2000 Hilux 2.7 4x4 Supercharger remove or repair

Discuss modifications on your late 1998 to 2005 IFS Hilux here.
rjclarkewp007
Vehicle: 2000 Toyota Hilux 2.7 4x4

2000 Hilux 2.7 4x4 Supercharger remove or repair

Post by rjclarkewp007 »

Hi

I have a 2000 Hilux 2.7 4x4 which has a supercharger and aftermarket chip installed. Seems to me like the supercharger is not working anymore and it's now causing the fan belt to snap as well. I want to remove it, but I cannot find anyone in Cape Town that can assist me. Alternatively I would love to try and get it fixed.

Anyone that can help me with this of know someone that can?

Re: 2000 Hilux 2.7 4x4 Supercharger remove or repair

Hi,

Welcome to th eForum.

Search 4xLux. They should be able to help you.

Hilux 1
Vehicle: 2011 Raider 4x4 Double cab 4.0 V6
Club VHF Licence: HC137

Post by Hilux 1 »

Francois 072 424 05 zero zero
Mars
Vehicle: Toyota Hilux Dakar 2.8 GD-6 DC 4X4

Post by Mars »

If I were you I would have the supercharger repaired.
rjclarkewp007

Post by rjclarkewp007 »

HI thanks for all the replies!

I already started by phoning 4xLux, which referred me to Modjets.
Modjets taking their time and not getting back to me even after following up.
Phoned MrTurbo, they referred me to a Francois as well. He doesn't answer his phone. Been trying for 3 days now.
I phoned Clive's Auto here in Durbanville, they referred me to Byron from C B F Clutch & Brake Fitments Centre. Sounded like a very clued up guy. Made an appointment to meet up with him at his warehouse this morning at 9AM. Got there, no sign of Byron and no one else could assist me.
Tried to phone the other Francois that Tertius suggested. Also no answer. :(

GATVOL!! Die land is so in sy moer as dit kom by diens!

Phoned Autoworks in Brackenfell, they said they can help me...so I might just have to drive all the way there and see what they have to offer.
Any other suggestions are welcome! I would love to rather fix the supercharger than to remove it, but yeah, seems to be something that nobody can help me with at this stage.
ismail
Vehicle: Hilux '03 2700i SC 4x4

Post by ismail »

have you tried Allan Venter AEW auto, 072 129 1160 also in Brackenfell.
'93 DC 2.2 4x4 33" BF KM2's 60mm lift, Fakawi Canvas Canopy. SOLD
'03 SC 2700i 4x4 32" BFG KM2, SAC stage 1, OME springs, Rancho 9000XL shocks, ARB, Escape Gear seatcovers - goes like a bomb!!!!!!!!!

I surf more than I work
rjclarkewp007

Post by rjclarkewp007 »

Thanks Ismail! I will give them a call as well.

rjclarkewp007 wrote: Mon Feb 19, 2018 10:47 am Hi

I have a 2000 Hilux 2.7 4x4 which has a supercharger and aftermarket chip installed. Seems to me like the supercharger is not working anymore and it's now causing the fan belt to snap as well. I want to remove it, but I cannot find anyone in Cape Town that can assist me. Alternatively I would love to try and get it fixed.

Anyone that can help me with this of know someone that can?

Hi Raymond,

I recently had a similar vehicle in for the same problem. Quote to repair supercharger came to R45000-00 from eaton in durban themselves. Owner decided to go back to standard. For that amount you can import a new one. A lot of people say they can repair it, until they have to replace the lobes, which was in this case the issue due to a damaged gearbox on the drive pulley. Yours sound a bit worse if it snaps the belt.

So yes I can be fixed, question is how badly do you want that extra power and keep in mind the 2.7 Gearbox is not that well suited to all that torque and power, especially 5th gear driving.
rjclarkewp007

Post by rjclarkewp007 »

Thanks for your input Johan! Much appreciated!
I managed to get hold of Isak at Dynotech. They can assist me Next Wednesday. They will test the compression on the supercharger. If there no compression or not enough then it's coming off. He also mentioned that the fan belt most probably snapped because the pulleys do not line up correctly.
Should they need to remove it i will need to find a second hand air intake manifold..so that's the next problem I guess.
Hilux 1
Vehicle: 2011 Raider 4x4 Double cab 4.0 V6
Club VHF Licence: HC137

Post by Hilux 1 »

Ek het met die manne van Dupdiesel/turbo exchange gepraat. hulle se praat met Karel of Koos by Koos swanepoel develoment
rjclarkewp007

Post by rjclarkewp007 »

Dankie Tertius!

Ek het so jaar terug toe ek die bakkie gekoop het, die bakkie na hulle toe gevat. Dyno het gewys dat die bakkie se KW minder is as n standard 2.7. Hulle het toe al gese ek moet laat kyk na die cambelt timing asook die supercharger want iets is nie reg daar nie. Engine self klink nog baie mooi. Ongelukkig het hulle ook gese dis nie iets wat hulle aan kan werk nie. Dalk weet hulle van iemand, so ek sal tog vir hulle ook vra as ek steeds vashak.

Return to “Late 1998 to 2005 (Gen 5 aka IFS Hilux)”