Putsy's Lux

Tell us a bit more about your Hilux (or other 4x4) and show off with some pictures.
putsy
Town: Brisbane QLD Australia
Vehicle: Hilux D/C

Putsy's Lux

Post by putsy »

Hi guys,
Im new to the forum so I thaught I would post some pics of my hilux a LN106 with the 2.8d mootor in it, Its medium size to the ones you see in Australia, It has the following mods,

-3 Inch suspention Lift
-2 Inch body lift
-Safari Tuff clutch
-OBX bucket seats
-10,000lb T-Max winch
-front and rear Lockrit Diff locks
-33x12.5R15 Super swampers TSL's
-40ch UHF
-Extended Diff breathers
Tom
Will post some pics in a day or so
SFA dual cab 2.8D, Front and Rear lockers, Winch with in cab control, Light Force spotlights, 4 Inch EFS lift, 2 Inch Body lift, Super Swamper TSL's, Bucket seats, Under body lights and some more stuff......

Re: My Lux

Welcome to the forum. Hope you will enjoy it!

Sounds like a nice bakkie you've got there but would like to see the photo's you mentioned :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Hiya Tom.... Welcome to the forum, now where are the pics mate?? :shock: :twisted: :twisted:

putsy

Post by putsy »

rito I will give you the direct link cus bugged if I know how to post them up here

There are a few there... Quick up date but, Iv just come from the shead where I have started pulling the motor out and to bits to recondition it and strap a turbo to it.

Tom
SFA dual cab 2.8D, Front and Rear lockers, Winch with in cab control, Light Force spotlights, 4 Inch EFS lift, 2 Inch Body lift, Super Swamper TSL's, Bucket seats, Under body lights and some more stuff......

Very nice looking van you've got there.
Scooter
Vehicle: '94 Raider, '05 Vigo 4.0 v6

Post by Scooter »

Nice looking van you got there Tom. I saw one just like it over the weekend, and I had to ogle it for a whie, I do like the import spec (for us in SA).

Welcom to the forum, may your stay be an experience and your experience be why you stay. :D
"I know that you believe you understand what you think I said, but I'm not sure you realise that what you heard is not what I meant."

Tom. What model LightForce spots have you got on your bakkie?
putsy

Post by putsy »

hay mate they are the 170 striker with blue lenses both are spot light covers, I belive this it the link
http://www.lightforce.net.au/images/dl140170.pdf
They are the best lights Iv ever had (and iv had a few :lol: ) They are tuff as nails and have a realy good reflector in them.

Tom

Thanks Tom.... I'm considering the XGT but they are huge and don't know if that will look nice with the bakkie :(
Riceburner
Vehicle: D2 V8

Post by Riceburner »

SUPER SWAMPERS Drooooooooool! :cry:
putsy

Post by putsy »

They are huuuuuggggggeeeee and in my opnion they stop to much air flow if you are putting on a bull bar and for the price and size they just arnt worth it.

Super swampers rock iv tryed a few types of tyers eg. Micky Thompson MTZ and Baja Claws but the swampers are the next level.

Very nice truck, man! Welcome to the forum.

Just a question: Why a turbo?
1988 Hilex D/C 4x4 (Import spec), Lexus V8; Marlin Crawler; Custom Suspension: front and new 4 link in the rear; Disc Brake conversion rear; 35" Cooper STT tyres; Xenon lights; Custom bullbar;Next? Aircon; new front seats, redo the whole interior in nice soft leather, Respray, Double Lockers

Howzit Tom.
You have got the same shape as mine.
My baby still needs some :mrgreen: steroids

putsy wrote:rito I will give you the direct link cus bugged if I know how to post them up here
Tom I have edit your post with [img]...[/img] tags but you will not be able to posts pics of these size by yourself as the forum's they are exceeding the forum's limit. Try posting images no larger that 800x600 to be safe
putsy

Post by putsy »

Thanks for that mate will resize befor posting in future.

