of the original thread was deceiving, sounded like the place to discuss all Lexus conversions, but Pers Kers opened the thread to show off his latest conversion... running off on a tangent becomes an issue when someone else visits the thread in 6 months time, and battles to follow the discussion because of all the other things being discussed in between... an example would be someone describing how to overhaul the SFA rear brakes and someone else starts chatting about the weekend's rugby results... it happens!
Rian
Vehicle: Ford Courier - Vw Caddy - Isuzu kb250 - Mazda 250td/i - Mercedes Benz C230 Compressor sport

Post by Rian »

Ek stres nie ou pel, moet se jy is oorspronklik om gou 4.3 vvti oop te maak. Maar ek is die eerste een wat hom turbo! T66 baal bearing turbo. He het hom al gery en boeta jy gaan jou self natmaak. Ek gaan hom in die week vat vir sy "roll cage" het kla die seat belts ens gekoop. :eh: Jy sien ek bou eintlik die ding vir 1/4miles en so bietjie af show vir die besigheid, ma dit kos al kla 'n fortuin. Safety first :D

Rian wrote:Ek stres nie ou pel, moet se jy is oorspronklik om gou 4.3 vvti oop te maak. Maar ek is die eerste een wat hom turbo! T66 baal bearing turbo. He het hom al gery en boeta jy gaan jou self natmaak. Ek gaan hom in die week vat vir sy "roll cage" het kla die seat belts ens gekoop. :eh: Jy sien ek bou eintlik die ding vir 1/4miles en so bietjie af show vir die besigheid, ma dit kos al kla 'n fortuin. Safety first :D
Wie bou jou cage?
Rian

Post by Rian »

Ben

Ek gaan dit by Henry van Speedspot in pta. Noord laat doen.

Rian wrote:Ben

Ek gaan dit by Henry van Speedspot in pta. Noord laat doen.
Ja ek het al gesien hulle doen baie netjiese werk
kfxnando
Town: Germiston
Vehicle: Ford V6 3.4 Courrier soon to be powered by Yamaha!! Jeep GC 4.7 V8, Aygo broken traded for a Kia Picanto.2ex, 2012 Jeep GC 5.7 V8 Ovrrland

Post by kfxnando »

someone told me that the 4.3 is not as strong as the 4.0

power wise its is stronger, however the internals, the oil holes on the pistons are smaller, the pistons break between the rings!!

so who say what??? :twisted: :twisted:
http://www.youtube.com/user/kfxnando" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
http://community.webshots.com/user/kfxnando" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
http://s538.photobucket.com/albums/ff343/kfxnando/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
kfxnando
Vehicle: Ford V6 3.4 Courrier soon to be powered by Yamaha!! Jeep GC 4.7 V8, Aygo broken traded for a Kia Picanto.2ex, 2012 Jeep GC 5.7 V8 Ovrrland

Post by kfxnando »

Eish!!!

no one took the bate!!! :twisted:

was hopping that the guys wold start giving me facts and opinions!!

any case thanx!!
http://www.youtube.com/user/kfxnando" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
http://community.webshots.com/user/kfxnando" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
http://s538.photobucket.com/albums/ff343/kfxnando/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
Rian

Post by Rian »

Boet I also broke the ring glands but that was because of too much boost!! :lol:

The internal differences bore is bigger than the 400 ring glands and stuf looks more ore less the same, combustion caimber in the piston is deeper and the conrod is a bit lighter so it's weaker as well.

Seing that you mention the ring glands I supose you know the ins and outs. got 2 engines stripped at the shop you are welcome to come and have a look.
Rian

Post by Rian »

:evil: HOW IS THIS FOR A TOY?
045-1[1].jpg
kfxnando

Post by kfxnando »

@ Riaan!!

so does that mean its all back together!!!??? :mrgreen:
Rian

Post by Rian »

Nee nog nie ek wag vir pistons van oorsee :( En jy wil nie graag weet wat kos dit nie!!
Gerrie Kan
Town: Nr. Citrusdal
Vehicle: Old Hilux 2.2

Post by Gerrie Kan »

So is it better to have OEM management :confused:
Rian

Post by Rian »

At the end of the day it all depends on what you want, I chose to go extreme so I gues it's got a price! :mrgreen:
kfxnando

Post by kfxnando »

well, once one starts modifying these Toyota motors they get very expensive!!
any case that is the dark side!!

the brighter side, is that I know someone that used to run with V6s, and is busy building a motor that will make a huge impression!!
the Toyota guys will have a big party when it runs!! going to make a huge impression, know the guy well, and know that it will run!!!! :twisted: :twisted:

just the motor is being built, the car is well known, and built long ago!! and he also say that spares cost an arm and a leg!!

over and above that, getting the stuff here on time is another issue!!

however believe it will be worth it!!

motor will do in the region on 1000hp, capable of a lot more

wish I could tell more, just not sure he would like me to!! :twisted: :twisted: :shh:
Rian

Post by Rian »

My aim is 2 bar boost got 1000 cc injectors to go with that + Nos just for the fun of it, had the nos on a ls 400 and it worked nice.

