Strange Fitting

Irishman
Town: Saldanha
Vehicle: 1991 Hilux Double Cab

Strange Fitting

Post by Irishman »

Can anyone identify this thing which is attached to my spare wheel. It says Solex on the lid. The background is part of the Kalagari
Ron
Bosvark
Vehicle: Hilux 2200 D/C AUS specs

Re: Strange Fitting

Post by Bosvark »

looks like a spare wheel lock
n vark bly maar n vark

it is a locking device to prevent your spare wheel from being stolen... I had the same on my Bantam bakkie some years ago. :shock: :shock:

Bosvark

Post by Bosvark »

Or a rust prevention device - seems like it doesn't work

Saw one underneath kaspaas bakkie also
n vark bly maar n vark

bosV8rk wrote:Or a rust prevention device - seems like it doesn't work

You were mistaken my dear BosVarkius... what you saw under Kaspaas was some other anti dumbass comment device. :shock: :twisted: :twisted:

Bosvark

Post by Bosvark »

lyk my daai ding werk nie,want jou bakkie het darem baie roes onder
Kaspaas wrote:
bosV8rk wrote:Or a rust prevention device - seems like it doesn't work

You were mistaken my dear BosVarkius... what you saw under Kaspaas was some other anti dumbass comment device. :shock: :twisted: :twisted:
n vark bly maar n vark

I agree looks like a wheel lock
2006 Hilux DC 4x4 4.0 V6 Old Man Emu suspension, Long Range Fuel Tank and a LA Sport Sump Guard, Natko railings with spade and high lift brackets, LA Sport high lift jack mounts, Powder coated Hilux Nudge Bar, Hella LED light bar, LED Work Light
Bushwacker
Town: Vryheid Natal
Vehicle: 2003 HILEX, 35" maxxis. 2009 Prado 120 VX

Post by Bushwacker »

It is a wheel lock, looks like the key has been gone for 20 years :lol: :lol: :lol:

Even if the key was not gone, it is still a "female dog" to get off after it has been there for so long.... :roll: :twisted: :twisted:

Bushwacker
Town: Vryheid Natal
Vehicle: 2003 HILEX, 35" maxxis. 2009 Prado 120 VX

Post by Bushwacker »

Kaspaas wrote:Even if the key was not gone, it is still a "female dog" to get off after it has been there for so long.... :roll: :twisted: :twisted:
Will be easier from above :lol: :lol:

Bay grinder comes to mind

A good locksmith should help you Ron :o

Those are high quality precision barrels, worth saving at all costs as a replacement is around R1000 :shock:

If you can find a number on it then a duplicate can be cut from the Solex database (try a distributor ie. Canopy King) :P

If you need some help don't hesitate to PM me :wink:
Irishman

Post by Irishman »

Hi Guys, thanks again for all the help. It was a lock. I didn't get a key from the previous owner ( he is in the Caribbean living it up on my money) so I can't ask him. I had a flash of insperation and looked in the ashtray, which has never been used, and there it was, a strange looking key. Half a tin of WD40 later I removed it.(the lock that is). It took the other half of the tin to loosen the lowering system. The tyre still had 1.8 bar in it. 8)
Ron.

Lekker nê :D:

Give it a good soaking in WD Ron, those locks are worth a bit and should save your spare if someone decides to take a fancy to your spare like they did with my Hardbody's Spare in Century City's "secure" car park. :x

Well done :P

Rich
Irishman

Post by Irishman »

Maybe I should have kept it, but I threw it away in disgust. Anyway it means you have to crawl under the lux on your back to unlock it. I don't fancy doing that on a rocky trail, in mud, or other stuff that lies around in game parks.
Ron.

Irishman wrote:Maybe I should have kept it, but I threw it away in disgust. Anyway it means you have to crawl under the lux on your back to unlock it. I don't fancy doing that on a rocky trail, in mud, or other stuff that lies around in game parks.
Ron.
I couldn't justify to myself spending a grand on a wheel lock so I just spent R80 on a fully waterproof Yale lock instead(has a rubber surround and barrel bung. :wink:

I used the padlock to lock the slack in the suspension chain to one of the stud holes. :idea:

I took it off for the 1st time in 3 years the other week - opened without any probs :P

(more than I can say for the suspending mechanism - ceased solid) :x

Hope the eggs in that birds nest managed to hatch and the chicks escaped before you dropped the wheel :lol:

Rich
Scooter
Vehicle: '94 Raider, '05 Vigo 4.0 v6

Post by Scooter »

Dadz Toy BFI wrote:I couldn't justify to myself spending a grand on a wheel lock
I felt the same way Rich. I bought a length of 10mm link chain and a outdoor lock that uses a "star" key (hareder to break, easier to open). The chain runs around the cross bar above the spare wheel and through the rim slots.

It is covered as well, with some leather, to stop the clanging of the chain and damage to the rim. I unlock and remove the chain before a trail, although it is long enough that I wouldnt have to crawl underneath to get to it.
"I know that you believe you understand what you think I said, but I'm not sure you realise that what you heard is not what I meant."

Scooter wrote:
Dadz Toy BFI wrote:I couldn't justify to myself spending a grand on a wheel lock
I felt the same way Rich. I bought a length of 10mm link chain and a outdoor lock that uses a "star" key (hareder to break, easier to open). The chain runs around the cross bar above the spare wheel and through the rim slots.

It is covered as well, with some leather, to stop the clanging of the chain and damage to the rim. I unlock and remove the chain before a trail, although it is long enough that I wouldnt have to crawl underneath to get to it.
The Great thing about this Forum :P

Great Ideas from Great Lux -ers :D: :mrgreen:

Nice Scotty :D:

Rich

Hey Scott, please post a picture of this lock with the Star key... I would like to get a couple as well but have no idea what this looks like.

Scooter

Post by Scooter »

F_D, I will send photos to your email. The problem Im having with my IE extends to not letting me download peekchas here. :(
"I know that you believe you understand what you think I said, but I'm not sure you realise that what you heard is not what I meant."

Got them, thanks, Scott!

Here's Scott's Peekchas mos :P
Lock n Key
Lock n Key
Barrel detail
Scooter

Post by Scooter »

Thanks Rich.

Now as you can see from this slide..................... :D:
ecotech
Town: cape town
Vehicle: volkswagen tdi

Post by ecotech »

hint on the solex locks. i had to fit one after the experiance of having to replace a tyre end found it gone with the wind. i have dumped mine in normal vasaline. it seals the top and bottoms from water and mud and sand and opens up 1st time every time
loop maar met my voete!!!!!!!!!!
Scooter

Post by Scooter »

Most lock manufacturers actually tell you not to use sprays etc as these attract rather than repel dirt etc.

But this vaseline trick is a new one. Ill give it a try on an outside lock.

This star lock of mine has not had a drop of oil etc in the last 4 years and has never given me a moments trouble. :D

The Vaseline Trick is Neat mos :P

Varkie, lend me your Vaseline please bru :P :wink: