Post questions, advice and pictures of Engine conversions here
Agteros
Vehicle: Toyota FJ Cruiser

Re: Luxi is getting the Lexus 1UZ VVTi

Post by Agteros »

Geewhis Naas if testing looks that good I can't wait to see the real thing... :lol:

Looks like you guys are winning?? :thumbup:
2020 FJ Cruiser
1986 Hilux DC 4x4. Sold to the Boss :cooldude:

Verrrrrrryyyyyy nice Naas!
96-Luxi 4x4
Vehicle: 1996 Toyota Hilux 4x4 DC Almost Lexus V8

Post by 96-Luxi 4x4 »

Mr_B wrote:Verrrrrrryyyyyy nice Naas!
Agteros wrote:Geewhis Naas if testing looks that good I can't wait to see the real thing... :lol:

Looks like you guys are winning?? :thumbup:
Yes guys, that was at Mahem. Thats only light testing. Once this mashine is done I will put it through its pases. At Mahem it idled up everything, this V8 with auto is magic. All I miss is engine brake. will need to upgrade brakes once I have come over this conversion costs. :boss:
BlumTRD
Town: South Africa

Post by BlumTRD »

Naas daai lorrie lyk blerrie smart .

Jy gaan nou lekker speel .

Gaan jy ifs calipers en FJ75 rotors . Goedkoper as nuwe powerbrake kit .

Sent from my BlackBerry
96-Luxi 4x4

Post by 96-Luxi 4x4 »

Thanks man

dis reg ja, ma wa om te kry is die vraag. N1 verkoop ma nuut, aftermarket, redelik duur da
Hangover
Town: Deneysville
Vehicle: '76 FJ45 , '13 3.0 D4D Hilux

Post by Hangover »

Try Gemini...
Hangover(A.K.A die speelding)
1976 FJ45 4x4
1UZ-FE 4.0vvti
2" OME Suspension lift
1.5" Shackle lift
35" Geo MT's
Custom Bullbar
Lockright Locked rear
York OBA
20" LED bar
Nighthawk 100W spots

Dakar
2013 3.0D-4D 4x4 Hilux Dakar
mark watson
Town: gauteng
Vehicle: hilux

Post by mark watson »

naas i have the adaptor plates for your calipers and you can then fit kzte vented discs if you want , just let me know , plates about 200 bucks and new discs about 700 for both.
96-Luxi 4x4

Post by 96-Luxi 4x4 »

Thanks Mark, but for now I just want Luxi to run smooth. Its still at the propshaft guys. The shudder is really really bad, so they are trying different things to sort it out. After that it needs to go back to IKE as the aircon pipe burst.

When its driving smooth, and props and aircon is sorted, I will look at the brakes. But money is finished now.

About that black one with the 5th gear. Mine also did not want to go into 5th, but after some fiddling with the wires its going into all of them now. There you have the standard gearbox wiring, so it must be mechanical.
mark watson

Post by mark watson »

thx naas , the new owner of the black hilux phoned me , so i gave him one of the 5 speed boxes and he can try see if the valve body is the same , as i said we never touched anything on the box so it has me stumped a bit ,and the original vvt throttle body as he is not bothered about the speed cruise , just wants more oomph.
mark watson

Post by mark watson »

naas just a quick one , is the prop still a 2 piece . what if they try angle the diff up a bit at the nose , just 2 cents worth .
years back with my chevy nomad with a xr8 motor and box in it gave me endless drama with the prop as it was way shorter than before , angled the diff up and it did help.
96-Luxi 4x4

Post by 96-Luxi 4x4 »

Mark

got a shock yesterday. A Bill of R 15,280.56. still a 2 piece, but lost of work was needed as the shudder was horrible.

They modded the centre bearing and moved it up to get it more inline with the gearbox, then added a double knuckle (New, just that R4000) after the centre bearing, as the angle from the lifted centre bearing was way out to the diff. Then a new spline slip joint, as my old one was buggered and worn. another couple of thousand. Then we saw the diff output shaft bearing has already got damaged, with the shudder, so I didnt want my diff to go Like Jim's, so all new bearings and seals in the diff, basix recon, another R5K. then labour and fixing the other U joints as one of them also had bad play.

