KZTE OVERHEATING

Post questions, advice and pictures of Engine conversions here
AUTOFANATIC
Town: benoni
Vehicle: hilux 4x4

KZTE OVERHEATING

Post by AUTOFANATIC »

Hey guys im new in this forum but here goes. I have a 91" Hilux double cab which i have just put a KZTE motor in. I have overheating problems with it. I am a motor mechanic with 10+ years on Land Cruiser + Hilux +all cars + 4x4"s. This thing has got me baffled though. It heats up on high revs and under load only, otherwise it pulls + runs fine, i am very happy with the motor. I have replaced the headgasket;crack tested the head, checked thermostat, radiator. I have fitted a solid fan to eliminate fan issues,but problem still persists. Anyone had the same problem or any ideas. Auto fanatic
Dadz Toy BFI

Re: KZTE OVERHEATING

Post by Dadz Toy BFI »

Welcome to the Forum Mate :!: :!: :!: :!:

Got any Pics of your Ride :?: :?:

Niel is our resident KZ fanatic - think you might be hearing from him now, now :wink:

Rich
Last edited by Dadz Toy BFI on Thu Aug 07, 2008 12:08 am, edited 1 time in total.
ToyX4
Monster Truck
Monster Truck
Town: Ottosdal
Vehicle: Rocky's

Post by ToyX4 »

Welcome to the forum

What radiator did you fit? Seems most of the conversion overheating problems are caused by a too small radiator.
But I'm no expert.

Our resident KZ conversion expert is Dieseldog. He might be able to assist you when he visits again.
Here is his profile if youd like to pm him, if he don't show up
memberlist.php?mode=viewprofile&u=835
ImageImage
Scooter
LR4WD, Lockers, Crawler Gears
LR4WD, Lockers, Crawler Gears
Town: JHB
Vehicle: '94 Raider, '05 Vigo 4.0 v6

Post by Scooter »

Firstly welcome, we hope you enjoy your stay. :D

Have you checked the injection pump timing?
"I know that you believe you understand what you think I said, but I'm not sure you realise that what you heard is not what I meant."
JohanM
Monster Truck
Monster Truck
Town: Meyerton
Vehicle: Prado 120 4.0 V6
Club VHF Licence: HC126