A Turbo... Why not? you can use the turbo off the 2.4 Motor (2L-T) and bolt straight up and seing as the motor will be out of the car I thaught why not. I have just sent to the injector pump to get a boost componsator fitted to it so should be back tommrow or the next day big money to ($1350 AUS) but it does includ tuning when the vehical is running. And I just like the noise as well :lol:

Hay Tom your van looks really great :!: :mrgreen: Looks like you guys in Aus have just as much fun as we do 8)
2006 Hilux DC 4x4 4.0 V6 Old Man Emu suspension, Long Range Fuel Tank and a LA Sport Sump Guard, Natko railings with spade and high lift brackets, LA Sport high lift jack mounts, Powder coated Hilux Nudge Bar, Hella LED light bar, LED Work Light
putsy

Post by putsy »

well started doing my rear wheel bearings on the ute yesterday, pulled the axles and whot not out last night to use the press at work today all was traveling smoothley till I went to press the new collar on then CRACK :roll: somehow I managed to crack the new collar when doing it so am off to the bearing shop again tommrow to get a new one, will let you guys know how I go when I hopefully finish it tommrow.
Tom

And for the Safers who do not know what ute stands for, it refers to utility vehicle AKA bakkie. :) (use it don't use it)
putsy

Post by putsy »

Bakkie I like it im going to start using it now. Thanks
Tom

CasKru wrote:And for the Safers who do not know what ute stands for, it refers to utility vehicle AKA bakkie. :) (use it don't use it)
Geez, thanks for that Cassie! Now what is a Safer? :twisted: :twisted:

Just remember you pronounced it “buck-key” :wink:
putsy

Post by putsy »

hahahaa even i know waht a saffer is :lol: (I think...)

A dog drinks water out of a buck-key man... :roll: :roll:

A dog drinks water out of a buck-key man...
Maybe your dogs.Mine drinks out of a bakkie

Same difference George.. :twisted: :twisted:

ToyX4 wrote:
CasKru wrote:And for the Safers who do not know what ute stands for, it refers to utility vehicle AKA bakkie. :) (use it don't use it)
Geez, thanks for that Cassie! Now what is a Safer? :twisted: :twisted:
It's those people coming of South Africa.... :twisted: :twisted: That is what we be called in the Tri-Nations (which I do not have any hope for this season)

george wrote:
My dog has got manners it drinks out of a bowl :shock: :shock:

BenHurBul wrote:
george wrote:
My dog has got manners it drinks out of a bowl :shock: :shock:

Mine somer just drink out of the simming pool ander gaan hy vrek van die dors :)

Myne summer net drink uit die swembad other goes he die from the thurst :)
Last edited by CasKru on Wed May 28, 2008 5:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.

I dont have a dog... :shock: :roll:

Maar dan is jy mos 'n m-*-f-f-i-e man!

But then is you moss a glove man!
Last edited by CasKru on Wed May 28, 2008 5:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.

I have a goldfish in a bowl.... and my dog owns me... :roll: :twisted: :shock:

Kaspaas wrote:I have a goldfish in a bowl.... and my dog owns me... :roll: :twisted: :shock:
Maar dan is dit nie 'n hond nie... dit is 'n kat! Het hy 'n skurwe tong (vloek hy baie :twisted: )

But then is that not a dog not... that is a cat! Has he a course tongue(curse he plenty :twisted: )
Last edited by CasKru on Wed May 28, 2008 5:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Nee, maar hy het nie ore nie... :shock: :twisted:
No but he does not have ears... :shock: :evil:
Last edited by ThysdJ on Wed May 28, 2008 5:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Ken sulke mense! :shock: :shock: :twisted: :twisted:

Know such peoples :shock: :shock: :twisted: :twisted:
Last edited by CasKru on Wed May 28, 2008 5:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.

CasKru wrote: Mine somer just drink out of the simming pool ander gaan hy vrek van die dors :)
Hey guys this thread mus stay in inglish pliese :twisted: . Go and translate you posts immediately.

My previous dog also used to drink out of the pool before I had to fence it off when started building the nation. The current one is so mad she loves swimming day and night I had to put up this plastic mesh stuff that looks like special chicken wire, as she is smaller and squeeze through in-between the bars of the fence. You still think you are sleeping and then suddenly at 2 am am you are awaken by a big splash as she dives into the pool. :shock: :shock:

Go and translate you posts immediately.
Beter?
Better?