For the guys who is well known good for them everyone must start somewhere my dad was very poor so I did not have a kick off like some blokes, must work hard for what I have.

Any way I am doing it for my self not to impress anybody, would surely like to see your "friends car" do a few runs. Because mine is not going to the track. :D

At least it's mine and not a friends :twisted:

Spitronics :wink:
kfxnando

Post by kfxnando »

eish!! wish I could tell more, he is well known, know him from the track days!!

and by the way he started off small, very small also!! :mrgreen:

be patient!!

Dictator!!! LOL!!! :lol:
Rian

Post by Rian »

Cool, starting small is the only way to learn & making mistakes :angel:

I would like to meet your friend maybe I can catch a few tips :shock:

How about your ride, see it can wheely! :eh:

Spitronics :Geek:
kfxnando

Post by kfxnando »

LOL!!! :lol:

yep my ride can wheelie!!! :lol: at least the one in the sig!! (actually to keep the wheels down on that one is a bigger challenge then bringing them up!! :twisted: ) those are lots of fun!! the wheelie one is me, and the one in the mud is the wife, going through a big puddle!!
its couz of those ''rides'' and all the camping equipment that I need the Lexus V8, for all the towing!! hehehe

however my friends car with Ford V6(soon to get Toyota motor!!), needed wheelie bar to keep the front down!! that should almost give it away, as not many of those around!!

Eish!!!

Dicktator!! :lol:
Rian

Post by Rian »

The 4 wheelers are fun but I am afraid of them :o: Like my dop when having fun so I supose i might just get hurt so! I wil rather braai and watch you guys havr fun.

What happend to your friend that were with you at my shop?

is your bud fitting a 1 jz or 2 jz or a v6 ??

What made you decide to go for Dictator?
kfxnando

Post by kfxnando »

well on the quads!!
another reason for me to drink less, like on my superbike, me dont drink when me ride quads!!
me get very brave (and stupid) when me drink, and so me dont drink on these things!! mind you me dont drink and drive!!
quad very deceptive, they give people a false sense of security, due to having four wheels, its not a bike or a car, and hence riding one properly is completely different, hence why people get hurt on quads!!

any case enough of that!!

back on the Lexus V8!! :twisted: :lol:

friend still around!! we went for a drive this morning again due to the Lexus V8, just that his time is a lot more limited and hence he does not get on the forums much!! so me post for the two of us, and me think one of us asking stupid questions is enough!! hehehe!!

well in the middle of me typing, he just called me!!
we are having to endure Lexus V8 jokes from the wifes!! :twisted:

any case we still both on track to do the conversion, and we are both going the 4.0L
we have done a lot of home work, we even have a file with info and prices!! hehehe!!!

now the Dicktator
it will be easier to get info on the system, someone involved with the Dicktator is a very good friend, the Dicktator issue is not cast in stone, there are still a few questions about the spitronics, and need those ans from someone who knows the workings of it well!! and dont want those ans from spitronics either!!
then my friend that is busy building that .................. fast car..................he also say Dicktator!!

maybe you can add to the info, spitronics uses Lamda sensor???

now the cherry on the cake, the system that I would like out of the local ones, me cant get, it was developed, it works!! followed the development, and in the end, the owner made 10 units, seen all the info, however he is not going to sell them!!
maybe me will twist his arm till it snaps!! will see!!

so why have we not started, well basically its me, holding up the project!!
me need to sell the cresida that is advertised in this forums for sale section, to get the money to get started!!
as soon as me have that money we will both start the project!!
(''meantime, me busy building a workshop, 6m X 3m for me to have a proper working place to do the conversion in the meantime!! that should be done with power and lights with in the next 3 weeks, me hope!!'') :twisted:
reason: we can get better prices on most items by buying two of what ever we buy, like getting two motors, we get a better price, we have managed to get a great deal on motors only, no gearboxes!!
friend has a contact at toyota for the service parts, self have been able to get a contact for plugs, again we using the fact that we are buying double to negotiate better prices!!

as difficult as it might seem to believe!! we are well on our way to getting the conversion for well under 30k!! or so we think!! and believe!!

meantime, we have the opportunity to look at many option and ways of doing things with out being pressed for time!!
and meantime our 4x4 are still going!! hehe!!
meantime Harry is also trying to sell his Musso Motor!!
on that topic, once the conversion is done, me will very likely be selling ALL my V6 stuff!!
and agree one thing at a time, however when the 4X4 is done, me have a Sierra, that will be another project, that will also be getting a Lexus V8!! however there me will NOT be leaving it stock!! lots of potential there!!

any case let me press Submit!!! :twisted: :twisted: and stop mumbling!!
Rian

Post by Rian »

It all sounds great boet, if your projects are on the move you must let me know cause I would like to come and have a look at it.

