ORRA - SNORING

Discuss all kind of nice gadgets and two way radios here.
Hilux 1
Vehicle: 2011 Raider 4x4 Double cab 4.0 V6
Club VHF Licence: HC137

ORRA - SNORING

Post by Hilux 1 »

jeez louise, has anyone gone to their office to see if they still alive?
got this reply:
Good day. I will be away from the office until Monday, 10 September. I will have limited access to emails from the 03 September.
by the time i get my license i will need to pay the next one. :banned: :banned:
Anyone thats got some nowhow of whats happening between ORRA and ICASA?

Re: ORRA - SNORING

new license or a renewal ??

Renewals ... well they take TIME, but they are coming through SLOWLY ....

NEW ..... well they might have sorted that backlog out in time for your 2014 license .....
WayneSchalk
Vehicle: 2019 Toyota Hilux 2.8 GD-6 4X4 DC Auto
Club VHF Licence: X117

Post by WayneSchalk »

Haha

I submitted a new license to buy a radio from Eric on the 5th July 2012 and only got an acknowledgement that they reserved my request 10th August 2012 and the wait continues :crazy:

No wonder guy's do it illegally....
MOFASA
Vehicle: 1998 JEEP XJ 4.0............ 4 inch lift.... more mods to follow............ Old vehicle was MOFASA
Club VHF Licence: X119

Post by MOFASA »

WayneSchalk wrote:Haha

I submitted a new license to buy a radio from Eric on the 5th July 2012 and only got an acknowledgement that they reserved my request 10th August 2012 and the wait continues :crazy:

No wonder guy's do it illegally....
Im still waiting for confirmation that they recieved my application....
I just carry a copy of the app in the bakkie, im leeeeeegal :silent: :angel: in an illegal way... :twisted: :twisted: :mocking: :mocking: :mocking:
Live Life in the FAST lane....
Forget the past, Embrace the FUTURE!!!!
To 4x4 or not to 4x4 thats the question....
IT'S A JEEP :yahoo: ..... You wouldn't understand....
ImageImageImage[rimg=206x128]
Ali3n
Vehicle: Jeep Commander 3.0 Limited
Club VHF Licence: B338

Post by Ali3n »

I spoke to Rina yesterday, She was in far an operation on her spine or something like that and is unable to sit in front of the computer for long periods of time. I did my application for renewal in March as well as paid my dues the same time and to date have not received any feedback. I also applied and paid for an additional license for my handheld a few weeks ago and also have received no confirmation. I think it will be best to rather just go and do my amature license later this year... :think:
PRESENTLY DISADVANTAGED
ImageImageImage Link BrokenImageImage Link Broken
Custom built Rock Sliders, Bumpers, Belly protection.... Anything you can think of
Cell: 076 122 3744 E-Mail: fpanaino@gmail.com
Bear Grylls calls it "Ultimate Survival", overlanders call it "Camping"

Ali3n wrote:I spoke to Rina yesterday, She was in far an operation on her spine or something like that and is unable to sit in front of the computer for long periods of time. I did my application for renewal in March as well as paid my dues the same time and to date have not received any feedback. I also applied and paid for an additional license for my handheld a few weeks ago and also have received no confirmation. I think it will be best to rather just go and do my amature license later this year... :think:
Amateur license won't help you as you are only allowed to operate in lower frequency range than the commercial radios
Ali3n

Post by Ali3n »

CasKru wrote:Amateur license won't help you as you are only allowed to operate in lower frequency range than the commercial radios
Eish, yes you are right... I completely forgot :slap: But then atleast I can get the Vertex I always wanted... So I will still gain something in the end... :twisted:
PRESENTLY DISADVANTAGED
Custom built Rock Sliders, Bumpers, Belly protection.... Anything you can think of

Ali3n wrote:I spoke to Rina yesterday, She was in far an operation on her spine or something like that and is unable to sit in front of the computer for long periods of time. I did my application for renewal in March as well as paid my dues the same time and to date have not received any feedback. I also applied and paid for an additional license for my handheld a few weeks ago and also have received no confirmation. I think it will be best to rather just go and do my amature license later this year... :think:
that explains it !!

Rina is normally VERY efficient !