Basically its a new built prop, not reconed, and diff overhaul. Will be done next week tuesday. They say it chalk n cheese from what it was.

So lets see if this expensive excirsize works.

Then its still to Ike for the aircon. Im sure he will fix the burst pipe under warranty, but what about the leaking pump? was this part of what you paid him, or am I going to have to pay for that?

Very expensive old bakkie now :shh:
mark watson

Post by mark watson »

eina , if it works it works but heck thats at a price , dont worry about the aircon , this will be done under guarentee if the pump is stuffed i have spares and ike will let me know and ill just drop another one so dont worry there it wont cost anything for the aircon. that was done in the quoted price and as ive said i stick by my quotes no hidden costs , jims diff was shot when the van got towed in as he accidently had the diff locked driving back from holiday on tar roads.
Last edited by mark watson on Fri Oct 19, 2012 12:47 am, edited 2 times in total.
96-Luxi 4x4

Post by 96-Luxi 4x4 »

Thanks Mark

I will arrange to send it in to Ike as soon as I get it back and have time. Would like to keep that pump as its original one with that motor, just scared some pumps differ, as the old 1UZ did not have climate controll in the car, so the Pump is different I think. But surly its just a seal, or o-ring thats leaking of age or standing so long, Ike should be able to sort it.

Will let you know when we get there. Thanks
mark watson

Post by mark watson »

i have pumps from the vvti , but they are the same as the non vvt just some differ with fittings as to which vehicle they come out of.
mark watson

Post by mark watson »

naas i was looking at the drawings and i think i have a solution for the torque convertor lockup in low range but give me a buzz and pop around and ill show you as you can do it yourself.
96-Luxi 4x4

Post by 96-Luxi 4x4 »

Hi Guys

Update - Luxi is not running yet :thumbdown:

Having overheting issues now, and on first 4x4 trip tore off the engine mountings. Marked helped quickly to fix this, thanks Mark!!

But this will happen again, so im changing the whole setup to New Vigo v6 Auto 4x4 engine mounts

Other than this, this thing has cost me a fortune, and I havent really used it. Its coming to a year now, so...

Almost at the point where Im loosing interest in it all

Anyone want to buy Luxi once its done? :surrender:
Ali3n
Vehicle: Jeep Commander 3.0 Limited
Club VHF Licence: B338

Post by Ali3n »

Naas, Don't loos hope. Once it is all done you will be over the moon. It is taking a long time unfortunately and I would be just as de-motivated as you but in the end you might just look back and say it was worth it. Trust me I know how it feels, been there.
PRESENTLY DISADVANTAGED
ImageImageImage Link BrokenImageImage Link Broken
Custom built Rock Sliders, Bumpers, Belly protection.... Anything you can think of
Cell: 076 122 3744 E-Mail: fpanaino@gmail.com
Bear Grylls calls it "Ultimate Survival", overlanders call it "Camping"
Agteros

Post by Agteros »

Naas I see you posted in Oct 2012 the last time - what was the progress since?
2020 FJ Cruiser
TheoM
Vehicle: UZJ 42 LX

Post by TheoM »

:shock: What ? Why ? :shock2:
96-Luxi 4x4

Post by 96-Luxi 4x4 »

Hugo since last year its been endless sorting out. Struggled for 3 months to get the prop right costing another half of a conversion. Then thought its good and on the first 4x4 trip tore the engine mounts and it overheated the whole time.

Have not even been around to take it back for the aircon after it broke in Sept.

All i wish for is for this to come to an end. Only way this seems possible if Luxi in flames going down a mine shaft.
Boetamac
Town: Kraaifontein Cape Town
Vehicle: 1996 Hilux 2,8d D/C 4X2
Club VHF Licence: n/a

Post by Boetamac »

Mornings.....

Keep the faith. Ive been avidly following your project. and you know as well as all of us here that hiccups is bound to pop up. U are soooo close to having an awesome hilux... And its sooo close to coming together nicely....

