Wurth: Ratchet Riv Nut Tool

Where can I buy one of these tools or equivalent in SA :?:
Wurth_rivnuttool.pdf
(1.45 MiB) Downloaded 122 times

Re: Wurth: Ratchet Riv Nut Tool

Give Wurth Cape Town a ring Niel :wink:

Are they at Woodbridge Office park, Koeberg Rd Milnerton.
Tel Shop: 021 552 0913

My telephone book dates back a few years and the "e" yellowpages only show JHB and Dbn.

Yebo

You can e-mail an enquiry 1st at:

http://www.wurth.co.za/index.php?option ... 0&Itemid=9
Scooter
Vehicle: '94 Raider, '05 Vigo 4.0 v6

Post by Scooter »

Niel, I don't know the wurth of that tool :clap: , but it looks expensive :shock:

For small jobs, through not to thick metal, you can get a Fascor rivnut tool from makro.
Comes with M4, M5, M6 and M8 inserts. Cost R400

http://www.makro.co.za/ProductDetail.as ... 0067642|EA
"I know that you believe you understand what you think I said, but I'm not sure you realise that what you heard is not what I meant."

Thanks, I am worried that as the pop rivet gun it does not last normally bends where it pivots. Have you had any experience with this tool :?:

Scott .. please do not try to persuade Niel to purchase the cheaper option, as he will only use it once and then I will use it extensively. Please let him buy the more expensive high quality product. :twisted: :thumbup: :shock: :twisted: :twisted:

:lol: :lol: :shifty: I have had a few of the pop rivit guns and they all had that weak spot so then I got the "konsertina" type and hay should have done that from the start.

Thys, I have heard that they go for around R 3200 are you sharing the cost :twisted: :twisted:

Niel wrote:Thys, I have heard that they go for around R 3200 are you sharing the cost :twisted: :twisted:
No thats okay I am sure you'll manage on your own... :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

Scooter

Post by Scooter »

Thys, when you are done will you send it my way :thumbup:

I bought the fascor when I was installing a few brackets for fridges etc and it worked for me. the only problem I had with it was that I tried to pull it up against something that was too thick and I actually broke the pin that holds the rivnut. (for the M6). but as far as bending on the pivot pin, I have never experienced it.

Obviously the more expensive tools are better, you could even go as far as to get a pneumatic one, but for once of usage i just couldnt justify the cost. I kinda looked at it this way, if the "cheapy" works then great, if it doesnt, the cost of the cheapy was negligable to the cost of the expensive tool and could be written off as a lesson learnt.

Fortunately it worked for me. :thumbup:
"I know that you believe you understand what you think I said, but I'm not sure you realise that what you heard is not what I meant."

Scooter wrote:Thys, when you are done will you send it my way :thumbup:
No problemo Bra!! :clap: :thumbup: :thumbup:

There contact details are
Cape Town:
Tel: +27 (21) 552 - 7760

and the price is R 3400 all incluve eina :!: :!:

Niel wrote:There contact details are
Cape Town:
Tel: +27 (21) 552 - 7760

and the price is R 3400 all incluve eina :!: :!:
Can I use it on the weekend please Niel?? The Scott wants to use it the weekend after.... :shock: :clap: :clap: :clap:

:wth: :wth: :wth: :think: :think: :think: .......
Scooter

Post by Scooter »

Eish, that's hefty, but both Thys and I promise to look after it. :D:

That's why it is just not worth the expense for a few rivnuts. :wink:

I have to do around 30 but not at that cost. I am off to Makro :thumbup:

30 riv nuts? What are you building? a new KZTE?? :shock: :twisted: :twisted:

Hang, that's one nice looking rivet gun! I'll borrow it too...

Just to look at!

some feedback:
The rivnut tool at Makro is not in stock at Makro (Milnerton)and only has one bit so

The same tool with one bit is ranges from R 680 excl VAT and bits have to be bought seperately and no one have stock.

If you want to install a 8mm to 12 mm you have to go for the long arm rivnut tool and their price is R 2810 excl vat

So with this info R 3400 is not so bad :think: :think:
Zantus
Vehicle: Hilex

Post by Zantus »

I've got the Fascor tool and it works ok for DIY purposes.