I sent in my forms in March, but the invoice I got was incorrect. Took a month or two to correct that.

Rina emailed me the corrected invoice and I paid in MINUTES, and replied to her email. This got her attention. :)

I got my licenses a few weeks later.

PLEASE NOTE - new licenses are NOT being issued !! This is ICASA, NOT ORRA.

at the moment NOBODY knows when the new licenses will be sorted out ....

You can always submit your own application to ICASA...

4x4Maniac
Vehicle: 2011 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon Unlimited (JKU) 3.8 Auto
Club VHF Licence: X120

Post by 4x4Maniac »

Also waiting for the Invoice, only got confirmation on 15th
August and applied on the 26rh of June... So I am also semi legal...
So, received my Radio yesterday from Eric and quite excited. Spoke to a colleague of mine and measured the distance to be 5.6km's... Got the handheld HQT-2000 and very happy. Thanks Eric!

Mmm so who else is in Centurion that's got a radio?
ORRA CALLSIGN X120
AKA Epsilon on 4x4Community
(2011 JKUR)
Jeep Wrangler Rubicon 3.8 Auto Unlimited

Rugged Ridge Front & Rear Bumpers
Rugged Ridge Light Guards
KC Spotlights
Previous:
2003 Toyota Hilux DC KZTE 3.0 4x4
2001 Toyota Hilux DC 2700i 4x4
Hilux 1

Post by Hilux 1 »

it's a renewal :cry: :cry: :cry:

Tertius at least you WILL get yours LONG before they have made up their mind about the new licenses ...

VASBYT boet !!
Vehicle: 2002 3.0KZ-TE 4x4, Eazyawn RTT, Snorkel, NudgeM Bumper, 38mm Ball Joint Spacers, 35" Maxxis Bighorns, Dastek Unichip, 60 ltr Snomaster fridge/freezer, 40mm body lift, Mikem front/rear with extended shackles, Bilsteins shox rear

4x4Maniac wrote:Also waiting for the Invoice, only got confirmation on 15th
August and applied on the 26rh of June... So I am also semi legal...
So, received my Radio yesterday from Eric and quite excited. Spoke to a colleague of mine and measured the distance to be 5.6km's... Got the handheld HQT-2000 and very happy. Thanks Eric!

Mmm so who else is in Centurion that's got a radio?
Maybe when I get home I should give you a shout to switch your radio on and see if you can pick me up, just to see.

I'm still waiting for an invoice and I'm just gonna be patient that's all.

4x4Maniac

Post by 4x4Maniac »

Donkey wrote:
Maybe when I get home I should give you a shout to switch your radio on and see if you can pick me up, just to see.

I waited but did not hear anyone... :evil:
ORRA CALLSIGN X120
(2011 JKUR)

KC Spotlights
Previous:

Maniac in this game "waiting" is not measured in weeks .....

once your email has been sent, keep a copy in your 4x4 and WAIT (as in 2 or 3 months, sometimes even longer)
Polarbear2008
Vehicle: 01 Hilux Kz-te 4x4 Raider d/c
Club VHF Licence: X49

Post by Polarbear2008 »

Tr deal with and ICASA is much worse! Have you seen the radio application? Only 2 things missing is a blood and hair sample! 3 Pages of PAIN!
01 Hilux 3.0L KZ-TE 4x4 Raider d/c
GME Gx300 29meg & Vertex VX2200 VHF radio
Mikem load springs with greasable shackles and polybushes
Monroe Gas Magnum shocks
Kumho Road Venture AT - 30x9.5x15
National Luna Dual battery system
Frontrunner roofrack with s/steel table
Twin rear high lift jack points
Hilux4x4club sticker! ('nuf said!)
Echo3 4x4 offroad trailer with NL 74 Litre Fridge/Freezer
Dual loadbox slides
Wishlist:
Alu canopy
Warn Winch
Unlimited Fuel & Travel Budget!

Theunis please keep us posted on the process with ICASA.

4x4Maniac wrote:
Donkey wrote:

I waited but did not hear anyone... :evil:

Werner

Not everyone has the new ORRA channel plan programmed into their radios yet.

You need to listen on Channel 7 on your radio to be able to hear another person talking on Channel 1 on their 'old ORRA' channel plan.

