Page 1 of 1

Orra frequencies

Posted: Mon Jul 14, 2014 8:59 am
by george
Thanks To Anre I am almost on the air again.
The radio only have 8 channels.I need to open up at least one or maybe 2 channels.
So what of the 8 Orra channels is the least used.
I was thinking of doing away with channel 5 and 6.
Which ones do you use the most?

Re: Orra frequencies

Posted: Tue Jul 15, 2014 8:27 am
by george
No one :cry:

Posted: Tue Jul 15, 2014 8:37 am
by Thunder02
Howzit George :wave:
In convoy usually channel one, when marshaling usually channel two.If there is too many users on the channels we then switch to 3.
Really don't see the need for all 8.

Posted: Tue Jul 15, 2014 9:07 am
by george
Thunder02 wrote:Howzit George :wave:
In convoy usually channel one, when marshaling usually channel two.If there is too many users on the channels we then switch to 3.
Really don't see the need for all 8.
Thats my experience also.
is any one else using 5 or 6

Posted: Tue Jul 15, 2014 9:24 am
by Thunder02
George,not quite with you,if your radio has eight channels and ORRA has eight,what could the problem be.I know there is a new channel coming,i would drop ORRA 8 and put the hilux channel in it's place.

Posted: Tue Jul 15, 2014 9:31 am
by george
Thunder02 wrote:George,not quite with you,if your radio has eight channels and ORRA has eight,what could the problem be.I know there is a new channel coming,i would drop ORRA 8 and put the hilux channel in it's place.
AFAIK Orra 7 and 8 is open channels without tones,so maybe better to keep them.

Posted: Tue Jul 15, 2014 9:33 am
by CasKru
How the channels are set up:

ORRA 1 (Freq 1 - tone 1)
ORRA 2 (Freq 2 - tone 1)
ORRA 3 (Freq 1 - tone 2)
ORRA 4 (Freq 2 - tone 2)
ORRA 5 (Freq 3 - tone 1)
ORRA 6 (Freq 3 - tone 2)
ORRA 7 (Freq 1 - no tone)
ORRA 8 (Freq 2 - no tone)
ORRA 9 (Freq 3 - no tone)

Freq 1 & 2 above is the newer less congested frequencies and Freq 3 is the old ORRA 1 which is quite congested

Posted: Tue Jul 15, 2014 9:35 am
by CasKru
Also keep in mind:

Open channel can talk to open channel
Toned channel can talk to open channel but open channel cannot reply
Toned channel can talk to toned channel (if same tone)

Posted: Tue Jul 15, 2014 9:37 am
by Thunder02
[quote="CasKru"]How the channels are set up:

ORRA 1 (Freq 1 - tone 1)
ORRA 2 (Freq 2 - tone 1)
ORRA 3 (Freq 1 - tone 2)
ORRA 4 (Freq 2 - tone 2)
ORRA 5 (Freq 3 - tone 1)
ORRA 6 (Freq 3 - tone 2)

I'm guessing that nine is our new channel,which the tone has not being decided on yet :?:

Posted: Tue Jul 15, 2014 10:03 am
by Haboob
Which channel is the calling channel, on which the radio is left on when travelling, so that you can be contacted if seen or from someone requiring assistance?

Posted: Tue Jul 15, 2014 10:11 am
by Thunder02
Haboob wrote:Which channel is the calling channel, on which the radio is left on when travelling, so that you can be contacted if seen or from someone requiring assistance?
Good question.

Posted: Tue Jul 15, 2014 10:18 am
by Bliksempie
Literally just received my PT8100 from Repcom (EXCELENT SERVICE), and noticed 9 channels programmed. Also submitted the application forms for the licence. Can't wait to get on air. :celebrate: :celebrate:

Posted: Tue Jul 15, 2014 10:20 am
by george
CasKru wrote:How the channels are set up:

ORRA 1 (Freq 1 - tone 1)
ORRA 2 (Freq 2 - tone 1)
ORRA 3 (Freq 1 - tone 2)
ORRA 4 (Freq 2 - tone 2)
ORRA 5 (Freq 3 - tone 1)
ORRA 6 (Freq 3 - tone 2)

Freq 1 & 2 above is the newer less congested frequencies and Freq 3 is the old ORRA 1 which is quite congested
Cassie so as jy uit daai lys 3 kanale moet scrap watter 3 sal dit wees.Meskien 4,5,6

Posted: Tue Jul 15, 2014 10:33 am
by CasKru
George... dit is moeilik om te sĂȘ. Elkeen van daai kan nog gebruik word.

Ek sou se 5 & 6 maar dit wil voorkom of ons dalk daai frekwensie gaan moet gebruik vir die Hilux Channel

Posted: Tue Jul 15, 2014 11:04 am
by Haboob
Which channel is the calling channel, on which the radio is left on when travelling, so that you can be contacted if seen or from someone requiring assistance?

Posted: Tue Jul 15, 2014 12:17 pm
by george
Haboob wrote:Which channel is the calling channel, on which the radio is left on when travelling, so that you can be contacted if seen or from someone requiring assistance?
I think it should be Orra 1. Maybe Eric can help
Ek sou se 5 & 6 maar dit wil voorkom of ons dalk daai frekwensie gaan moet gebruik vir die Hilux Channel
Dit is reg so.Ek gaan dan 5 en 6 vir ons ferkwensie oop hou :thumbup:

Posted: Tue Jul 15, 2014 12:22 pm
by Thunder02
Robbie22 wrote:Literally just received my PT8100 from Repcom (EXCELENT SERVICE), and noticed 9 channels programmed. Also submitted the application forms for the licence. Can't wait to get on air. :celebrate: :celebrate:
So my bakkie comes with a new radio :celebrate:

:tease:

Posted: Tue Jul 15, 2014 12:48 pm
by Bliksempie
Neil,

When we met at the Night Drive, I could've had an piece of biltong or something in my mouth... but the word "nooit" and "never" still rings a bell.

Posted: Tue Jul 15, 2014 1:27 pm
by Thunder02
Robbie22 wrote:Neil,

When we met at the Night Drive, I could've had an piece of biltong or something in my mouth... but the word "nooit" and "never" still rings a bell.
:laugh2:
No harm in pushing one's luck.
:siffler:

Posted: Tue Jul 15, 2014 3:07 pm
by Haboob

I think it should be Orra 1. Maybe Eric can help

Thanks George
Eric seems elsewhere entertained

Posted: Tue Jul 15, 2014 5:51 pm
by Family_Dog
Eric has this problem where work interferes with his web crawling... !

You probably can skip channels 5 & 6 and keep them in reserve. Initially we sold 8-channel radios (even the Kenwood TK7102, which was a 4-channel radio) because ORRA only had one frequency. That became two frequencies and then two frequencies became three frequencies, each with three individual channels as per the channel list posted above. So the minimum radio requirement now would be a radio with 16-channel capability, which would still allow room for expansion. The Kirisun PT8100 scores heavily here being about the same price as 16-channel radios but with the added features of an Alpha-Numeric LCD display and 256-channel capability - not that that many channels would ever be required.

Posted: Wed Jul 16, 2014 8:21 am
by george
Thanks Eric :thumbup: I will start saving for the PT8100