At the automation company I worked we only used tools from Rivco, a bit more expensive but it kept up with the abuse very well.

Try them as well:
http://www.rivco.co.za/html/handrivnut.asp

Oh, and if you only have to do a few, just use an HT bolt, a nut and some washers. Expand the nut the manual way.....a bit of work, but it costs just about nothing :wink:
I did a 100 like that on site in Roslyn because we forgot the tool in PE.....none of them ever came out, so I know this method works very well.
Barto de Koning
2008 Triton 3.2DiD 4x4 Clubcab
4x4 Trail & Overland Guide - GP3442
http://www.4x4tec.co.za" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
Scooter

Post by Scooter »

Niel wrote:
So with this info R 3400 is not so bad :think: :think:
Then the price isn't so bad, but installing M12 is not normal DIY use, or at least I wouldnt put all my trust in a brass insert thats been squished by hand to hold whatever it is I want to hold.

Thats why for my purposes the fascor one works fine. :D

I have to order a new bit for mine after I broke the last one.

http://www.fascor.co.za/ProductsRivetingTools/fh20.htm

Manage to find a good imported riv nut tool from Multi Fast in Observatory. Can do riv nuts from 4,5,6 and 8 mm and you buy it as a set. Price including vat was R 230. They can be contacted on tel: 021 4477403

Thanks for all the help. For the bigger size riv nut I will speak to someone with the expensive riv nut tools.
wim
Town: Vryheid
Vehicle: 95 hilux d/c Hilex

Post by wim »

Niel wrote:Where can I buy one of these tools or equivalent in SA :?:
Niel wou net se ek het een by Wurth gekoop so n jaar terug en hy is elke sent werd. Ek gebruik myne gereeld want ek werk in n 4x4 fitment centre en kan hom aanbeveel.As jy hom nie gereeld gaan gebruik nie gaan hy dalk n bietjie duur wees.Sou jy dalk een aanskaf vat die bietjie raad.Wanneer jy die krimp nuts koop kry die een met die bree skouer.

Wimpie, ja ek sou ook graag die Wurth wou koop maar ek kan nie die prys regverdig nie. Ek is die DIY tipe maar eendag as ek meer tyd het om goed te bou glo my dan trek ek Wurth nader. :thumbup: Dit maak net die vasmaak en losmaak soveel makliker. Ek laaik nie van sukkel nie.
Scooter

Post by Scooter »

For those that are interested, I found this rivnut tool.

It is much better than I hand tool I reckon and would cost the same as the one from makro including shipment.

Perhaps someone with a contact in the machining world can make it themselves, it is a simple wedge design.

http://www.powerfuluk.com/products/othe ... -tool.html
Gertc
Vehicle: 3.0L Fortuner
Club VHF Licence: Xray05

Post by Gertc »

I bought a Stanley Rivet gun at P+P one Saturday at 12. Cost me R.99. went to the local hardware shop bought a 6mm cap screw. R. 6.50. Got home striped the normal clamping mechanism out of the rivet gun. Drill the hole to fit the cap screw and has crimped about 25 rivet nuts and still going strong.

Yes I can only crimp 6mm rivet nuts but that works fine for me.

Total cost R105.55

Saved R.445.
IMAGE_222 (Small).jpg
Last edited by Gertc on Fri Apr 24, 2009 4:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Bushwacker
Town: Vryheid Natal
Vehicle: 2003 HILEX, 35" maxxis. 2009 Prado 120 VX

Post by Bushwacker »

Cool :thumbup:
Engel
Vehicle: Datsun & Nissan 4x4

Post by Engel »

ek het een by wp fasteners gekry. Wil nog die airtool kry maar kos 5000
For anything offroad: herman@angeloffroad.co.za
Pofadder recovery kits @ wholesale prices

Gert

We want a step for step report with pictures of all the steps please :D: :D:
Gertc

Post by Gertc »

I have stepped with open eyes into that one. Didn’t I? :roll: :roll: :wth: :crazy:

I will try and do it for you.
Gertc

Post by Gertc »

This is all the parts that I used.
Rivnut tool.jpg
(a) The rivet gun
(b) Insert
(c) Cup screw
(d) Locking pin
(e) Spring

Start by removing the locking pin(d) by turning (wiggling) it and pushing it with a screw driver.