The older ORRA radios are programmed for just 4 channels, yours is programmed for 9 channels.

Polarbear2008 wrote:Tr deal with and ICASA is much worse! Have you seen the radio application? Only 2 things missing is a blood and hair sample! 3 Pages of PAIN!
Three pages?? Try seven pages!
Landmobile_Application New.pdf
(793.3 KiB) Downloaded 117 times
You also need a brief letter of motivation and a certified copy of your ID.

4x4Maniac

Post by 4x4Maniac »

Family_Dog wrote:
Not everyone has the new ORRA channel plan programmed into their radios yet.

You need to listen on Channel 7 on your radio to be able to hear another person talking on Channel 1 on their 'old ORRA' channel plan.

The older ORRA radios are programmed for just 4 channels, yours is programmed for 9 channels.

Yip I got it mainly on 7 Old ORRA1 but doubt Donkey will pick me up 50km + so was just milking the Donkey! :lol:
ORRA CALLSIGN X120
(2011 JKUR)

KC Spotlights
Previous:
Bugzy
Town: Rustenburg
Vehicle: 2015 Hilux S/C 4X4 Dakar1996 2.8D s/c 4x4 Hilux with 3CT Toyota motor
Club VHF Licence: X56

Post by Bugzy »

:yahoo: :yahoo: :yahoo: :yahoo: :yahoo: :yahoo: :yahoo: :yahoo: :yahoo:
Ek het vandag my Roepsein gekry - my lisensie is betaal en wag net vir die papier
:celebrate: :celebrate: :celebrate: :celebrate: :celebrate:
subok
Town: Jhb - Somerset West
Vehicle: Hilux 3.0 D4D 4x4 D/C - Kitted for overlanding
Club VHF Licence: HC152

Post by subok »

Bugzy, wanneer het jy jou aansoek ingestuur?

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2
Cleaner
Vehicle: Toyota Hilux 4l V6 4x4 Auto
Club VHF Licence: X31

Post by Cleaner »

Hi Guys

Someone is still alive at ORRA - I have received my license yesterday.

I applied for my License in March 2012, received an invoice sometime in July and the license yesterday.

7 Months - Okay, suppose it's not that bad. Maybe I should start the renewal process tomorrow. :think:

Anyways - I am now legally licensed.

Strange though - Am I not suppose to receive an ORRA sticker with the license? All I received was a A4 Paper with a cutout in for the licence, which is about the same size as a normal drivers license.
"Every loaf of bread is tragic story of grains that could've become beer, but didn't. - Walter Thornburgh"
"The best cure for Sea Sickness, is to sit under a tree. - Spike Milligan"

Cleaner wrote:Hi Guys

I applied for my License in March 2012, received an invoice sometime in July and the license yesterday.

7 Months - Okay, suppose it's not that bad. Maybe I should start the renewal process tomorrow. :think:

Strange though - Am I not suppose to receive an ORRA sticker with the license? All I received was a A4 Paper with a cutout in for the licence, which is about the same size as a normal drivers license.
They used to send out stickers but not anymore
Cleaner

Post by Cleaner »

CasKru wrote:They used to send out stickers but not anymore
:(
"Every loaf of bread is tragic story of grains that could've become beer, but didn't. - Walter Thornburgh"
Ali3n

Post by Ali3n »

Cleaner wrote:Hi Guys

You are so lucky.. I have renewed my license in March, Paid and to date have not received an invoice nor my license... :evil: Not even to mention my new licenses I applied for 2 or so months ago... :evil: :evil:
PRESENTLY DISADVANTAGED
Bugzy

Post by Bugzy »

subok wrote:Bugzy, wanneer het jy jou aansoek ingestuur?

Sorry ek kom nou eers terug - ek was bietjie besig. Ek het in Junie my aansoek ingesit. Ek het toevallig vandag my Invoice gekry alhoewel ek reeds laasmaand betaal het.
Shimano
Town: Strand Cape Town
Vehicle: Hilux 4.0 V6 4x4
Club VHF Licence: HC125

Post by Shimano »

Received mine today (license) :yahoo:
Toyota Hilux 4.0 V6 4x4
MOFASA
Vehicle: 1998 JEEP XJ 4.0............ 4 inch lift.... more mods to follow............ Old vehicle was MOFASA

Post by MOFASA »

Shimano wrote:Received mine today (license) :yahoo:

I have given up when it comes to my license.... Just carry the application with me....