What would you like to know about the spitronics ? And I am not a agent of them! Got a cd of all their info.
kfxnando

Post by kfxnando »

thanx Riaan

as soon as the physical work starts will let you know!!!

at the moment the only thing going on, well suppose to be going on, as I just woke up, is the building of my little work shop at home!! hehehe!!

the one big question that I have about the Spitronics is about their interpolorisation, is it as good as the Dicktator in this field, and until someone actually checks it out properly we wont know!! :evil: :evil:

and the other thing is, does the Spitronics use the Lamda sensor on the exhaust???

there are some atractive aspects about the Spitronics, like the whole complete kit comes in a box and the car runs with that kit!!
me not convinced that the map that it comes with will be 100% for every one!! maybe me wrong on this one!!

:mrgreen: :mrgreen:
Rian

Post by Rian »

About dicktator I can not comment on them havent used it yet, I have heard that it works well specially on the racing track for extreme performance.

Spitronics uses the lambda supose thats why it works so good on the lexus and about the mapping it might be that it does not full fill your needs, lukkely it come with the software so you can change your fuel maps/timing as you wish.

From what I know is that the loaded mappings are based on previous dyno maps ect. so with the lambda coneected I suppose it should run more or less 90 to 100 percent right. Thats were the dyno thing comes in. :|
kfxnando

Post by kfxnando »

sadly those lamda sensors do play up from time to time!!

self would like to stay away from that!!

eish!!
heard a few stories of those sensors!!

from my limited info, me prefer the map sensors!! :mrgreen: :shh: :silent: :twisted:
Rian

Post by Rian »

you dont have to connect the lambda on the spitronics that is why you can load different fuel mapps on the box.
kfxnando

Post by kfxnando »

need to get more info on the Spitronics!! :mrgreen:
Rian

Post by Rian »

How about I mail you a manual then you can read the whole thing. :D:
Rian

Post by Rian »

So what about the manual??? :oops:
Rian

Re: Lexus 4.3 VVTI-Detuned to Ls400 T66 Turbo!

Post by Rian »

Oke back to square 1 the 4.3 is being put in safe keeping for now, stil working on that one! But for mean while we decided to take a Ls400 for the test, fitted the T66 @ 0.5Bar boost on it and 8 x 1000cc injectors a Toyota 2.4 gearbox butten clutch.Semmi slick 17" tyres and a Toyota raider diff. Tommorrow it's off to the Dyno :angel:
Gunta
Vehicle: 1996 80 series Land Cruiser VX 4500 EFI UK Import. Long range tank, Iron man suspension, ARB Bullbar, Front and rear diff locks, 33" BFG muds, Snorkel and attitude.

Post by Gunta »

Let us know how she does :thumbup: :thumbup:
Worry about the things you can do something about, If you can't don't worry.
Live life to the fullest with no regrets.
Rian

Post by Rian »

Back from the Dyno very disapointed 232kw on the wheels, was expecting more.
kfxnando

Post by kfxnando »

Rian wrote:Back from the Dyno very disapointed 232kw on the wheels, was expecting more.
well was that on the wheels or on the motor??

on the wheels, for the old fashion people, that is 311hp!!

if that is rwhp, then that is plenty!!!

the other thing, a Dyno is not about how much power it makes, however its a tool to correctly tune a vehicle!!! and in the same breath it measures the hp!!
the numbers are only brag right and pub conversation material!!

then, what type of dyno was it, a load dyno or an inertia dyno!!

self would rather get an accurate reading then a BS reading from a dubious dyno operator!!

reason why I only use Sybie from Nitro Performance!!!

how about trying out a Dictator system!! :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:
Rian

Post by Rian »

Nee Boet you dissapoint me :silent: Read the post again I said it was measured on the wheels, and I posted the report on Photo bucket go check it out.

What I did not mention is that the Dyno is a low down torque dyno, sorry about that. :eh:

This car stays at home when visiting the pub: 8 )

Dicktator :?: :?: :?: :?: I wil fit one for comparisment but only if somebody sponsers me with it. :wink:
kfxnando

Post by kfxnando »

What I did not mention is that the Dyno is a low down torque dyno, sorry about that.
what is that??? me smell a rat!!

that sounds like salesmen story!!! there are many guys out there with a dyno and a lot of myths about dynos as well!!!
I could have a dyno and not know how to operate it!!

maybe try a reputable dyno operator, again me recommend Sybie, from Nitro Performance, 011 740 1330, as he will also be able to tell you why the numbers are what they are!!

many things can have an effect on hp, including too big injectors, restrictive inlet piping and exhausts!!

the other thing to keep in mind that on rear wheel drive such as your set up, you are looking at 1/3 loss from motor to wheels!!

sorry missed that you did say on the wheels!! my bad!!
Gunta
Vehicle: 1996 80 series Land Cruiser VX 4500 EFI UK Import. Long range tank, Iron man suspension, ARB Bullbar, Front and rear diff locks, 33" BFG muds, Snorkel and attitude.

Post by Gunta »

That bakkie must go like a bat outa hell. I would not be complaining if I had that power. Must be a bit thirsty, but I guess its a fun car anyway.
Worry about the things you can do something about, If you can't don't worry.
Live life to the fullest with no regrets.
Rian

Post by Rian »

Yes Gunta it is a bit thirsty but then again I am not driving it every day. :angel:

Thanx. :wave:

Return to “Engine conversions (Lexus/7M-GE/3RZ-FE etc)”