I still like this man's ute a lot... I had exactly the same one when I lived in Aussie... :twisted: :shock: Putsy do you have limited slip diffs on your ute mate :?:

Correction Putsy, I (like a box) didn't read that you had lockers front and rear... :shock: :twisted: :shock:

Kaspaas wrote:like a box)
Now man it is "like a bakkie"
putsy

Post by putsy »

hey mate, yer it is locked front and rear, It did have a factory LSD in the rear but as well all know by now they are not the best so when it failed I seized the opetunity to put a locker in it :lol:
Cus I had today off I stuffed around with the rear axle bearings and sucess :!: Its amazing what you can do with a few bits of pipe, a grinder and a huge hammer. Axles back in but yet to take for a drive as I forgot to get diff oil :roll:
Tom

The bigger the problem, the bigger the hammer! :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:
putsy

Post by putsy »

Just a quick video of when me and my mate went out wheeling a few weekends ago. The 4 runner has a quad Cam v8 motor in it. http://myspacetv.com/index.cfm?fuseacti ... d=35517618
Tom
putsy

Post by putsy »

Well its been awhile.... But iv been busy...
Iv added the following things to the hilux
-New washer jets so I can see where im going 8)
-In cab winch controls
-Moved allrelays/fuses from engine bay to under the dash
And just a general tidy up of everything. Will post pics when I get a chance

Re: Putsy's Lux

Well done Tom.

I hope you took pics and will do a little writeup for us to see :wink:

putsy wrote:Just a quick video of when me and my mate went out wheeling a few weekends ago. The 4 runner has a quad Cam v8 motor in it. http://myspacetv.com/index.cfm?fuseacti ... d=35517618
Tom
Nice Video Tom, thanks for posting it :P

I love your Lux :mrgreen: :D: :mrgreen:

Rich
putsy

Post by putsy »

I am going to do a write up today cus I riped the ligaments in my knee bike riding on the weekend so may as well.... haha

Lekker Tom, Ooops I meant Dinkum Mate :wink:

Rich
putsy

Post by putsy »

Rito, a bit of a mud map and small explanation of how I wired up the in cab winch control. I used smaller gauge wiring to run into the cab (20amp wire I think). It runs onto a 12v 20 amp momentary rocker switch. It runs a common earth and 2 power wires (one for in and one for out). They are connected directly to the solenoids in the control box located on the bulbar. I also added a switch on the earth wire to stop accidental use of the winch in the cab. Anyway some pic and some wiring diagrams. The wiring is for a T-Max 12,000lb winch but it could be applied on any winch like a warn ect…. I also moved most of the relays from inside the cab that were in the engine bay and also made some bike holders so I can transport 2 bikes quickely and safley.

Wiring For winch

Rocker switch

Isolator Switch

In cab relays

Bike holder
putsy

Post by putsy »

Well iv been doing abit of playing around and so I decided to make a power distribution for the tray of my Hilux so all my roll bar camp lights and accessories sockets are easily accessible and run off my 2nd battery that is in the tray.
I made it from scratch with bits and pieces bought from Jaycar (auto electrical shop) and bits and pieces I had laying around. The box is stainless steel. It holds 3 40amp 5 pin relays, 3 Switches for the relays, a Cigarette lighter socket, a 4x4 accessory socket and a 50amp Anderson plug.
I drilled holes for the cabling and added grommets as required.
All switches are water proof and the box is rubber sealed.
All relays are 40amp 5 pin relays, I will be using 2 of the relays for camp lights that will be put on the roll bar. The 3rd relay is used for the 4x4 and cig lighter socket.
The Anderson plug is not run via a relay.
Will put more pics up when I fit it to the ute….

Neat work Tom :P

Good to see some nice craft at work :D:

Keep the pics coming mate :D: :mrgreen:

:wink:
putsy

Post by putsy »

Some pics....

New lights on the roll bar for camping

Got to love being a BMW mechanic hahaha

Return to “Members' Vehicles”