Rokarok Lives - First drive

krazy_kameleon
Town: Fourways
Vehicle: 1993 Hilux D/C 4X4 2.4 22R (fuel injection in the pipeline)

Rokarok Lives - First drive

Post by krazy_kameleon »

So, I finally sold my old Golf and the Minister of Home Affairs has given me a pass to respay Rokarok:

This afternoon I decided to strip out the interior to have a look
Rokarok.jpg
Rokarok in all her ugly glory
looking good.jpg
Looking good, so far...
so far so good.jpg
so far, so good...
hmmm.jpg
hmmm, not so good...
nasty surprises.jpg
starting to find some nasty surprises
Broken Seat bracket.jpg
broken seat bracket
Half-brick.jpg
a half-brick inside the passenger door?!!??!
all sripped.jpg
all stripped out - and lots of work to do now!!!!!
Last edited by krazy_kameleon on Fri Jul 20, 2012 3:57 pm, edited 26 times in total.

Re: Rokarok gets a make-over

Eish...seems like a Chip Foose project to me... :wink2:
Blackadder
Vehicle: Toyota Fortuner 3.0 D4D, Ironman Bumper, OME, Dual Battery, BFG'S, TJM Snorkel, Navstar 220 29mhz radio, LAS Pro Rear Bumper, Frontrunner Roofrack
Club VHF Licence: X82

Post by Blackadder »

You took out the brick...???.......You NEVER EVER take out the brick...

OOOOMS wrote:Eish...seems like a Chip Foose project to me... :wink2:
next stop, of to the bead blasters ....

then for all thos elovely FREE spares .....

mens kan seker maar droom. :(
LoneRanger
Vehicle: 95 Hilux 2.2 4y double Cab 4x4

Post by LoneRanger »

right now you put a plastic garden chair in the drivers position and drive it to the nearest sand blast and spray booth place :laugh2:
My Toys - and freedom
Old man emu suspension,snorkel,PowerFlow exhaust and branch,burnco bumpers front and back, burnco aluminium canopy,awning, 31" Bridgestone A/T,dual battery system, long range fuel tank and water tank and rear lockers.
1100cc Honda Blackbird 2002

The brick was there to counter the famous right sidewards lean of the Hilux

ToyX4 wrote:The brick was there to counter the famous right sidewards lean of the Hilux
Now wonder what you gonna do if you find the other half.... :lol: :lol: :lol:

Why on earth would someone put a half brick in the door....????

OOOOMS wrote:
ToyX4 wrote:The brick was there to counter the famous right sidewards lean of the Hilux

They should have stashed the whole kilo..... :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:
GeorgeJvR
Town: Louis Trichardt
Vehicle: 2008 Prado 4.0 V6, 1989 SFA S/C 2.2 1998 SFA LTD 22RE

Post by GeorgeJvR »

Haal maar die dash en bedrading uit voor jy die interior sandblast en spraypaint, glo my jy sukkel jou alie af om al daai stof uit die koneksies te kry.
To Buy and sell a vehicle is my hobby
Make a deal that no one else thought possible is my aim

Kom wat wil ek bly 'n Bul!
krazy_kameleon

Re: Rokarok gets a make-over - part2

Post by krazy_kameleon »

Pulled out all the glass...
Glassout1.jpg
Glassout2.jpg
Glassout3.jpg
... and dropped off for a THOROUGH sandblasing
at_sandblasting1.jpg
at_sandblasting2.jpg
krazy_kameleon

Post by krazy_kameleon »

OOOOMS wrote:

one can only wonder OOOMS, only wonder...
Jaco Versfeld
Town: Western Cape
Vehicle: Moms Taxi, 2001 Prado (The Barbie Cruiser)) Sold - Mufasa: '86 Hilux DC 4Y EFI
Club VHF Licence: X69

Post by Jaco Versfeld »

Hi Rick,

Would it be possible to provide us with a breakdown of who is doing what work, and also costs involved. Mufasa will also need some TLC soon.