U are almost there....
Agteros

Post by Agteros »

Any news on progress on this conversion?
2020 FJ Cruiser
96-Luxi 4x4

Post by 96-Luxi 4x4 »

To be honest guys Im fed up. Lost interest.

This conversion ruiened everthing.

Bakkie is for sale if someone wants to make me an Offer. And dont be foolish and hit low.

I want R 250K, closest to that can take it wil love. Inbox me

All is finished and workinmg accept centre console.

Ali3n

Post by Ali3n »

It is sad to hear that you have lost interest in it but that being said I understand fully. I saw your truck a while ago standing at Lextreme and I must be honest with you. Your truck looks damn good and I feel the price you are looking for is good considering what you have spent on it.

I really hope you change your mind and keep it but good luck with the sale should it happen. Your van looks excellent.
PRESENTLY DISADVANTAGED
Custom built Rock Sliders, Bumpers, Belly protection.... Anything you can think of
Gunta
Vehicle: 1996 80 series Land Cruiser VX 4500 EFI UK Import. Long range tank, Iron man suspension, ARB Bullbar, Front and rear diff locks, 33" BFG muds, Snorkel and attitude.

Post by Gunta »

Naas I have been there and took the knock but you have more chance of waking up in the morning with a nice set of breasts than getting R250k for an old hilux no matter what condition its in.
Worry about the things you can do something about, If you can't don't worry.
Live life to the fullest with no regrets.
Agteros

Post by Agteros »

Yep, sorry to hear you are not happy Naas. You were one of the most enthusiastic persons when you started your project. I must admit I would also like a V8 in mine but when I think of potential problems other people experience (like yourself now) I am getting serious doubts. One thing I realise after all these years - any money thrown on an old SFA will probably never be recouperated. I would say bite through and finish your van and start enjoying it. Like you say it is only the centre console now that needs finishing?
2020 FJ Cruiser
Gunta
Vehicle: 1996 80 series Land Cruiser VX 4500 EFI UK Import. Long range tank, Iron man suspension, ARB Bullbar, Front and rear diff locks, 33" BFG muds, Snorkel and attitude.

Post by Gunta »

Naas the thing with modifications is you have teething problems and school fees and you have to be prepared for them before you start otherwise dont begin in the first place. You have come this far and you are working through the issues, so my advice is work through them and enjoy the truck because once you have sorted all of them you will start enjoying it. Vas byt you are almost there. :thumbup:
BlumTRD

Post by BlumTRD »

Druk deur en hou moed . As hy eers reg is kyk jy nooit weer terug nie .

My vvti transplant is so 95 % klaar .

As ek mag vra wat is vout op jou lorrie behalwe vir warm word ?

Groete

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2
mark watson

Post by mark watson »

hi naas , but yours has the same bm rad as jims and he has no problem with exactly the same motor and his aircon is still in the front , and hehas been out of the country loaded to the hilt ,granted his standard lux box gave up the ghost but he was warned but now its been changed to auto ( albeit 4 speed ) and no issues even the consumption is better ( manual 3450rpm at 120kph versus 2500rpm at 120kph ) , ithink you issue with the props was because with the 5 speed the transfer was pushed 300mm further back to standard and this is what started all the drama ,
but give a buzz
Agteros

Post by Agteros »

mark watson wrote:hi naas , but yours has the same bm rad as jims and he has no problem with exactly the same motor and his aircon is still in the front , and hehas been out of the country loaded to the hilt ,granted his standard lux box gave up the ghost but he was warned but now its been changed to auto ( albeit 4 speed ) and no issues even the consumption is better ( manual 3450rpm at 120kph versus 2500rpm at 120kph ) , ithink you issue with the props was because with the 5 speed the transfer was pushed 300mm further back to standard and this is what started all the drama ,
but give a buzz
Mark reading between the lines do I understand correctly:

You can have the VVti motor (with aftermarket ECU Spitronics) with 4 spd autobox matched to the original transfer case, propshafts stay where they were originally. Refs @ 120km/h 2500rpm? Engine bay no need of cutting/panelbeating?
2020 FJ Cruiser
mark watson

Post by mark watson »

yip , do a 50mm body lift and even the standard sump and exhaust manifolds fit no problem , the transfer moves about 20 -25mm further back which is nothing.
Agteros

Post by Agteros »

mark watson wrote:yip , do a 50mm body lift and even the standard sump and exhaust manifolds fit no problem , the transfer moves about 20 -25mm further back which is nothing.
Thx for your reply Mark.

