has anyone supercharged a 4y or similar?

Post questions, advice and pictures of Engine conversions here
Tinman
Town: perth
Vehicle: 1991 hilux surf with 31" kuhmo kl71's

has anyone supercharged a 4y or similar?

Post by Tinman »

has anyone supercharged a 4y or similar engine if so how did it go?
just curious because my 4y lacks a bit and i got a 6 weeks off work soon, and i want something to do.
:D:

Re: has anyone supercharged a 4y or similar?

Rather convert it to an EFI! Plenty of info on the forum as to how it's done. Look in the "Useful Articles" section.

Scooter
Vehicle: '94 Raider, '05 Vigo 4.0 v6

Post by Scooter »

Stuart, did you come right with your float levels?

A supercharger or turbo? A turbo we all know is generally a waste of time on these engines. A super charger on the other hand might be more beneficial. The difference being that the latter is powered mechanically via a belt connected to the crank shaft.

Superchargers have certain advantages over turbos, they dont suffer from LAG is the first one that comes to mind.
Then also there is no need to let it cool down after a run. They can also be bolted on, no mods to exhaust necessary.

As with everything there is a downside. Superchargers cost, they are worse to maintain, and engine component might need to be replced with high strength stuff to take the extra power. And of course lets not forget the fact that it is runnin from the crank which steals power from the engine, only to be replaced by the supercharger though.

But as for anyone here trying it, I'm pretty sure no-one has. It would probably be more cost effective to replace the engine with something stronger.
"I know that you believe you understand what you think I said, but I'm not sure you realise that what you heard is not what I meant."
Tinman

Post by Tinman »

yeah i got it all sorted out, it was running lean and the float was to high, now its all just right and purring lovely cheers for the help and great rebuild thread.
I dont really want to turbo because its more work and my brother has just turbod his mini which has taken about 2 years, so thats put me off turbo. Also i want the power at low rpm aswell. it was just an idea, il look into it and post a price for a suitable supercharger when i find one.
Scooter

Post by Scooter »

Sweet, glad it's sorted now. 9 times out of 10 a problem is not as big as everyone makes it out to be. We all seem to head straight for the worst case and forget the small things. :wink:
"I know that you believe you understand what you think I said, but I'm not sure you realise that what you heard is not what I meant."
Tinman

Post by Tinman »

yeah, simpler is best because it usually leaves more money to spend on cool toys for the car :D:
theres a few toyota cars over here that have same sized engines as the 4y so i might be able to find a good working one that way, would there be any problems that you can see in using one off of an efi engine?

Stuart

When I pulled into the rear yard of the Engine Dealers today, the boss said:

"Jeez Man, what you got under there a V6 or V8, sounds awesome Mate :!: :!: "

Narrrr, just my BFi :P :P :P :P

(and it's only running on 3 Cylinders)

The EFi on 4Y, Bennie Hurter (BenHur) Style, gives you SERIOUS Horses :!: :!: :P :P

Consider ordering an Optical Dizzy from BenHur then follow his thread, it's incredibly straight forward. :P

Best o' Luck

Rich

And I am sure Bennie is prepared to go down under should Stuart pay the airfare... :mrgreen:

Family_BullDog wrote:And I am sure Bennie is prepared to go down under should Stuart pay the airfare... :mrgreen:

Wat say jou Bennie Boet :?: :?:

Jou kan sommer nou take a sabatical van your pen pusher job nê :!: :!: :wink:

Verstaan J :!:

Rich

Hey Rich,

Bennie has been teaching you well! :)

One for you: What did Adam say to Eve?
"Ek het jou lief".

Pretty much the same thing that I guess Bennie is saying to Sheila right now... :mrgreen:

Family_BullDog wrote:Hey Rich,

Bennie has been teaching you well! :)

One for you: What did Adam say to Eve?
"Ek het jou lief".

Pretty much the same thing that I guess Bennie is saying to Sheila right now... :mrgreen:

I just wish he'd take Charmaine along too hey, the nasty storm we're having is lashing her tent something rotten :o:

Bennie is talking "proper English" now :o:

Ask him - What does P.T.F.E. stand for :idea:

Wills es a keinky Dutchman Nou Mos, en ek praat Pretoria Taal lekker nê :D:

Rich

Poly Flippen Tape E-White-e

Just joking you taught me well, I will not forget Polytetrafluoroethylene ever again untill I am back in Pretoria. :twisted: :twisted:

BenHur wrote:Just joking you taught me well, I will not forget Polytetrafluoroethylene ever again untill I am back in Pretoria. :twisted: :twisted:
Bennie, if I never knew you as a God-fearing man, I would have had no hesitaytion in deleting that l-o-n-g word. Doesn't sound good to me... :D: :mrgreen:

I cannot even pronounce it, far less spell it.