krazy_kameleon

Post by krazy_kameleon »

Hi Jaco,

sure, can do a breakdown at the end.
most labour work will be done by myself and friends so costs their will be a little skewed.

so far the stripping was free
sandblasting is R2K (ouch) will try negotiate with cash

will keep all posted on progress...
krazy_kameleon

Post by krazy_kameleon »

UPDATE: Busy with sand blasting
SNC00306.jpg
SNC00307.jpg
SNC00308.jpg
SNC00310.jpg
SNC00311.jpg
SNC00312.jpg
SNC00313.jpg
SNC00314.jpg
Maddoglips
Town: P.E.
Vehicle: Raider 2.2 4x4; Mikem 50mm raised suspension, long range tank, Monroe gasses all round.

Re: Rokarok gets a make-over - updated pics

Post by Maddoglips »

:shock2: :shock2: :shock2:

You got B......s, I'd be too scared to go look :shifty:

Looking at the pics though, you gonna probs have to replace your seat belts now as that stuff gets in everywhere and sooner or later they'll probs give up the ghost.

Keep us posted on the progress and best of luck - you are a BRAVE man
It's better to Burn Out then Fade Away.
krazy_kameleon

Re: Rokarok gets a make-over - updated pics

Post by krazy_kameleon »

My sentiments exactly! I was wondering what I have got myself into!

Oh well, only one way to go now and thats to get it done.

as for the seatbelts - I have purchased the interior from an Alfa 147 and the seats have seatbelt clips built onto the chairs so I will be fitting the Alfa seat belts to match. Why Alfa seats? my brother-in-law had one and when I borrowed his car, they were the most comfortable seats I have ever sat in! watch for that thread soon...
krazy_kameleon

Re: Rokarok gets a make-over - back from blasting! Eish!!!

Post by krazy_kameleon »

So Rokarok is back from blasting and I'm considering moving this thread from "The Workshop" to "Humour" because this must be a joke :(
SNC00315.jpg
SNC00316.jpg
SNC00316a.jpg
SNC00317.jpg
SNC00318.jpg
SNC00319.jpg
SNC00320.jpg
SNC00321.jpg
the BuTch3R
Vehicle: '89 Hilux SFA - SOLD; '95 Hilux - STOLEN; '67 Series 2A Land Rover; 3.5 V6 Pajero; 120 Prado VX 4.0

Post by the BuTch3R »

Ja, boet!. Ignorance is bliss :|
krazy_kameleon

Post by krazy_kameleon »

SNC00322.jpg
SNC00323.jpg
SNC00324.jpg
SNC00325.jpg
SNC00326.jpg
SNC00327.jpg
SNC00328.jpg
SNC00330.jpg
krazy_kameleon

Post by krazy_kameleon »

Oh Well, there is only one way out now - and at least when its done I will KNOW it is done right.

By the way, does anyone know the significance of this number that is stamped at the base of the tailgate
SNC00331.jpg
Maddoglips
Vehicle: Raider 2.2 4x4; Mikem 50mm raised suspension, long range tank, Monroe gasses all round.

Post by Maddoglips »

:evil:

Rick, OUWCH is about all I can say.

Guess you have just convinced me that sandblasting is not always the way to go :!: :twisted:

Are you planning on repairing or on finding another cab?

Best of luck either way and keep us posted.
krazy_kameleon

Post by krazy_kameleon »

...Time to break out the welder and the lead!

I dont really want to take a chance on another cab, pay to have it blasted and sit in a similar situation.

to be honest, the shock value is quite great but it looks worse than it is, I've seen FAR worse. the main issue is the time it takes to weld or braze, then lead sweat and sikaflex seal etc.

...and to think I was planning on having it for the Barakah GTG - NO CHANCE!

anyway will keep all posted on progress as I get it done
Maddoglips

Post by Maddoglips »

Rick

Who will be doing the lead wiping for you?

Further, is body work just a hobby or is there a history behind your drive?

I defi take my hat off to you for being so positive and still seeing chance to tackle the job :thumbup:

Good luck
krazy_kameleon

Post by krazy_kameleon »

Hey Zane,

Me and a mate will do the lead wiping. I will use a combination of lead and poly
I will use lead to fill all the holes left by the rust but poly to get the panels straight.
Its not that much of a collectors item to warrant the time and expense of lead on the panels.

Body work is not a particular hobby but I am one of those disgruntled folk that is tired of being let down by so called "professionals"
I don't consider myself as an expert in anything but I am fairly "handy". When I pay a "professional" to do a job I expect that its at least better than I would have been able to do it myself and more often than not I have found that standards these days are so low that I end up with what I consider to be a secound rate job and then we all end up fighting because the "professional" feels I am being unreasonable and I feel "ripped-off". This doesn't just apply to body work but accountants, lawyers, doctors, plumbers, electricians etc etc etc.

I am by no means labeling all tradesmen out there because there are some really bright skilled people out there and the projects that have been done by the forum members here bear testament to the workmanship that is possible. it is just unfortunately been my experience of late.

Have a great weekend and look out for some more updates by the end of next week.

Hi Rick

Wouldnt it be more cost effective to look for an 2nd hand cab and load bin at scrapyards with nothing or less rust?

krazy_kameleon

Post by krazy_kameleon »

Dawie, the load bins not too bad - but depending on what I can find - I may replace the cab

watch this space...
krazy_kameleon

Post by krazy_kameleon »

was just quoted R3500 for just a roof!

looks like I'm going to get a lot of practice welding...
NicoP
Vehicle: Hilux 2.7, SFA conversion, 33" Maxxis, 4.5 inch lift

Post by NicoP »

This is a big job. best of luck and cant wait for an update next week.
This will make any owner think twice before their babies go to sandblasting
Hi-Hilux
Town: Tsumeb
Vehicle: 1991 Hilux2.2 ---1987 Hilux D/C Hella 1000, Rancho RS9000XL shocks, Good Year M/TR, Warn Winch, STK bullbar, Extended shacles, Kenwood VHF-SOLD

Post by Hi-Hilux »

Sterkte, kan nie lekker wees om dit te ervaar nie.
Is gebed jou spaarwiel of jou stuurwiel?
'Life is a coin. You can spend it anyway you wish, but you can only spend it ONCE'

Sjoe Rick... :wth: :blackeye:

Sterkte ou maat!!

Is daai dak se hoeke nou maar net geroes of is die dak vervang?
Wat van IFS cab & load bin ? Jy sal die eerste wees... :twisted:
Traveler
Vehicle: Pathfinder 2.5 LE AT
Club VHF Licence: X81

Post by Traveler »

Rick, all that I can remark is good luck. This will be a monster project.

Know what you don't know.
yotaman
Town: Hartenbos Western Cape
Vehicle: '99 2.7i Hilux 4x4 S/C

Post by yotaman »

One thing I now know 4 sure is that a brick don't prevent rust!
Imagination is more important than knowledge. Knowledge is limited, imagination encircles the world.

Albert Einstein
krazy_kameleon

Post by krazy_kameleon »

yotaman wrote:One thing I now know 4 sure is that a brick don't prevent rust!
:lmao:
Traveler

Post by Traveler »

yotaman wrote:One thing I now know 4 sure is that a brick don't prevent rust!
Now that is disappointing, I'll go and get that brick out Dreadnought that I put in it last night.

krazy_kameleon

Post by krazy_kameleon »

...and with the weight saving, squeeze out an extra kay or 2 per liter ;)
krazy_kameleon

Re: Rokarok gets a make-over - UPDATE TIME

Post by krazy_kameleon »

Some updated pics - we started on the bonnet. its a good way to work up the courage for the other parts
100_2524.JPG
100_2525.JPG
100_2526.JPG
100_2527.JPG
100_2528.JPG
100_2529.JPG

wow really wow, think everyone like to do that but too scared too, ignorance is bliss
Vehicle: '90 SFA Hilux DC 4X4, Full OME, 110mm lift. Brospeed branch, 50mm ss freeflow exhaust. 30 x 9.5 Discoverer S/T's on Viper mags. L/R tank. (AWOL) '98 LTD 2.4 SFA, dual battery system. Dobinson suspension, LR tanks, 31" BF mud's.

