Opinions on the 2.5 D4D?

Here we discuss Hiluxes in general. Your view of the Hilux. For other general discussions please see "open Discussions" under the "Around the Campfire" heading.
Senyetse
Vehicle: 2000 2.7 Hilux Raider DC 4x4, OME, dual battery, Front Runner RR

Opinions on the 2.5 D4D?

Post by Senyetse »

Hey Guys,

What are your opinions on the 2.5 d4d 4x4? Good engine, fuel consumption, service & insurance costs? How does it compare to the 3.0 d4d?

Are we there yet?

Re: Opinions on the 2.5 D4D?

Slow as hell, bulletproof, 8-10km/l, nice bakkie, too slow, excellent off-road, slow, comfortable, slow, and lacks power...

Otherwise, it is slow.

:mrgreen:
Senyetse

Post by Senyetse »

So how does the 2.5 d4d compare to my pre-facelift 2.7i?
Are we there yet?

dead slow and its stinks can't really compare a diesel to a real engine :twisted: :twisted:

Charles, Bennie actually, loves the diesels. I think he has two of his own.....ps he wants to actually buy them all for himself! :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Just kidding......

No, the D4D 2,5 is sluggish - compared to the 2.7. I have one with 150000km on the clock and wouldn't swop it for a 3.0...OOOODS, my wife has the 3.0 d4d.

Consumption loaded!!!!!! 9.4 km/pl (must add....RTT, muds, roof rack, jerry cans, fron and rear integrated bumper, x2 spare wheels, 80l watertank, plus long range tank) on our 24 day trip to Namibia Dec.

I have had it chipped via Dastek mid last year and 30kw increase in power!!!! Wow, that is what is making me say all the above....besides in USA they come out standard with a chip.....not ins SA :thumbdown:

Overall, brillaint value for money! If you are not in tooooooo much of a hurry!

Mark

You are mistaking, there are 2 things I never kid about and that is the Bulls and my dislike for Diesels :twisted: :twisted:

So what is it with the AVGAS-only sticker on your fuel cap lid?

Hy wens sy bakkie kan ook vlieg soos die petrol bakkies...

:clap:
diafine
Vehicle: Toyota Hilux 2.5 D4D 4X4 DC

Post by diafine »

I love mine, drove from Cape Town to Port Elizabeth and a bit extra; 813km on 67 litres of diesel (12km/l? :think: ), first full tank in the bakkie too.
Sure it's not fast, can't say I bought a bakkie to race tho, its great for being relaxed, just turn on some Bob Marley and away you go 8 )

So what is it with the AVGAS-only sticker on your fuel cap lid?
Just to confuse you petrol guys, which ain't that difficult....see, even you noticed...! :lol:
Vehicle: '90 SFA Hilux DC 4X4, Full OME, 110mm lift. Brospeed branch, 50mm ss freeflow exhaust. 30 x 9.5 Discoverer S/T's on Viper mags. L/R tank. (AWOL) '98 LTD 2.4 SFA, dual battery system. Dobinson suspension, LR tanks, 31" BF mud's.

hi again Shaun ...... been a little while since we saw you last! :wink: ..... but ja, still having the old 4Y motor, I'm forced to agree with you, but if there were a few more horses under the hood, I know I would be using them. :D:

diafine

Post by diafine »

Hey Andy, yah I'm back from 2 weeks of meetings in the frozen wastelands of Canada, haha. It's not that bad really :lol: I'd not complain either with more power, however, luckily I'm a slap coastal boy so I can chill with them best of them and enjoy the view :lol:
Vehicle: '90 SFA Hilux DC 4X4, Full OME, 110mm lift. Brospeed branch, 50mm ss freeflow exhaust. 30 x 9.5 Discoverer S/T's on Viper mags. L/R tank. (AWOL) '98 LTD 2.4 SFA, dual battery system. Dobinson suspension, LR tanks, 31" BF mud's.

:lol: :wink:

Last year we did a trip to Henties in a single cab.We where 4 guys and a loaded trailer. We easily did 140 kph on the open road.We did not drove the hell out of it that was just a lekker cruising speed for her.She also went very well on the sand.
Was very impressed with the van :thumbup: :thumbup:
Castos
Vehicle: Ry die vyand
Club VHF Licence: B01

Post by Castos »

i haven't read what the other guys have put down. I've had 2 so far as company cars. One s/c 2.5 d4d 4x4 srx and the other the hi power 2.5 d4d s/c. They are both very tuff, but without the turbo spinning, there is no power. They are also heavy on fuel, as are all diesel toyota's. I'm now spoiled with a brand new, face lifted 3.0 d4d D/c 4x4 raider. But it is still very heavy on fuel. 8.6km/l constantly.

We have got a total of 60 Hilux bakkies on our mine and they are a mix of 2.5 and 3.0 d4d's. We have a few injectors that started to leak, but now problem on the 3.0 d4d's. The suspensions and rear diff are our biggest problems, not the motors.