If i get fined i will go to my lawyer and make ORRA pay the fine and lawyers fees..... :aggresive:
Hilux 1

Post by Hilux 1 »

i'm also given up. nee wat ek dra nie eens dit saam met my nie. hulle sal alles moet betaal. LOL sal my broer op hulle spoor sit.
WayneSchalk
Vehicle: 2019 Toyota Hilux 2.8 GD-6 4X4 DC Auto
Club VHF Licence: X117

Post by WayneSchalk »

Ek is vandag eers weer terug in die kantoor na die groot trek :crazy:

Ek het op die 28ste September 'n e-pos ontvang met my Call Sign en staat om te betaal. :thumbup: :thumbup: :thumbup:

Nou die radio koop. :yahoo:
Hilux 1

Post by Hilux 1 »

Rina is terug op kantoor na haar siek verlof. Sy se my lisensie is gepos. whoa
4x4Maniac

Post by 4x4Maniac »

Ek het ook op die 28ste invoice gekry, het toe dadelik betaal, wag ook nou vir die liksens....
ORRA CALLSIGN X120
(2011 JKUR)

KC Spotlights
Previous:
Mountain Man
Town: South Africa
Vehicle: Land Cruiser 79 Series 4.5 EFi

Post by Mountain Man »

I still cannot see the advantages of the ORRA radios. You are at their mercy. Go UHF, no licence needed!!
Just because it says "4WD" doesn't make it an off-road vehicle.
Hilux 1

Post by Hilux 1 »

STILL NADA
MOFASA

Post by MOFASA »

Hilux 1 wrote:STILL NADA
:acute:
ORRA is fast asleep.....
I'm in the same boat.... Still no word, not even what i need to pay for the application..... :boredom:

Guys, the licences are currently being issued by ORRA. Please email Rina at orra and query your licences.

4x4Maniac

Post by 4x4Maniac »

Also got a reply from Rina today, saying they are being posted on Friday... yipeee!
ORRA CALLSIGN X120
(2011 JKUR)

KC Spotlights
Previous:
Frederick
Town: Hendrina Mpumalanga
Vehicle: 2011 Hilux. 2016 79 Land Cruiser
Club VHF Licence: X42

Post by Frederick »

MOFASA wrote:
ORRA is fast asleep.....
I'm in the same boat.... Still no word, not even what i need to pay for the application..... :boredom:
Ditto
Ali3n

Post by Ali3n »

4x4Maniac wrote:Also got a reply from Rina today, saying they are being posted on Friday... yipeee!
Which Friday??? 2013??? It is actually not a joke anymore... cant one complai somewhere??? By the time I receive my renewed license for 2012 it will be time to renew my 2015 license. :evil: Surely this is not acceptable... I mean we pay for a service we don't receive. It is also not fair on poor old Rina if she is the only 1 dealing with the 1000s of applications/renewals by herself. :evil:
PRESENTLY DISADVANTAGED
Bugzy

Post by Bugzy »

4x4Maniac wrote:Also got a reply from Rina today, saying they are being posted on Friday... yipeee!
ditto :yahoo: :yahoo: :yahoo:
4x4Maniac

Post by 4x4Maniac »

Fransisco, this Friday. But due to the transport strike it might be a while before I get it!
ORRA CALLSIGN X120
(2011 JKUR)

KC Spotlights
Previous:
Ali3n

Post by Ali3n »

Amazingly, after I posted above yesterday I just received a scan copy of my renewed license for 2012. I did not phone them, email them since yesterday. Just out of the blue. :blackeye: :crazy: They said the original was posted. Will wait and see. :wth:
PRESENTLY DISADVANTAGED
Vehicle: 2002 3.0KZ-TE 4x4, Eazyawn RTT, Snorkel, NudgeM Bumper, 38mm Ball Joint Spacers, 35" Maxxis Bighorns, Dastek Unichip, 60 ltr Snomaster fridge/freezer, 40mm body lift, Mikem front/rear with extended shackles, Bilsteins shox rear

And you say yu paid in March? Only paid today.

