Marine Switch (3 way switch) - for 2nd or 3rd Battery Op

I've come across many "old school die hard" 4x4 ers who rather fit these as a 2nd Battery manager cos:

1. NL and similar Solenoid based systems are pricey to buy and even pricier to REPAIR (and don't try a Bush Repair) :!: :!:
2. They are standard fit for Mariners and can take serious punishment, unlike microchips that hate heat,current fluctuations, moisture, klops and dust :!:

It can handle being drenched and abused no end :shock:

This baby is "sold" to a Hilux Owner and will be used to switch his 3rd battery between

2nd to third battery
Alternator to 3rd battery
Stand Alone (Isolated from Circuit) - for charging
etc, etc.... whatever your requirements. :idea: :idea:

Works with 6v-12v-24v

And is Kema and Marine laboratories approved.

With a Continous Current Capacity of 235 Amps or 300 Amps Intermittent, it's the bees knees :D

I'd rather rely on one of these than a box of chips and a current robbing solenoid.

Would "normally" be seen switching a main and 2nd Battery, the RED Button is the LOCK

Have seen them fitted on 4x4's : under the bonnet, on the chassis, in the loadbox

They are also what you'd use to switch a generator to your household power :idea: :wink:

I wouldn't fit a Winch without one of these baby's providing some major current :wink:

Here are the pics

:wink:
Three large terminals: Batt 1, Batt2, and Common
Instructions are for its BABY BROTHER the 175Amp version
Doctor V
Vehicle: Land Cruiser FJ62 3F

Re: Marine Switch (3 way switch) - for 2nd or 3rd Battery Op

Post by Doctor V »

Got one of these in my engine compartment. Only item to remember is to set switch to both when travelling. Drawback that if one battery is faulty, it will kill the other battery. And when hooking up the fridge remember to change switch to the 2nd battery otherwise you drain both
'07 D4D Fortuner 4X4, OME with BF AT's

Now see, there I already fell out of the bus. I will forget to do all the switching and stuff, and by the time I get back to trying to start my vehicle all the batteries are flat, and the beers are warm. Yes I agree, it is nice and probably very fail safe, but I prefer the other more "intelligent" system. :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

Scooter
Vehicle: '94 Raider, '05 Vigo 4.0 v6

Post by Scooter »

Nice switch Rich :D:

But I have to agree with Thys, I would never remember to switch the blimming thing over all the time. :cry:
You surely also have to have the same batteries for main and aux 1 to ensure the charging is at a premium.

I reckon as a switch from aux 1 to aux 2 it would be great, but i'll leave the main switching to my NL system. :mrgreen:
"I know that you believe you understand what you think I said, but I'm not sure you realise that what you heard is not what I meant."

Yebo, that's why I've recommended it for this Aux1 and Aux2 system, rather "unusual request" :roll:

The customer will still be using his NL System to Manage Main to Aux's :wink:

R

Dadz Toy wrote:Yebo, that's why I've recommended it for this Aux1 and Aux2 system, rather "unusual request" :roll:
Pray tell Yorkshireman Rich, what does this customer of yours want to run off Aux1? And what does he want to run off Aux2 that warrants the extra battery plus overheads? :?: :?:

Is one used for the inverter to run the DSTV decoder, 107cm LCD flatscreen TV, tumble-dryer, hair-dryer, curling tongs and clock-radio? :lol:

And the other one for the 80l Engel, icemaker, Garmin, 29mHz radio, bug-zapper, dual head compressor and fluorescent lights? :twisted: :twisted:

When you need moosa en reliable power in the Richt's :shock:

Two Aux Batts is a great idea :roll: :roll: :wink:

Rich
Last edited by Dadz Toy BFI on Thu Sep 11, 2008 9:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Didn't really make myself clear on the first post - just realised that it reads like:

1). An anti-NL, Pro Marine Switch rant :roll: :roll:
2). Wasn't Clear about how its gonna be used on Customer's Lux :confused:

So.......

Firstly - yes it is a cheaper alternative to an Automatic Switch Manager like NL, but can also be used in conjunction with one.

i.e......

On Customer's Lux the NL will attach to the Common Pole, then Aux 1 on Batt1 pole and Aux 2 on Batt2 Pole.
The NL system will still do the managing and monitoring of Main Batt and Aux Batt, just that Aux Batt will be dependant on which one (or BOTH) is selected on the Marine Switch. :wink:

For Campstand Mains Charging the marine Switch will be set in the OFF Position, thus allowing each Aux Batt to be charged independantly of each other and the Main Batt. :wink:

Hope this makes things a little clearer :mrgreen:

Ps.... When used in conjunction with an NL, you can still stare at your pretty little LED's and wait (Eternally) for the "Overcharge Alarm" to go off - :roll: :roll: :roll: (more chance of being Recovered by a Nassin)