Looks like there's a lot of pitting on that bonnet ....why did you blank out that edge? Too bad for sensitive viewers? :D:

krazy_kameleon

Post by krazy_kameleon »

yes John.

I was NEVER expecting it to be such a big project but there is only one way out and that is straight on through to the other side (hey! isn't that a "DOORS" song ;) )
krazy_kameleon

Post by krazy_kameleon »

Andy, forgot to change the date on the camera :p

bonnet was quite dented in so we gave it a good beating from the other side to get all the dents out.
Now we 'tap' it back down to shape and then smooth with grinder and finish with hand file.
light skim with poly aftrewards and a nice new coat of paint or ten
Traveler

Post by Traveler »

Rick, good luck, this seems to be a grey hair project.

Hi Rick

How is things going on with your project?

krazy_kameleon

Rokarok gets a make-over - FINALLY A NEW UPDATE

Post by krazy_kameleon »

Hi All time an update...

Well the workshop that I had my truck out changed owners and my mate who was the manager there was bombed just before Christmas. They then told me that they "don't want this kind of work there" and told me to get it out.

Well as you can imagine this caused me a bit of a problem and I ended up driving out a sandblasted truck which broke a front prop and cracked the transfer case on the way back, leaving me stranded between Vereeniging and Alberton. see my thread "Help - broke propshaft and cracked transfer caseIt took me a few days to arrange a tow back to my plot. No paint, no glass and lots of rain equals one rust brown Hilux inside and out top to bottom. by this time I was REALLY demotivated but managed to find another workshop that was understanding and last week the work recomenced.

Below are a few more pics of the progress. This week we will remove the body and redo the chassis while we are at it. I am also making new mounts to fit the KZTE Radiator that she runs.
IMG-20110207-00062.jpg
IMG-20110207-00063.jpg
IMG-20110207-00064.jpg
IMG-20110207-00065.jpg
IMG-20110207-00066.jpg
IMG-20110207-00067.jpg
Rebel 4x4
Vehicle: 2020 Toyota Fortuner GD-6 4x4 Auto

Post by Rebel 4x4 »

Sorry to hear about having to move from workshop, if it doesn't rain, it poars...
Sent from my iPhone
Vehicle: '90 SFA Hilux DC 4X4, Full OME, 110mm lift. Brospeed branch, 50mm ss freeflow exhaust. 30 x 9.5 Discoverer S/T's on Viper mags. L/R tank. (AWOL) '98 LTD 2.4 SFA, dual battery system. Dobinson suspension, LR tanks, 31" BF mud's.

Oh Kakerlak! Hope you don't have too much to re-do (rusty areas), and that you can get the x-fer case / front prop sorted without too much hassle. ;-)

krazy_kameleon

Post by krazy_kameleon »

So a few more pics - removed the load bin.

decided to redo the chassis while I'm at it

will remove the cab on Monday, will finish all welding this weekend.
IMG-20110210-00071.jpg
IMG-20110210-00072.jpg
IMG-20110210-00073.jpg
IMG-20110210-00074.jpg
more updates next week....

Re: Rokarok gets a make-over - FINALLY A NEW UPDATE

krazy_kameleon wrote:they "don't want this kind of work there" and told me to get it out.
So are they turning into a valet service then? Or is you lux not good enough to stand next to the fancy cars?

Rick, having the front jack stands under the hubs rather than under the axle might not be so stable, especially if you're doing work that tends to 'shake' the bakkie. Just my 2CW. ;-)

I wondered about that too... :think:

:thankyou: well done
krazy_kameleon

Post by krazy_kameleon »

Thanks for the safety tips - I have moved them to a more stable place :)
krazy_kameleon

Re: Rokarok gets a make-over - FINALLY A NEW UPDATE

Post by krazy_kameleon »

Stef wrote:
krazy_kameleon wrote:they "don't want this kind of work there" and told me to get it out.
So are they turning into a valet service then? Or is you lux not good enough to stand next to the fancy cars?
Thats what I thought too. so if its anything more then a superficial scratch or, heaven forbid, a dent, its beyond their scope of expertise.

its the same as these modern workshops:
plug-in diagnostics
decode fault
order part
fit overpriced expensive part because a 20c seal is cracked
a good tradesman is a dying breed...
sir shrek
Vehicle: '09 Hilux D/C 4.0 V6 AKA 'BULLET' Hilux D/C 7M-GE aka SIR SHREK(SOLD) Jetta MK5 2.0TFSI

Post by sir shrek »

Hi Rick. Did you replace your roof skin or did you weld up all those cheese holes ?
3" suspension lift 31" bfg muds dual fuel tanks custom bushbar 7M-GE
Rear Diff Lock Custom made snorkel
UGLY LIKE SHREK,STRONG LIKE RUSSIA
krazy_kameleon

Post by krazy_kameleon »

Hi Claude,

We welded up all the "Cheese Holes" see pics below...

almost ready for final prime and then for the base coat clear coat (4E9) Landcruiser beige
IMG-20110216-00084.jpg
IMG-20110216-00085.jpg
IMG-20110216-00086.jpg
IMG-20110216-00088.jpg
IMG-20110216-00089.jpg
IMG-20110216-00091.jpg
IMG-20110216-00094.jpg
IMG-20110216-00093.jpg

Wow! :clap: Are you willing to do another... :beg:
krazy_kameleon

Post by krazy_kameleon »

and some more...

the bonnet nearly completed
IMG-20110216-00087.jpg
and the dash, stripped out
IMG-20110216-00092.jpg
krazy_kameleon

Post by krazy_kameleon »

Mr B, I would nt go so far as to say "never again" but I am pretty close to that point.

If I had known just how much work and cash was going to have been involved I would never have started.

The trouble is that to do a job, you first have to do something else and then while you are doing that you say "well I migt as well just do the chassis while I'm at it" or fit that new motor or replace the dash or fit an aircon etc etc and you need to know when to stop or the money runs out and you are left with a very expensive pile of scrap metal.

My job list includes:

redo chassis and brake pipes
fit new brown dash - goes with the colour I have chosen
new chrome grill and side markers
redo transfer case
weld up and overhaul gearbox
axle move (Louis megaworld)
redo front hubs (Louis Megaworld)
reshape leafpacks (Louis again) until I can get Mikem set up
weld-in leaf pedestal braces (Louis yet again)

Phew!

krazy_kameleon wrote:Mr B, I would nt go so far as to say "never again" but I am pretty close to that point.

If I had known just how much work and cash was going to have been involved I would never have started.

The trouble is that to do a job, you first have to do something else and then while you are doing that you say "well I migt as well just do the chassis while I'm at it" or fit that new motor or replace the dash or fit an aircon etc etc and you need to know when to stop or the money runs out and you are left with a very expensive pile of scrap metal.

My job list includes:

redo chassis and brake pipes
fit new brown dash - goes with the colour I have chosen
new chrome grill and side markers
redo transfer case
weld up and overhaul gearbox
axle move (Louis megaworld)
redo front hubs (Louis Megaworld)
reshape leafpacks (Louis again) until I can get Mikem set up
weld-in leaf pedestal braces (Louis yet again)

Phew!

Rick

You havent got the right brown bucket in
dashbord for me

Maddoglips

Post by Maddoglips »

Rick

HATS OFF to you M8 :clap:

Looking brilliant so far :thumbup:

Keep us posted and hope all falls in place, you defi haven't spared the effort.
krazy_kameleon

Post by krazy_kameleon »

Thanks Zane, hows your project coming?

Claude, I need to see what I get with the new dash. when I'm done I will make a list of the left overs and post it up

watch this space...