Once pin (d) is removed the insert and the spring should come out quit easy.

Remove the tip from the rivet gun shaft that is normally holding the rivet on the rivet gun. There should be thread inside to screw the different rivet seats on.

That tread should be drilled out with a 7mm drill bit. This will allow the cap screw to move freely through the shaft
Taper insert.JPG
Taper insert.JPG (2.1 KiB) Viewed 3680 times

Inside the Insert (b) there should also be a smaller insert that must be drilled to a 7mm size.

The locking pin should also be drilled to fit the Allen key to work the cap screw.

All that is left now is the assembly.

Take the 50mm x 6mm Cap screw and slide it into the tapper insert.

Slide them into the insert (b).

Slide that into the Rivet gun shaft.

The spring should follow next.

Finally fit the locking pin (d) to finish the modification.

All you have to do is find enough holes to fit rivet nuts to.
IMAGE_229 (Small).jpg
The rivet gun I used I bought from Pick and Pay.
It is a STANLEY 69-799

Sorry Gert maybe I am a bit dof, please explain your second pic (taper insert) ??

Slim outjie die Gert... :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

Gertc

Post by Gertc »

it is part of the original rivet gun. in the modification it only acts as a spacer. mine is stuck inside the rivet gun.

Gert mounted the CH solenoid in Bulldog with this rivet nut tool. Before I had even blinked, he was done! I was still looking for a suitable 6mm nut & bolt, when I turned around he had finished. :thumbup:

Ek dink ons moet Gert 'n ere titel gee hier op die forum:

"Man met 'n Plan"

:wink:

Ek gaan kyk of ek nie sommer my eie ou oranje rivet-gun kan convert nie. dan koop ek 'n nuwe ene om mee rivets te skiet. Anders is dit hierdie naweek ek, die Hipermark en 'n Stanley rivet-gun... :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:

Scooter

Post by Scooter »

WEll done Gert :thumbup: :thumbup:

The reason I looked for alternatives to the Fascor rivnut tool was because the M6 mandrel broke on the 5th rivnut I inserted. So much for good quality or maybe I just don't know my own strength :twisted: :twisted:

Anyway, Fascor have said they will deliver a new one, still waiting.

So I stumbled upon this slide one and thought it would be a decent alternative. You are not relying on pure hand leverage and I would assume you could use a air gun or drill (slow speed) to turn the bolt if more power was needed (steel rivnuts perhaps).
Stephen
Vehicle: 1992 Hilux DC 4x4

Post by Stephen »

Good day to you,

Someone pse explain what is a Riv nut tiil and where it is used.

Regards

Stephen
Jaws
Town: Sharonlea
Vehicle: 2009 D4D 4x4

Post by Jaws »

3RZ
Vehicle: 2004 Legend 35 Hilux 2.7 DC 4x4

Post by 3RZ »

Just for interest sake this is what frontrunner sells the tools and rivnuts for:

FRONT RUNNER RIVNUT & RIVTOOL

FRUN66 RIVNUT TOOL M6/8 EACH R 120.00

FRUN67 RIVNUT TOOL M3/5 EACH R 120.00

FRUN68 M3 RIV NUT PACKET PKT OF 10 R 15.00

FRUN69 M5 RIV NUT PACKET PKT OF 10 R 20.00

FRUN70 M6 RIV NUT PACKET PKT OF 10 R 25.00

FRUN71 M8 RIV NUT PACKET PKT OF 10 R 30.00

FRUN72 M6 PLASTIC NUT CAPS PKT OF 10 R 8.00

FRUN73 M8 PLASTIC NUT CAPS PKT OF 10 R 8.50
Scooter

Post by Scooter »

Willem, any idea what these tools look like?
3RZ
Vehicle: 2004 Legend 35 Hilux 2.7 DC 4x4

Post by 3RZ »

No idea, I just spotted the Rivnut stuf while browsing for something else on their website. Might be worthwile to go and have a look, they are next to the Kyalami race track.