Just a word of caution for all you die-hard leisure battery (deep cycle 2nd Batts) Users ---> make sure you take EVERY opportunity to Mains Charge them for a 10-15hrs. Doesn't matter what Alternator you have a depleted deep cycle battery is a b*gger to replenish (rather like a blockage in a stream, it takes time for the current to wash a way through) Remember the re-charge profile is the direct Inverse of the Discharge Profile :Geek:
ie. First 4 hrs gives you max 20-25% (25% is considered FLAT), after that it accepts a charge at an exponential rate and unless you're gonna drive for 12-15hrs will no current pull - YOU AIN'T EVER GONNA CHARGE IT PROPERLY - despite your NL LED's telling you "all is fine and dandy" :roll: :roll:

Best Batt System I've ever witnessed was a vehicle with THREE (Main + 2xAux Batts) Code: 688 Willards (100+ AmpHrs) NORMAL Cranking Batteries; NL Manager Switching and Monitoring the Main to marine switch selectable Aux Batts, with a 750w roof mounted solar panel. Those batts could be re-plenished in a couple of hours by Alternator/Mains Assisted charging if no sun-light available, otherwise the Solar Unit kept them all in Tip-Top condition from Cape Twon to Switzerland over 18 months.

As far as the "FORGETTING TO MANUALLY SWITCH" excuse goes...... You guys telling me that you drive trips without EVER stopping to get the picnic outa the back / stop for fuel / stop for photos..... Lame Argument (make it the Co-Pilots responsibilty):roll: :roll:

Like Thys says: TRUST ME on this. :wink: :wink:

I have some photos of said System on a Landy TD5, if anyone is interested :?: :?:

Rich
Last edited by Dadz Toy BFI on Wed Oct 29, 2008 11:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.

SO plak da peektja, Rich! :D:
1988 Hilex D/C 4x4 (Import spec), Lexus V8; Marlin Crawler; Custom Suspension: front and new 4 link in the rear; Disc Brake conversion rear; 35" Cooper STT tyres; Xenon lights; Custom bullbar;Next? Aircon; new front seats, redo the whole interior in nice soft leather, Respray, Double Lockers

Scorpion wrote:SO plak da peektja, Rich! :D:

Ek es bia worried na :o:

Es op e Landy :oops: :oops:

Dadz Toy wrote:

:shock: :shock: :shock:

I do not understand a word, Rich!

Translation: "Post a picture, Rich!" And I thought you would understand the Capie language...
1988 Hilex D/C 4x4 (Import spec), Lexus V8; Marlin Crawler; Custom Suspension: front and new 4 link in the rear; Disc Brake conversion rear; 35" Cooper STT tyres; Xenon lights; Custom bullbar;Next? Aircon; new front seats, redo the whole interior in nice soft leather, Respray, Double Lockers

Scorpion wrote:
Dadz Toy wrote:

:shock: :shock: :shock:

I do not understand a word, Rich!

Translation: "Post a picture, Rich!" And I thought you would understand the Capie language...
Translation:

I dare not, it's on a Landy TD5 (excuse my blasphamy) :o: :o: :o: :o:

Just now I'll be labelled a "Landy Lover" - as well as a sh*t-stirrer :roll:

Rich

Rich
DadzToy's Former Stable Mate<br /><br />Ok, I've done it - now get an eye-full - I'm deleting it sooooon nê
DadzToy's Former Stable Mate

Ok, I've done it - now get an eye-full - I'm deleting it sooooon nê
Last edited by Dadz Toy BFI on Tue Nov 04, 2008 11:36 am, edited 1 time in total.

Yesterday the Switch went into a certain Moderators Lux :P

A Success I think, he's promised to post some pics so that we can ellaborate on the:

dingers
blikies
fluffle valves
Dangle Pins

Till then .................

Rich

Doctor V wrote:Got one of these in my engine compartment. Only item to remember is to set switch to both when travelling. Drawback that if one battery is faulty, it will kill the other battery. And when hooking up the fridge remember to change switch to the 2nd battery otherwise you drain both

nie, nie, nie..............

Something is sommer not right there Chappy, it can;t be a tru 3 way switch :P :P

Doctor jou moet show Doc Rich one day soon Bru :wink:

It's been a while now nê :shock:

I'm hoping that my Customer will give us some feedback after his latest adventure :P

i.e.

a). It worked lekker :D
Or
b). It was a total flop, darn gimmick things :x

Pray tell please Pal :?: :wink:

Rich, worked like a charm, Thanks, Will take some pics tomorrow.
putsy
Town: Brisbane QLD Australia
Vehicle: Hilux D/C

Post by putsy »

the 4x4monthly Landcruiser here in Aus uses that system... It is called Milo do a google search it is a work of art....
SFA dual cab 2.8D, Front and Rear lockers, Winch with in cab control, Light Force spotlights, 4 Inch EFS lift, 2 Inch Body lift, Super Swamper TSL's, Bucket seats, Under body lights and some more stuff......

Anychance you can paste that in here please Tom :?: :P

Thanks for that :wink:

Rich
Last edited by Dadz Toy BFI on Sun Nov 02, 2008 6:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.
putsy
Town: Brisbane QLD Australia
Vehicle: Hilux D/C

Post by putsy »

Ok here t is I id my best... http://www.4wdmonthly.com.au and do a site search for Milo.
SFA dual cab 2.8D, Front and Rear lockers, Winch with in cab control, Light Force spotlights, 4 Inch EFS lift, 2 Inch Body lift, Super Swamper TSL's, Bucket seats, Under body lights and some more stuff......

Dadz Toy BFI wrote:It's been a while now nê

I'm hoping that my Customer will give us some feedback after his latest adventure
I have not re-done the cabling :shock: :oops:

Worked lekker and never had problems .... :D
general031108 017 (Large).jpg
general031108 020 (Large).jpg
general031108 023 (Large).jpg
general031108 022 (Large).jpg
Okkie Van Wyk
Town: Middelburg
Vehicle: 2011 Hilux 3.0 D4D D/C
Club VHF Licence: N019

Post by Okkie Van Wyk »

Hoe lyk die bedradings diagram vir jou stelsel ?

Okkie
123 WEG MP
2011 Hilux Vigo 3.0 D4D D/C
VENI VICI VIDI
CAME, I SAW, I CONQUERED

Okkie, I will have a get Richard (DADZ Toy) to draw up a wiring diagram.

Niel wrote:Okkie, I will have a get Richard (DADZ Toy) to draw up a wiring diagram.
No Wiring Diagram available, it's like this Okkie bru:

National Luna Installation as Standard (if you like pretty Green L.E.D.'s) :roll: :wink:

BUT

The N.L.'s Aux Batt Live goes to the Common Pole of the Marine Switch

The 1st Aux Batt LIVE then goes to the Batt 1 Terminal

The 2nd Aux Batt LIVE then goes to the Batt 2 Terminal

N.L.'s Neutral is wired in Parallel to the Battery Neg Poles OR to a Chassis Common Earth; whichever you prefer (I know Bennie would say via. A Chassis Common Earth Point :wink: )

In Neil's Installation the Batts Neutrals are in Parallel with an Earth Pendant to the Chassis/Batt Box

Piece of Cake nê :Geek:

Please try and use a plastic battery box else you'll have to seriously insulate the rear of the Marine Switch; on Niel's I used a piece of Mountain Bike Tyre between Switch and Alu Battery Box :o: 8)

There's mooosa amps involved here, please play nicely ladies :P

Okkie you're a Sparky too nê, maybe you can post something lekker after your Installation :wink:

Rich
Okkie Van Wyk
Town: Middelburg
Vehicle: 2011 Hilux 3.0 D4D D/C
Club VHF Licence: N019

Post by Okkie Van Wyk »

D.T.B

Ek is nou nie n volbloed sparky nie maar elect. tech. :Geek: is seker naby genoeg :Geek:
Ek het n plan :idea: ,nog nie presies seker oor hoe die plan gaan werk nie maar tenminste het ek al n plan

sal julle op hoogte hou van wat gedoen gaan word sodra dit ge doen is...... :?: of so

Okkie
123 WEG MP
2011 Hilux Vigo 3.0 D4D D/C
VENI VICI VIDI
CAME, I SAW, I CONQUERED

Okkie Van Wyk wrote:D.T.B

Ek is nou nie n volbloed sparky nie maar elect. tech. :Geek: is seker naby genoeg :Geek:
Ek het n plan :idea: ,nog nie presies seker oor hoe die plan gaan werk nie maar tenminste het ek al n plan

sal julle op hoogte hou van wat gedoen gaan word sodra dit ge doen is...... :?: of so

Okkie
Translasie asblf :oops: :oops: :oops:

Young Niel..... Help :?: :(

Rich

Okkie

D.T.B

I am not a full-blooded Sparky, but Electronics tech is probably close enough :Geek:
I have a plan :idea: not too sure how the plan will work, but at least I have a plan.

Will keep you informed what I will do as soon as it's done...... :?: or so

Don't know the English equivalent of "Okkie"
:mrgreen:

Family_BullDog wrote:

Okkie

D.T.B

I am not a full-blooded Sparky, but Electronics tech is probably close enough :Geek:
I have a plan :idea: not too sure how the plan will work, but at least I have a plan.

Will keep you informed what I will do as soon as it's done...... :?: or so

Don't know the English equivalent of "Okkie"
:mrgreen:
Alsonot like in: "I know alsonot" or in afrikaans "Ek weet okkie :wink:"

:twisted: :twisted: