Thinking out the box

Members' DIY projects
Vehicle: 2002 3.0KZ-TE 4x4, Eazyawn RTT, Snorkel, NudgeM Bumper, 38mm Ball Joint Spacers, 35" Maxxis Bighorns, Dastek Unichip, 60 ltr Snomaster fridge/freezer, 40mm body lift, Mikem front/rear with extended shackles, Bilsteins shox rear

Thinking out the box

This is in the name of creating extra packing space. Currently a canopy is not an option, from a cost point of view. In the picture the space I'm refering to is the one between the base of the RTT and the upper most of the loadbin. Please also refer to the pdf document attached for the picture of the drawing.

I have also bought one of these: http://www.cadac.co.za/products/product.php?pid=128" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
188_500pix.png
188_500pix.png (121.9 KiB) Viewed 3775 times
In the picture, these are approximate lengths: 80mm wide (from behind rollbar towards the rear) x 45mm high (below RTT and above bin) x 60mm deep (from edge of bin towards centre of the bin). The Storage will be mounted on the frame below the RTT facing to the passenger side direction. The stove will be housed in a Alu frame that will flip up and/or down as per arrow number 1. A table top will also swing from left to right as per arrow number 2 - this serves two purposes i.e. covers the stove when not in use but left in open position and to act as a table top when cooking, measuring 80 x 45mm approx. (note the position of the hinges). As the stove is in the open position it is supported by the shaded area in the drawing which forms part of the main frame. The frame will be made out of 25x25 tubing though I'm thinkin this could be an overkill? :think: was thinking more along 15x15 if there is such a size.

Extra features:

1. a limit switch will be mounted on the bottom hinge area so that when the stove if flipped open, an LED bar comes on automatically for light

2. flat weather strips will be used for sealing

3. Locks will use these, (see canopy locks pic attached)
Image though I'm not sure how they latch, some pics would be appreciated

Any thoughts and suggestions will be appreciated, :thumbup:
thinking out the box.pdf
(16.09 KiB) Downloaded 130 times
Coopers4.JPG

Danman
Vehicle: 2009 Fortuner 4.0 V6 aka "BosBuffel"

Re: Thinking out the box

Post by Danman »

Sound/looks good, I would add some type of supports to the flip tabletop to make it carry more weight.
Mabe from the edge of the table to the bottom of the cooker.
The only other thing I'm thinking of is that you might not be able to access the stuff in the storage whilst cooking(but thats me thiking like SWAMBO).
Enjoy

Looks like a good idea.

Just on the stove.For the last couple of weeks I was looking for a 2 plate stove and looked at all the different makes I could get.
Eventually I settled also on the Cadac.(same as yours) :dance1: I think it is the best for overlanding.The only loose part is the grill.On all the others you had different parts that came loose. I made a carry case for mine so I can set it up anywhere I want.
Danman
Vehicle: 2009 Fortuner 4.0 V6 aka "BosBuffel"

Post by Danman »

Agree
I made the mistake of buying a no name brand and everytime we want to cook something I have to , play hide and seek with the parts and the eventually after building the puzzle we can cook something.
Vehicle: 2002 3.0KZ-TE 4x4, Eazyawn RTT, Snorkel, NudgeM Bumper, 38mm Ball Joint Spacers, 35" Maxxis Bighorns, Dastek Unichip, 60 ltr Snomaster fridge/freezer, 40mm body lift, Mikem front/rear with extended shackles, Bilsteins shox rear

The reason I chose this stove is exactly that, no loose parts except the grill (which I have got fixed using Pretley Steel) - so no moving parts.