PS: For all the d4d owner, check your air filter, Toyota will only inspect and maybe replace it, every 40 000km!!!! Nice motorplan
97 Hilux Raider D/C With some exstra's
Elands4x4
Ons gaan dieper en bly langer!!!
diafine

Post by diafine »

I'm getting 12km/l in my 2.5 :think:
Senyetse

Post by Senyetse »

But it is still very heavy on fuel. 8.6km/l constantly.
Surely that's not on the open road?

Thanks for the info. I'm thinking about getting a newer Hilux in the next year or two specifically for lower fuel consumption (my 2.7 gets about 7-8 km/l on the open road). Having a fast bakkie is not high on my list, I drive my 2.7 at about 110-120 on the open road...

So I'll have to consider whether it will be worth selling the 2.7 or to rather hold on for a few more years - I would only consider selling now if consumption in the diesels is much lower. And then when I do sell I would also consider the 4 l V6 depending on difference in consumption as compared to my 2.7. If I decide to sell then I'll have to decide between a 4 l v6, 3.0 and a 2.5 bearing in mind consumption, price, servicing costs and reliability. Power and speed is at the bottom of the list - I don't tow (I hate towing) anything.

So any advice would be appreciated with the above in mind.
Are we there yet?

diafine wrote:I'm getting 12km/l in my 2.5 :think:
:wth:

Do you know that you are allowed to go above 60kmh on some roads???

:shock:
diafine

Post by diafine »

haha, I am? :shifty:

That's what I get going between 100-120ish on the open road. In town seems to be 10km/l at worst, my Hilux is probably lighter on fuel than my Golf mk1. :think:

On my ex 2.5 D4D, I had 245/75R16 tyres, and the best I could get, trying really hard was 9.3km/l.
Average was 8.3km/l, IIRC.
But it is a good bakkie, just a bit slow.
lukestrugnell
Vehicle: Fortuner
Club VHF Licence: M18

Post by lukestrugnell »

I love mine!

I get 9.5 km/l in town and 10.5km/l open road with a load.

Also I have 265/70 R16 tyres fitted so that makes the consumption a bit worse.

As the others have said its a bit of a donkey but you dont buy a diesel bakkie to race in!

Insurance costs : R670 fully comp with Tuff stuff and they will insure me for rescue work

Maintenance costs: Normal service about a grand.

Major eg timing belt R4500.

One thing that irritated me was the lack of clearance in the front but now thanks to Mikem that problem is solved! :thumbup:
Senyetse

Post by Senyetse »

Thanks Luke, that helps a lot.
Are we there yet?

george wrote:Last year we did a trip to Henties in a single cab.We where 4 guys and a loaded trailer. We easily did 140 kph on the open road.We did not drove the hell out of it that was just a lekker cruising speed for her.She also went very well on the sand.
Was very impressed with the van :thumbup: :thumbup:
Eish wie het op wie se skoot gesit, jis George ek het nie geweet jy swing so nie :shock: :shock:

Eish wie het op wie se skoot gesit, jis George ek het nie geweet jy swing so nie
Nie maklik nie. :sick:
2 voor en 2 agter op 'n matras.Dan le jy lekker en slaap :thumbup:

george wrote:
Eish wie het op wie se skoot gesit, jis George ek het nie geweet jy swing so nie
Nie maklik nie. :sick:
2 voor en 2 agter op 'n matras.Dan le jy lekker en slaap :thumbup:
Eish nog erger twee mans wat agter in ' n bakkie op 'n matras lê en spoon :silent: :silent:

Klink lekker!!!!

:twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

Hier in die Kaap is ons nie bang nie :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

n bakkie op 'n matras lê en spoon
en nou sit ek met jou spoon..... :lol:
DSC07079 (Small).JPG
Johan Kriel
Town: Okahandja
Vehicle: 2.5 SC 4x4

Post by Johan Kriel »

I am a bit late here , but I received my 2.5 SC 4x4 last week. Still trying to get use to it after the 3.0d4d dc 2x4.
But I think I will get use to it, not to sluggish if the turbo runs. :D: The turbo lack is much more noticeable than the 3.0 d4d.

We have 3 x 2.5 SC 2x4's on site and their average fuel consumption per month is 10.8km/l, and that what I am getting also more or less traveling up and done on site and back to home.

I fitted 245x70 BFG AT on the std rims, could not get 245/75's. So far I am happy with that also. :shh:
Johan Kriel

Legend 50

Charles I got my 2,5 sc SRX last Friday.

I LOVE my 2,5. :)

YES, the only way it will stay ahead of an M3 is when it is towing the M3. BUT, I wanted a reliable 4x4 vehicle to use for overlanding, I trust the 2,5 will fullfill this roll with ease.

Doing a nice trip over Easter Weekend, so can give some more feedback then.
Traveler
Vehicle: Pathfinder 2.5 LE AT
Club VHF Licence: X81

Post by Traveler »

Mine is fitted with 245/75R16 Coopers and I get 10.2km/l. When I swop them for the 245/70R16 Goodyear AT/SA's then it improves to 10.8km/l. I'll shortly fit a Dastek Chip (already have the chip).

With my SC 2.5SRX that I had I averaged 11.1km/l. However I did not have a canopy fitted, but an armadillo roller shutter, and the tyres where 235/70R16's, Pirelli Scorpio's was on it from new till I sold it.

If I want to drive fast I get into my 159.

Know what you don't know.
Senyetse

Post by Senyetse »

Thanks for all the replies guys.

I think I'll hang onto my 2.7 for a few more years, there's nothing wrong with it.
Are we there yet?
HiluxJunkie
Town: Middelburg MP
Vehicle: 2001 Hilux DC 4x4 2.7i Raider
Club VHF Licence: N15

Post by HiluxJunkie »

Senyetse wrote:Thanks for all the replies guys.

I think I'll hang onto my 2.7 for a few more years, there's nothing wrong with it.
Same here. My 2001 model now has 114000km on the clock and still driving like a new vehicle.

Looking at the prices of the newer vehicles, I dont care that I only get 7-8 km/l. If I do my maths ( fuel cost/ month, insurance, finance payment, maintenance etc ) then it feels like I am driving a bargain ! :thumbup:
2001 2.7i DC 4x4 Raider. REAL MEN FOLLOW JESUS AND STILL HAVE FUN!
ImageImageImageImageImage
dalkill
Town: Cape TOwn
Vehicle: 2.4 GD6 SR D/C 4x4

Post by dalkill »

quite a good point you have there Simon
one usually looks at newer vehicles for better fuel consumption, but forget about the increased cosst ITO insurance , finance etc, which is prob more than the fuel you saving
2016 2.4GD6 SR D/C 4x4 (Oct 2022 - current) (Buraaq VI)
2007 d4d 3.0 D/C 4x4 (Mar 2016 - July 2022) (Buraaq V)
2003 Isuzu KB300 D/C 4x4 (May 2015 - Feb 2016) aka Buraaq IV
2000 hilux DC 2.7 4x4 (Jul 2011 - Sep 2012) aka Buraaq III
1999 RXI 20v (Nov 2009 - Jul 2011) aka Quicksilver
1990 hilux DC 2.2 4x4 (Jun 2008 - Jul 2011) aka Buraaq II
1997 corolla 160i GLE (Feb 2007 - Sep 2009) aka Green Goblin
1990 GLI twincam (still my fav rolla) (Oct 2005 - Mar 2007) aka Wit Blitz
Golf GTI 2.0 (temp insanity for 2months) (Jun 2005 - Aug 2005) aka A mistake
1993 hilux SC 2.2 4x4 (April 2003 - Sept 2005) aka Buraaq

TOYOTA IS MY LEWE
Senyetse

Post by Senyetse »

Simon, that's exactly the reason why I have decided to keep my 2.7.

Its just does not make financial sense, but ai jai jai a new shiny one just looks so nice!
Are we there yet?
Johan Kriel
Town: Okahandja
Vehicle: 2.5 SC 4x4

Post by Johan Kriel »

Al voordeel van die nuwe hilux is dat jy hom kan op ry, en nie hy vir jou soos die vorige modelle. :twisted:

Nuwes ry n bietjie beter darem.
Johan Kriel

Legend 50
HiluxJunkie
Town: Middelburg MP
Vehicle: 2001 Hilux DC 4x4 2.7i Raider
Club VHF Licence: N15

Post by HiluxJunkie »

Senyetse wrote:Simon, that's exactly the reason why I have decided to keep my 2.7.

Its just does not make financial sense, but ai jai jai a new shiny one just looks so nice!
Ja boet... that new bakkie smell.....but...

The way I see it, is that my bakkie is a tool to get me and my family in the bush. New bakkie or old bakkie we all get to the same place in the end to sit around a campfire with some Scotch on the rocks :thumbup:
2001 2.7i DC 4x4 Raider. REAL MEN FOLLOW JESUS AND STILL HAVE FUN!
ImageImageImageImageImage
Senyetse

Post by Senyetse »

New bakkie or old bakkie we all get to the same place in the end to sit around a campfire with some Scotch on the rocks :thumbup:
Amen brother! Doing that this weekend and the next!
Are we there yet?
Karoo
Town: Murraysburg
Vehicle: 96 2,4d sc ;99 2,7 4x4 sc

Post by Karoo »

ja and 200 grand buys a hell of a lot of petrol!
rebuilder
Town: Adelaide
Vehicle: Toyota camry altise. Till I find a replacement hilux.

Post by rebuilder »

I got about 11km/l in joburg traffic loaded with 2 welding machines, oxy/accet set, tools, canopy etc. On my way to el i got 10.3km/l loaded and some places clocked it at 185km/h. Its not 4x4 tho. once the compensator starts spinning its fine with power but without it I can pull more of a load with my bike.
There is a madness about been mad that only a mad person can understand.
Diesel and dust is where home is at.

Return to “General Hilux Discussions”