There is currently some discussion on the 4x4 community forum about putting a V8 into the Prado - see here:
http://4x4community.co.za/forum/showthread.php?t=148342" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

One of the guys (Grips from Kathu) says the overheating problems on the Hilux's experienced can be solved by a custom ALU radiator instead of using the BMW's radiator - any views on that? Would a custom radiator push up the price of the conversion extraordinary?

Regards
Hugo.
2020 FJ Cruiser
BlumTRD

Post by BlumTRD »

Also running vvti and 4 speed auto .
Single solid prop no centre bearings .

Running 35" and 5.29 diff ratios .

No problems .

The power on the vvti does make a huge difference .

BlumTRD

Post by BlumTRD »

Ek het bmw radiator met viscous fan gebruik sonder aircon on non vvti engine .

En nou met die vvti het ek kzte radiator met aircon . En n baie duur fan R1800 van hot4cold afaik hudson of so iets .

Tempratuur hardloop baie mooi .

mark watson

Post by mark watson »

you are right david , the only thing with the kz radiator it depends what bumper is on and if winch is fitted , then it can be a problem when loaded heavy , we have used the beemers but we have custom tanks done hugo as the pipes are not ideally situated , even in the cruisers i use the 420se merc rad ( must check tommorow if they will fit the sfa as it has a decent 42mm core ) with ally tanks and they work very well even with 2 off 14 inch electric fans on and aircon in front with 2 12 inch fans on, towed a disco 4 on a trailer and no problems whatso ever
Ali3n

Post by Ali3n »

Well just thought I would mention my setup with my non-vvt. I am using my std 2.4 2l-te radiator with 2 10" electric fans in front of it with no issues +15k km later. I have even towed a KZTE from pta to Krugersdorp up the hill (some of you might know that that is quite an incline) by Silverstar casino with no issues and I was loaded as well. I supose I am just lucky.

Just to avoid confusion it is the 2.4diesel rad. :thumbup:
PRESENTLY DISADVANTAGED
mark watson

Post by mark watson »

francisco do you still have the aircon condensor in front or not ,
Ali3n

Post by Ali3n »

mark watson wrote:francisco do you still have the aircon condensor in front or not ,
My condensor is in its original position which is skew slightly under the engine. :thumbup: no mod was required.
PRESENTLY DISADVANTAGED
ink
Town: Middelburg MP
Vehicle: 4.5 NISSAN PATROL

Post by ink »

I putted an kzte daidiator in and the v8 run hot so I took. Out the condensing. Radiator wil have tomake a plan wil get my air con working again
mark watson

Post by mark watson »

francisco any chance of taking a pic , at times with the sfa and we have found this now over say 10 off them that at times what works in 1 overheats on another , strange but they have given grey hairs at times.
1 example is a stock sfa double cab ( originally 2.8 diesel turbo ) with a kzte rad 2 12 inch electric fans , condensor in stock position 2 7 inch fans attached in front and tows a conqueror caravan and no problem.
next is sfa double cab lifted arb bumper and winch no condensor bm rad and it gets hot
so at times its a good one
BlumTRD

Post by BlumTRD »

I think I must be very lucky .

Kzte radiator with aircon core and a massive tranny cooler .

And the aisin fj80 winch infront .

Standard bumpers .

Ali3n

Post by Ali3n »

Not a problem Mark. Will post a pic or 2 asap. :thumbup:
PRESENTLY DISADVANTAGED
TheoM

Post by TheoM »

Ali3n wrote:Well just thought I would mention my setup with my non-vvt. I am using my std 2.4 2l-te radiator with 2 10" electric fans in front of it with no issues +15k km later. I have even towed a KZTE from pta to Krugersdorp up the hill (some of you might know that that is quite an incline) by Silverstar casino with no issues and I was loaded as well. I supose I am just lucky.