Whilst cooking yes the storage won't be accessible, which could be used to house recovery gear or other non-cooking related stuff, logic being you don't cook and recover at the same time. Another storage will be made later away from the cooker (when in open position) and that will be able to open and house the kitchen :thumbup:

mushroom
Town: krugersdorp
Vehicle: '16 Legend 45 DC 4x4M

Post by mushroom »

Hi Donkey,

I can take some pics of how those locks work, I had the local engineering works do my canopy for me - cost R 8000 all in. You can see it on viewtopic.php?f=4&t=22131" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

Essentially they clip onto a support structure (square tubing etc..) at the back. The nice thing is they are adjustable to the depth required

will post
Q20 if its stuck, duct tape if it moves :shock2: :shock2: :shock2:
niclemaitre
Vehicle: 99 IFS DC 4x4

Post by niclemaitre »

The locks work by pressing the bolt (bottom right of the picture) up against an edge/frame. The lock itself is mounted in the door panel. You unlock the lock, this swivels a barrel with a cut out on one side. The cut out is now in position to allow the button on the lock to be pressed and the bolt springs back and away allowing you to open the door.
Happy trails
Nic

SFA '97 DC - affirmatively shopped
SFA '87 DC "Rooies" - sold
IFS '99 DC "Benny"

Thank you Nic and James, will await a pic or two :thumbup: , much appreciated guys

Debs
Vehicle: Hilix 3 D4D 4x4 DC

Post by Debs »

This is my latest addition to my self build drawer system. It might be of assistance to you in designing yours. I am still busy working on the cosmetics side of it. Otherwise it is working fine.
Debs

Post by Debs »

It is Friday. It seems to me that the pics went awol. Will upload them sometime over the weekend.

Cool thanks :thumbup: was alomst gonna ask where's them pics

mushroom
Town: krugersdorp
Vehicle: '16 Legend 45 DC 4x4M

Post by mushroom »

Hey Donkey (like the name by the way - my vans name is imbongolo) - heres the pics as requested... :thumbup: :thumbup:
IMG_0374.JPG
IMG_0374.JPG (46.47 KiB) Viewed 3511 times
IMG_0373.JPG
IMG_0373.JPG (53.52 KiB) Viewed 3511 times
IMG_0372.JPG
IMG_0372.JPG (78.42 KiB) Viewed 3511 times
Q20 if its stuck, duct tape if it moves :shock2: :shock2: :shock2:
Debs

Post by Debs »

Found the darn pics. :D: Getting ready for Kgalagadi, Mabua. :yahoo:

WayneSchalk
Vehicle: 2019 Toyota Hilux 2.8 GD-6 4X4 DC Auto
Club VHF Licence: X117

Post by WayneSchalk »

I have a set of these pots, works very good.

I tossed the kettle :laugh2:
IMG_5723.jpg
IMG_5723.jpg (70.17 KiB) Viewed 3455 times
Revo
Town: Vryheid
Vehicle: Hilux REVO 2.4 D/C

Post by Revo »

Vreeslik oulik, goeie werk.
Wat ons is - net Genade
Wat ons het - net Geleen
Aan GOD al die EER !!!

:lol: :lol: :lol:

Hannes toe ek jou eerste foto van die boks sien, het ek gedink daar gaan 'n sub en amp in wees :lol: :lol:

Nice idee, jy kan ook sommer jou hele kombuis skuif indien nodig :thumbup:
JJBotes
Town: Witbank
Vehicle: KZ-TE

Post by JJBotes »

:thumbup: :thumbup: :thumbup:
Debs

Post by Debs »

Yep, the small thingie that is supposed to be kettle? is'nt doing it for us either. My trusty aluminium Hart never leaves the bakkie.
Die idee was om die kombuis te kan afhaal en weg te pak of te skuif as dit moet. Alles bly net so in hom.
WayneSchalk
Vehicle: 2019 Toyota Hilux 2.8 GD-6 4X4 DC Auto
Club VHF Licence: X117

Post by WayneSchalk »

ek wonder of so kombuis in n boks op so iets soos n spaar wiel carrier wat jy kan afhaal sal lekker werk, :problem:

Thank you guys, much appreciated - looking good too :thumbup:
Will keep you posted.

Return to “Build your own:”