Tinman

Post by Tinman »

Jsu to pull you guys back on subject :D
what about an electric supercharger so as to get the forced input at low rpm?
theres a few good ones on ebay
Riceburner
Vehicle: D2 V8

Post by Riceburner »

Electric gimmicks the same as those crappy bosch 4 prong spark plugs. Have you found a 32\36 Weber yet?
Scooter

Post by Scooter »

A weber was not needed darryl. All that was needed was to set the float level on the nikki correctly and give the air screw a turn or two in the right direction and wala, a perfectly runnin nikki carburettor. :D:
Tinman

Post by Tinman »

yea gave up on the webber idea and spent 20 mins on mine and got it running lik a dream
which leaves more money for fun 4x4 toys
http://www.force-flow.com/product_x4brushless.aspx
this is the best electric supercharger i can find
a friend of mine built his own for on his suzuki sierra and he said it gave it alot more umpff
:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
Tinman

Post by Tinman »

i read some reviews on the electric ones and people agreed "peice of junk"
so back to proper supercharger idea :twisted:

I don't know of Aus, but here supercharging on smaller motors (ie 4 cylinders) are non existent. There reasons are varied. As Scott mentioned the first one being cost - it's double the cost of a turbo, with half the results. (Remember, you still have to drop the compression ratio to prevent detonation on both forms of forced induction.)

The next one being that it first saps power to then give more. I'm no expert, but it might be that the 'charger needs more power than the 4Y can comfortably deliver, before starting to deliver. This will of course affect wear and tear, etc and ultimately reliability. (Correct me if I'm chasing my tail here, guys! :shock: )

I personally think you will get much better results (at less cost) by doing a motor swap. 6 weeks is ample time to fit a 3RZ or even Lexus V8 :twisted: . If you insist on staying with the 4Y, rather go the EFI route. (After EFI you can then maybe experiment with a very small, say T2, turbo at low boost. That way it will spool up quickly and should have minimal lag. If you then still want more power, maybe run the T2 into a bigger T3/4 sequencially before pumping it into the engine. And if that is still not enough, fit a supercharged, nitrous fed V8!! :twisted: )
1988 Hilex D/C 4x4 (Import spec), Lexus V8; Marlin Crawler; Custom Suspension: front and new 4 link in the rear; Disc Brake conversion rear; 35" Cooper STT tyres; Xenon lights; Custom bullbar;Next? Aircon; new front seats, redo the whole interior in nice soft leather, Respray, Double Lockers
Tinman

Post by Tinman »

i like the fuel efficeny of ma lil 4cylinder 4y
but turbo sounds like an ok idea as you said it cant have any lag or its pointless for slow 4x4ing
ill look into it and get some prices. :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

Just remember, that the only way to make more power is by increasing the force of the explosion in your cylinders. To do this you need to get more fuel and air into it and that is essentially what all forms of charging does. It forces more of the air/fuel mixture into you cylinders, so you burn more fuel.

You will therefore use more fuel at any given throttle opening with a form of charging, compared to without. The upside is that you will need to open the throttle less to get the same results, but if you use the power you will have higher fuel consumption.
1988 Hilex D/C 4x4 (Import spec), Lexus V8; Marlin Crawler; Custom Suspension: front and new 4 link in the rear; Disc Brake conversion rear; 35" Cooper STT tyres; Xenon lights; Custom bullbar;Next? Aircon; new front seats, redo the whole interior in nice soft leather, Respray, Double Lockers
Jaws
Town: Sharonlea
Vehicle: 2009 D4D 4x4

Post by Jaws »

Personally I would recommend you to stay far away from forced induction. It gets very expensive very quickly. The same with engine transplants, that ALWAYS end up costing way more than you could ever have planned for. The electric stupid charger is waste of time and could never work. One of the local motor publications once added a petrol Still leave blower to a 1.6 Shitty Golf and they only gained about 2KW according to the dynometer and that is with an engine driven leave blower that will generate allot more forced air than any 12V DC motor in that sizes.

According to what I have read on the forum your best bet for the 4y motor would be to add fuel injection. It seems like everybody who has done this conversion seems to be very happy. But don`t go for the first cheapest management system, do some good research and make sure that the person who dyno`s and maps the EFI know what he is doing even if you have to pay allot more, that will determine how well the engine will run in the end.

Also remember that any BIG modifications will affect the resale value of the car negatively, nobody want to buy a highly modified car. But I believe the addition of EFI on a standard 4y will be one of the few engine modifications that can be a plus point when selling the car.

I second everything that Herman says here above... with the possible exception of the very last four words.