Ali3n

Post by Ali3n »

Donkey wrote:And you say yu paid in March? Only paid today.
Yes, signed and paid for my license renewal in march and only received a scan copy of it today. Make sense??? :thumbup:
PRESENTLY DISADVANTAGED

Ek het n ekstra ORRA plakker.Wie soek een?

Ali3n

Post by Ali3n »

Lollie wrote:Ek het n ekstra ORRA plakker.Wie soek een?
Ekke samblief :beg:
PRESENTLY DISADVANTAGED

Oom Dawie is hulle meer as een? Kan ek een he, asseblief :thumbup:

Ali3n wrote:
Lollie wrote:Ek het n ekstra ORRA plakker.Wie soek een?
Ekke samblief :beg:
Francisko

Hy is joune-pm my jou pos adres en ek pos hom more vir jou.

Sorry Donkie-i have got only one extra.

Dankie Oom Dawie

Frederick

Post by Frederick »

Frederick wrote:
MOFASA wrote:
ORRA is fast asleep.....
Ditto
Got a mail today, my invoice will be in the post soon.....
subok
Town: Jhb - Somerset West
Vehicle: Hilux 3.0 D4D 4x4 D/C - Kitted for overlanding
Club VHF Licence: HC152

Post by subok »

Also received my e-mail confirmation of the new licence last week. Still nothing in the post..

Got my email today with the invoice, will pay it tonight and then we will wait for it in the post. :thumbup:
Hilux 1

Post by Hilux 1 »

well, i did get mine. 2weeks now. WHoa
Frederick

Post by Frederick »

Invoice per email gekry en betaling gedoen- Wat nou? :celebrate: :yahoo: :celebrate: :yahoo: :celebrate: :yahoo:
Cleaner

Post by Cleaner »

Frederick wrote:Invoice per email gekry en betaling gedoen- Wat nou? :celebrate: :yahoo: :celebrate: :yahoo: :celebrate: :yahoo:
Nou wag jy eers weer. :think:

Na ek my invoice gekry het en betaal het was dit nog so 3 maande toe kry ek my lisensie in die pos.

Dit lyk wel of hulle die backlog geclear het, want die invoices kom nou al vinniger deur - Ek het 4 maande vir my invoice gewag.

Maar nou staak die SA Post Office weer, so selfs al kry hulle jou lisensie vinnig gepos, gaan die poskantoor nou op hom sit.

:blink:
Frederick

Post by Frederick »

Cleaner wrote:
Frederick wrote:Invoice per email gekry en betaling gedoen- Wat nou? :celebrate: :yahoo: :celebrate: :yahoo: :celebrate: :yahoo:
Nou wag jy eers weer. :think:

Na ek my invoice gekry het en betaal het was dit nog so 3 maande toe kry ek my lisensie in die pos.

Dit lyk wel of hulle die backlog geclear het, want die invoices kom nou al vinniger deur - Ek het 4 maande vir my invoice gewag.

Maar nou staak die SA Post Office weer, so selfs al kry hulle jou lisensie vinnig gepos, gaan die poskantoor nou op hom sit.

:blink:
:evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: DAMMIT :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil:

Ek het egter ander kanale op my radio ook, nou wonder ek of ek my radio met die ORRA kanale al mag programeer?
MOFASA

Post by MOFASA »

Had to phone today and thank goodness i did...

Rina had sent me an invoice way over a month ago but missed out a number on my email address, so when i spooke to her today she has resent the invoice and i have recieved it....

I have my call sign too.... X119 :thumbup: :thumbup:

Now to pay and get my licence..... :thumbup: :thumbup:

Rina said she is about 3 to 4 weeks behind at the moment so guys should be getting replies quite soon from now....
MOFASA

Post by MOFASA »

Frederick wrote: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: DAMMIT :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil:

Ek het egter ander kanale op my radio ook, nou wonder ek of ek my radio met die ORRA kanale al mag programeer?

Go for it, I have been using my radio for a few months and only got my invoice today so dont worry about it as long as you keep your proof of payment and application there shouldn't be any problems

Ek sien jy is in Pretoria... as jy met hulle reel kan jy dit sommer daar by hulle kantore gaan kry

Return to “Electronic Gadgets and Radios”