Just to avoid confusion it is the 2.4diesel rad. :thumbup:
I think that radiator is almost the same as Olive's LC 3b BJ42 radiator. Mine conversion is perfect after 12K kms but we used the large 2UZ viscous fan with a DECENT SHROUD, slightly larger sump(like all the OEM arab cruisers) and the headers with balance pipe were all ceramic coated. I have towed anything and everything all over with no problem ever :celebrate:
mark watson

Post by mark watson »

theo i have 1 of the 2.8 rads and olives is much thicker , that 4 core def does the trick with olive , but we did a merc 420 rad conversion on bens 80 ( 1 uz vvti )because he was pulling on the small top pipe and snapped it of , fitted 2 14 inch electric fans and it works a charm , the merc is 16mm thicker than the cruiser and fitted a charm.

TheoM

Post by TheoM »

:thumbup: Mark, good to know the Merc rad is an option if ever needed.

Why the twin airfilter setup ?
Ali3n

Post by Ali3n »

As promised Mark, here are the pics. :thumbup: not great pics and not clean as I am waiting for my diff to be fitted again. :blushing:
IMG-20130517-WA0000.jpg
IMG-20130517-WA0001.jpg
PRESENTLY DISADVANTAGED
Gunta

Post by Gunta »

Eish that is and accident waiting to happen. I had 2 condensors under the vehicle but under the passenger seat. Both had fans blowing through them and it was out of harms way and worked like a bomb. You can see the start of the condensor on the right of the pic.
IMG_5995.JPG
Ali3n

Post by Ali3n »

I know it is not the ideal place for it byt it is the original place. I also have a 4mm bash plate which is not fitted at the moment.
PRESENTLY DISADVANTAGED
mark watson

Post by mark watson »

thx francisco and mark , does leave another option open ,
what the customer wanted theo , he is mostly on tar but when going offroad he made a blank to replace the cone filter so it just goes through the snorkel.

Hey guys, all this chatter about Lexus conversion, but what is the status of Naas' conversion?

Who's helping him fix all the problems?
mark watson

Post by mark watson »

have tried to get hold of naas but alas no go ,
d4dfanwp
Town: george
Vehicle: toyota d4d

Post by d4dfanwp »

dagse ek het turbo met wastegate en dump valve wat pas op lexus convertion dit n garret t 50 als vir net R5500.00 laat weet my gerus

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
ImageUploadedByTapatalk HD1374491117.175771.jpg
ImageUploadedByTapatalk HD1374491106.728181.jpg
ImageUploadedByTapatalk HD1374491093.604175.jpg
Kaspaas
Vehicle: 1998 Land Cruiser 105series GX

Post by Kaspaas »

Manne, waar is Naas?

Die hoofstuk kan mos nie so gesluit word nie??
Hierdie is sekerlik een van die mees gewildste topics in Hilux4x4 geskiedenis!
Ek soek 'n Happy ending, asseblief man!! :beg:
1998 Toyota land Cruiser 105 series. 4.2 D

"I am human, I make mistakes, and that is okay, I have my own permission."
Kaspaas

Post by Kaspaas »

Free bump :twisted:

:subscribed:

Hangover
Town: Deneysville
Vehicle: '76 FJ45 , '13 3.0 D4D Hilux

Post by Hangover »

Dis noggal n hartseer storie die. Ek het die fred nogal aandagtig gevolg.
Hangover(A.K.A die speelding)
1976 FJ45 4x4
1UZ-FE 4.0vvti
2" OME Suspension lift
1.5" Shackle lift
35" Geo MT's
Custom Bullbar
Lockright Locked rear
York OBA
20" LED bar
Nighthawk 100W spots

Dakar
2013 3.0D-4D 4x4 Hilux Dakar
Bulletjie-3
Vehicle: Hilux Raider SFA met 7M-GE engine

Post by Bulletjie-3 »

n Goeie storie kan nie SO eindig nie. :crazy: :siffler:
Kaspaas

Post by Kaspaas »

Stem Everdt.