Who in their right minds would even ever want to sell their 4T-powered Hilux? :confused: :shock:

pampoen
Vehicle: 2011 Hilux DC 3.0 D4D

Post by pampoen »

Hi guys it seems like EFI is the way to go,but are the power increases really that good or am i wrong?and what milage are the guys getting?
With each replacement of parts, a car slowly becomes Chinese.

pampoen wrote:Hi guys it seems like EFI is the way to go,but are the power increases really that good or am i wrong?and what milage are the guys getting?
Yes, they are REALLY that good :!: :D: :D: :D:

Can't comment on Mileage, but economy was one of my main motivational factors :P

Niel used my 3 Cylinder 4Y today, think he was quite shocked by the power output of my disabled girl :D:

Rich
Riceburner
Vehicle: D2 V8

Post by Riceburner »

Re-gear to 5.29's, you will get your power back with the larger tires. I still need to regear to 5.29's with my 33's, even with the Frod engine. Maybe run 35's then.
Umvubu
Town: Lydenburg
Vehicle: Hilux D/C 4Y & Hilux S/C 2.4D & Musso 602EL

Post by Umvubu »

Mods is always risky. Will wait and see results .
1993 Hilux 2.4D S/C - 31" Khumo Muds , Lockers F/R , OME Suspension , Snorkel , Extended Shackles etc
1996 Ssanyong Musso 602EL - OME Suspension
Big D
Vehicle: SFA Hilux 2.2 BFi

Post by Big D »

I am also interested in supercharging a 4y. I already have an EFi conversion. I was thinking of using a Toyota 4AGZE`s supercharger. That was a supercharged 1.6. The 4y has 8.8 : 1 comp ratio. You will need to go EFi first, as to better control the fuel – air ratio. Keep the boost low, at say 0.4/0.5 bar. I just want to make up the power I lose up here at altitude (and maybe a bit more :wink: ).

DONT TELL BENNIE, OR ELSE I’LL GET A KLAP
'94 lux, 3rz, Dual Tcases, 4.7, Lifted, Locked, 33"

"My worse fear is when i DIE, my wife will sell my car for what I told her I spent on it..."
Having a 12 second Honda is just like coming out of the closet; You're going to surprise a bunch of people, but in the end you're still gay.

Deon,

The 1.6s supercharger will be to small to have a real effect on the engine. Rather look for the 2.0 Celica supercharged engine for that Supercharger as it has more volume to be of effecient use.

Just remeber the Hilux is a 4x4 Bakkie, Not a M3 Killer....... :twisted: :twisted:

Big D wrote:..................

DONT TELL BENNIE, OR ELSE I’LL GET A KLAP...............
Yessy, you're treading on thin ice here Dude :o:

Rich
Big D
Vehicle: SFA Hilux 2.2 BFi

Post by Big D »

:D Bennie said he will give me a klap for even thinking of fitting a supercharger to my 4y. :D

Its just an idea :Geek:
'94 lux, 3rz, Dual Tcases, 4.7, Lifted, Locked, 33"

"My worse fear is when i DIE, my wife will sell my car for what I told her I spent on it..."
Having a 12 second Honda is just like coming out of the closet; You're going to surprise a bunch of people, but in the end you're still gay.

Big D wrote::D Bennie said he will give me a klap for even thinking of fitting a supercharger to my 4y. :D

Its just an idea :Geek:
Hmmmm............ :roll: :wink:

Better Idea :idea: :idea:

To get thrilling performance:

Move to the Cape :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Rich
Buksie.
Town: magaliesburg
Vehicle: 4y hilux

Post by Buksie. »

Hi.
I most certainly disagree, I take part in the National 4x4 challenge and I have a 4y in my hilux. I've supercharged it with a toyota 4agze charger, there is a few things to do, converted my 4y from carb to feulinjection, if you want to charge it you need to change your injectors to minimum 360's mine is 440 bosch injetors, build a bracket where it can be mounted on. Get a fan belt that can pull the charger on your altenator and waterpump, I took off my fan and replaced it with an electrical fan, more power. Apply your boost pype to your intake and your charger. I applied a switch inside where I can put it on when ever I'd like. Apply a tension pully to make sure that the angle belt would not stop the waterpump from turning.

My hilux with feulinjection had 87 Horsepower on the wheels at 4-5000 rpm, now I have with the charger 100at 2000rpm and at 2500 I have 122horspower and it only boosts 0.4 bar, it makes a huge difference and you can still crawl everything but now you don't have to be scared to take on a long uphill.

Indrukwekkende syfers daardie.Sal nie omgee as my 4y daardie perde kan lewer.

Return to “Engine conversions (Lexus/7M-GE/3RZ-FE etc)”