Vacuum Guage - JB Can't fly a SikorskY without one !!!

I know that there's a Thread out there somewhere with Vacuum Guage discussion

But my SEARCH Criteria don't wanna play ball today :cry:

(probably one of my own threads, it's the Codeine Effect "The Lights are ON but NOBODY'S Home"Image

I downloaded this Pic from the very same elusive thread :o:

So, here is the Pic again :roll: :roll: :roll:

Who posted it - and where can I get one please :?: :?:

(having no luck in Performance Shops, Midas CT etc......) :cry: :cry:

Rich :oops: :!:
I need one of these babies for my...<br /><br />Baby!?!
I need one of these babies for my...

Baby!?!
Last edited by Dadz Toy BFI on Fri Sep 12, 2008 1:06 pm, edited 5 times in total.

Re: Vacuum Guage - where can I find one please guys?

Victory Motors in the CBD, Moag's in Elsies River, or Windsor Garage in Parow Richie... :twisted: :twisted:

Kaspaas wrote:Victory Motors in the CBD, Moag's in Elsies River, or Windsor Garage in Parow Richie... :twisted: :twisted:
ImageImageImage THYS

Who Needs the Yellow Pages hey :o: :o:

This FORUM and its MENSA ROCK

Rich

Dadz Toy wrote:This FORUM and its MENSA ROCK
Rich
Hey Some people could be offended by that statement... :twisted: :twisted:

Kaspaas wrote:
Dadz Toy wrote:This FORUM and its MENSA ROCK
Rich
Hey Some people could be offended by that statement... :twisted: :twisted:
Ok, you've lost me in Translasie

how about:

This FORUM and it's Good FOLK - PRICELESS

Re: Vacuum Guage - Where to Find One in CT

Bosvark might not like it if he is associated with a rock... but I see now you used it as a verb and not a noun... :twisted: :twisted:

Fortunately Vaarkie's got (as a Yorkshire Man would say)

A Reet' Grand Thick Skin :roll: :wink:

(that's a compliment by the way) :o: :wink:

I only realised my "faux paux" in the Performance Shop earlier when the conversation went something like this:

Soutie - Have you got a Vacuum Guage Please Sir :?:
Dude - Why would you want wonna those?
Soutie - To "Monitor my fuel economy..............."

Those Shops are GREAT (if you drive a Honda Ballade and live in The Cloud-Cukoo-Land Of The Fast and The Furious) :roll: :roll:

Wills said " Come Dad, this shop is rubbish, it doesn't have 4x4's :shock: :shock: :shock:

Soutie and Co-Pilot made a rather swift and efficious exit :o: :o: :o:

Couldn't help but coughly say as I exited:

Get A Life Wills followed with:

GET A LUX

That's my boy :wink: :wink:

Rich
Irishman
Town: Saldanha
Vehicle: 1991 Hilux Double Cab

Post by Irishman »

Rich I got mine in Midas. It is interesting in that pic you posted they call it a driving guage. I fitted one to monitor the vacuum in my gas system, but it encourages one to drive with a lighter foot. Mine says BADthenPOOR andGREEN when I get in the red I automatically lift my boot a little.
Some one also posted how to check your engine performance using the vacuum guage.
Ron.

Irishman wrote:Rich I got mine in Midas. It is interesting in that pic you posted they call it a driving guage. I fitted one to monitor the vacuum in my gas system, but it encourages one to drive with a lighter foot. Mine says BADthenPOOR andGREEN when I get in the red I automatically lift my boot a little.
Some one also posted how to check your engine performance using the vacuum guage.
Ron.

Hmmmmmmmm..................

Guess trying to keep it in the POOR

Is good going for a Std. Lux Hey Big Ron :roll: :wink:

Hey Richard,

Have you tried Goeie Hoop Parts, they are on my side of the Boerewors curtain, but they carry alot of these types of goodies... 021 981 4501...

snipes wrote:Hey Richard,

Have you tried Goeie Hoop Parts, they are on my side of the Boerewors curtain, but they carry alot of these types of goodies... 021 981 4501...

I've tried everywhere within "spitting distance" of my sick bed in Obz :roll: - maybe I should broaden my horizons :P

(time to dig out the Passport again :roll: :roll: )

Rich

Dadz Toy wrote:
snipes wrote:Hey Richard,

I've tried everywhere within "spitting distance" of my sick bed in Obz :roll: - maybe I should broaden my horizons :P

(time to dig out the Passport again :roll: :roll: )

Rich
You should not spit on people when you are sick....

:wink:

i got one :!:

from a performance shop nogal (no emoticon selected)

doesn't have good, bad poor, hilux, it's a regular vacuum guage for R295 (it has a pretty polished aluminium fascia), they had one's starting at R150 so I got the better one at the higher price.

my brother from another mother is gonna help me fit it, hope his method works at sea level (no caps or emoticon selected)

Rich

Ok got mine and fitted it in line with the Diktator

It seriously helped me drive the Two Oceans Trail when I was running on 3 Cylinders (4th kicked in from 2500+ rpm only)

I made a mount for the console, am re-making the fascia after the Transplant to include Volt Meter and Oil Pressure Guage, the Vacuum Guage will be offset to the right (centre is not the best position for line of sight)

Here's how it looks now

I'll post a pic of the new fascia when I'm done, next week sometime :P

Anyone want the 'old' brushed aluminium fascia - F.T.G.H. (Free To A Good Home) :?:

Rich
Centre Position - Not the Best Line of Sight - will be moving it towards Driver's side
Last edited by Dadz Toy BFI on Wed Sep 10, 2008 1:55 am, edited 1 time in total.

Rich, meant to ask you. What is the covering over your Dicktator front cover? Mine is silver aluminium, I've been wanting to cover it with something a little more pretty as it looks a tad unsightly with the standard aluminium cover plate.

Family_BullDog wrote:Rich, meant to ask you. What is the covering over your Dicktator front cover? Mine is silver aluminium, I've been wanting to cover it with something a little more pretty as it looks a tad unsightly with the standard aluminium cover plate.

Yep, I had a moosa fight with little Bennie over this one - "Look Bru, it's my Lux nê :!: :!: :!: :P

My console is a "strange import", the plate is the original black blank, has TOYOTA on it, so I drilled it to fitted the Diktator behind :P :P :P

Bennie got "his way", when I agreed to keep the Diktator aluminium plate, it's mounted behind the blanking plate :roll: :roll:

Looks sommer nou lekker nê :P :P :P

Rich

Aahhh, I see! I think I will go the the upholsterer and get a piece of brown leatherette for mine and just stick it on, would improve its looks by a huge margin!

Re: Vacuum Gauge - Where to Find One in CT

Eric

Go to the hardware store and get a can of satin black aerosol spray and spray the alu plate to match your radios
JBurger
Town: ......
Vehicle: .....

Post by JBurger »

Guys, sorry if I am going upstream here :) but my experience is that the more gauges I am watching, the less pleasure I actually get from driving. Even watching the rev counter really bedonners the experience. It takes so much away from the pleasure I normally get from driving my vehicle. The aim of the gauge is to lighten your foot to save fuel, so why not just lighten the foot any way and drive by the seat of the pants, the senses, the vibration, the sound, the ‘feel’ of the car, it’s sooooo much nicer. You can feel the torque at low throttle settings much better by just looking up and enjoying the scenery. And you save a whole lot of money…
As I already mentioned, I am not saying anything you want to hear but it is my 2cw, my experience, yours may be different.. :wink: :wink: :)
Image ImageImage

JBurger wrote:Guys, sorry if I am going upstream here :) but my experience is that the more gauges I am watching, the less pleasure I actually get from driving. Even watching the rev counter really bedonners the experience. It takes so much away from the pleasure I normally get from driving my vehicle. The aim of the gauge is to lighten your foot to save fuel, so why not just lighten the foot any way and drive by the seat of the pants, the senses, the vibration, the sound, the ‘feel’ of the car, it’s sooooo much nicer. You can feel the torque at low throttle settings much better by just looking up and enjoying the scenery. And you save a whole lot of money…
As I already mentioned, I am not saying anything you want to hear but it is my 2cw, my experience, yours may be different.. :wink: :wink: :)

JB's - fair comment Bru!

The Vac Gague is quite important for the Efi Diktator Mod, as the "normal style" of efficient driving is quite different with the Diktator's programme ie. changing up a gear can in some cases be less economical than staying in the lower gear - depends on the settings :P

I guess in your line of work - you've seen more guages than you'd care to shake a stick at hey :P

So let's just call it a BFi Club Member Thing :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Great to see you're on terra firma again :P

Rich
JBurger

Post by JBurger »

:lol: Hey, I'm just trying to get my rating up without talking tooooo much nonsense! Look, I've passed 100!!!! See you guys hopefully at the next trail! :D :D
Image ImageImage

I am with JB on this.. you need to know your vehicle well enough to know when to change gear by listening to your engine-note, not because some gauge tells you to. :twisted: :twisted:

Too many distractions can be dangerous... Jinne JB you put it nicely!! :twisted: :twisted:

JBurger wrote::lol: Hey, I'm just trying to get my rating up without talking tooooo much nonsense! Look, I've passed 100!!!! See you guys hopefully at the next trail! :D :D

Jb's - I agree with Thys, who agrees with you JB :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Ps... When can I come tickle your copter dials and distracting lights and switches with my Side Cutter :wink:

Rich
JBurger

Post by JBurger »

Dadz Toy BFI wrote:
JBurger wrote::lol: Hey, I'm just trying to get my rating up without talking tooooo much nonsense! Look, I've passed 100!!!! See you guys hopefully at the next trail! :D :D

Ps... When can I come tickle your copter dials and distracting lights and switches with my Side Cutter :wink:

Rich
Looks like you have already cut half my wires!!! :twisted: :D :D
Image ImageImage
Jaws
Town: Sharonlea
Vehicle: 2009 D4D 4x4

Post by Jaws »

I would prefer to SEE that the engine is experiencing low oil pressure by looking at a gauge than to FEEL it after the engine has run bearings :roll: But then again I am an instrumentation engineer and the more instruments I can add the happier I will be. :D

JBurger wrote:
Dadz Toy BFI wrote:

Rich
Looks like you have already cut half my wires!!! :twisted: :D :D

Niiiiiiice JB :!: :!: :D: :D: :D: :D:

From what machine is that Cockpit we're looking at please :?: :?: :?:

Rich :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
JBurger

Post by JBurger »

Jaws wrote:I would prefer to SEE that the engine is experiencing low oil pressure by looking at a gauge than to FEEL it after the engine has run bearings :roll: But then again I am an instrumentation engineer and the more instruments I can add the happier I will be. :D
Noooo, noooo, nooo! It's only the Jeep guys that have to worry about low oil pressure, in the Toyota, if you ALWAYS LISTEN to your lady's heartbeat, she will never let go! :lol: :lol: :lol:
Image ImageImage
JBurger

Post by JBurger »

Hi Rich, it's the Sikorsky S76C+, carries 2 crew and 12 people at 145kts / 270km/hr offshore to oil rigs 190km from land, then returns on the same tank of fuel and land with 30min of fuel remaining. Round trip less than 1hr20 flight time. Great machine!

Image ImageImage

She's a Bute :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Where are the Rigs from Here JB?

Rich
Ps.. Had friends that flew for "Heavy Lift" in PNG, lifting plant and Gold out of the mines, never managed to take them up on their offer of a free ride though :( :( :(
JBurger

Post by JBurger »

Just worried besause we are not discussing gauges any more.. Sorry.. :oops: :oops: :oops:
We fly north west as I said our closest rig is at 190km offshore.
Image ImageImage

Re: Vacuum Guage - JB Can't fly a Sirkorski without one !

nie, nie, nie.............

Your stuff is SO much more interesting bru :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

So, what you're actually saying is.........

You couldn't fly your Lady without a Vacuum Guage then :o: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

You can post as much as you want about this Lady, she's lekker nê :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Rich
King Rat

Re: Vacuum Guage - JB Can't fly a Sikorski without one !!!

Post by King Rat »

Guys, good news. I've got a Ford V6 conversion in my Lux and when just started driving her got about 6.5 km/l - 7.5 km/l. Now I get 10 km/l! No gas, no vacuum gauge, just driving on the speed limit for the Lux. That's a 25% to 35% increase in fuel consumption! :shock: And this on a Weber carb. :o:
Now I just need Allan to give the girl a service and tune up and see what she is capable of then :D
Datsun GX Coupe 1200
99 Subaru Legacy GT
07 Alfa Romeo GT 3.2 V6

Lampropeltis getula californiae, Orthriophis taeniura friesi, Morelia spilota, Python brongersmai, Epicrates chenchria maurus, Python regius
JBurger

Post by JBurger »

King Rat wrote:Guys, good news. I've got a Ford V6 conversion in my Lux and when just started driving her got about 6.5 km/l - 7.5 km/l. Now I get 10 km/l! No gas, no vacuum gauge, just driving on the speed limit for the Lux. That's a 25% to 35% increase in fuel consumption! :shock: And this on a Weber carb. :o:
Now I just need Allan to give the girl a service and tune up and see what she is capable of then :D
Yoy see! No gauges :!: :!:

You will just have to be carefull, at the rate you're going, you are going to start MAKING fuel soon! :D :D
Image ImageImage
JBurger

Post by JBurger »

You, You, You, You, You, You, You, You, You, You, You, You, You, You, You, You,....... I'm not sure how many times I will have to write this out to get it right in future, sorry miss..... :oops: :oops: :oops: :oops:

O, and it is Sikorsky Y :wink: :) :) :D
JBurger

Re: Vacuum Guage - JB Can't fly a SikorskY without one !!!

Post by JBurger »

Big Brother is watching! Wow, you are fast! :o :shock: :? :o: :o: :D
King Rat

Post by King Rat »

JB do you know a Stephan Bosman?
Datsun GX Coupe 1200
99 Subaru Legacy GT
07 Alfa Romeo GT 3.2 V6

Lampropeltis getula californiae, Orthriophis taeniura friesi, Morelia spilota, Python brongersmai, Epicrates chenchria maurus, Python regius
JBurger

Post by JBurger »

King Rat wrote:JB do you know a Stephan Bosman?
OT
:evil: :twisted:

Give a more clues... May I call a friend?

Sorry, too many beers ago, no...

:) :)
King Rat

Post by King Rat »

Just asking, he till quite recently, used to fly the russian named american chopper in Nigeria and Angola.
Datsun GX Coupe 1200
99 Subaru Legacy GT
07 Alfa Romeo GT 3.2 V6