Ekt al so baie mense verwys na die thread (wat nie deel is van ons forumpie nie).
Want dis almal se vraag altyd, "Hoe maklik/moeilik is n Lexus ombouing".

Nou ekt Naas opgesom as 'n kerel wat weet wat hy wil hê, soos baie van ons is.
En Mark kom mos nou al 'n tydjie saam met ons aan, die storie kan mos nie so eindig nie!!

Hierdie verhaal MOET 'n Happy Ending hê,vir ons almal se gemoedere.
Maar meer vir die twee partye betrokke.

Ek wil sien hoe Luxi duine plat jaag!

Kom nou man, Naas! Asseblief man! :beg:

Agteros

Post by Agteros »

96-Luxi 4x4 wrote:100. By daai tyd is myne heeltemal kla dan kom toets jy. Ek kan ma net raad gee
Stem saam met jou Cobus en Everdt(hierbo). Naas was so opgewonde en het my al 'n jaar terug uitgenooi om na sy bakkie te kom kyk wat Oktober 2012 sou klaar wees. Nou ja die bakkie het lyk my net nooit klaargekom nie. Sou ook baie graag 'n "happy ending" hier wou sien.
2020 FJ Cruiser
mark watson

Post by mark watson »

i agree totally with everybody , did try get a hold of naas but could not , but not sure whats happening ,
the last time i spoke to him the issues was the propshafts , with the 5 speed auto box you cant remove the rear cover and fit the adaptor for the transfer you have to retain the cover and do the transfer from there which moves it back in the chassis a fair bit , but with that and the lift that naas has the rear prop angle became a problem , and even with fitting a bmw radiator he had some heat issues , not sure why as i did an identical hilux same motor ( vvti ) but alas with the 4 speed box with our normal adaptor and exactly the same rad as i had the 2 made at the same time and there are no issues there ( prop or radiator ) and on that one we kept the aircon condensor in the front where on naas bakkie we moved it underneath at the back .
the only difference there was the management system as naas wanted the original which i am not keen on , so tim helped naas out there , thx tim.
but i would also like to know whats up. if its something ive done i will gladly sort out but have not heard anything.
Agteros

Post by Agteros »

mark watson wrote:i agree totally with everybody , did try get a hold of naas but could not , but not sure whats happening ,
the last time i spoke to him the issues was the propshafts , with the 5 speed auto box you cant remove the rear cover and fit the adaptor for the transfer you have to retain the cover and do the transfer from there which moves it back in the chassis a fair bit , but with that and the lift that naas has the rear prop angle became a problem , and even with fitting a bmw radiator he had some heat issues , not sure why as i did an identical hilux same motor ( vvti ) but alas with the 4 speed box with our normal adaptor and exactly the same rad as i had the 2 made at the same time and there are no issues there ( prop or radiator ) and on that one we kept the aircon condensor in the front where on naas bakkie we moved it underneath at the back .
the only difference there was the management system as naas wanted the original which i am not keen on , so tim helped naas out there , thx tim.
but i would also like to know whats up. if its something ive done i will gladly sort out but have not heard anything.
Hi Mark please see the "bold" quote in your text. Does this mean that there is therefore always a chance that you may end up with overheating problems? In terms of the conversion you therefore can not be 100% sure that a BMW rad in combination with the Lexus will always work? What would a solution to this problem be?

I will appreciate if you can provide your suggestion for a Lexus conversion on an old Hilux like mine (what engine, management system, gearbox radiator etc?). It has the following elements:
1. It is a 1986 DC 4x4.
2. It has the old 4Y with 5spd manual box in.
3. I have put in OME suspension.
4. It has no aircon and I would never want to put one in.
5. The bakkie is further as standard as can be.

The following would be quite important to me:
1. Would like to retain Donaldson filter.
2. Would like to retain the original "split" propshaft setup.
3. Would not like any "body cutting or firewall modification".

In your opinion - are there any disadvantages of doing the Lexus conversion?

Any idea of approximate cost?
2020 FJ Cruiser

Return to “Engine conversions (Lexus/7M-GE/3RZ-FE etc)”